We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dream wedding & honeymoon!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius to your Saves list
Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Turtle Bay, Balaclava, Mauritius   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Balaclava
London, United Kingdom
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Dream wedding & honeymoon!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We got married in the Maritim in November 2012 and spent more than two weeks there.

The level of service is just outstanding and I will never forget the wonderful Madhavi, who helped us plan every aspect of our wedding.

While the buffet restaurant is excellent and provides a good variety, it is definitely worth trying both the beach restaurant and Chateau Mon Desir. Especially the latter is an experience in its own league and honestly one of the best restaurants I have ever been to. We had our wedding dinner there but went back on our last night as well and both times were treated like kings.

The spa is very relaxing and there is a great selection of treatments. The jacuzzi, sauna and steam room are free of charge and normally there are only a few people there so it is nice spot to unwind. We both had quite a few different treatments and they all were amazing. In addition, I was also prepped for my wedding by the team in the spa (using the bridal suite) and they really did a fantastic job.

Our Virgin rep was also very-very helpful and we did quite a few excursions. The most amazing was the submarine experience - I would definitely recommend it. The guides are good and knowledgeable but they sometimes end up only talking to 2-3 people from the group and that may be frustrating.

The rooms are kept clean and they are very comfortable. We asked for a quiet room and we were not disappointed. However, in our first (standard) room, we did have an issue with the ants that kept on coming. After about 10 days we even got an upgrade and spent the rest of our honeymoon in the presidential suite which was truly luxurious - you have your own sauna, jacuzzi on the huge terrace and so much space that we could have spent days without bumping into each other. :)

We also tried golfing, even had a private lesson with the best Mauritian golfer which was time and money well spent. Other entertainment options are also nice, we tried tennis, ping pong, snorkeling, kayaking and para sailing. Apart from para sailing, all of these of were included in AI. The beach is not great (but not bad either - probably not the best with kids) but there are beautiful views in the afternoon and early evening as the sun is setting. The pool is really nice though and we ended up spending most of our days there. The pool and beach service is also great, especially on days when they serve fresh coconut juice!

Overall, we had the holiday of a lifetime and will definitely go back for wedding anniversaries!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haje T, General Manager at Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your entry on Trip Advisor.
I am delighted to learn that you have had a dream honeymoon among us and that you have enjoyed all the facilities of the Maritim Estate!

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for having chosen the MARITIM Hotel Mauritius for those very special holidays of a lifetime and also for your helpful and kind feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back again to MARITIM Hotel Mauritius for your wedding anniversaries.

Yours sincerely,

Haje Thurau
General Manager
MARITIM Hotel Mauritius
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,554
    393
    118
    40
    21
See reviews for
405
1,343
33
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (521)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

We travelled to the Maritim Hotel on 6/9/13 with British Airways and stayed for 2 weeks all inclusive in a privilege room for our honeymoon.

After a 1 hour transfer from the airport by shuttle bus we arrived to be greeted with big smiles, cold flannels and iced drinks. We where sat down and told how the all inclusive system works, this you will need to pay attention to as there is lots of supplements if you dine anywhere other than the main restaurant if staying in a privilege room, we couldn't quite take it all in as we were shattered after our long journey and in awe of the main receptions views!!

The hotel were very helpful and had managed to have our room ready by 9.30am despite check in not being until 3pm. Our privilege room had a feel that we had upgraded to a better room although we hadn't, it was just stunning.

The service and staff were fantastic, we have travelled to many places and not met such friendly, lovely people. Staff that deserve a special mention for making our honeymoon so memorable are: Yasine, Swadesh, Bhukari, Vishnu, Priscilla, Vikash, Kavita, Saif, Vinay, Yvans, Alvin, Sam, the chateau manager who works on a sunday in belle vue, the team at the equestrian centre and the beach gardeners. The Maritim Hotel's team of people really do compliment the truly magnificent grounds that the hotel sits on and the staff work so hard and often long days without complaint or lack of service.

For 2 weeks we had back to back sunshine, ignore the weather forecast on the Internet for September saying that its 22-23•c, the temperature was closer to 30•c in the day and just about comfortable for short sleeve shirts in the evening. Long trousers are a must in all restaurants for the evenings and for horse riding.

