We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst holiday experience” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Angsana Balaclava Mauritius

Save Saved
You added Angsana Balaclava Mauritius to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Angsana Balaclava Mauritius
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Turtle Bay, Republic of Mauritius, Balaclava, Mauritius   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 hotels in Balaclava
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Worst holiday experience”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

This uncoordinated shambles of a hotel organised a trip on our last day which resulted in us missing our flight, the hotel have denied being responsible and the costs incurred we had to pay and suffered a 8 hour delay.
The hotel lied about organising the trip and have blamed me for the trip they organised??
ridiculous, i wouldn't wish this experience on my enemy , what an end to our honeymoon.
The hotel offered excursions which we found out were over priced and of poor quality.
Mauritus is a beautiful place.
The hotel had mosquitoes and after informing them they did little to correct it and the mosquitos remained with us for the entire holiday.
The food was good

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BTGroup, General Manager at Angsana Balaclava Mauritius, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing our resort for your recent stay and for taking the time to share your comments.

I take note that it is the second time you post the same comments.

The first time Trip Advisor removed your comments because it was judge unfair.

Regarding excursion taken outside the Hotel and we cannot be held responsible for the lateness of a third party excursion and the fact that you have missed your plane.

You have check-out of the hotel was early morning at 6.30 am and your plane was late afternoon. The Dolphin trip is done at Tamarin 1.15hour drive from the hotel and to go to the airport it only takes 1.15 hour drive from Tamarin allowing a 9 hours gap between the time you left the resort do the dolphin trip and go to the airport.

The Dolphin trip was booked for you with a third party and the Resort has no control on the activity in particular and its timing, like any other excursions.

If during the excursion you felt that the timing was tight it should have been liaised with the Dolphin trip company/person in charge/driver with you, to drop you off at the airport on time.

As an exclusive intimate boutique resort, Angsana Balaclava Mauritius places an emphasis on the attention to details, thus would like to express our disappointment due to the unfair nature of the comment.

We indeed maintain, having given all required information about timing, length of travel and sequence of trip.

We fumigate the Resort twice a week Monday and Friday and in every room the guests have available mosquitoes repellent to plug-in.

We would like to thank you once again for your comments as these will truly help us to monitor, and improve even further our Angsana services and facilities.

I trust you had a pleasant and safe journey home and look forward to welcoming you back for a chance to exceed your expectations to Angsana Balaclava Mauritius or to any of our other resorts worldwide.

Yours sincerely,
Pascal Prigent
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    235
    33
    16
    7
    3
See reviews for
57
183
4
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We spent 2 nights at the hotel. The room was superb. very spacious. the pool was nice to have particularly if the weather is not so great. the staff was extremely polite, helpful and always smiling. we did a couple's massage at the spa and it was a great experience. the dinner one night was a la carte and you could have 4-5 choices for the entree.
if you are looking for a relaxing, intimate get away, this is the place!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BTGroup, General Manager at Angsana Balaclava Mauritius, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing our resort for your recent holiday and for taking the time to share such wonderful comments. I am delighted to learn that you highly recommend Angsana Balaclava Mauritius for a relaxing and intimate get away!

As an exclusive intimate boutique resort, Angsana Balaclava Mauritius places an emphasis on the attention to details and it is fantastic to read that you found the room superb and spacious, the personnel extremely polite, helpful and always smiling and your couple’s massage great.
Your gracious comments have been passed to our personnel, which will serve as an added inspiration to consistently maintain the high standards you have experienced, and which are one of the trademarks of our brand.

We would like to thank you once again for your comments as these will truly help us to monitor, and improve even further our Angsana services and facilities. I trust you had a pleasant and safe journey home and look forward to welcoming you back again to Angsana Balaclava or to any of our other resorts worldwide.

Yours sincerely,

Pascal Prigent
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

After an extensive internet search we decided to entrust our wedding to the staff at Angsana Balaclava. From the moment we arrived we were treated like royalty and no request was too much for the team.

Vanessa walked the extra mile and made arrangements for the most beautiful wedding on the beach. Everything was perfect – beautiful flowers, stunning environment and even a wedding cake – everything personal, magical and FOREVER in our memory.

The ladies at the spa assisted my lovely wife to be to look absolutely stunning!

We had a deliciously prepared meal on the beach and ended the evening off with a last glass of champagne at the bar.

The venue is small with a limited amount of guests making it perfect for an intimate wedding.

The photographer used by the hotel - Mayline - was excellent.

