We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best intimate experience!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Angsana Balaclava Mauritius

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Angsana Balaclava Mauritius to your Saves list
Angsana Balaclava Mauritius
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Turtle Bay, Republic of Mauritius, Balaclava, Mauritius   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Balaclava
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best intimate experience!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

After an extensive internet search we decided to entrust our wedding to the staff at Angsana Balaclava. From the moment we arrived we were treated like royalty and no request was too much for the team.

Vanessa walked the extra mile and made arrangements for the most beautiful wedding on the beach. Everything was perfect – beautiful flowers, stunning environment and even a wedding cake – everything personal, magical and FOREVER in our memory.

The ladies at the spa assisted my lovely wife to be to look absolutely stunning!

We had a deliciously prepared meal on the beach and ended the evening off with a last glass of champagne at the bar.

The venue is small with a limited amount of guests making it perfect for an intimate wedding.

The photographer used by the hotel - Mayline - was excellent.

We stayed in a spa suite and thoroughly enjoyed the daily treatments that were part of the package. The suite had a beautiful view of the ocean and made for magnificent sunsets.

The food was really good – always fresh with more than enough variety. Preetum and the team were always there to assist and ensure a pleasant dining experience.

The spa treatments was really good – special mention of Yovana that always smiled and made sure that everything is to our liking.

The gym is well kitted and always manned if assistance is required.

All the staff was very friendly and service orientated – they are empowered to make decisions on the spot without having to refer to “management”.

We will be back…


Tips:

1. Book directly with the hotel – travel agents negotiate “discounted rates” – “Stay 7 pay for 5” but then take away the daily spa treatments – please watch the fine print if using a travel agent…
2. If booking a spa suite – don’t go for the ground floor – less privacy.
3. We were contemplating a beach suite but in retrospect were really glad that we went for the spa suite as the beach suite have little privacy during daytime as all the guest are on the beach in front of the suites.
4. Don’t stay for 7 days – 14 are the answer!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BTGroup, General Manager at Angsana Balaclava Mauritius, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing our resort for your Wedding and for taking the time to share such wonderful comments. I am delighted to learn that you had the best intimate experience at Angsana Balaclava Mauritius.

As an exclusive intimate boutique resort, Angsana Balaclava Mauritius places an emphasis on the attention to details and it is fantastic to read that you felt like a royalty, had a personalised, magical and forever in memory wedding, found your suite beautiful, with a magnificent sunset, the meal deliciously prepared and personnel very friendly and service oriented .
Your gracious comments have been passed to our personnel, which will serve as an added inspiration to consistently maintain the high standards you have experienced, and which are one of the trademarks of our brand.

We would like to thank you once again for your comments as these will truly help us to monitor, and improve even further our Angsana services and facilities. I trust you had a pleasant and safe journey home and look forward to welcoming you back again to Angsana Balaclava or to any of our other resorts worldwide.
Yours sincerely,

Pascal Prigent
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    284
    46
    17
    8
    5
See reviews for
63
226
4
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Angsana over New Year's Eve 2012-13 in spa suite 223 .........if size does matter to you go elsewhere....if you want to experience service stay at this hotel....if you want to watch the most amazing sunsets ever....eat great Asian food....get spoilt in the best spa on the island ....above all live in a hotel from which you will be sad to leave....angsana is the hotel to choose....fantastic rooms...37 pools in all...spa suites & ocean front villas are fantastic...choose spa suites on higher floors....Chef Suardi , Preetum , Yash , Alpesh , Renu in f&b brought our every wish true...the chef cooked any dish off the menu we requested and special meals for our infant any time of the day....Lovena and Ombika in the spa can put you to sleep with their treatments....Olivier at the front desk will make every wish his command....Roopesh is the all star entertainer who will do yoga with you and then play the piano and guitar to entertain you in every manner ...Jean Philip at the gym is great too !!!!! Highly recommended

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BTGroup, General Manager at Angsana Balaclava Mauritius, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing our resort for your recent holiday and for taking the time to share such wonderful comments. I am delighted to learn you consider Angsana Balaclava Mauritius “Heaven on Earth”!!
As an exclusive intimate boutique resort, Angsana Balaclava Mauritius places an emphasis on the attention to details and it is superb to read that you find the suites fantastic, the food great, the spa, the best of the island and the sunset, the most amazing.
Your gracious comments have been passed to our personnel, which will serve as an added inspiration to consistently maintain the high standards you have experienced, and which are one of the trademarks of our brand.
We would like to thank you once again for your comments as these will truly help us to monitor, and improve even further our Angsana services and facilities. I trust you had a pleasant and safe journey home and look forward to welcoming you back again to Angsana Balaclava or to any of our other resorts worldwide.

