We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Located in the middle of nowhere. Paradise place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Angsana Balaclava Mauritius

Save Saved
You added Angsana Balaclava Mauritius to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Angsana Balaclava Mauritius
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Turtle Bay, Republic of Mauritius, Balaclava, Mauritius   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Balaclava
Kiev, Ukraine
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Located in the middle of nowhere. Paradise place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is small and cool but it's located in the middle of nowhere and you can't access it by public transport, the only way to get to the hotel and go out is by taxi wich is not cheap on Mauritius. From the airport we get to the hotel for 1500 rupies wich is 50USD or 38Euro. All the drivers wants at least 2000 rupies and than goes till the 1700 but I told them that we will go just for 1500 in a 5 minutes one of the drivers pic us up. The trip early in the morning (we arrived to SSR airport around 7am and sit into the cab at 8 took approximately 1 hour and 40 minutes to the hotel. It was a log of traffic jams on the way and I was surprised that the islands can have such traffic jams. The hotel is great, the service is good, the suites are great I have hever stayed at such big suites. The bathroom is cool, the terrace is big (we had a garden view suite). All the suites has a Nespresso machine and first 9 capsules for free, for the next capsules you need to pay. Hotel food from differet restaurants and bar rather expansive for a chicken breast and a hamburger (wich is tasty) and one healthy cocktail without alcohol and one espresso be ready to pay 1300-1400 rupies, San Pellegrino sparkling water cost 250 rupies. Hotel has a water pipe ( other words shisha or hookah) wich is cost 600 rupies excluding VAT and service charge. The taste not great but not bad. Hotel has 2 swimming pools and one swimming pool for kids. The only bad thing about the hotel is the beach, it is not like the beaches that you saw on the Internet about the Mauritian coast, no blue clear water :( so to see a good beaches you need to rent a car (good option) or get ready to pay a lot for the taxi, like to the famous beach Trou au Biches around 11 kilometers around 800 or 1000 rupies for one way ride, depends on the taxi service you choose, do not order taxi from reception it's gonna cost you more. I recommend to use the http://www.taxicabmauritius.com/ they have affordable prices. Like to Port Louis we paid 600 rupies and the taxi what guy from the reception called cost 1000 rupies one way. So if you want to stay at the quiet place with nothing around that hotel is a place to be and if you want some entertainment go for another hotel. Any way have a nice rest. Yes I will reccomend this hotel for those who wants to stay along the silence and peace.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BTGroup, General Manager at Angsana Balaclava Mauritius, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

I am honoured to read that you found Angsana Balaclava Mauritius to be ‘Paradise place’ and I would like to thank you for sharing your delightful comments and for choosing our resort for your recent holidays.

I am sorry to hear about the long time it took you to reach the hotel in the morning. Being a small island, there is only 1 way to get into the city, Port-Louis, in the morning and unfortunately the peak hours are between 7a.m and 9a.m and that’s the main reason you experienced so much traffic jam.

We are however pleased to hear that you enjoyed the size and comfort of your garden suite and that the overall service was good.

The team and I are appreciative of your kind feedback on their hospitality and efficient service. As an exclusive intimate boutique resort, Angsana Balaclava places an emphasis on the attention to details and we strive to create a memorable stay for our guests.

All your kind and constructive comments have already been passed to our team as these will truly help us to monitor, and improve even further our Angsana services and facilities.

I trust you had a pleasant and safe journey home and look forward to welcoming you back again to Angsana Balaclava or to any of our other resorts worldwide.

Pascal Prigent
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    249
    38
    16
    6
    3
See reviews for
59
196
4
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
port louis
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

i was very happy that i come in this hotel with my family
we were very happy about the service
the restaurent service was very very good and the staffs was very friendly and well manered
a really good place to relax
i apreciate the yoga thanks to roopesh
the food was excellence. FATIMA A

Room Tip: uts a really good hotel i give you the suggestion if you want to go to a hotel its a really good pla...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BTGroup, General Manager at Angsana Balaclava Mauritius, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear valued Guest,

We thank you for taking the time to share your comments on Trip Advisor following your stay in at Angsana Balaclava and it is wonderful to learn that you had a great time.