We made two trips out during our two weeks, we hired a car through Sixt which was booked by concierge, the Sixt rep was ok but was very insistant that we paid in euros, he got rupees and the Hyundai i10 we got was extremely dirty inside and out and not really capable of the mountainous terrain that we set it on. Our second trip out was a trip to Champ de Mars horse racing track, this happens on a Saturday afternoon. We saved a LOT of money by booking our own taxi and paying for our own ticket to the stalls, taxi was 1200 rupees, 175 rupee entry for men and free for women, Phoenix beer was 2 for 140 rupees and a baguette was 100 rupees. I heard of some people paying close to £60 each for an all inclusive box which is separated away from the atmosphere of the excited mauritians, well worth a visit. We took advantage of the hotels pack lunch service on the car hire trip which proved invaluable in the mountains. We also used some of the free sessions from the boat house which were great and paid for a horse beach ride which we were accompanied on, we paid 1500 rupees for the 2 of us for this, well worth it.

We visited 3 out of the 5 restaurants -

Belle Vue is an all inclusive buffet for breakfast, lunch and dinner with theme nights, over two weeks some items where repeated but there was lots of choice of meals.

La Maree is all inclusive for lunch and dinner on some menus with al a carte offered at a supplement, some guests can have breakfast here on all inclusive and others have to pay a supplement. Your food is served to you at this restaurant.

And our favourite restaurant was Chateau mon desir, as part of our honeymoon package we were offered a free set meal here, drinks not included but not as extortionate as we were led to believe by some guests on the beach. The food, service and surroundings where so amazing that we booked in for High Tea on the patio on a Sunday which was a great experience. This restaurant although pricey is well worth paying out for, I am not sure that I will have a soufflé so amazing anywhere ever again!!

I have reviewed the hotel as 5 stars which it is, there's little things that the hotel could improve on mainly the fact that all inclusive is not quite all inclusive, we spent an extra £125 on supplements but it could be possible to of avoided this if we wanted to. My second point which is not a fault of the Maritim hotel is the horrendous party hotel - La Plantation which is the Maritim's next door neighbour, this grotesquely Christmas tree light lit hotel had regular discos (mainly Friday & Saturday nights) on the beach which consisted of a thumping bass, the music generally ended just before midnight, this proved problematic trying to sleep in the Citron Wing of the hotel especially if you're up at 6am for trips. The music drowned out the TV in our room, the musicians in the quarter deck bar and I feel sorry for the guests of the Maritim who had booked magic moments on the jetty for a romantic meal, the noise was anything but romantic.

Thank you all so much, all was good :)

Lee & Claire '260'

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haje T, General Manager at Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

I am delighted to learn that you consider the service & staff at the MARITIM Hotel Mauritius like ‘Amazing'.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for having chosen the Maritim Estate for your holidays and also for your warm feedback.

Your gracious comments have been passed to our personnel, which will serve as an added inspiration to consistently maintain the high standards you have experienced, and which are one of the trademarks of our brand.


