We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet boutique hotel with attentive service in just OK location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Angsana Balaclava Mauritius

Save Saved
You added Angsana Balaclava Mauritius to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Angsana Balaclava Mauritius
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Turtle Bay, Republic of Mauritius, Balaclava, Mauritius   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 hotels in Balaclava
Paris, France
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Quiet boutique hotel with attentive service in just OK location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We (couple)spent 10 nights, in a beachfront suite (103), have visited Mauritius more than 20 times in all kinds of accommodation with and without our children.

Location: middle of nowhere but easy access. Awful surroundings but out of sight.The sea is not nice, the water not blue and tankers are always in view, a big drawback compared to other places on the island with turquoise water and wide beaches. The resort compensates with a sand bottom pool, thatched roofs, and overall pristine common areas.
Room: well decorated,big and cosy, great deck, wonderful bed ,good light,Very private. The only problem is that the pool and the jacuzzi are too cold to stay in without swimming so it really defeats the purpose of having it!
Spa: excellent massages but the price is 30% more than what I pay in Paris in a country where salaries are one quarter of what they are in France. Guitta and Anoushee were great.
The vitality pool was heated following my request, I enjoyed it! The gym is well equipped, Jean Pierre was an amazing coach.
Food: varied, plentiful and well presented, they honored every single request with a smile, Renu ,the best server here made us feel at home.
The resort was far from fully booked so we enjoyed the tranquility and attentive service .

Room Tip: If the resort is full I think the upper floor beach front offers more privacy, otherwise the lower f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    247
    34
    16
    6
    2
See reviews for
58
190
4
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Stayed for 10 days with my partner and we loved the place, food was delicious, love the spa suite but.... was shocked when asked to pay for the Nespresso capsules in my room. Tea and coffee facilities are so common for the hotels and we loved the fact that we have proper coffee in the room. We both thought it is a really great touch but what a shocker when the bill came! Not to mentions that there was no information about this anywhere. If we have not stayed at 5 star hotel and paid the premium I would have been ok(ish) to pay for my room "complimentary" coffee! I know it is a small charge but it is question of principle.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BTGroup, General Manager at Angsana Balaclava Mauritius, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We thank you for taking the time to share your comments on Trip Advisor following your stay at Angsana Balaclava.

As an exclusive intimate Boutique Resort, Angsana Balaclava places an emphasis on the attention to details and we strive to create a memorable stay for our guests.
I am pleased to learn that you loved the place and found our food delicious. Our Chef and his team continuously work on improving and innovating new ideas and menus to make it a memorable experience for each guest.

I am however sorry to hear about the coffee charge. During the ‘’check in ‘’ we stipulate to the guests that the first serving of coffee capsules (6 different types of capsules) is complimentary but once consumed it is chargeable thereafter.

I have passed your constructive and kind comments to all the team who take great pride in the level of service they provide to our guests.

We hope that with your overall experience we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to a pleasant rest and wonderful sunset at Angsana Balaclava or to any of our other resorts worldwide.

Yours Sincerely,
Pascal Prigent
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

We stayed 8 Jan to 22 Jan '13, a full 2 weeks. We had been warned by friends that we'd be bored out of our minds after just a week - as we normally took cruising holidays, we had some misgivings that we'd made the right choice of static hotel, duration and destination. We'd devoted a lot of time to select this hotel, having considered all the well known alternatives The location of the Angsana gave us initial concern as there are no nearby restaurants or bars - but found that this wasn't an issue, as once we got into the rest and relaxation mode, we didn't really feel the need to go or look outside.
We'd rented a car from the airport (easy roads and driving) so we had the 1st 3 days sightseeing - so after that - we were more than happy to relax in the hotel.
We had two different rooms - the first 3 nights in a garden room - then upgraded into a Spa room with its own plunge pool and view of the sea and sunsets. Both rooms were excellent, roomy and well appointed - and we initially had to think hard about moving into the Spa room as the Garden room was so good. Glad we did - as we had many a sundowner on that Spa terrace!The hotel is exceptionally well designed - rooms don't seem to overlook each other - and we never heard any noise from neighbours. It's a compact resort - easy to find your way around - with pools and an excellent beach - none of which were ever busy. We could always find a sunbed, no matter what time of the day. No need for towel reserving! All staff are anxious to please and go over and above to please.
The restaurant was designed that you could eat outside or on raised covered terraces alongside, or inside. We achieved eating outside most of the time - the weather being the decider. The weather was circa 80 to 90 all day - with some occasional rain; we had one thunderstorm overnight. A highlight was the food. Half Board was provided - and the menu choices were excellent. Plenty of choice, with the menu changed daily. We are frequent travellers on Seabourn Cruises (6 Star) - and the food was nearly to this level.
The Chef, who visited each table nightly, showed his Balinese background with Asian fusion choices plus steaks, duck and lots of fish - all well presented.Dining service could be a little slow - but we had no need to rush, so we just enjoyed the unhurried pace, under the stars.The Spa was a great amenity too - beautiful.
Overall, 2 weeks was great, we loved Mauritius, the hotel, the food and the people.
Got to go back!

