We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best in mauritius” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius to your Saves list
Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Turtle Bay, Balaclava, Mauritius   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Balaclava
Certificate of Excellence 2014
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The best in mauritius”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Hi we're family of three on our third trip to mauritius and the first one at maritim...what a property just outstanding.we checked in on 20 June 2013 and stayed for 7 days. This hotel or beach resort I might say has everything a business traveller,a leisure traveller or a family traveller wants. From its six or seven restaurants,horse riding lessons(explained in detail) brilliant spa and salon, large variety of yummy yummy breakfast and dinner clean pools,awesome collection of large tortoise,very efficient and friendly staff,very very good departure longer.....I can go on and on but you will have to live it to love it.
Just to name a few excellent people who made my stay memorable..Dave,akshyae,Kavita,sunita,deena,nupur,kishan,Danny ...thanx to all of u guysand looking forward to come next time...Pradeep Seth and family

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haje T, General Manager at Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from MARITIM Hotel Mauritius!

I am delighted to learn that you consider MARITIM Hotel Mauritius like the ‘Best in Mauritius’ and that you have enjoyed your family holiday and our unique range of facilities and activities.

Thank you once again for your review and all of us hope to see you back for a yet another holiday with us in the near future.

Yours truly,
Haje Thurau
General Manager
MARITIM Hotel Mauritius
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,684
    439
    136
    50
    26
See reviews for
457
1,462
35
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (571)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Uk
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Just arrived back after a 10 day stay. This hotel is amazing. It as beautiful grounds which have won awards, lots to do - water skiing, kayaks, pedalos etc and beautiful restaurants and food. We stayed in a prestige which is worth it for the space and the big bath! It also allows you to have breakfast at the La Maree restaurant which is right on the beach and a great way to start the day. It is worth trying the Banyan (£10 supp per person) and the Lakaz Kreole (Mauritian) which are really good. The Lakaz has a really private setting and there is lots of food to try (£20 supp per person). The staff at the hotel are superb and can't do enough for you. There is a no tipping policy which is great as we have stayed at a number of hotels where money is thrown at the bar staff yet other staff lose out. Finally I wanted to mention Auriele , the guest communications manager, who was always around the hotel talking to guests, helping them and generally asking about their stay, taking a personal interest in what they had done and remembering all their names.
This is a beautiful hotel and was recommended to me by friends. I wouldn definitely go back.

Room Tip: If you are travelling in on the early Gatwick flight, you will arrive at the hotel at 7am and the ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haje T, General Manager at Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for having chosen the MARITIM Hotel Mauritius for your recent holidays and also for your kind and warm feedback.

We are simply delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us and all the facilities of the resort. Your gracious comments have been passed to our personnel!

Thank you once again for your support and all of us hope to see you back for a yet another holiday with us in the near future.

Yours truly,
Haje Thurau
General Manager
MARITIM Hotel Mauritius
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Could not fault our two week experience. Food, room, location, amenities and staff were first class. It was all I could have wished for and more. A big thank you to all the staff for making this a truly outstanding holiday.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haje T, General Manager at Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Greetings from MARITIM Hotel Mauritius!

I would like to thank you for taking the time to review the Maritim Estate and sharing your views with other travellers on Trip Advisor.

Thank you for the beautifully worded review for us on this forum.
The entire team is glad that you enjoyed your stay and it met your expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you back again on the Maritim Estate!

Yours faithfully

Haje Thurau
General Manager
MARITIM Hotel Mauritius
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

I stayed at the Maritim for two nights. The bedroom and bathroom were the smallest I'd ever had in Mauritius and a bit shabby. The bathroom was fine for one but too small for two people to use at the same time. The hotel has all the facilities you would expect from a Mauritian hotel plus golf and horse riding. The gym was a bit dingy.

The food was exceptionally good; much better than the Prince Maurice and at least as good as the Royal Palm. The staff are uniformly delightful.

The hotel is situated next to a public beach. One night they had incredibly loud music there till 11.30pm. It was so loud that it was impossible even to sit in my bedroom, which was situated close to the end of the hotel. The whole room vibrated with noise even with the windows closed. I had to go and sit in reception till the music stopped.

Overall not a bad hotel for the price but if you are thinking of going insist on a room as far away as possible from the public beach.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms near the public beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haje T, General Manager at Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your entry on Trip Advisor.
We are delighted to read that you have enjoyed the facilities of the hotel, our staff as well as the food during your short stay that you have considered at a 5-star plus level.

We have well noted your comments about the room. Please note that this category is specifically dedicated to short stay. We have however well noted your comments which will help us to improve even further our guest satisfaction which is our main objective.

We look forward to welcome you once again on the MARITIM Estate in a category and location of room which will suit you better.

Kindest regards from Mauritius
Haje Thurau
General Manage
MARITIM Hotel Mauritius
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

The staff were amazing - hlepful, friendly, efficient from the very first moment when we were met at the entrance with a cool refreshing drink and invited to relax on the couch while they dealt with checking us in. We arrived at 8.00 am and were very fortunate that our room was ready for us and we were immediately in holiday mode. Food very good however La Maree was my favourite - nothing to beat a beachside restaurant.
All inclusive often means local beverages - not at the Maritim, gorgeous wines (huge choice) and spirits that you'd drink at home (courvosiier, smirnoff etc) all part of the all inclusive package.
Huge gardens to wander through and beautiful beach with incredible beach service - nothing is a problem.
Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haje T, General Manager at Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your entry on Trip Advisor.
I am delighted to learn that you consider MARITIM Hotel Mauritius like a ‘little piece of paradise’!

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for having chosen the MARITIM Hotel Mauritius for your recent holidays and also for your kind and warm feedback.

