We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular Honeymoon thanks to Angsana” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Angsana Balaclava Mauritius

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Angsana Balaclava Mauritius to your Saves list
Angsana Balaclava Mauritius
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Turtle Bay, Republic of Mauritius, Balaclava, Mauritius   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Balaclava
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Spectacular Honeymoon thanks to Angsana”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

My husband and I have just returned from a truly amazing two week honeymoon with Angsana Balaclava in Mauritius. On arrival at the hotel we were provided with warm towels to freshen up after our extremely long journey and some refreshing drinks whilst being taken through check in, once check in was complete we were given a brief tour of the property and taken to our wonderful room. We had a spa suite which was vey spacious and more importantly luxurious! We had a private plunge pool on the terrace which overlooked a beautiful garden and had spectacular views of the sea - I spent many evenings sitting outside listening to the birds and it was just wonderful. The food was also the BEST I have ever had at any hotel, there was a different three course menu every evening with three choices for every taste - the chef is amazing. The service and staff at Angsana are what really make this a fabulous hotel - Preetum Beehary the assistant restaurant manager was just an absolute delight, no matter how busy the restaurant was he made his way round each and every table to make sure we were all enjoying our meal and always checking if we needed anything else - we had many interesting chats with him and thoroughly enjoyed his company. We felt truly looked after and also felt like we built a friendship which is lovely. This man deserves a payrise - he was there first thing in the morning through to when we retired to bed almost every day of ourtrip and always had a smile on face and a cheery persona - a credit to the hotel. Another member of staff that particularly stood out was Kehsave who worked in the lunchtime restaurant - he was attentive and very friendly - he spent a large amount of time looking after the guests who were sun bathing and everyone appreciated it. Our special honeymoon meal on the deck by the pool was something to remember - they selected a gorgeous meal for us and we enjoyed every second of it. I don't have one bad word to say about this hotel and I WILL definitely be going back. I would recommend Angsana to anyone looking for an amazing hotel, with great service in paradise. Thanks for a wonderful holiday. ND x

Room Tip: We stayed in 205 spa suite and would recommend the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angsana Balacla... M, General Manager at Angsana Balaclava Mauritius, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Nicola,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a Trip advisor comment following your stay at Angsana Balaclava Mauritius. It is always heart-warming to receive such encouraging comments from our guests.

I am thrilled to read that you were able to feel the professional service of our staff upon arrival. Our team is trained to be authentic, friendly, gracious and provide a service attitude that is above expectations and I am glad to know that you were able to experience this with the Angsana Balaclava Mauritius team.

Nestled in the secluded area of Turtle Bay, Angsana Balaclava Mauritius with its 52 suites, offers a hideaway ideal for travellers looking for privacy and relaxation. The spa suite was definitely a great choice with its private relaxation pool you I trust you immersed yourself in a worry free holiday bliss. We are also glad that you were able to sit back and enjoy the sound of the birds chirping in our lush garden.

At Angsana Balaclava Mauritius guests are spoilt for choice with our exotic Asian fusion menus as well as international European cuisine, authentic Creole food or even our piquant Indian cuisine. Chef Curtis and the rest of the team will be extremely pleased to know that it was the ‘best’ food you had ever tasted in any hotel.

It is very encouraging to know that some of our associates went the extra mile during your stay. Our team is dedicated and always ready to make each guest stay special. Your gracious comments have been passed to Preetum and Keshav as well as the rest of the team who take great pride in what they do. Moreover, your comments will serve as an added inspiration to consistently maintain the high standards you have experienced, and which are one of the trademarks of our brand.

Once again Nicola, I would like to thank you for your very kind comment on our resort. It has been a pleasure to have you stay at Angsana Balaclava Mauritius. I trust you had a safe trip back to London and that you are keeping safe with the storm. We cannot wait for you to come and spend another ‘spectacular’ holiday with us.