Yours sincerely,

Pascal Prigent
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We had a week long break here just before Christmas 2012. It was SUPERB and exactly the kind of place we hoped it would be. Really hard to fault - quiet, great food, relaxing, friendly staff, well laid out etc. If you're looking for somewhere to recharge the batteries and kick-back, this is the place! Highly recommended.

Room Tip: The ones high up have better sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BTGroup, General Manager at Angsana Balaclava Mauritius, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing our resort for your recent holiday and for taking the time to share such wonderful comments. I am delighted to learn that you highly recommend Angsana Balaclava Mauritius which you found superb!
As an exclusive intimate boutique resort, Angsana Balaclava Mauritius places an emphasis on the attention to details and it is fantastic to read that you found our resort well laid out, quiet and relaxing, the food great and the personnel friendly.
Your gracious comments have been passed to our personnel, which will serve as an added inspiration to consistently maintain the high standards you have experienced, and which are one of the trademarks of our brand.
We would like to thank you once again for your comments as these will truly help us to monitor, and improve even further our Angsana services and facilities. I trust you had a pleasant and safe journey home and look forward to welcoming you back again to Angsana Balaclava or to any of our other resorts worldwide.

Yours sincerely,

Pascal Prigent
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

My wife and I spent two amazing nights at this hotel, enjoying all the luxuries available to us. The hotel is relatively small but if you want a private intimate experience, then this is the hotel for you. We have stayed in quite a few hotels in Mauritius but when we arrived at the room, we were blown away. In particular the bathroom, with shower and steam room was impressive, with its bath-tub carved from a huge rock. But most impressive was the terrace with its own private pool and jacuzzi, leading onto the beach. The communal pool and bar were also highlights of our stay, with both fresh water and sea water pools, and seating in the sea water pool itself. The service was friendly and we were well taken care of. To wrap it up, this hotel is pure luxury and perfect for a honeymoon or an intimate couples getaway.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BTGroup, General Manager at Angsana Balaclava Mauritius, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Valued guest,

Thank you for choosing our resort for your recent holiday and for taking the time to share such wonderful comments. I am delighted that you were blown away when you entered your Beach Front Suite at Angsana Balaclava Mauritius.

As an exclusive intimate boutique resort, Angsana Balaclava Mauritius places an emphasis on the attention to details and it is fantastic to read that you enjoyed your private pool in the terrace, the seating of the bar in the pool water and the pure luxury that you find perfect for honeymooners and intimate getaways.

We are very delighted to read your encouraging words about the friendly service that you experience. Your gracious comments have been passed to our personnel, which will serve as an added inspiration to consistently maintain the high standards you have experienced, and which are one of the trademarks of our brand.

We would like to thank you once again for your comments as these will truly help us to monitor, and improve even further our Angsana services and facilities.

I trust you had a pleasant and safe journey home and look forward to welcoming you back again to Angsana Balaclava Mauritius or to any of our other resorts worldwide.

Yours sincerely,

Pascal Prigent
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauritius
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Angsana was a romantic getaway for my fiancé and I. We had an amazing stay at the beach suite with its own pool and jacuzzi which have a superb seaview. The room is awesome with its wooden furnishings and we loved the bathtub!

We found the hotel staff very friendly and helpful especially the restaurant staff as they managed to arrange a romantic dinner for us on the terrace. The food service was good and the food excellent!

We would definitely recommend Angsana if you are looking for a romantic stay!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BTGroup, General Manager at Angsana Balaclava Mauritius, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Valued guest,

Thank you for choosing our resort for your recent holiday and for taking the time to share such wonderful comments. I am delighted that you found Angsana Balaclava Mauritius the “Romantic Getaway”.

