We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, mixed service,some problems.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Angsana Balaclava Mauritius

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Angsana Balaclava Mauritius to your Saves list
Angsana Balaclava Mauritius
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Turtle Bay, Republic of Mauritius, Balaclava, Mauritius   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Balaclava
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Good food, mixed service,some problems.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We arrived at Angsana Balaclava for our second week of being in Mauritius. It's in the middle of nowhere so be warned but we were extremely impressed with how we were welcomed.
We were taken to our adjoining Garden Suites (as we had our daughters with us). And they were absolutely beautiful. Big, clean, modern, really lovely. There is Wi-Fi and movie channels.

We had a walk around the resort which is very small and it was very, very quiet, there are 52 rooms I think and only 19 were occupied whilst we were there (according to several staff members). The beach is very small and nothing exciting, the water isn't a beautiful colour like I expected and the outlook tends to be dominated by container ships out at sea.

I think because it was so quiet we felt there was not much atmosphere. Most of the time we were the only people sitting around the pool. A pianist played one night out of the seven we were there and was the only entertainment for the whole week although there was one night when an astronomer came with a high powered telescope on the beach and talked to us about the moon and stars which was quite interesting.

The food in the evening was brilliant, there was a good menu and even if you didn't want something off the menu then they were happy to do something else or change it. Can't fault the chef at all! Lunch time food bar was also lovely with good food. The service at breakfast and dinner was also excellent. Complimentary snacks were brought to us around the pool very occasionally which was nice.

We saw some really appalling service a few times while we were there for other guests, particularly around the pool. It seemed that a young girl was responsible for putting the mattresses on the sun beds but she was rarely around so we saw guests sitting on hard beds with no offer of help despite groups of staff who basically had nothing to do standing around talking to each other.

Unfortunately for us when it rained on about the second day and we returned to our rooms they smelt very 'drainy', we called reception and they immediately came over and put some nice smelling oil down the drains in the toilet and shower which masked the smell. But the same happened over the next few days. Eventually about two days before we were leaving the smell became so bad we couldn't stand to be in the room. So they decided to move us up a level, I was concerned that as we were just going up that it might still smell but they insisted the rooms above were fine so we packed everything up and moved up into another two adjoining rooms. We moved in and went to plug something into a plug socket and all the power went off in the room! Once again though they came immediately to sort it out so we were looking forward to enjoying the last couple of days of our holiday. The next day though the smell was back, so we were very disappointed to say the least! It was strange that they didn't move us into another block, even if it would have been an upgrade. It's not like they were full.

My wife used the spa once which is very expensive but she said it was nice. We used the gym a couple of times but that wasn't a nice experience. It was small but the equipment was very new but they turn the air conditioning off if no one is there. Consequently you have to turn it on when you get there and it starts to cool down just as you are finishing your workout. Not great.

Our balconies in our first adjoining rooms were really lovely, with a table and chairs and lovely sofa and cushions to sit out on which we did a lot. But when we moved up a level there was nothing out there but a table and two hard chairs. That was a real shame and we couldn't understand why. We were tired of complaining by that stage because we go on holiday to relax and complaining is mentally draining.

A couple of other things that could be done better - evening turn down inevitably arrived just when we were getting ready for dinner, I have seen that this has been a problem for other people in earlier reviews. Fogging for mosquito prevention was done just before dinner time, we had to be moved because the restaurant floor was left so slippery and having it so fresh in the air can't be that good for you either.

Overall the staff are mostly very pleasant, the food was good, the rooms were beautiful but with issues. The resort manager gave us a little gift of pot pourri to apologize but that didn't really make up for our experience. We couldn't even take that back to Australia due to customs restrictions.....

We've rated the resort at average overall but really some aspects were excellent and some were terrible.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BTGroup, General Manager at Angsana Balaclava Mauritius, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Mr Petsa,

We would like to thank you for sharing your comments on Trip advisor following your recent stay with us at Angsana Balaclava.

As an exclusive intimate boutique resort, Angsana Balaclava places an emphasis on the attention to details and as we strive to create a memorable stay for our guests I am very pleased to hear that you were extremely impressed by our welcoming and that you found our Garden Suites beautiful, clean and modern.

Thank you for commenting on our food. We are glad to hear you found our menu brilliant. Our Balinese Chef and his team continuously work on improving and innovating new ideas and menus to make it a memorable experience for each guest.

I am however sorry to hear about the problems you encountered with your suites damp smell it was due to extremely wet weather at the time. As it is our greatest goal to make sure that our guests have a most enjoyable stay with us, please be assured that this is not a usual standard and that all your constructive comments have been passed to our team already so we can improve our service standards.