Yours sincerely,
Pascal Prigent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    283
    44
    17
    8
    5
See reviews for
63
224
4
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

The hotel was fabulous,. We stayed in a spa suite which was spacious, airy and quiet. The food was excellent. I'm a vegetarian and the staff went out of their way to ensure I was supplied with everything I wanted. That's the first time that has happened on a holiday and I was very impressed by it. With the spa suites, come daily massages and again, the service was excellent.
The only criticisms were that the restocking of the coffee was a little haphazard; the pools, including the spa suite plunge pool, are not heated and there were many many flies, encouraging my husband to name the island Maur- meaning flies and itius meaning lots of. The team went out of their way to try and disband the merry throng, but they were very intrusive. That said, there's not much you can do about that, so the comfort of the suite was very welcome at times. All in all, a wonderful place with wonderful staff.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angsana Balacla... M, General Manager at Angsana Balaclava Mauritius, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Katey,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a Trip Advisor comment following your stay at Angsana Balaclava Mauritius. We are glad to know that you had a great time.

Nestled in the secluded area of Turtle Bay, Angsana Balaclava Mauritius with its 52 suites, offers a hideaway ideal for travellers looking for privacy and relaxation. I am especially thrilled to know that your Spa suite was to your convenience and that you enjoyed the massages. Our Spa therapists are dedicated in making sure that our guests receive the relaxing experience they are looking for. It is with great pleasure that I hear that you had an excellent service. Rest assured that your warm comments will be passed on to the team.

I would like to take this opportunity to address the mishap during your stay. Please note that we have not been the only hotel in Balaclava that was affected. A few days ago we were given a reason to this problem and it has been tackled by the responsible party and the authorities.

Once again we would like to thank you for your nice comments. I hope you had a safe trip back to London and that we will soon welcome you again at Angsana Balaclava Mauritius.

Yours sincerely,
Pascal Prigent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castleton, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We only stayed at the angsana for one night because our hotel was overbooked and so they asked us to move and because of the duration it's difficult to give a proper review. We stayed in one of the ocean front rooms which was spectacular in terms of facilities, decor and setting. The room comes with a private pool, the bath is huge and it really was a high end room, probably one of the nicest we have stayed in. We used the spa and had a fantastic massage which was given by very experienced staff. The spa setting is very restful and again stylish without feeling too pretentious. The gym facilities were excellent with current techno gym equipment. The hotel is big and grande which unfortunately made it feel less personal than our previous hotel and a little too corporate for our tastes. The staff were friendly during our very short stay. The big downer is the hotel had a fly infestation which was frustrating as you couldn't relax by the pool and even more annoying when you tried to eat. The breakfast buffet was deliciously presented, however due to the amount of flys everything had to be covered. I'm not sure what can be done but I would definitely suggest the hotel investigates and comes up with a solution or makes their hotel guest aware.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angsana Balacla... M, General Manager at Angsana Balaclava Mauritius, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Lee,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to leave a Trip Advisor comment following your very short stay at Angsana Balaclava Mauritius.

Nestled in the secluded area of Turtle Bay, Angsana Balaclava Mauritius with its 52 suites, offers a hideaway ideal for travellers looking for privacy and relaxation. We are pleased to read that the ocean front suite was to your liking. We must say that it is the most popular suite amongst our guest that are especially fond of the beautiful stone bath tub and the various in suite facilities offered.

I am delighted to learn that during your short stay you were able to make some time to experience our spa facilities and its wide range of relaxing and rejuvenating treatments. Our spa team is dedicated in making sure our guests receive the appropriate tender loving care they fully deserve. Rest assured that you warm comments have been passed on to the team.

Lee, during your stay you might have noticed that there were quite a few flies. We have taken this issue very seriously and an investigation was under process during your stay. It could have been that you did not notice our vain efforts as we have been trying to deal with it in the most natural manner that will not cause any disturbance to our guests or the environment. I would also like to point out that we are not the only hotel in Balaclava that is currently being affected by this problem. However, please be aware that this morning hotels of Balaclava were given a reason to this problem and it will be resolved in the shortest delay possible and we are dealing with local authorities to tackle the issue.

Once again please accept our apologies. We trust you had a safe trip back to the UK and that we will have the pleasure to welcome you at Angsana Balaclava Mauritius once again.