As an exclusive intimate boutique resort, Angsana Balaclava Mauritius places an emphasis on the attention to details and it is fantastic to read that you had an amazing stay in the Beach Front Suite and enjoyed the superb sea view from your suite which you found awesome.

We are very delighted to read your encouraging words about the personnel being helpful and food excellent. Your gracious comments have been passed to our personnel, which will serve as an added inspiration to consistently maintain the high standards you have experienced, and which are one of the trademarks of our brand.

We would like to thank you once again for your comments as these will truly help us to monitor, and improve even further our Angsana services and facilities.

I trust you had a pleasant and safe journey home and look forward to welcoming you back again to Angsana Balaclava Mauritius or to any of our other resorts worldwide.

Yours sincerely,

Pascal Prigent
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

We went to Mauritius for 1 week and could not have experienced anything better than Angsana. When we reached there , the hotel looked quite small to be honest but the beautiful rooms and excellent service more than made it up for it. The food was also excellent.

We had a beach bbq on the night we reached which was really good and some entertainment from local dancers.

Everything was marvellous, including the really nice weather for that whole week.

Angsana is a must stay if you are on a honey moon.

Room Tip: Please spend the extra $ for the beach rooms as you can enjoy a nice dip with your loved one in tota...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BTGroup, General Manager at Angsana Balaclava Mauritius, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing our resort for your Honeymoon and for taking the time to share such wonderful comments. I am delighted to learn that you could not have experienced anything better than Angsana Balaclava Mauritius.
As an exclusive intimate boutique resort, Angsana Balaclava Mauritius places an emphasis on the attention to details and it is fantastic to read that you found the rooms beautiful and the service and food excellent.
Your gracious comments have been passed to our personnel, which will serve as an added inspiration to consistently maintain the high standards you have experienced, and which are one of the trademarks of our brand.
We would like to thank you once again for your comments as these will truly help us to monitor, and improve even further our Angsana services and facilities. I trust you had a pleasant and safe journey home and look forward to welcoming you back to Angsana Balaclava Mauritius or to any of our other resorts worldwide.


Yours sincerely,
Pascal Prigent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

We stayed at the Angsana for 2 nights based on their website, trip advisor reviews and previous experience with Banyan tree and I was expecting a similar level of service commensurate with the price range.

The rooms are amazing and the grounds are well kept, as you would expect. However they are let down by their service, which is more akin to that of a bad 2 or 3 star hotel or hotels in China that have not dealt with international travelers previously, not a prestige hotel charging upward of EUR500 per night. No one incident (except the buffet food quality) stood out, but as little things keep happening you tend to notice them more, and all of them put together show that Angsana has a lot of work to do before it can justify the prices it charges.

Airport transfers could be better organised. We arranged pick up from the airport and were unable to locate the driver when we arrived, as he was not waiting with the bulk of the pick-ups as you exit the airport, where you are usually met at Mauritius airport, necessitating a call to the hotel. On the return trip, when we left the Angsana for the airport, the driver was 30 minutes late in picking us up, which was not a problem for us, but could cause you to miss your flight especially if there is traffic as you go through Port Louis.

The food was very disappointing. The breakfast buffet, while adequate in its variety was not replenished often enough, so the food sat there for a long time. The website also states that they have a la carte hot options for breakfast, which was not the case.

For dinner on Saturday night there is normally a beach bbq, which was cancelled due to rain (fair enough). Instead there was a dinner buffet, which turned out to be very disappointing. By the time we got to the buffet at 8:30pm, the food selection was very limited, the main course dishes had one or two slices of meat left which had obviously been sitting there for a long time, the food was cold and looked very unappetizing. The desert buffet had only a few disgusting looking pieces of fruit and some cakes on dirty trays which looked like they had been touched by everyone who came before us. When I asked if there was any a-la-carte option, as I had a preference for table service, I was initially told no. Only after we complained about the buffet to the catering manager, he asked the chef to cook fresh food for us, which was a bit annoying as I felt I had to beg for my food. And we ended up having to pay extra for it, since we were told only the buffet option was part of our half board package.

