We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little treasure in the Indian Ocean.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Angsana Balaclava Mauritius

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Angsana Balaclava Mauritius to your Saves list
Angsana Balaclava Mauritius
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Turtle Bay, Republic of Mauritius, Balaclava, Mauritius   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Balaclava
Buckley, Flintshire
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Little treasure in the Indian Ocean.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We stayed at the Angsana from 5th-12th December, and are so glad we chose this amazing hotel. On arrival we were warmly greeted, and received an updrade to a spa suite, which was stunning. The room was huge and very well furnished to solid 5 star standards. We have only ever stayed at much larger resorts in the past and found the smaller boutique style Angsana a very welcome change. I would definitely recommend renting a car (as we did) because Balaclava is much undeveloped and this keeps you well within touching distance of the surrounding area. We really liked the isolation as it’s private and peaceful unlike the larger resorts around the island. We drove everywhere and found the other resorts (although very nice) were so busy and commercialized and didn't offer the same intimacy of the Angsana. Being a smaller hotel, attention to detail and service was much more evident and the staff was always on hand to offer their help. We would particularly like to thank Kiran off the front desk, always so helpful during our stay, a real gent! He gave us some great recommendations each morning of what to see on the island. The hotel offers a half board package, and the food in the evening was exceptional, very tasty and always a different choice of menu each night. Breakfast was reasonable, but nothing out the ordinary. Typical buffet style with the extra choice of eggs, bacon etc. On Saturday nights (weather permitting) the hotel puts on a BBQ on the beach and entertainment, which was just superb, we loved it. We did have a few problems with mosquitoes as some other reviews mentioned, however, as soon as we added repellent and learned to keep the balcony door shut during the evening there was no further problems, so I really wouldn’t be deterred by this.
On the last day we decided to try the water sports, which are complementary to all hotel guests, great fun! Away from the hotel I would recommend visiting Casela National Park and booking to walk and interact with the loins, this was truly a once in a lifetime experience. We also booked the quad bikes in the same park and the guide lets you get off and interact with the animals in the reserve (giant turtles etc) . We also tried sea karting in the southwest part of the island, which is a must, and also gives you the opportunity to snorkel at Le Morne bay. We will always remember our wonderful holiday to Mauritius and especially our stay at the Angsana and we sincerely hope to be back in the future.

Room Tip: If you can afford to splurge, go for an ocean front Villa!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BTGroup, General Manager at Angsana Balaclava Mauritius, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear Mr Millington,

Thank you for choosing our resort for your recent holiday and for taking the time to share such wonderful comments. I am delighted to learn you found Angsana Balaclava to be the Indian Ocean’s little treasure.

As an exclusive intimate boutique resort, Angsana Balaclava places an emphasis on the attention to details and it is fantastic to read that you appreciated the warm greeting as well as your upgrade to a Spa Suite. We are very pleased to read that you find our resort as a welcome change, our rooms huge and well-furnished, the choice of food exceptional and tasty, the staff dedicated and the water sport of great fun. We thank you for commenting about Kiran and how helpful he was during your stay.

Your gracious comments have been passed to our personnel, which will serve as an added inspiration to consistently maintain the high standards you have experienced, and which are one of the trademarks of our brand.

We would like to thank you once again for your comments as these will truly help us to monitor, and improve even further our Angsana services and facilities. I trust you had a pleasant and safe journey home and look forward to welcoming you back again to Angsana Balaclava or to any of our other resorts worldwide.

Yours sincerely,
Pascal Prigent
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    283
    43
    17
    8
    5
See reviews for
63
223
4
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

I have stayed in various properties in Mauritius.
I never experienced such warmth, friendliness and quality product anywhere.
We stayed in interconnecting Spa Suites. These Suites has got all the facilities required to make someone spend his best holidays ever. It was seaview with the superb Private pool on the terrace.

i will recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to spend holiday there.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Angsana.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BTGroup, General Manager at Angsana Balaclava Mauritius, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing our resort for your recent holiday and for taking the time to share such wonderful comments. I am delighted to learn that you recommend Angsana Balaclava Mauritius as an outstanding way to spend holidays.

As an exclusive intimate boutique resort, Angsana Balaclava Mauritius places an emphasis on the attention to details and it is fantastic to read that you experienced the warmth, friendliness and quality product and enjoyed the facilities of the Spa Suites, the private pool on the terrace with sea view.

Your gracious comments have been passed to our personnel, which will serve as an added inspiration to consistently maintain the high standards you have experienced, and which are one of the trademarks of our brand.

