We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Place with value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Plantation Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added La Plantation Hotel to your Saves list
La Plantation Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Turtle Bay, Balaclava, Mauritius   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Balaclava
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Awesome Place with value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The place i visited was in Feb 2014 it was very lively and big place with some awesome service. the people in the hotel very co-operative. I am writing this review very late, but the experience is still very pleasant. Would recommend this to all Honeymoon goers. Water sports inside the Hotel is the added attraction. Take ocean view deluxe rooms for better experience.

The place is also very close to the Pubs.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    113
    61
    51
    81
See reviews for
100
198
20
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Was met with great cocktails. Unfortunately this was thw end of the great experience here.
1.Ended up paying more for the room than quoted when i booked.
2.Bed linen was changed once every 2 or 3 days.
3.Breakfast buffet is the same everyday.
4.no towels provided by the pool nor by the beach.


On the up side though:
1. Everyday afrer breakie there is a morning train cession with these hot trainers :)))
2. Some form of entertainment every night over diner. Enjoyed that

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

First thing first. The beaches of Mauritius are as beautiful to the onlooker irrespective of how efficient the room service to one's room is, and therefore if the reader expects my review to be affected by minor nitty gritties, well it shall not.

The Resort is in a quiet place, one would need a car/cab to commute to most places and this should not be a surprise to anyone. It is very open, nicely furnished and huge. The distances between the rooms are substantial and one is sure of absolute privacy. The downside of course is possible delays in getting rooms service really quick, so if something is urgent I would suggest one waits at the reception and gets things sorted out there. With the right frame of mind the walk to the reception will be quite pleasurable walking along water bodies.

Staff is helpful and may not be the first one to greet but would always return a greeting with a smile.

Breakfast is reasonably well spread with a couple of live counters (omelette et al). Cuisine is Mauritian and continental mixed, Mauritian being similar to Indian so the boundaries are a bit blurred.

There is a large selection of outdoor activities, most of them free, like a badminton court, volleyball, darts and there are books to borrow. The beach is beautiful and the sun sets there so the evenings are fantastic.

The swimming pool is functional, huge, and is cleaned frequently (we saw manual cleaning, non automatic) and is surrounded by coconut trees so expect some dead foliage.

The property is ageing, and things might not be very chick, but it's quite quite comfortable. I would without doubt stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I spent two nights with my wife and it has been a fantastic and relaxing experience. The beach is very nice and included in the price you have sports amenities such as kayaking, snorkelling and many others. It has two nice swimming pools.

However the hotel is under renovation and there are some works going on which did not affect our stay. The rooms need a bit of upgrading on the details and I guess they are currently doing it so next year it wont be an issue.

The worst is the food which was very disappointing; it is a very nice atmosphere until you taste any of the different dishes; that needs improvement.

Other than that the beach is beautiful, paradise-like and I hope to come back!

Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H0tels_Management, General Manager at La Plantation Hotel, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear Guests,

Thank you for having chosen La Plantation for your recent holiday break.
I am glad to read that you have enjoyed the Resort. I have taken good note of your comments regarding the food. Rest assured that we will take them into account.
I hope that you will see the difference next time you will be visiting us, as I hope you are willing to do so soon.

I wish you a Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year 2015.

Best regards,
Lindley Thomen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alloa, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Nice stay in hotel in need of upgrading (which I believe is on the cards) in lovely grounds. Bar/restaurant area nicely laid out but due to lots of water around area, more lighting would be safer. I had to change room on second day as shower broken and repair ineffective, both rooms very clean and spacious. Staff all very welcoming, friendly and helpful. Food of good quality, however, towards end of week was getting a bit bored of repetitive dishes. Hotel isolated so not easy to explore the Island yourself but plentiful taxis at gates - walk to them rather than asking staff to get one as fare then cheaper! Activities included but you had to find out what was available yourself, would have been good to have notice of this perhaps in reception.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H0tels_Management, General Manager at La Plantation Hotel, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear Guests,

I would like to thank you for having chosen La Plantation for your recent stay.
I am glad to read that you have enjoyed your holidays with us. I have taken good note of your recommendations which I will certainly consider when we will start the refurbishment.
I apologize for the lack of information regarding the daily activities. I realized that you have not been briefed that the weekly planning is displayed in front of the restaurant entrance.

I will pass on your appreciation to my entire staff and we all hope to get the chance to welcome you back here again.

I wish you all a Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year 2015.

Best regards,

Lindley Thomen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Worst food.....bad maintaince...bad rooms . poor service.no wifi in rooms.food was worst almost same menu through out the week. Please don't go to this place...food will surely make you cry if ur an Indian. Pls avoid going to this place since you can get better place for similar price. Countless lizards all over the property...worst maintanence..under staffed hotel.

Room Tip: Try others resorts nearby if you want to have a memorable times...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H0tels_Management, General Manager at La Plantation Hotel, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear Guests,

First of all, I would like to express my sincere regrets for the fact that certain aspects of your recent holidays with us did not meet your expectations.
I thank you for bringing these matters to our attention but please note that we do cater for a lot of Indian guests who are really happy with the food. I acknowledge that our customers are all different and that what may be perfectly agreeable for some guests may not be at all in line with the requirements and expectations of others, especially with regards to the food.

I do hope to get the chance to welcome you back here again and to get to meet you so that I can have the opportunity to cater for your needs when you are still in house.

Kind regards,
Lindley Thomen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phalaborwa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Since our last visit the hotel was bought by the Attitude group a Maurition owned company. Repairs and maintenance are on their priority list and the difference is very noticable. The service is much better and we can recommend this hotel again for an enjoyable stay. Please check with the hotel as they are closing from April 2015 to October 2015 for major renovations. We can't wait to see the difference. As this was visit no. 12 by us we are very optimistic about the future of this hotel. Had a really nice holiday this time

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are quieter and right by the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H0tels_Management, Directeur général at La Plantation Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Guests,

I would like to thank you for your trust in the Resort. I was happy to meet you, knowing that you are counted among the most regular guests of La Plantation.

Thank you for being one of our ambassadors. I am really looking forward to welcoming you back home again.

I wish you a Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year 2015.

My best personal regards to you,

Lindley Thomen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Plantation Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Plantation Hotel

Address: Turtle Bay, Balaclava, Mauritius
Location: Mauritius > Pamplemousses District > Balaclava
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Balaclava
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Balaclava
#5 Luxury Hotel in Balaclava
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Plantation Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 274
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of a huge and lush tropical garden bordered by the crystal clear lagoon, Plantation four-star Hotel is the ideal place for anyone longing for a relaxed holidays in Mauritius.. Rooms are spacious, discreetly equipped with every amenity for utmost comfort and privacy. Restaurant facilities provide a choice of two venues, each with its very own ambience, and an overall offer of a vast array of culinary styles. With a 10-cabin Spa, a large range of sports and leisure activities as well as a kids club, La Plantation is the perfect hotel for your vacations in Mauritius. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Tingo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your La Plantation Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Plantation Resort And Spa
La Plantation Hotel Balaclava
La Plantation Balaclava
La Plantation Mauritius
La Plantation Hotel Mauritius/Balaclava

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Plantation Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.