As an exclusive intimate boutique resort, Angsana Balaclava places an emphasis on the attention to details and as we strive to create a memorable stay for our guests, I am especially encouraged by your positive feedback on our service standards.

I am also delighted to learn that you enjoyed our restaurant and food and that you had time to unwind and enjoy our yoga classes.

Your gracious comments have been passed to our personnel, which will serve as an added inspiration to consistently maintain the high standards you have experienced, and which are one of the trademarks of our brand.

We look forward to welcoming you back to a pleasant rest and wonderful sunset at Angsana Balaclava or to any of our other resorts worldwide.

Yours sincerely,
Pascal Prigent
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Just came back from one week break with my husband and 13 months son. The hotel is in the middle of nowhere as other people mentioned already and the ocean is not very clean due to the river and the nearby port, the sand is not great either. However, we have no problem with any of these as we were looking for a quite family break and the fact that the hotel is isolated did not bother us. We were happy to use the pools as they were safer and cleaner for our baby and hence no issue with the ocean either. Due to the small number of suites and the fact that most of them have their own pools the resort was very quite and we were enjoying the pools mainly by ourselves or just with few more guest around.
The food was good, we really liked the lack of the buffet for dinner so we could have freshly prepared three course dinners. We were also touched by the fact that special baby food was prepared for our son and delivers to our suite.
Accommodation is very specious and we enjoyed lovely views from our balcony. Bathrooms are real treat and the bed is huge!
Staff was really nice and friendly, and always happy to help. We were impressed by Kiran who was always friendly and did his best to assist, and he was always smiling.
Unfortunately, there were some negatives I should mention - food and drinks are very expensive, same goes for the spa treatments. I will also join the reviewers before me who found unacceptable to be charged for the Nespresso capsules in your room. This is petty and for a five star resort is embarrassing and I would urge the management to review this practice.
Overall. we had an amazing holiday and we would love to go back to the resort in few years time!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BTGroup, General Manager at Angsana Balaclava Mauritius, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful comments on Trip Advisor and we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay at Angsana Balaclava and found it a ‘great place to unwind’

As an exclusive intimate boutique resort, Angsana Balaclava places an emphasis on the attention to details and it rewarding to know that we could make your stay a memorable one.

The team and I are appreciative of your kind feedback on their hospitality and efficient service. We are thrilled to learn that you enjoyed our suites & swimming pool as well as our freshly prepared three course meal every night. Our Chef and his team constantly work on improving and innovating new ideas and menus.

As a policy the first full set of coffee / tea set up in your suite is with our compliments and should the guests consume more it will be chargeable.

We would like to thank you once again for your kind words and constructive comments as these will truly help us to monitor, and improve even further our Angsana services and facilities.

I trust you had a pleasant and safe journey home and look forward to welcoming you back again to Angsana Balaclava or to any of our other resorts worldwide

Yours Sincerely

Pascal Prigent
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We arrived at Angsana Balaclava for our second week of being in Mauritius. It's in the middle of nowhere so be warned but we were extremely impressed with how we were welcomed.
We were taken to our adjoining Garden Suites (as we had our daughters with us). And they were absolutely beautiful. Big, clean, modern, really lovely. There is Wi-Fi and movie channels.

We had a walk around the resort which is very small and it was very, very quiet, there are 52 rooms I think and only 19 were occupied whilst we were there (according to several staff members). The beach is very small and nothing exciting, the water isn't a beautiful colour like I expected and the outlook tends to be dominated by container ships out at sea.

I think because it was so quiet we felt there was not much atmosphere. Most of the time we were the only people sitting around the pool. A pianist played one night out of the seven we were there and was the only entertainment for the whole week although there was one night when an astronomer came with a high powered telescope on the beach and talked to us about the moon and stars which was quite interesting.

The food in the evening was brilliant, there was a good menu and even if you didn't want something off the menu then they were happy to do something else or change it. Can't fault the chef at all! Lunch time food bar was also lovely with good food. The service at breakfast and dinner was also excellent. Complimentary snacks were brought to us around the pool very occasionally which was nice.

We saw some really appalling service a few times while we were there for other guests, particularly around the pool. It seemed that a young girl was responsible for putting the mattresses on the sun beds but she was rarely around so we saw guests sitting on hard beds with no offer of help despite groups of staff who basically had nothing to do standing around talking to each other.