We stayed in a spa suite and thoroughly enjoyed the daily treatments that were part of the package. The suite had a beautiful view of the ocean and made for magnificent sunsets.

The food was really good – always fresh with more than enough variety. Preetum and the team were always there to assist and ensure a pleasant dining experience.

The spa treatments was really good – special mention of Yovana that always smiled and made sure that everything is to our liking.

The gym is well kitted and always manned if assistance is required.

All the staff was very friendly and service orientated – they are empowered to make decisions on the spot without having to refer to “management”.

We will be back…


Tips:

1. Book directly with the hotel – travel agents negotiate “discounted rates” – “Stay 7 pay for 5” but then take away the daily spa treatments – please watch the fine print if using a travel agent…
2. If booking a spa suite – don’t go for the ground floor – less privacy.
3. We were contemplating a beach suite but in retrospect were really glad that we went for the spa suite as the beach suite have little privacy during daytime as all the guest are on the beach in front of the suites.
4. Don’t stay for 7 days – 14 are the answer!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BTGroup, General Manager at Angsana Balaclava Mauritius, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing our resort for your Wedding and for taking the time to share such wonderful comments. I am delighted to learn that you had the best intimate experience at Angsana Balaclava Mauritius.

As an exclusive intimate boutique resort, Angsana Balaclava Mauritius places an emphasis on the attention to details and it is fantastic to read that you felt like a royalty, had a personalised, magical and forever in memory wedding, found your suite beautiful, with a magnificent sunset, the meal deliciously prepared and personnel very friendly and service oriented .
Your gracious comments have been passed to our personnel, which will serve as an added inspiration to consistently maintain the high standards you have experienced, and which are one of the trademarks of our brand.

We would like to thank you once again for your comments as these will truly help us to monitor, and improve even further our Angsana services and facilities. I trust you had a pleasant and safe journey home and look forward to welcoming you back again to Angsana Balaclava or to any of our other resorts worldwide.
Yours sincerely,

Pascal Prigent
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Angsana over New Year's Eve 2012-13 in spa suite 223 .........if size does matter to you go elsewhere....if you want to experience service stay at this hotel....if you want to watch the most amazing sunsets ever....eat great Asian food....get spoilt in the best spa on the island ....above all live in a hotel from which you will be sad to leave....angsana is the hotel to choose....fantastic rooms...37 pools in all...spa suites & ocean front villas are fantastic...choose spa suites on higher floors....Chef Suardi , Preetum , Yash , Alpesh , Renu in f&b brought our every wish true...the chef cooked any dish off the menu we requested and special meals for our infant any time of the day....Lovena and Ombika in the spa can put you to sleep with their treatments....Olivier at the front desk will make every wish his command....Roopesh is the all star entertainer who will do yoga with you and then play the piano and guitar to entertain you in every manner ...Jean Philip at the gym is great too !!!!! Highly recommended

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BTGroup, General Manager at Angsana Balaclava Mauritius, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing our resort for your recent holiday and for taking the time to share such wonderful comments. I am delighted to learn you consider Angsana Balaclava Mauritius “Heaven on Earth”!!
As an exclusive intimate boutique resort, Angsana Balaclava Mauritius places an emphasis on the attention to details and it is superb to read that you find the suites fantastic, the food great, the spa, the best of the island and the sunset, the most amazing.
Your gracious comments have been passed to our personnel, which will serve as an added inspiration to consistently maintain the high standards you have experienced, and which are one of the trademarks of our brand.
We would like to thank you once again for your comments as these will truly help us to monitor, and improve even further our Angsana services and facilities. I trust you had a pleasant and safe journey home and look forward to welcoming you back again to Angsana Balaclava or to any of our other resorts worldwide.

Yours sincerely,

Pascal Prigent
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We had a week long break here just before Christmas 2012. It was SUPERB and exactly the kind of place we hoped it would be. Really hard to fault - quiet, great food, relaxing, friendly staff, well laid out etc. If you're looking for somewhere to recharge the batteries and kick-back, this is the place! Highly recommended.

Room Tip: The ones high up have better sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BTGroup, General Manager at Angsana Balaclava Mauritius, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing our resort for your recent holiday and for taking the time to share such wonderful comments. I am delighted to learn that you highly recommend Angsana Balaclava Mauritius which you found superb!
As an exclusive intimate boutique resort, Angsana Balaclava Mauritius places an emphasis on the attention to details and it is fantastic to read that you found our resort well laid out, quiet and relaxing, the food great and the personnel friendly.
Your gracious comments have been passed to our personnel, which will serve as an added inspiration to consistently maintain the high standards you have experienced, and which are one of the trademarks of our brand.
We would like to thank you once again for your comments as these will truly help us to monitor, and improve even further our Angsana services and facilities. I trust you had a pleasant and safe journey home and look forward to welcoming you back again to Angsana Balaclava or to any of our other resorts worldwide.

