We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay in a piece of Heaven...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Angsana Balaclava Mauritius

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Angsana Balaclava Mauritius to your Saves list
Angsana Balaclava Mauritius
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Turtle Bay, Republic of Mauritius, Balaclava, Mauritius   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Balaclava
brest
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Stay in a piece of Heaven...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We stayed at Angsana Balaclava over 10 days.. and it was indeed one of the most blissful experience we lived with my fiancee. After a long 11hours flight, we were warmly welcomed at the hotel with the friendly recepetion staff, very concerned about our tiredness. The Front Desk Manager (a French gentlemen) came personally to greet us and welcome us on what looked to us as 'a lost paradise on earth'...Even though we were previously aware that we would reach the hotel much earlier than the standard check-in time, he kindly offered us to use the room as soon as we arrived, gesture which we really appreciated, particularly after such a long & tiring journey.
Since the first minutes we entered our magic spa suite (1st floor) until the moment we left the hotel to fly back, we were treated like special guests, with particular attention and tailor-made service by most of the hotel staff.
My fiancee was delighted with the room we were accomodated in, very big in terms of space and an amazing pool facing the hotel and the blue sea. To top that, the food was mouth-watering: we understood that the Chef is from Indonesia and the results of his dishes was really ecstatic! Pritam (the restaurant in charge) was very caring and offered his best attention to us every time we visited the outlets. The restaurant is very cosy and appropriate when in couple like in our case. The rest of the waiters also made us feel at home, very family-spirit.
The best part was indeed the spa..needless to add I guess why! The service, the wide range of massages offered, the quality of the treatments, the peaceful ambiance.. all of this contribuated in making us fall in love with the resort!
We would definitely recommend to visit this hotel for all the 5* (or shall we say 6*) services provided, the professionalism and efficiency of particularly the Front Desk team and restaurant staff, the amazing surrounding with the 'out-of-the-world' feeling and the famous landscapes of the North part of the island.
Keep it Up and See you soon!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BTGroup, General Manager at Angsana Balaclava Mauritius, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing our resort for your recent holiday and for taking the time to share such wonderful comments. I am delighted to learn that your stay felt like” in a piece of heaven”.

As an exclusive intimate boutique resort, Angsana Balaclava places an emphasis on the attention to details and it is fantastic to read that you found the Spa Suite magic, the food mouth-watering and ecstatic, and that you enjoyed being treated as special guest making you feel like at home.

Your gracious comments have been passed to our personnel, which will serve as an added inspiration to consistently maintain the high standards you have experienced, and which are one of the trademarks of our brand.

We would like to thank you once again for your comments as these will truly help us to monitor, and improve even further our Angsana services and facilities. I trust you had a pleasant and safe journey home and look forward to welcoming you back to experience the ‘out-of-world’ feeling again at Angsana Balaclava or at any of our other resorts worldwide.

Yours sincerely,
Pascal Prigent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    282
    43
    17
    8
    5
See reviews for
63
223
4
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for 9 days. Upon arrival the hotel is amazing beautiful surrounding very serene. Reception staff extremely friendly and helpful. The hotel is very isolated so if you don t have a car you will be kind of stranded. Taxi are available in front of hotel if needed.
Our package included breakfast and dinner . Food was very good but no healthy option on offer .breakfast was buffet but no water available ,did ask the staff but got an half glass of warm water! Housekeeping service is a real problem. Turn down staff will always show up when you are getting ready and not that helpful, amenities not replace unless you ask reception.
My biggest disappointment was when housekeeping turned up 15 minutes before check out time to do stocktake on linen... They had my credit card and I am sure that if I had taken anything they would charge me for it.. Felt very offended !
One thing good about this place is the fantastic spa . Excellent massage and reiki available.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BTGroup, General Manager at Angsana Balaclava Mauritius, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing our resort for your recent holiday and for taking the time to share such wonderful and constructive comments. I am delighted to learn that you found the hotel amazing with beautiful and serene surrounding.

As an exclusive intimate boutique resort, Angsana Balaclava places an emphasis on the attention to details and it is fantastic to read that the Spa was fantastic, massage excellent and reception personnel extremely friendly and helpful .

Your gracious comments have been passed to our personnel, which will serve as an added inspiration to consistently maintain the high standards you have experienced in these sections, and which are one of the trademarks of our brand. Please rest assured that the Management has also taken note of your constructive comments for action upon.

We would like to thank you once again for your comments as these will truly help us to monitor, and improve even further our Angsana services and facilities. I trust you had a pleasant and safe journey home and look forward to welcoming you back to Angsana Balaclava or to any of our other resorts worldwide.

Yours sincerely,
Pascal Prigent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heviz, Hungary
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

the permanence at Angsana Hotel was a dream .. The landscape and the beauty of the place make your holiday wonderful. In addition, we found an excellent hotel.
The reception eas very good.
Suite is very spacious and comfortable. I must say that we spent the most time outdoors. The outer zone and the pools are beautiful. The pools are really great, in every shape and every taste. Moreover, the beach is close but not very big.
Restaurant is very good and I recommend you try the specialty!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BTGroup, General Manager at Angsana Balaclava Mauritius, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing our resort for your recent holiday and for taking the time to share such wonderful comments. I am delighted to learn that you had a wonderful holiday at Angsana Balaclava.