Room Tip: Spa rooms were excellent with private plung pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

I stayed here for 10 days with my wife and i dont know where to start, as this is the best ever hotel we have ever experienced ever

check in very smooth, while we were checking in they offered us a lovely ayurveda drink, the check in staff is great specially Vinay koomar he was there to help anytime we had any questions, NAS who is the travel desk adviser also helped us with genuine ways to enjoy the island,

We had booked the room with the pool it had great view and the room was huge, the breakfast was amazing, we had booked with a dinner plan and unlike other hotels who have open buffet we had to choose from 4 course menu with different options, food was great, its better then the open buffet option i think, and me being a vegetarian they went out of the way to make special vegetarian food and even different food for different days. this was arranged by the head cook and Amanda who is the sales manager who always was there to help for any queries , thank you Amanda and the staff for making our holiday memorable. we will be back soon

Room Tip: try the room with the pool its great
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

If you are looking for first class service, quiet location, exquisite cuisine, then look no further....Angsana Balaclava is the place for the you. The facility is spotless, spacious, and modern design. The staff is courteous, knowledgeable and very polite. They will definitely go the extra mile to make your stay a memorable one. The food is delicious - especially if you enjoy Thai cuisine. You will NOT be disappointed at Angsana Balaclava Mauritius!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BTGroup, General Manager at Angsana Balaclava Mauritius, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing our resort for your recent holiday and for taking the time to share such wonderful comments. I am heartened to learn that your stay with us was beyond expectation

The team and I are also appreciative of your kind feedback on their hospitality and efficient service. As an exclusive intimate boutique resort, Angsana Balaclava places an emphasis on the attention to details and it rewarding to know that we could make your stay a memorable one

I am also delighted to learn that you found our food delicious .Our Chef and his team continuously work on improving and innovating new ideas and menu to make each guests stay a special one.

We would like to thank you once again for your comments as these will truly help us to monitor, and improve even further our Angsana services and facilities.

I trust you had a pleasant and safe journey home and look forward to welcoming you back again to Angsana Balaclava or to any of our other resorts worldwide.

Yours sincerely,
Pascal Prigent
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauritius
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

My family and I( 2A+ 2C) spent 2 nights only in this hotel and I can assure you it was paradise on earth. The service is the best we' ve experienced so far in Mauritius, it' s fast and effective. The employees are caring and always have time to answer to your slightest query or question. A few names worth remembering, among the lot :Preetum, Jean Pierre and Oliver.
The food is fine if you like the fusion style, I did but it was hard for my 8 years daughter. Luckily Preetum was here with French fries and Pizza. He literally lives there, with a smile in bonus.
Jean Pierre saved my resolution of the year: getting back to sports. This guy gives you invaluable tips and tricks that no training coach would. He not only makes a living out of sport but he made it a living philosophy.
What makes Angsana Balaclava a class above is simply its personnel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Angsana.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BTGroup, General Manager at Angsana Balaclava Mauritius, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Valued guest,

I am honoured to read that you found Angsana Balaclava Mauritius to be Paradise on earth and I would like to thank you for sharing your delightful comments and for choosing our resort for your recent holidays.

As an exclusive intimate boutique resort, Angsana Balaclava places an emphasis on the attention to details and as we strive to create a memorable stay for our guests, I am especially encouraged by your positive feedback on our service standards.

I am also delighted to learn that your year’s resolution of getting back to sports has been saved by a member of our staff during your stay here. Keep it up!.

Thank you for commenting on our fusion style food. Our Balinese Chef and his team continuously work on improving and innovating new ideas and menus to make it a memorable experience for each guest.

We would like to thank you once again for your comments as these will truly help us to monitor, and improve even further our Angsana services and facilities.

I trust you had a pleasant and safe journey home and look forward to welcoming you back again to Angsana Balaclava or to any of our other resorts worldwide.

Yours sincerely,
Pascal Prigent
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucerne, Switzerland
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We really enjoyed the stay in this hotel. Everybody was very kind and helpful. The food was delicious. I really appreciated the gym lessons with Jean-Pierre. He gave me some good exercises which I can do (I am pregnant). So for pregnant woman its just a good choice!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Angsana.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BTGroup, General Manager at Angsana Balaclava Mauritius, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Katrin,

There is no greater pleasure than receiving kind words from a valued guest and I am thrilled to learn that you enjoyed your recent stay at Angsana Balaclava.

As an exclusive intimate boutique resort, Angsana Balaclava places an emphasis on the attention to details and it is always encouraging to know that you found our team kind and helpful. Thank you for your comment regarding our food which you found delicious.

Our Balinese Chef and his team continuously work on improving and innovating new ideas and menus to make it a memorable experience for each guest. I am especially glad that Jean-Pierre and his gym lessons made an impressive mark on you.

Your gracious comments have been passed to our personnel, which will serve as an added inspiration to consistently maintain the high standards you have experienced, and which are one of the trademarks of our brand.

I trust you had a safe journey home and look forward to welcoming you back to a pleasant rest and wonderful sunset at Angsana Balaclava or to any of our other resorts worldwide.

Yours sincerely,
Pascal Prigent
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Angsana Balaclava Mauritius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angsana Balaclava Mauritius

Address: Turtle Bay, Republic of Mauritius, Balaclava, Mauritius
Phone Number:
Location: Mauritius > Pamplemousses District > Balaclava
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Balaclava
#2 Luxury Hotel in Balaclava
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Angsana Balaclava Mauritius 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the northwest coast of Mauritius, in the secluded area of Turtle Bay, Angsana Balaclava offers a hideaway ideal for travellers looking for privacy and relaxation. Angsana Balaclava is the island’s premier boutique resort – the latest 5-star resort on the Mauritian landscape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Venere, Otel and Tingo so you can book your Angsana Balaclava Mauritius reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angsana Balaclava Hotel Balaclava
Angsana Balaclava Mauritius

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Angsana Balaclava Mauritius, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;