Unfortunately for us when it rained on about the second day and we returned to our rooms they smelt very 'drainy', we called reception and they immediately came over and put some nice smelling oil down the drains in the toilet and shower which masked the smell. But the same happened over the next few days. Eventually about two days before we were leaving the smell became so bad we couldn't stand to be in the room. So they decided to move us up a level, I was concerned that as we were just going up that it might still smell but they insisted the rooms above were fine so we packed everything up and moved up into another two adjoining rooms. We moved in and went to plug something into a plug socket and all the power went off in the room! Once again though they came immediately to sort it out so we were looking forward to enjoying the last couple of days of our holiday. The next day though the smell was back, so we were very disappointed to say the least! It was strange that they didn't move us into another block, even if it would have been an upgrade. It's not like they were full.

My wife used the spa once which is very expensive but she said it was nice. We used the gym a couple of times but that wasn't a nice experience. It was small but the equipment was very new but they turn the air conditioning off if no one is there. Consequently you have to turn it on when you get there and it starts to cool down just as you are finishing your workout. Not great.

Our balconies in our first adjoining rooms were really lovely, with a table and chairs and lovely sofa and cushions to sit out on which we did a lot. But when we moved up a level there was nothing out there but a table and two hard chairs. That was a real shame and we couldn't understand why. We were tired of complaining by that stage because we go on holiday to relax and complaining is mentally draining.

A couple of other things that could be done better - evening turn down inevitably arrived just when we were getting ready for dinner, I have seen that this has been a problem for other people in earlier reviews. Fogging for mosquito prevention was done just before dinner time, we had to be moved because the restaurant floor was left so slippery and having it so fresh in the air can't be that good for you either.

Overall the staff are mostly very pleasant, the food was good, the rooms were beautiful but with issues. The resort manager gave us a little gift of pot pourri to apologize but that didn't really make up for our experience. We couldn't even take that back to Australia due to customs restrictions.....

We've rated the resort at average overall but really some aspects were excellent and some were terrible.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BTGroup, General Manager at Angsana Balaclava Mauritius, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Mr Petsa,

We would like to thank you for sharing your comments on Trip advisor following your recent stay with us at Angsana Balaclava.

As an exclusive intimate boutique resort, Angsana Balaclava places an emphasis on the attention to details and as we strive to create a memorable stay for our guests I am very pleased to hear that you were extremely impressed by our welcoming and that you found our Garden Suites beautiful, clean and modern.

Thank you for commenting on our food. We are glad to hear you found our menu brilliant. Our Balinese Chef and his team continuously work on improving and innovating new ideas and menus to make it a memorable experience for each guest.

I am however sorry to hear about the problems you encountered with your suites damp smell it was due to extremely wet weather at the time. As it is our greatest goal to make sure that our guests have a most enjoyable stay with us, please be assured that this is not a usual standard and that all your constructive comments have been passed to our team already so we can improve our service standards.

We trust you had a pleasant and safe journey home and with your overall experience we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Angsana Balaclava or to any of our other resorts worldwide

Warmest Regards

Pascal Prigent
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brest
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

We could not resist at the call of this little lost paradise…and we kept on wondering all flight long how would the staff of Angsana impress us even further than our last visit!


On our way to SA, we seized this opportunity to visit once again Mauritius and checked-in again in Angsana Balaclava. As soon as we stepped out of the cab, the concierge came right towards us and greeted us with the so famous Mauritian smile. He had recognized us and seemed very pleased to have us back as his guests. We booked a beach front suite for another 10 days...and did not regret it!


During our last day, we were in a spa suite, which we believed was bigger than a standard room. Amazingly, the beach front suite is actually even wider and bigger! To our surprise, we had a private pool, right in front of the beach along with a Jacuzzi. The bathroom was simply awesome: we had never seen such a huge tub, fully made of stone. And the view: simply breathtaking! WE WERE IN PARADISE ONCE AGAIN!

The staff was as always very friendly and helpful. Most of them recognized us the first glance... even after 6 months! Somehow weird for the others, but we liked this little attention.