Yours sincerely,

Pascal Prigent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

I have very mixed feelings about Angsana Resort...although I would not rate it badly...the resort service lacks the small touches which take your experience from 'good' to 'memorable' or 'amazing' !
The pros are.. amazing food, attentive and courteous restaurant staff and great live music in the evenings! But unfortunately thats where it ends.
The biggest drawback is the service..as individuals they are great but there's complete lack of coordination amongst the staff resulting in innumerable glitches. Requests are not heeded to and the staff don't revert back on queries and one has to keep following up. The gym is ill equipped and poorly lit and the spa is completely devoid of any tantalizing smells of aromatherapy oils or candles..which normally lure you to using a spa! The room was nice and spacious but very impersonal and dingy. The whole property is so tiny..apart from the small beach and pool area...there is no garden or enough space to just walk around... that you feel constricted.
One could have overlooked a whole lot of these things, but Angsana.. your biggest drawback is you just dont go that extra mile to make a guest feel pampered enough.. and our decision to move into another resort with a beautiful sprawling property....where the extraordinary personalized service made us feel like kings and queens, at more or less the same cost..just proved this point. But to give you credit you did offer to upgrade us to redeem yourselves.. and we appreciate that.
Overall.. a resort with a lot of potential...great bunch of individuals . who need to come together as a cohesive unit and pay attention to small details.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angsana Balacla... M, General Manager at Angsana Balaclava Mauritius, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Ruchita,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a Trip Advisor comment following your recent stay at Angsana Balaclava Mauritius.

Nestled in the secluded area of Turtle Bay, Angsana Balaclava Mauritius with its 52 suites, offers a hideaway ideal for travellers looking for privacy and relaxation.

It is with great pleasure that I read of your contentment regarding the food. Chef Suardi and the team are thrilled to know that you found their dishes ‘amazing’. We make it our duty to please every of our guests by creating new innovating dishes that will delight their taste buds. I am even more delighted to read that you were able to experience the courtesy and attentiveness of the team. Your warm comments have been passed on to the team.

However we would like to apologize for the service you encountered during your stay. I would like to seize this opportunity to present my excuses for the disappointing standards.

I would like to point out that due to the limited space our garden is quite restricted however our free space are exploited to the maximum to provide beautiful green areas for our guests.

We have taken note of your comments and rest assured that we are doing an internal investigation to find out more about it. As an exclusive intimate boutique resort, Angsana Balaclava places an emphasis on the attention to details.

Please rest assured that this is not our usual standard and that your comments have been passed on to the team so we can further improve and monitor our Angsana standards.

Again, I would like to thank you for your comments on our resort. I trust you had a safe trip back home and that we will be expecting another visit soon.

Yours sincerely,

Pascal Prigent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

When we decided to get married in Mauritius, we shortlisted few hotels that met our needs, and contact them all. We chose Angsana Balaclava hotel without any doubt, and we felt right from the start that this hotel and his staff really felt what we need from our wedding.

We can't thank enough the wedding coordinator, Vanessa, who made our wedding to be really and truly the Wedding of our dreams!! Right from the start she was super friendly, kind and professional, and met our every single wedding related wish.

The whole Angsana staff was just amazing! At the reception, at spa, at dining area...

When we arrived we booked beachfront suite, and we were upgraded to Imperial villa, that was absolutely gorgeous! A a matter of fact, we got married in front of the villa, in its yard next to the beach and the pool! Vanessa and the rest of Angsana team took care of every single detail when it came to make the ceremony a pure perfection! They selected two wonderful musicians who sang and played our favourite songs, we couldn't ask for better musicians, they brought magic to the whole event! Kiss from a rose is still on my mind... :)

Photographer Arvin and cameraman Raj did wonderful job with photographs and video too.

The overall hotel looks stunning! Perfect for couples, it brings romance in its every step, ideal venue for the wedding and honeymoon! Tasty food in their restaurants, superb apartments, and also possibilities for other outside of the hotel activities.

All in all, 11 out of 10! We're truly impressed and super happy! Thank you one more time to Angsana team and they unlimited efforts to realize the Perfect Wedding!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Angsana.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angsana Balacla... M, General Manager at Angsana Balaclava Mauritius, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Vesna and Enrico,

First of all congratulations on your beautiful wedding! We are immensely pleased that you chose to celebrate your special occasion with us.

Also, thank you for taking the time to leave a Trip Advisor comment following your stay at Angsana Balaclava Mauritius. I am delighted to read such warm comments on our resort.