We would like to thank you once again for your comments as these will truly help us to monitor, and improve even further our Angsana services and facilities. I trust you had a pleasant and safe journey home and look forward to welcoming you back again to Angsana Balaclava or to any of our other resorts worldwide.

Yours sincerely,
Pascal Prigent
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uppsala, Sweden
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We had a wonderful stay. The hotel was beyond our expectations and the staff was so kind and helpful. I was pregnant at the timme and the hotel yoga instructor, Jean Pierre, held special yoga classes for me in the mornings. We really recommend the hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed in a garden suite which was great but if its possible you should stay in the beach suite w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BTGroup, General Manager at Angsana Balaclava Mauritius, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear Mrs Johanna,

Thank you for choosing our resort for your recent holiday and for taking the time to share such wonderful comments. I am delighted to learn that your honeymoon stay at Angsana Balaclava Mauritius was wonderful.

As an exclusive intimate boutique resort, Angsana Balaclava places an emphasis on the attention to details and it is fantastic to read that you found the hotel was beyond your expectations and the staff kind and dedicated. We thank you for commenting on our personnel Jean Pierre who has organised a special yoga classes for you.

Your gracious comments have been passed to our personnel, which will serve as an added inspiration to consistently maintain the high standards you have experienced, and which are one of the trademarks of our brand.

We would like to thank you once again for your comments as these will truly help us to monitor, and improve even further our Angsana services and facilities. I trust you had a pleasant and safe journey home and look forward to welcoming you back to a pleasant rest and wonderful sunset at Angsana Balaclava or to any of our other resorts worldwide.

Yours sincerely,
Pascal Prigent
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki, Greece
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

My husband and I decided to celebrate our 20th wedding anniversary at Angsana hotel, located on Mauritius island. It was the best choice, since everything was even greater than we imagined... We enjoyed our Spa Suite on the second floor, with a magnificent view of the ocean and we had couple massage every day(included in price)!! The beach and pool area were really fantastic and all the hotel stuff where absolutely everywhere, ready and willing to help us enjoy our time! It really felt like Paradise!!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Angsana.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BTGroup, General Manager at Angsana Balaclava Mauritius, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear Anna-Mihalis,

Thank you for choosing our resort for your recent holiday and for taking the time to share such wonderful comments. I am delighted to learn that you found Angsana Balaclava an excellent choice for celebrating your divine 20th wedding anniversary.

As an exclusive intimate boutique resort, Angsana Balaclava places an emphasis on the attention to details and it is fantastic to read that you enjoyed the Spa suite with a superb view of the sea, the couple massage daily, the beach and pool area fantastic, the personnel dedicated.

Your gracious comments have been passed to our personnel, which will serve as an added inspiration to consistently maintain the high standards you have experienced, and which are one of the trademarks of our brand.

We would like to thank you once again for your comments as these will truly help us to monitor, and improve even further our Angsana services and facilities. I trust you had a pleasant and safe journey home and look forward to welcoming you back to a pleasant rest and wonderful sunset at Angsana Balaclava or to any of our other resorts worldwide.

Yours sincerely,
Pascal Prigent
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Wonderful hotel with a great view. Stayed in a garden suite which was lovely. Had a nice balcony and lovely beds. The service is great, especially in the restaurant. Nice food overall, however limited wine menue and prices for drinks are expensive.
Spa treatments are fantastic, a real treat.
Nice pools, and wonderful sunbeds. However the beach is small, and with lots of stones.
Can rent kayaks etc free from their boathouse. Location is quiet, and you need a car to go somewhere.
Wish we may come back!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BTGroup, General Manager at Angsana Balaclava Mauritius, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing our resort for your recent holiday and for taking the time to share such wonderful comments. I am delighted to learn that you found your stay superb and the hotel wonderful with a great view.

As an exclusive intimate boutique resort, Angsana Balaclava Mauritius places an emphasis on the attention to details and it is a pleasure to read that your stay in the garden suite with nice balcony and lovely beds has charmed you, the service great and the Spa treatments fantastic.
Your gracious comments have been passed to our personnel, which will serve as an added inspiration to consistently maintain the high standards you have experienced, and which are one of the trademarks of our brand.

We would like to thank you once again for your comments as these will truly help us to monitor, and improve even further our Angsana services and facilities. I trust you had a pleasant and safe journey home and look forward to welcoming you back to Angsana Balaclava or at any of our other resorts worldwide.