Yours sincerely,

Haje Thurau
General Manager
MARITIM Hotel Mauritius
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Travelling to South Africa for the 1st week of our trip we decided that we should combine the 12 hour flight and pay another visit (3rd) to Maritim hotel our wedding in paradise but this was 3 years ago and the hotel and service was faultless.....
Upon arrival the staff are waiting with the usual arrival cocktail which I think everybody leaves lets face it after a 12 hour flight a nice cocktail would be so nice, we were greeted by the manager as returning guests felt quite nice but I am not into all that. We sat down and informed of some of the changes that had taken place with the new restaurants which had upgrades available to dine at per person + a golden ticket you could purchase to dine in all, I could not remember the cost it was not the world but when paying this kind of money for your stay you don't expect to have to pay more to dine in different restaurants we felt as if upon arrival all they wanted to do was to take more money as we are a captive audience. The hotel had upgraded us which was great the room had a walk in wardrobe just a larger room than the Privilege rooms, we had a great view how ever the shower was poor so a bath every night of a shower in the bath was the only option. The dining experience was still superb on an evening, breakfast was breakfast as per normal, lunch was nice but very similar every day. Around the pool with the view of the ocean from the deck bar and the infinity pool is superb, we ordered a drink and we were informed that we the only drinks that were available around the pool was beer and water no cocktails or gin and tonics allowed but you could walk to the bar and ask for a cocktail or gin for the pool and they would serve you it.....Strange!!
After evening meal everybody heads to the deck bar where I asked for a JD to be told this was now chargeable at an exchange rate of £8 per drink again 3 years ago this was available, as was Gordons and other labelled brands this is now not an option which has spoilt it for us to be honest. We paid extra on night to visit the Chateau which was divine and worth the extra money, the food, the service and finally a nice drop of wine as the wine in the restaurant was moderate to say the least. All in all the hotel, the service and the food is superb we just thought that the changes to the drinks package, the extra money for other restaurants, and some areas requiring attention have spoilt this hotel set in paradise. Comparing this holiday to a recent trip to Le Blanc in Mexico, the 2 destinations are very different in relaxation vs plush and luxury I think I would choose Le Blanc. This is an honest review from a 3rd visit and please don't let the few minor details put you off this is a superb hotel which scrimping has spoilt!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haje T, General Manager at Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your entry on Trip Advisor.
I would like to thank you for taking the time to review the Maritim Estate and sharing your views with other travellers on Trip Advisor!

The entire team is glad that you enjoyed your stay andconsider the Maritim as a paradise. We have taken good note of your valuable comments as these will truly help us to monitor and improve our services and facilities even further.

Thank you once again for your review and all of us hope to see you back on the MARITIM estate for a yet another holiday with us in the near future.
Yours faithfully

Haje Thurau
General Manager
MARITIM Hotel Mauritius
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

From the minute we arrived at the Maritim, we knew this was going to be an amazing honeymoon! We arrived on the 2nd of July for a 10 night stay and got a great all inclusive deal through Virgin holidays and after ploughing through hotel reviews, fell in love with the Maritim and so glad we picked here!!

The service throughout our stay was first class. Never been anywhere where they seem genuinely happy and wanting to help you and not for tips. Nothing was too much trouble and everyone went out of their way to be helpful and pleasant to us and certainly made the trip even more enjoyable.

The hotel lobby when you arrive and the drive up to the hotel are full of wow factor moments and while you get checked in you have a lovely juice given to you which really makes you relax and enjoy right from the start. Because we were on Honeymoon they gave us a spa voucher, dinner at the Chateau Mon Desir, Sparking wine and fruit basket which was such a wonderful surprise. Just make sure if you are on Honeymoon you take your marriage certificate.

We stayed in a prestige room and it was magical! Huge bed and bath and so much space in the room, coupled with a fantastic sea view over the sea. I had contacted the hotel and asked to be in a quiet section of the hotel, which we most certainly were. Room 426 was ours and what a place. Loved the bathroom having the sliding door, was all so romantic! When we arrived they'd also put rose petals all over the bed, just beautiful!

The AI food was delicious and we ate at the buffet restaurant most nights as felt the food was fantastic and the choice was amazing too. I'm vegetarian and had loads to choose from every night which was superb. The wine is great too and so much included in the AL package.
Each night in the buffet has a different theme such as Indian, African etc. but even then there's aways pasta dishes and such for those that want a planner meal. The staff were always lovely and soon get to know you, we made friends with Ashram who always made sure we had a lovely, sea view table.
The breakfast was also great with your choice of eggs made in front of you and waffles which were a must for us each morning!

The only downside for food was when we went to La Maree on the beach for dinner, no veggie option on the set, free menu, so they made me something but my husband and I felt that although the setting was nice, we much preferred the buffet in the end which was odd as read so many rave reviews about it. In fact we had booked 2 nights there and cancelled after the first visit as one time was enough for us. Still lovely place to have a drink.

Our special dinner (make sure you bring shirt, shoes and trousers guys) at Chateau Mon Desir was incredible. Amazing food and again although it was a free, set menu with no veggie options, the manager was amazing and gave me free rain on the a la carte menu and both of our meals were fantastic! Only down side is the drink prices (not included) as the cheapest bottle was about £50-60!! But look in the back, they do wine by the glass, still expensive, but not as bad and you get welcome bubbly when you arrive so that was enough for us. The automatically poured us bottled water which was already on our table and later charged us for it which was a little annoying, but was still superb!