We trust you had a pleasant and safe journey home and with your overall experience we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Angsana Balaclava or to any of our other resorts worldwide

Warmest Regards

Pascal Prigent
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    283
    44
    17
    8
    5
See reviews for
63
224
4
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
brest
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

We could not resist at the call of this little lost paradise…and we kept on wondering all flight long how would the staff of Angsana impress us even further than our last visit!


On our way to SA, we seized this opportunity to visit once again Mauritius and checked-in again in Angsana Balaclava. As soon as we stepped out of the cab, the concierge came right towards us and greeted us with the so famous Mauritian smile. He had recognized us and seemed very pleased to have us back as his guests. We booked a beach front suite for another 10 days...and did not regret it!


During our last day, we were in a spa suite, which we believed was bigger than a standard room. Amazingly, the beach front suite is actually even wider and bigger! To our surprise, we had a private pool, right in front of the beach along with a Jacuzzi. The bathroom was simply awesome: we had never seen such a huge tub, fully made of stone. And the view: simply breathtaking! WE WERE IN PARADISE ONCE AGAIN!

The staff was as always very friendly and helpful. Most of them recognized us the first glance... even after 6 months! Somehow weird for the others, but we liked this little attention.

The dishes prepared were simply bliss! About the food and the service… we hardly experienced the same level and taste in the dishes like we did at Angsana during our second stay. Bravo to the chef! Special thanks to Avinach and Pritum for their usual care!

We indulged ourselves every day in the peaceful surroundings of the spa – thanks to Lovena for her delicate treatment: we would almost fall asleep!

Last but not least, thumbs up to the reception team and particularly to Benjamin for his welcome and extra care during our stay.

The only disappointing point is that we had to leave from this lovely place...Looks like we have to plan a third trip back…

Room Tip: Beach front villa ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

This was the second part of our honeymoon following an incredible few days in Africa. Everything we had there for free was charged in angsana, from the rose petal bath to simple things like coffee and water in your bedroom. The hotel boasts about its wine cellar then never was able to provide what we asked for (from their menu). They also failed to provide a vegetarian meal every single night. Twice I was asked if I wanted lettuce, three times soup. This was also what I was then given AGAIN for our "special honeymoon" meal. Nothing felt like 5 star. We were having a luxurious honeymoon and yet still you felt permanently ripped off. The beach is ok but very stony and you are far from everything-hence the reason the hotel knows it can rip you off. There was one lovely member of the team-Kieran. Look out for him, he goes out of his way to help you and always greets you with a smile. The rest are a little rude and miserable. I hate leaving a negative review but for anyone going to Mauritius, stay somewhere else, would be a shame to waste your experience.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BTGroup, General Manager at Angsana Balaclava Mauritius, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Mrs Barton,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments on Trip Advisor following your stay in October at Angsana Balaclava

I am sorry truly sorry to hear that your honeymoon with us was ‘sadly Disappointing’.
I can only apologise for all the various issues you encountered during your stay and assure you that all issues experienced are currently being investigated internally. It is our greatest goal to make sure that our guests have a most enjoyable stay with us and I am sorry that we did not achieve our goal on this occasion.

I would however like to mention that every night we do offer 2 choices of Vegetarian dishes on our menu to all our guests. Had you brought these issues to our attention we would have had them rectified immediately and offered you other options.

Thank you for your special mention of Kiran. I am thrilled to know that he could make your stay more enjoyable.

I trust you had a safe journey home.

Warmest Regards
Pascal Prigent
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We (couple)spent 10 nights, in a beachfront suite (103), have visited Mauritius more than 20 times in all kinds of accommodation with and without our children.

Location: middle of nowhere but easy access. Awful surroundings but out of sight.The sea is not nice, the water not blue and tankers are always in view, a big drawback compared to other places on the island with turquoise water and wide beaches. The resort compensates with a sand bottom pool, thatched roofs, and overall pristine common areas.
Room: well decorated,big and cosy, great deck, wonderful bed ,good light,Very private. The only problem is that the pool and the jacuzzi are too cold to stay in without swimming so it really defeats the purpose of having it!
Spa: excellent massages but the price is 30% more than what I pay in Paris in a country where salaries are one quarter of what they are in France. Guitta and Anoushee were great.
The vitality pool was heated following my request, I enjoyed it! The gym is well equipped, Jean Pierre was an amazing coach.
Food: varied, plentiful and well presented, they honored every single request with a smile, Renu ,the best server here made us feel at home.
The resort was far from fully booked so we enjoyed the tranquility and attentive service .

Room Tip: If the resort is full I think the upper floor beach front offers more privacy, otherwise the lower f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Stayed for 10 days with my partner and we loved the place, food was delicious, love the spa suite but.... was shocked when asked to pay for the Nespresso capsules in my room. Tea and coffee facilities are so common for the hotels and we loved the fact that we have proper coffee in the room. We both thought it is a really great touch but what a shocker when the bill came! Not to mentions that there was no information about this anywhere. If we have not stayed at 5 star hotel and paid the premium I would have been ok(ish) to pay for my room "complimentary" coffee! I know it is a small charge but it is question of principle.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BTGroup, General Manager at Angsana Balaclava Mauritius, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We thank you for taking the time to share your comments on Trip Advisor following your stay at Angsana Balaclava.