Yours sincerely,

Pascal Prigent
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

My wife and I spent two amazing nights at this hotel, enjoying all the luxuries available to us. The hotel is relatively small but if you want a private intimate experience, then this is the hotel for you. We have stayed in quite a few hotels in Mauritius but when we arrived at the room, we were blown away. In particular the bathroom, with shower and steam room was impressive, with its bath-tub carved from a huge rock. But most impressive was the terrace with its own private pool and jacuzzi, leading onto the beach. The communal pool and bar were also highlights of our stay, with both fresh water and sea water pools, and seating in the sea water pool itself. The service was friendly and we were well taken care of. To wrap it up, this hotel is pure luxury and perfect for a honeymoon or an intimate couples getaway.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BTGroup, General Manager at Angsana Balaclava Mauritius, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Valued guest,

Thank you for choosing our resort for your recent holiday and for taking the time to share such wonderful comments. I am delighted that you were blown away when you entered your Beach Front Suite at Angsana Balaclava Mauritius.

As an exclusive intimate boutique resort, Angsana Balaclava Mauritius places an emphasis on the attention to details and it is fantastic to read that you enjoyed your private pool in the terrace, the seating of the bar in the pool water and the pure luxury that you find perfect for honeymooners and intimate getaways.

We are very delighted to read your encouraging words about the friendly service that you experience. Your gracious comments have been passed to our personnel, which will serve as an added inspiration to consistently maintain the high standards you have experienced, and which are one of the trademarks of our brand.

We would like to thank you once again for your comments as these will truly help us to monitor, and improve even further our Angsana services and facilities.

I trust you had a pleasant and safe journey home and look forward to welcoming you back again to Angsana Balaclava Mauritius or to any of our other resorts worldwide.

Yours sincerely,

Pascal Prigent
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauritius
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Angsana was a romantic getaway for my fiancé and I. We had an amazing stay at the beach suite with its own pool and jacuzzi which have a superb seaview. The room is awesome with its wooden furnishings and we loved the bathtub!

We found the hotel staff very friendly and helpful especially the restaurant staff as they managed to arrange a romantic dinner for us on the terrace. The food service was good and the food excellent!

We would definitely recommend Angsana if you are looking for a romantic stay!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BTGroup, General Manager at Angsana Balaclava Mauritius, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Valued guest,

Thank you for choosing our resort for your recent holiday and for taking the time to share such wonderful comments. I am delighted that you found Angsana Balaclava Mauritius the “Romantic Getaway”.

As an exclusive intimate boutique resort, Angsana Balaclava Mauritius places an emphasis on the attention to details and it is fantastic to read that you had an amazing stay in the Beach Front Suite and enjoyed the superb sea view from your suite which you found awesome.

We are very delighted to read your encouraging words about the personnel being helpful and food excellent. Your gracious comments have been passed to our personnel, which will serve as an added inspiration to consistently maintain the high standards you have experienced, and which are one of the trademarks of our brand.

We would like to thank you once again for your comments as these will truly help us to monitor, and improve even further our Angsana services and facilities.

I trust you had a pleasant and safe journey home and look forward to welcoming you back again to Angsana Balaclava Mauritius or to any of our other resorts worldwide.

Yours sincerely,

Pascal Prigent
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Angsana Balaclava Mauritius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angsana Balaclava Mauritius

Address: Turtle Bay, Republic of Mauritius, Balaclava, Mauritius
Phone Number:
Location: Mauritius > Pamplemousses District > Balaclava
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Balaclava
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Balaclava
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Angsana Balaclava Mauritius 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the northwest coast of Mauritius, in the secluded area of Turtle Bay, Angsana Balaclava offers a hideaway ideal for travellers looking for privacy and relaxation. Angsana Balaclava is the island’s premier boutique resort – the latest 5-star resort on the Mauritian landscape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Expedia, Venere, Agoda, Otel and Tingo so you can book your Angsana Balaclava Mauritius reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angsana Balaclava Hotel Balaclava
Angsana Balaclava Mauritius

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Angsana Balaclava Mauritius, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.