The daytime activities are great and there is always so much to do we did kayaking and saw loads of people water skiing, pedals etc or just walking round the beautiful estate and water falls.

We did two day trips while we were there, both booked via virgin. The Virgin Ahoy cruise, which was nice, but not worth the money, so wouldn't recommend doing it. Then we had a driver for the day who drove us Casela park where we 'walked with the lions' now I would 100% recommend that! 100% Worth it and what an experience! Loved it! The hotel even provided a packed lunch for us when we were on day trips (at no extra charge) which was good. The driver then took us down south so see the Black River Gorge, seven coloured sands etc which was nice, but could have just done the lion walk to be honest.

Used the spa a few times as had the voucher, paid a little more to have full massages which were great. My only down side for the spa was the jacuzzi which was cold which I found rather odd. But other than that a nice experience. However wouldn't have had a treatment without the vouchers as was about £70 for a massage!

Other than that we spent a great deal of time on the beach. Staff there are great bringing you any type of soft drink or beer...no other booze, but could get that from La Maree so not a problem. Even bought us ice cream one day too which was nice. Lovely hammocks around too that made you just relax and soak in the sun. We had great weather while we were there. Also spent a few days round the pool, but you do have to get there early to get a lounger. The Quarter Deck bar is fantastic, brilliant cocktails, became addicted to the Banana Colada! Also good if you missed lunch as they have some snacks out mid afternoon. Great place to sit out and watch the sunset and often have live music in there too.

Was it a great resort? Yes. Five Star? Nearly, I'd say four and a bit. Would I go again? Hell Yes And finally would I recommend it? In a heartbeat!

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room as some wings are busier than others
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haje T, General Manager at Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from MARITIM Hotel Mauritius!

Thank you very much for sharing this very kind and warm feedback to other travellers.
We are simply delighted to read that you have enjoyed your honeymoon with us and that we have met and exceeded your expectations!

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for having chosen the MARITIM Hotel Mauritius for your this very special journey and hope to see you back for a yet another holiday with us in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Haje Thurau
General Manager
MARITIM Hotel Mauritius
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

The Maritim is an absolutely beautiful hotel. As you drive up the long drive the entrance is truly spectacular, the reception is equally as stunning. We travelled here for our honeymoon in September 2013 and completely recommend this as a perfect honeymoon destination. We stayed in a Privilege room which was lovely, large bed, sliding doors into the bathroom with separate bath and shower. Although a nice room we weren't blown away by it having seen the lovely drive up to the Maritim. As it was our honeymoon we were greeted with swan shaped towels and petals on the bed, a bottle of pink bubbly and a fruit platter which was a lovely touch. We were also given some money off vouchers for some spa treatments and a candlelit dinner at the fine dining restaurant. the mini bar is very well stocked, however they don't always refill the wine. The room is cleaned daily with fresh towels and toiletries and the safe is easy to use. The room doesn't have an iron which was explained that this is due to safety reasons, if you ask at reception though there is a room where you can go, free of charge, to iron your clothes (it has 3 irons and ironing boards). There could be more hangers in the wardrobes, however this was a minor point. As mentioned by others, there are a lot of honeymoon couples so it can be difficult to feel special although this should not deter people from coming as it is such a lovely place.

The pool is really lovely, it has plenty of comfortable sunbeds and is extremely clean. The poolside service is also excellent and frequent. You can not only have drinks brought to you but also they have a selection of really nice baguettes and sandwiches which is nice if you only fancy a light lunch. They do have a beach/pool fair play policy however there were many people who left their towels on the sunbeds and disappeared off for quite a while. We only saw a sticker being placed on a sunbed on one occasion. The beach, as others have said, is not the most beautiful beach as the sand is quite sharp and you need shoes to swim in the sea, however it was still lovely. You are also given beach towels every day so no need to bring your own.