As an exclusive intimate Boutique Resort, Angsana Balaclava places an emphasis on the attention to details and we strive to create a memorable stay for our guests.
I am pleased to learn that you loved the place and found our food delicious. Our Chef and his team continuously work on improving and innovating new ideas and menus to make it a memorable experience for each guest.

I am however sorry to hear about the coffee charge. During the ‘’check in ‘’ we stipulate to the guests that the first serving of coffee capsules (6 different types of capsules) is complimentary but once consumed it is chargeable thereafter.

I have passed your constructive and kind comments to all the team who take great pride in the level of service they provide to our guests.

We hope that with your overall experience we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to a pleasant rest and wonderful sunset at Angsana Balaclava or to any of our other resorts worldwide.

Yours Sincerely,
Pascal Prigent
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

We stayed 8 Jan to 22 Jan '13, a full 2 weeks. We had been warned by friends that we'd be bored out of our minds after just a week - as we normally took cruising holidays, we had some misgivings that we'd made the right choice of static hotel, duration and destination. We'd devoted a lot of time to select this hotel, having considered all the well known alternatives The location of the Angsana gave us initial concern as there are no nearby restaurants or bars - but found that this wasn't an issue, as once we got into the rest and relaxation mode, we didn't really feel the need to go or look outside.
We'd rented a car from the airport (easy roads and driving) so we had the 1st 3 days sightseeing - so after that - we were more than happy to relax in the hotel.
We had two different rooms - the first 3 nights in a garden room - then upgraded into a Spa room with its own plunge pool and view of the sea and sunsets. Both rooms were excellent, roomy and well appointed - and we initially had to think hard about moving into the Spa room as the Garden room was so good. Glad we did - as we had many a sundowner on that Spa terrace!The hotel is exceptionally well designed - rooms don't seem to overlook each other - and we never heard any noise from neighbours. It's a compact resort - easy to find your way around - with pools and an excellent beach - none of which were ever busy. We could always find a sunbed, no matter what time of the day. No need for towel reserving! All staff are anxious to please and go over and above to please.
The restaurant was designed that you could eat outside or on raised covered terraces alongside, or inside. We achieved eating outside most of the time - the weather being the decider. The weather was circa 80 to 90 all day - with some occasional rain; we had one thunderstorm overnight. A highlight was the food. Half Board was provided - and the menu choices were excellent. Plenty of choice, with the menu changed daily. We are frequent travellers on Seabourn Cruises (6 Star) - and the food was nearly to this level.
The Chef, who visited each table nightly, showed his Balinese background with Asian fusion choices plus steaks, duck and lots of fish - all well presented.Dining service could be a little slow - but we had no need to rush, so we just enjoyed the unhurried pace, under the stars.The Spa was a great amenity too - beautiful.
Overall, 2 weeks was great, we loved Mauritius, the hotel, the food and the people.
Got to go back!

Room Tip: Spa rooms were excellent with private plung pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

I stayed here for 10 days with my wife and i dont know where to start, as this is the best ever hotel we have ever experienced ever

check in very smooth, while we were checking in they offered us a lovely ayurveda drink, the check in staff is great specially Vinay koomar he was there to help anytime we had any questions, NAS who is the travel desk adviser also helped us with genuine ways to enjoy the island,

We had booked the room with the pool it had great view and the room was huge, the breakfast was amazing, we had booked with a dinner plan and unlike other hotels who have open buffet we had to choose from 4 course menu with different options, food was great, its better then the open buffet option i think, and me being a vegetarian they went out of the way to make special vegetarian food and even different food for different days. this was arranged by the head cook and Amanda who is the sales manager who always was there to help for any queries , thank you Amanda and the staff for making our holiday memorable. we will be back soon

Room Tip: try the room with the pool its great
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Angsana Balaclava Mauritius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angsana Balaclava Mauritius

Address: Turtle Bay, Republic of Mauritius, Balaclava, Mauritius
Location: Mauritius > Pamplemousses District > Balaclava
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Balaclava
#2 Romantic Hotel in Balaclava
#2 Luxury Hotel in Balaclava
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Angsana Balaclava Mauritius 5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the northwest coast of Mauritius, in the secluded area of Turtle Bay, Angsana Balaclava offers a hideaway ideal for travellers looking for privacy and relaxation. Angsana Balaclava is the island’s premier boutique resort – the latest 5-star resort on the Mauritian landscape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Angsana Balaclava Mauritius reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angsana Balaclava Hotel Balaclava
Angsana Balaclava Mauritius

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Angsana Balaclava Mauritius, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.