Yours sincerely,
Pascal Prigent
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Husband and I stayed at Angsana Balaclava in January for 9 nights. It was our honeymoon. We had an amazing time there! The resort is small which meant service was more personable. The staff was absolutely amazing! All so friendly and by the 2nd and 3rd day, most of them knew us and would always talk to us and ask if everything was good. Oliver was brilliant throughout our stay...so nice to talk to and really helpful. Nas was also very helpful. From the restaurant, everyone was good but we had more of a relationship built with Ashwin and Atish, who were wonderful. From the gym, Raposh and Jean Pierre really helped my husband with training! All great guys! They all went above and beyond.

The food was great too. They had a different menu everyday with great selections. We had a beachfront suite and it was great! The only problem it had was that our washroom would sometimes smell of moisture.

One thing that we were disappointed about was that we had emailed Angsana Balaclava a month in advance asking them to reserve the ground floor Beachfront suite for us as it was our honeymoon and we really wanted ground floor. However, upon our arrival we found out that that hadn't been done and we got the 1st floor. So that was a bit disappointing since we had asked so much in advance.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Angsana.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BTGroup, General Manager at Angsana Balaclava Mauritius, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing our resort for your recent honeymoon and for taking the time to share such wonderful comments. I am happy to learn that you had a “Lovely time” at Angsana Balaclava.

As an exclusive intimate boutique resort, Angsana Balaclava places an emphasis on the attention to details and it is fantastic to read that you enjoyed the personalised service, the food good, the staff very friendly and helpful, and the gym great. Being limited in the number of rooms we had at Angsana Balaclava Mauritius, we have tried to accommodate you and your husband as much as we can.

Your gracious comments have been passed to our personnel, which will serve as an added inspiration to consistently maintain the high standards you have experienced, and which are one of the trademarks of our brand. .

We would like to thank you once again for your comments as these will truly help us to monitor, and improve even further our Angsana services and facilities. I trust you had a pleasant and safe journey home and look forward to welcoming you back to a pleasant rest and wonderful sunset at Angsana Balaclava or to any of our other resorts worldwide.

Yours sincerely,
Pascal Prigent
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

I wasn't sure what to expect when I arrived at Angsana as the entrance is on the road, however as soon as I arrived I knew it was going to be special. After a warm welcome and delicious drink later, I felt very much at home after visiting other properties.The service was excellent and Pascal, the Manager, is one of the best we came across during our time in Mauritius. Everything is as it should be here, the spa suites have their own plunge pool and the beach suites are large and spacious with their own little lap pool, Jacuzzi and outdoor terrace. The food is delicious, the pizza's were crispy and tasty, the best I have had. I love that there is a saltwater pool (with swim up bar) and freshwater pool. I hope to come back very soon, it was pure bliss.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BTGroup, General Manager at Angsana Balaclava Mauritius, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing our resort for your recent holidays and for taking the time to share such wonderful comments. I am happy to learn that you found Angsana Balaclava to be a “Pure Paradise and special” place.

As an exclusive intimate boutique resort, Angsana Balaclava places an emphasis on the attention to details and it is fantastic to read that you enjoyed the warmness of our personnel, making you felt very much at home; the spacious beach suite with its private pool and Jacuzzi; the food delicious; and loved the saltwater and freshwater pools.

Your gracious comments have been passed to our personnel, which will serve as an added inspiration to consistently maintain the high standards you have experienced, and which are one of the trademarks of our brand.

We would like to thank you once again for your comments as these will truly help us to monitor, and improve even further our Angsana services and facilities. I trust you had a pleasant and safe journey home and look forward to welcoming you back to a pleasant rest and wonderful sunset at Angsana Balaclava or to any of our other resorts worldwide.

Yours sincerely,
Pascal Prigent
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Angsana Balaclava Mauritius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angsana Balaclava Mauritius

Address: Turtle Bay, Republic of Mauritius, Balaclava, Mauritius
Location: Mauritius > Pamplemousses District > Balaclava
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Balaclava
#2 Luxury Hotel in Balaclava
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Balaclava
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Angsana Balaclava Mauritius 5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the northwest coast of Mauritius, in the secluded area of Turtle Bay, Angsana Balaclava offers a hideaway ideal for travellers looking for privacy and relaxation. Angsana Balaclava is the island’s premier boutique resort – the latest 5-star resort on the Mauritian landscape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Angsana Balaclava Mauritius reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angsana Balaclava Hotel Balaclava
Angsana Balaclava Mauritius

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Angsana Balaclava Mauritius, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.