The restaurants offer a great variety. We were on the all inclusive option and the main restaurant was a buffet style one. For a buffet the food was excellent with so much to choose from. The service is outstanding here as well. The La Maree beach restaurant serves absolutely beautiful food and is a must! The fine dining restaurant we were left a little disappointed with on our visit. We were given a voucher for a 3 course candlelit dinner which would have been lovely hadn't the service been so rushed. It was clear that we were treated differently as we were not 'paying customers'. When we sat down we were given our menus and wine list. We chose a wine, which they unfortunately did not have. They then returned the wine list to us in order for us to choose another, by which time they brought out the starter before we had a chance to make a decision. This did make us feel slightly annoyed as they then didn't ask us what wine we wanted until after we had finished our starter, which defeats the object. After the starter our main and dessert were equally rushed which meant that we finished the meal within 45 minutes! As we were leaving we took a look at the a la carte menu and the food did look amazing, so therefore booked to go back to see if we would be treated differently, unfortunately the reception called us the day before and said that the restaurant was now closed on that day. We could not fit in another day so unfortunately could not experience a better service.

The overall service at the Maritim is second to none, every staff member says hello to you when you walk past and are happy to help at every opportunity, having said that they are not 'in your face' or too pushy which is also nice.

We visited the spa on a few occasions to have treatments, these were very good and also very reasonably priced. They do sometimes come round the pool area to let you know of any daily special offers that they have. The sauna, jacuzzi and steam room are free of charge and offer a nice setting to relax.

One negative point to the whole resort is the neighbouring hotel. On 4 out of the 11 nights we stayed there was really loud thumping music coming from this hotel. We were in room 270 which was closer to this other hotel and on one Wednesday night our room was actually vibrating from the sound of the music. The evening entertainer in the bar also had to finish early that night as you couldn't hear him which was such a shame.

In terms of evening entertainment, the quarter deck bar offers a variety of singers, musicians, etc and they are all very talented. The bar makes some really lovely cocktails and the service here is brilliant. There was a note to say that in terms of tipping staff individually the hotel discourage this and ask that any tips are left at the end of your stay in an envelope and posted in the tips box in reception.

In terms of the water sports and other activities there are so many to choose from! We mainly relaxed on our holiday so didn't take these up but everyone in the water looked like they were having an amazing time.

On one day we booked a trip, through Virginia holidays, to go and see the dolphins. This was £80 per person and you travelled on a coach for an hue to the south west coast. We then boarded a catamaran (held about 30 people) and set sail to the dolphin coast. Food and drinks were all included and we were on the boat from 9am until 3.30pm. This trip was very good however don't expect to be able to swim with the dolphins and get up close as they have many restrictions n place to protect them. We were happy with this as it was wonderful to see them in their natural environment.

On one night we took advantage of the Magic Moments where you are able to pay to have a private candlelit dinner on the jetty. This was quite expensive but the food was absolutely amazing and the setting was beautiful. We would definitely recommend doing this as a special event.

Overall we had a lovely honeymoon and would recommend the Maritim to others, there were a couple of minor points that we would have changed but we finished the holiday very relaxed and happy!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haje T, General Manager at Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your entry on Trip Advisor.
I would like to thank you for taking the time to review in details the Maritim Estate and sharing your views with other travellers on Trip Advisor!

The entire team is glad that you have had a beautiful and relaxing honeymoon and it met your expectations. We have taken good note of all your valuable comments as these will truly help us to monitor and improve our services and facilities even further.

Thank you once again for your review and all of us hope to see you back on the MARITIM estate for aa wedding anniversary with us in the near future.

Yours faithfully

Haje Thurau
General Manager
MARITIM Hotel Mauritius
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We are still in this wonderful hotel and I felt I needed to say ignore all negative reviews we are well travelled and this hotel is superb! We are here with friend's to celebrate our 35th wedding anniversary and my 60th birthday what a superb way to do it!
We were welcomed here early Sunday morning, used the arrival room which is fab to change after a long flight they came and found us at 145 shown to our privilege room 263 by the beach with to die for views, don't need to upgrade! Food wonderful and we also get sparkling wine for breakfast! Looking forward to the next 9 days. Well done maritim.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haje T, General Manager at Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from MARITIM Hotel Mauritius!

Thank you for your kind review and support!
We are simply delighted to read that you are enjoying your stay among us!