The dishes prepared were simply bliss! About the food and the service… we hardly experienced the same level and taste in the dishes like we did at Angsana during our second stay. Bravo to the chef! Special thanks to Avinach and Pritum for their usual care!

We indulged ourselves every day in the peaceful surroundings of the spa – thanks to Lovena for her delicate treatment: we would almost fall asleep!

Last but not least, thumbs up to the reception team and particularly to Benjamin for his welcome and extra care during our stay.

The only disappointing point is that we had to leave from this lovely place...Looks like we have to plan a third trip back…

Room Tip: Beach front villa ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

This was the second part of our honeymoon following an incredible few days in Africa. Everything we had there for free was charged in angsana, from the rose petal bath to simple things like coffee and water in your bedroom. The hotel boasts about its wine cellar then never was able to provide what we asked for (from their menu). They also failed to provide a vegetarian meal every single night. Twice I was asked if I wanted lettuce, three times soup. This was also what I was then given AGAIN for our "special honeymoon" meal. Nothing felt like 5 star. We were having a luxurious honeymoon and yet still you felt permanently ripped off. The beach is ok but very stony and you are far from everything-hence the reason the hotel knows it can rip you off. There was one lovely member of the team-Kieran. Look out for him, he goes out of his way to help you and always greets you with a smile. The rest are a little rude and miserable. I hate leaving a negative review but for anyone going to Mauritius, stay somewhere else, would be a shame to waste your experience.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BTGroup, General Manager at Angsana Balaclava Mauritius, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Mrs Barton,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments on Trip Advisor following your stay in October at Angsana Balaclava

I am sorry truly sorry to hear that your honeymoon with us was ‘sadly Disappointing’.
I can only apologise for all the various issues you encountered during your stay and assure you that all issues experienced are currently being investigated internally. It is our greatest goal to make sure that our guests have a most enjoyable stay with us and I am sorry that we did not achieve our goal on this occasion.

I would however like to mention that every night we do offer 2 choices of Vegetarian dishes on our menu to all our guests. Had you brought these issues to our attention we would have had them rectified immediately and offered you other options.

Thank you for your special mention of Kiran. I am thrilled to know that he could make your stay more enjoyable.

I trust you had a safe journey home.

Warmest Regards
Pascal Prigent
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We (couple)spent 10 nights, in a beachfront suite (103), have visited Mauritius more than 20 times in all kinds of accommodation with and without our children.

Location: middle of nowhere but easy access. Awful surroundings but out of sight.The sea is not nice, the water not blue and tankers are always in view, a big drawback compared to other places on the island with turquoise water and wide beaches. The resort compensates with a sand bottom pool, thatched roofs, and overall pristine common areas.
Room: well decorated,big and cosy, great deck, wonderful bed ,good light,Very private. The only problem is that the pool and the jacuzzi are too cold to stay in without swimming so it really defeats the purpose of having it!
Spa: excellent massages but the price is 30% more than what I pay in Paris in a country where salaries are one quarter of what they are in France. Guitta and Anoushee were great.
The vitality pool was heated following my request, I enjoyed it! The gym is well equipped, Jean Pierre was an amazing coach.
Food: varied, plentiful and well presented, they honored every single request with a smile, Renu ,the best server here made us feel at home.
The resort was far from fully booked so we enjoyed the tranquility and attentive service .

Room Tip: If the resort is full I think the upper floor beach front offers more privacy, otherwise the lower f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Angsana Balaclava Mauritius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angsana Balaclava Mauritius

Address: Turtle Bay, Republic of Mauritius, Balaclava, Mauritius
Phone Number:
Location: Mauritius > Pamplemousses District > Balaclava
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Balaclava
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Balaclava
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Angsana Balaclava Mauritius 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the northwest coast of Mauritius, in the secluded area of Turtle Bay, Angsana Balaclava offers a hideaway ideal for travellers looking for privacy and relaxation. Angsana Balaclava is the island’s premier boutique resort – the latest 5-star resort on the Mauritian landscape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Venere, Otel and Tingo so you can book your Angsana Balaclava Mauritius reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angsana Balaclava Hotel Balaclava
Angsana Balaclava Mauritius

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Angsana Balaclava Mauritius, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.