Housekeeping could be improved. While the rooms were cleaned daily, only 1 bathrobe was provided after the first day. Housekeeping left a dirty cleaning cloth hanging over the furniture in the room, which was most likely an oversight, but was unpleasant having to remove them as you are not sure how many bathrooms they have cleaned and what germs they harbour.

The minibar is minimally stocked when you arrive and they explain that you can request anything to be stocked in the bar, which is fair enough, but personally I prefer to have a standard range of items that would be befitting a 5 star hotel which could be replaced, as we wanted to have some champagne upon arrival, which yes, we could have ordered off room service, but it would be nice to be able to get the first drink out of the fridge without waiting – this is just a personal preference. Also the coffee in the mini bar was not replenished after day 1. It was explained to us that the initial tea and coffee was complimentary, but we had to pay for any additional coffee, which is fine but seems a bit cheap when you pay 500 Euros a night.

Room service has a lot of work to do. For breakfast basic condiments that should be included in a western breakfast were not, such as sugar for the coffee, salt and pepper for the eggs and jam for the croissants. Calls to the front desk to provide these took 20 mins to arrive and follow up calls to the front desk went unanswered, so much so that I put the phone on speaker and kept redialling so I could continue to eat breakfast.

There was an issue with the main pool, which was the colour of yellow slime and did not look inviting. Enquiries to the staff, and observation of water testing, informed us of the problem, which is understandable as these things happen, although you'd expect to be told about it in advance and not after asking about it. We were invited to use the lap pool, which we did, but beach towels were not provided for the pool, and upon asking for a towel we were told to walk to the main pool (which you couldn’t swim in) to get one.

One the beach there are some deckchairs where you can sunbathe and watch the sunset but they are situated on the sloping part of the beach so that when you lie on them it is impossible not to slide down, so we ended up dragging the heavy chairs up the beach while the staff looked on, I am not sure why they were put there in the first place.

None of these incidents alone would have been an issue or warrant feedback, but the combination and consistency points to a problem at the Angsana and we were disappointed. We gave feedback to management upon checkout and they comped us a drink from the bar, gave us 20% off a spa treatment, and will also send a gift to our home, but none of this would be necessary if they got the basics in their service right. I had booked to stay at the Angsana Phuket in 2012, but based on my experience in Mauritius have cancelled the reservation and am unlikely to choose Angsana for future travels.

There plenty of nice hotels in Mauritius in this price range. I would recommend looking at others as the service quality at Angsana is far below the price point that they charge.

Room Tip: The spa suite was nice, but the water was a bit to cold to stay in for too long.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BTGroup, General Manager at Angsana Balaclava Mauritius, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,


Thank you for choosing our resort for your recent stay and for taking the time to share your comments.

I would like to seize this opportunity to again present my sincere apologies for the regretful mishaps during your stay.

As an exclusive intimate boutique resort, Angsana Balaclava Mauritius places an emphasis on the attention to details but we unfortunately failed in delivering.

However, we humbly hope that our apologies and the gift sent as a goodwill gesture were well accepted and could help in soothing the disappointment.

Your comments have been analysed and shared with our personnel, which will serve to maintain the high standards which are one of the trademarks of our brand.

We would like to thank you once again for your comments as these will truly help us to monitor, and improve even further our Angsana services and facilities.

I trust you had a pleasant and safe journey home and look forward to welcoming you back for a chance to exceed your expectations to Angsana Balaclava Mauritius or to any of our other resorts worldwide.



Yours sincerely,
Pascal Prigent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Angsana Balaclava Mauritius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angsana Balaclava Mauritius

Address: Turtle Bay, Republic of Mauritius, Balaclava, Mauritius
Location: Mauritius > Pamplemousses District > Balaclava
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Balaclava
#2 Luxury Hotel in Balaclava
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Balaclava
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Angsana Balaclava Mauritius 5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the northwest coast of Mauritius, in the secluded area of Turtle Bay, Angsana Balaclava offers a hideaway ideal for travellers looking for privacy and relaxation. Angsana Balaclava is the island’s premier boutique resort – the latest 5-star resort on the Mauritian landscape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Angsana Balaclava Mauritius reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angsana Balaclava Hotel Balaclava
Angsana Balaclava Mauritius

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Angsana Balaclava Mauritius, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.