We wish you marvellous holidays among us!

Yours sincerely,
Haje Thurau
General Manager
MARITIM Hotel Mauritius
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We spent (my fiance and I) a week there in early May and booked our AI package online.
The overall complex is great. The restaurants are nice and the food quality is very good. Pools, beach are great (make sure to bring special shoes to swim). The service and the staff are provided us a good service. The spa is overrated to me. They have wonderful massage but the common areas (sauna and co...) are too small for such a big hotel.
I only gave average for the overall rating because of a major problem. We were downgraded the first two nights (yes DOWNGRADED). We originally booked a privilege room and ended up in a premium one for two nights. I have never experienced that before and the worst is the sleazy attitude of the manager who took advantage of us being tired after a long flight. We first understood that we were upgraded... then we visited the room and the view was a line up of AC on the roof of the hotel. We had to really get mad over the phone for the manager to come up and to change the room (after an hour talk). We ended two nights in a premium room with a nice view and they gave us coupons for spa, restaurants... however, I am not going to a so called 5 stars hotels to be downgraded and to have coupons handed to me. That the least they could have done. Because out of a 7 nights trip, changing the room after 2 nights, it is really not convenient and relaxing. The worst part of the story is that they treated the same way another couple, who was on honeymoon and I was shocked! If operator tours are pushing too hard on the prices, the client should not suffer from that policy...
We spent a nice time despite this really not acceptable situation, which has been a source of stress at the beginning. I would eventually recommend this hotel but watch out on you check in.

Room Tip: Go for the privilege room. The premium are not renovated (bathroom)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haje T, General Manager at Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your entry on Trip Advisor.
We are grateful to you for taking the time to pass on your much appreciated comments concerning your stay at MARITIM Hotel Mauritius.

We are glad to read that you have appreciated the hotel in general as well as the food quality, beach and pool.

We apologies for the problem of room at your arrival. The hotel was indeed running at a full occupancy and we have encountered at that time some unexpected technical problems in some of our rooms.

Rest assured that we consider all our guests as VIP and that each of the incidents has been comprehensively reviewed with all concerned.

We sincerely hope we shall be able to regain your confidence and we look forward to welcoming you back again on the Maritim Estate!

Yours faithfully,
Haje Thurau
General Manager
MARITIM Hotel Mauritius
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius

Address: Turtle Bay, Balaclava, Mauritius
Location: Mauritius > Pamplemousses District > Balaclava
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Balaclava
#1 Luxury Hotel in Balaclava
#1 Romantic Hotel in Balaclava
#1 Spa Hotel in Balaclava
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius 5*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sparkling sandy beach, tropical gardens and the crystal clear turquoise waters of the Indian Ocean... Live the essence of a great island escape!Immerse yourself in this luxurious five-star beach and spa resort gently nestled within a picturesque private estate along the protected marine park of Turtle Bay.Enjoy a prime location on the sunniest and sheltered Northwest coast of the island between the capital Port - Louis and the lively village of Grand Bay and indulge in the pure nature of the historical estate of 25 hectares awarded 'Most Beautiful Garden of Mauritius'. Be spoilt by world-class accommodation with 215 luxurious rooms and suites as well as an exclusive villa, all sea facing and elegantly designed ...ideal to embrace the tropical ambiance of the island. Savour endless culinary delights during your journey with an exceptional selection of five exquisite restaurants and three bars ranging from 'feet in the sand' beach restaurants to Asian fusion and the exclusive fine dining restaurant 'Chateau Mon Desir'.Pamper yourself in its 'Maritim Tropical Flower Spa', an oasis of wellbeing offering exclusive treatments and stunning facilities to relax and unwind.Those seeking for active holidays will benefit from an infinite range of land and water sports offered such as horse riding, golf, archery, water ski, diving and many more!Whenever you are looking for relaxing or active holidays, this 5-star luxury hotel, part of Maritim Hotels, will offer you an exceptional array of facilities and experiences combined with the highest standards of service delivered with genuine Mauritian hospitality. Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius ...your holidays... beyond paradise ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maritim Mauritius Balaclava
Hotel Maritim Mauritius
Maritim Hotel Mauritius
Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius Balaclava

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.