Nestled in the secluded area of Turtle Bay, Angsana Balaclava Mauritius with its 52 suites, offers a hideaway ideal for travellers looking for privacy and relaxation. I am truly happy to read that you fully enjoyed you stay in the imperial villa. This palatial villa is ideal for travellers looking to experience the luxury of space and privacy.

Your kind comments have been passed on to Vanessa and the rest of the team. They are all absolutely thrilled to know that you had an incredible experience and dream wedding at the resort.

Our team is trained to be authentic, friendly, gracious and provide a service attitude that is above expectations and it is very encouraging to know that you were able to experience this with the Angsana Balaclava Mauritius team.

Again, I would like to thank you for your very kind comments on our resort. It was with great pleasure that we welcomed you and we sincerely hope to see you again very soon at Angsana Balaclava Mauritius.

Yours sincerely,

Pascal Prigent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

When I entered my beachfront suite (with a personal pool and Jacuzzi) instantly I knew that this was the best room I have stayed in. Amazing place
Only needs improvement in breakfast, particularly for vegetarians

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Angsana.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angsana Balacla... M, General Manager at Angsana Balaclava Mauritius, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Valued guest,

I would like to thank you for taking some time to leave a Trip Advisor comment following your stay at Angsana Balaclava Mauritius.

Nestled in the secluded area of Turtle Bay, Angsana Balaclava Mauritius with its 52 suites, offers a hideaway ideal for travellers looking for privacy and relaxation. I am especially glad to know that during your business trip you were able to unwind and disconnect in your beachfront suite. I am pleased that you enjoyed the suite and its various facilities after a hard day at work.

At Angsana Balaclava Mauritius guests are spoilt for choice with our exotic Asian fusion menus as well as international European cuisine, authentic Creole food or even our piquant Indian cuisine. I sincerely hope you were able to enjoy those various dishes.

We have taken notes of your comments and we thank you as they will truly help us monitor and improve further our Angsana services and facilities.

I trust you had a safe trip back home and that we will have the pleasure to welcome you back at the resort.

Yours sincerely,

Pascal Prigent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

All the staff in the hotel are very enthusiastic. For example, restaurant waiter afraid that I was cold to take my shawl. The waiter gave me mineral water beach. There is provided a speedboat to take us to the waiter. The service here is very thoughtful. The room is very clean and comfortable. Special thanks to Michelle for Chinese service. Whether the restaurant or the spa environment, all the hotel was very good. Full of birds' twitter and fragrance of flowers. To experience the most authentic Mauritius style here. A trip is very good, I think I will definitely come back here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Angsana.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angsana Balacla... M, General Manager at Angsana Balaclava Mauritius, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a TripAdvisor comment following your stay at Angsana Balaclava Mauritius. It is with great pleasure that I read your ‘amazing journey’ amongst us.

Nestled in the secluded area of Turtle Bay, Angsana Balaclava Mauritius with its 52 suites, offers a hideaway ideal for travellers looking for a quiet and relaxing moment. We are thrilled to learn that you enjoyed the sound of the birds chirping and the wonderful scent of our garden flowers.

Our team is trained to be authentic and provide service attitude that is above expectation and I am delighted that all staff were able to assist your needs. Your warm comments were passed on to Michelle and the rest of the team that has made your stay with us a great success.

I hope you had a safe trip back home and we definitely look forward to seeing you back at the resort.

Yours sincerely,

Pascal Prigent.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Angsana Balaclava Mauritius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angsana Balaclava Mauritius

Address: Turtle Bay, Republic of Mauritius, Balaclava, Mauritius
Location: Mauritius > Pamplemousses District > Balaclava
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Balaclava
#2 Romantic Hotel in Balaclava
#2 Luxury Hotel in Balaclava
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Angsana Balaclava Mauritius 5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the northwest coast of Mauritius, in the secluded area of Turtle Bay, Angsana Balaclava offers a hideaway ideal for travellers looking for privacy and relaxation. Angsana Balaclava is the island’s premier boutique resort – the latest 5-star resort on the Mauritian landscape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Angsana Balaclava Mauritius reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angsana Balaclava Hotel Balaclava
Angsana Balaclava Mauritius

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Angsana Balaclava Mauritius, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.