We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of La Plantation Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added La Plantation Hotel to your Saves list
La Plantation Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Turtle Bay, Balaclava, Mauritius   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Balaclava
Uusikaupunki, Finland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Super service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We are two couples from Finland, stayed two weeks in La Palantation March 2015, the hotel was about to close and there was a cyclone just before we arrived, thus the food was not what we expected but the rooms (seaview) were excellent, despite some bugs in our room, and the location is lovely (on the other hand, you need a taxi to get elsewhere in the village), the barmen and waiters did good job, rooms were cleaned well, also, thanks for them all, and the last night cocktails and party and beach dinner with all the personnel was a good fun! Will get there again after the hotel is renoved and is practically a brand new one (it is now closed for 6-8 months).

Room Tip: Sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    125
    68
    61
    90
See reviews for
108
229
22
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We really enjoyed our 10 days away. Yes some TLC is needed in some areas. Our room had a very funny smell when we arrived but it was sorted smoothly and quickly and they moved us. Yes the food got a bit boring but it didn't ruin the holiday. The best thing about the resort is the staff - all of them are friendly and made us feel very welcome. Kids club is amazing and my 6 year old daughter was very upset about leaving new friends behind (the staff). The adult area was very nice. The flies were an issue and I was glad to see that they were finally covering food up in the buffet before we were leaving. However, I guess its part and parcel of where we were, so it didn't ruin anything. The Managers were always visible, so any issues could be resolved quickly. The Infirmary was a god send and very helpful as we were all poorly with heavy colds and high temps. Would I go back to Plantation - not sure - but would definitely try other Club Meds again.

Room Tip: Some people have said the walk to the centre was an issue - we didn't mind it as there was alway...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Hotel was beautifully located on a magic tropical bay, with FREE watersports ( kayaks, windsurfers, sailing dinghys, daily boat trips out to a coral reef for snorkelling ), and the thatched sun shade huts were great. The beach bar was laid back and nice to eat in at lunch time. Night time entertainment was to quite a high standard. The food was not gourmet, but there was always something nice to eat from the large selection available. Rooms were fine, and cleaned daily, and the air con was good. The staff were generally pleasant and polite, if a little forgetful sometimes. We had a late return flight, and were allowed to keep our room right to the end, which was great. Also the hotel served drinks and nibbles on the last evening, when they were no longer obliged to. Generally a very good stay.Could be improved by controlling the wild birds that are very cheeky, and fly down on the tables which is un-hygenic. The taxi fares are ruinously expensive,( not the hotel's fault ) so you are more or less trapped in the hotel, unless you hire a car ( also expensive ), or pay for a lot of expensive excursions. However the hotel location is so idyllic that there's not really any reason to leave it.Air mover fans above the restaurant and bar tables would have been a nice plus, for those of us who can't take the heat of the evenings without a breeze. All in all a great holiday, and I wish them all the best with the major re-furbishment they are now carrying out.

Room Tip: Ask for sea view - its worth a bit extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2015

Stayed at the la plantation the 1st 2 weeks of March, we had a lovely holiday and found all the staff very friendly and helpful, admittedly the hotel is ready for a refurb but our room was kept lovely and clean, the food was average but could always find something to eat, we had a fabulous deal from the holiday place and we definitely got our money's worth, only downside for me was the river runs into the bay so the ocean was not as blue as I had expected.. Overall bargain

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannover, Germany
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2015

We spend four nights at this hotel until this morning.Like nightmare. Luckily the hotel is now closed, so that noboby has to experience something like that.Terrible foos,a broken closet and bed in the room but nobody cares..The personal was really rude.Haven't beem treated like that nowhere else in the world..even one star hotels are better than this four star one..they should shame to offer such a hotel and service and still they are taking full price for the room.. it's just excuse to say it will renovated.. i would not go to this hotel if they would pay for the visit.. Bad name can't be replaced afterwards.. they have losed now their reputation but they have totally deserved it!!!

Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raseborg, Finland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2015

We stayed in La Plantation hotel for two weeks in Feb - Mar 2015. The hotel was about to be closed for renovation in few weeks time, and we knew this when booking our vacation. So I'm not  complaining about the shape the hotel is in. Even though maybe I should be. I think they should have closed earlier, it's not fair to charge the guests for staying in such conditions. Half of the things in our room were broken and they clearly didn't have any intensions on fixing anything before the big renovation. The roof was not waterproof, during rain yellow piss-like fluid leaked into our room and the whole place smelled of mold and rotten. The towels were dirty, sheets broken and one of our two rooms had a small cockroach infestation.

These things will probably be history when the hotel is reopened but I still wouldn't recommend the place because of the poor service, food etc. We had the all incluvise package. One of the things included was the minibar (water and other non-alcoholic beverages) that should have been refilled every day. This happened only a few times during our stay. We had to ask for it to be refilled several times, and sometimes they just ignored our requests. 

We tried two of the hotels three restaurants. The main restaurant served breakfast from 7 to 10 but I recommend going a bit later than 7 because they didn't seem to get it ready in time. Half of the items were missing and so was half of the staff. Lunch was served at the beach restaurant Ostrea. A lovely place by the beach, if you didn't have to eat there. Waiters and cooks weren't very professional and they didn't seem to have any standards for the meals. The same meal could vary from day to day very dramatically. Once for example the french fries maker was broken but they didn't care to inform us of the case, just gave us salad instead. If you asked for a beef steak well done you got it raw, if you asked it medium you got it well done. The dinner was a buffet in the main resturant. The food was mostly okay, but even there were days when grilled pork was raw and there were no plates available.

The hotel's boathouse had something very weird going on. I'm still not quite sure if it operates under the hotel name or not but clearly they had some businesses of their own that the hotel management wasn't aware of? Some of the activities were free and some you had to pay extra for. But the prices seemed to depend on who was asking. The also sold excursions. We bought a catamaran cruise from them because we thought that from them we could get our money's worth. Instead we were lied right to our faces about the excursion and what was included. The tour operator couldn't pick us up or drop us to our hotel because they didn't have a contract with the hotel. We had to go to the next hotel for it.

The service wasn't great either. Maybe the staff was about to be unemployed and didn't really feel like trying anymore? Some of them were polite and helpful, others weren't. The housekeeping was mediocre at best. But there were still some who tried to make our stay a pleasant and fun experience. Special thanks to Yudish the bartender :)

At least the location of the hotel is nice. The beach is beautiful and good to swim. There's also a river right next to it, which was nice until it started to rain. Then the river started to flood and filled the bay with muddy brown water and plant parts. You didn't really feel like going for a swim and snorkeling was completely out of the question.

Let's hope that they reopen with a whole new attitude and maybe we go back one day to check if things have changed :)

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2015

Not worth the money spent - this hotel is not bothered about their guests. Service comes last. There is no problem with the property - its pretty decent. But the service is pathetic.
No basic courtesy, nyou are given service as a favour and the staff is not bothered to care of their guests here. They dont brief you - they dont even help you with you luggage.
The rooms are good sized and comfortable - they have a dirty beach which was a walk from garden rooms- wifi only in central area - there were two menu options- indian and continental - but both were just okay - with conti being repeated day in day out. Bar was jusr decent and apparently there were other amenities - which they did not tell.
There was a theft in the hotel when we were there - and no, hotel didnt bother for the affected guests, till the group created a ruckus and asked them to help.
DONT GO THERE

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Plantation Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Plantation Hotel

Address: Turtle Bay, Balaclava, Mauritius
Location: Mauritius > Pamplemousses District > Balaclava
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Balaclava
#5 Spa Hotel in Balaclava
#5 Luxury Hotel in Balaclava
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Plantation Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 274
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of a huge and lush tropical garden bordered by the crystal clear lagoon, Plantation four-star Hotel is the ideal place for anyone longing for a relaxed holidays in Mauritius.. Rooms are spacious, discreetly equipped with every amenity for utmost comfort and privacy. Restaurant facilities provide a choice of two venues, each with its very own ambience, and an overall offer of a vast array of culinary styles. With a 10-cabin Spa, a large range of sports and leisure activities as well as a kids club, La Plantation is the perfect hotel for your vacations in Mauritius. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your La Plantation Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Plantation Resort And Spa
La Plantation Hotel Balaclava
La Plantation Balaclava
La Plantation Mauritius
La Plantation Hotel Mauritius/Balaclava

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Plantation Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.