I am so glad to read that you have appreciated our staff, the welcome, your room as well as our Beach restaurant , the beach, gardens and our upscale all inclusive formula

I trust you had a pleasant and safe journey home and look forward to welcoming you back again to MARITIM Hotel Mauritius, or to any of our other resorts worldwide.

Yours sincerely,

Haje Thurau
General Manager
MARITIM Hotel Mauritius
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

So many positive comments are made about Mauritius and now here's another! Ours is not just about an island full of character, charm and stunning views, but a hotel that will rank as the best we've ever enjoyed. In a variety of ways the Maritim in Mauritius surpassed our highest expectations.
The hotel is set in idyllic surroundings, full of natural beauty and tended with daily care. We chose to upgrade our room and found this to be an excellent decision. The accommodation was luxurious, spacious, airy, clean and well appointed, with views across the lawns, tropical flora and fauna, and stunning evening sights of the colourful sun setting in the Indian Ocean.
Our package was 'all inclusive', an option we'd never tried before, but in this instance, a perfect choice. The variety and quality of food available on this, based on a buffet self-selection system worked excellently in the main restaurant, but several other alternative fine dining locations withim the hotel and its grounds could be chosen, with concessions off the cost. We felt there no need to do this, except if to celebrate a special event, or to provide a quieter or more romantic ambience maybe. We did this once and savoured some of the finest shellfish we'd ever tasted, albeit even with our discount, this was relatively expensive. A word of warning though. If you wish to book one of the alternative restaurants do so really early in your holiday. We tried doing this on our first full day to find there was no availability whatsoever and had to go onto a cancellation waiting list. Thanks to personal efforts made by Kavita, our guest co-ordinator, we were able to guarantee a table on our last evening. This highlights the desire of staff to please and ensure holidays are memorable like ours certainly was.
Most types of drink were available on our deal too, including a good selection of branded spirits, wines and well known cocktails. Most facilities were free too, most water-sports, excluding diving.
One of the notable highlights overall was the naturally friendly, helpful, 'can do' attitude of staff from cleaners to management alike. Most had a friendly smile and helpful, polite manner from our arrival to departure, unsurpassed in our experience.
Our only recommendation for improvement would be to avoid the potential delay in being accommodated in your rooms if your arrival time is early in the day. As most travellers will have completed substantial journeys, although logistically challenging, a greater effort to make rooms available earlier would have been unbelievably appreciated.
Overall, a superb hotel, with stunning surroundings and wonderful staff. An excellent choice in our opinion for anyone wishing to travel to Mauritius.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haje T, General Manager at Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from MARITIM Hotel Mauritius!

I would like to thank you for taking the time to review the Maritim Estate and sharing your views with other travellers on Trip Advisor.

We are simply delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay in Mauritius and that the Maritim Tean met and exceeded your expectations!

Thank you once again for your kind and warm review and all of us hope to see you back for a yet another holiday with us in the near future.

Yours truly,
Haje Thurau
General Manager
MARITIM Hotel Mauritius
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We spent an amazing 3 weeks at the Maritim last year. All the staff (other than one of the barmen) were friendly and welcoming and could not do enough for you to ensure your stay was special.
The beach bar and restaurant was amazing, definately a special place and the lobster was awesome!
The privalige and prestige rooms are wonderful and every room appeared to have a great view.
Bar service by the pool and on the beach makes your stay even more special.
This truly is a little bit of heaven on earth.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haje T, General Manager at Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from MARITIM Hotel Mauritius!

I would like to thank you for taking the time to review the Maritim Estate and sharing your views with other travellers on Trip Advisor!

We are simply delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay among us and that you consider the Maritim Hotel Mauritius like 'Heaven on Earth'!

Thank you once again for your review and your great support!

Yours sincerely,

Haje Thurau
General Manager
MARITIM Hotel Mauritius
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius

Address: Turtle Bay, Balaclava, Mauritius
Location: Mauritius > Pamplemousses District > Balaclava
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Balaclava
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Balaclava
#2 Luxury Hotel in Balaclava
#2 Spa Hotel in Balaclava
#2 Romantic Hotel in Balaclava
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius 5*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sparkling sandy beach, tropical gardens and the crystal clear turquoise waters of the Indian Ocean... Live the essence of a great island escape!Immerse yourself in this luxurious five-star beach and spa resort gently nestled within a picturesque private estate along the protected marine park of Turtle Bay.Enjoy a prime location on the sunniest and sheltered Northwest coast of the island between the capital Port - Louis and the lively village of Grand Bay and indulge in the pure nature of the historical estate of 25 hectares awarded 'Most Beautiful Garden of Mauritius'. Be spoilt by world-class accommodation with 215 luxurious rooms and suites as well as an exclusive villa, all sea facing and elegantly designed ...ideal to embrace the tropical ambiance of the island. Savour endless culinary delights during your journey with an exceptional selection of five exquisite restaurants and three bars ranging from 'feet in the sand' beach restaurants to Asian fusion and the exclusive fine dining restaurant 'Chateau Mon Desir'.Pamper yourself in its 'Maritim Tropical Flower Spa', an oasis of wellbeing offering exclusive treatments and stunning facilities to relax and unwind.Those seeking for active holidays will benefit from an infinite range of land and water sports offered such as horse riding, golf, archery, water ski, diving and many more!Whenever you are looking for relaxing or active holidays, this 5-star luxury hotel, part of Maritim Hotels, will offer you an exceptional array of facilities and experiences combined with the highest standards of service delivered with genuine Mauritian hospitality. Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius ...your holidays... beyond paradise ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maritim Mauritius Balaclava
Hotel Maritim Mauritius
Maritim Hotel Mauritius
Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius Balaclava

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.