As an exclusive intimate boutique resort, Angsana Balaclava places an emphasis on the attention to details and it is fantastic to read that found the hotel perfect, the suite very spacious and comfortable and the restaurant specialities very good.

Your gracious comments have been passed to our personnel, which will serve as an added inspiration to consistently maintain the high standards you have experienced, and which are one of the trademarks of our brand.

We would like to thank you once again for your comments as these will truly help us to monitor, and improve even further our Angsana services and facilities. I trust you had a pleasant and safe journey home and look forward to welcoming you back to Angsana Balaclava or to any of our other resorts worldwide.

Yours sincerely,
Pascal Prigent
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We stayed for 5 nights in a garden suite with half board.
They have a great view of west coast of Turtle Bay. The villas and suites keep their privacy perfectly in a serene environment. Acctually the property is quite remoted to the down town and surrounded by farmland.
They offer buffet at breakfast including varieties of omelette, waffle, noodle, curry and other dishes. Dinner is served with 3 coursed menu, every day is different.
We tried their free water activities:speedboat sailing along the coast to Intercontinental Hotel. Acctually we supposed to try their glass bottom boat, but haven't seen any boats at their boat house. However the speed boat sailing is fantastic, only have we two passengers and took over 40 minutes. That is mainly because they really have few quests...We just saw no more than 4 peoples on their private beach.
If you want to enjoy your privacy and the moment of tranquility,you definately choose Angsana Blaclava.
Details you could find my photoes.
We love Angsana, surely will try their hotels in other cities.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BTGroup, General Manager at Angsana Balaclava Mauritius, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing our resort for your recent holiday and for taking the time to share such wonderful comments. I am delighted to learn that you found Angsana Balaclava to have great facilities with privacy and serene environment.

As an exclusive intimate boutique resort, Angsana Balaclava places an emphasis on the attention to details and it is fantastic to read that you enjoyed your privacy and the moment of tranquillity, the variety of dishes and the fantastic water-skiing.

Your gracious comments have been passed to our personnel, which will serve as an added inspiration to consistently maintain the high standards you have experienced, and which are one of the trademarks of our brand.

We would like to thank you once again for your comments as these will truly help us to monitor, and improve even further our Angsana services and facilities. I trust you had a pleasant and safe journey home and look forward to welcoming you back to Angsana Balaclava or to any of our other resorts worldwide.

Yours sincerely,
Pascal Prigent
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We stayed at Angsana Balaclava in September 2012. The purpose of our stay was for our wedding and it was beautiful. There were a group of 7 of us in total and we were all there for a fortnight and our wedding was on the 10th day of our stay. Having looked at most of the hotels in Mauritius before selecting this one for our special day we were not disappointed. Speaking for myself and my husband the trip was perfect from start to finish.

When we arrived we were greeted with a warm welcome, cold towels and a passionfruit drink - very refreshing after a 13 hour flight! We stayed in a Garden suite which was absolutely perfect. Close to restaurant, spacious and on the 3rd floor so had spectacular views across the ocean and of the sunset. We had the option of upgrading to a Spa Suite but chose to stay put as the room was perfectly sufficient and we didn't need the small pool.

The pool area was wonderful. As the hotel wasn't very busy everywhere was very quiet. The pool was a little chilly but ok once you got used to it. The food at the pool bar was lovely as was the service. The staff couldn't do enough for you.

Very impressed that water skiing is complementary. I still can't ski (I have tried for years), but my husband went most days and loved it.

In the evenings the food and service was again fantastic. Preetum, the food and bev manager was fantastic as were all his staff (Ashvin, Yashvin...the list goes on, they are all wonderful!). In the whole two weeks we were there we never had the same dish once. Menu was always varied and if there was something you wanted changing due to allergy/dislike of an ingredient, they were always happy to amend it or create something for you.

Breakfast again was super. Always brilliant service and huge choice all of which tasted lovely.
Whilst we were there my parents celebrated there 25th wedding anniversary and my father in law celebrated his birthday. On each occasion they were presented with a lovely cake in the evening - a really nice, personal touch!

As for the wedding - a dream come true. The florist, Angelie, is wonderful. She created the most beautiful flowers and did so much more to help us. The beach boys, the restaurant staff, the spa staff - all went over and above their call of duty to make our day perfect. Yann accompanied us to the capital for the legalities and was an absolute star! The photographer and videographer (Nicolas Malachie and Gonzalo Fanny), although not part of the hotel, created the best footage we could have wished for so would highly recommend them to anyone.
Overall our two weeks was the best two weeks I have ever had and I owe a lot of that to the staff at the Angsana and the quality of the hotel itself. I wouldn't change any of it!

There were a couple of minor points which can be learnt from, all of which were discussed with Pascal the manager, who again, was a superb chap!:
It was bizarre that tea and coffee in the room is not complementary. In a 5* hotel you expect drinks to be expensive but you also expect tea and coffee to be included especially when waterskiing is free!
Didier, the wedding co-ordinater, was the most unhelpful out of all the staff. Had it not been for the attentiveness, professionalism and kindness of all the other staff there our wedding would have been far from the perfect day it ended up being. I say this because a wedding is a once in a lifetime experience and needs to be perfect. After my initial meeting with him i was very concerned and it did cause unneccesary stress. The reason I say this is because if anyone plans to get married there do not panic or let it put you off, just be aware that the staff will make it perfect for you not Didier and if he tells you something is not possible, go above his head, it usually is. We didn't ask for anything elaborate or unreasonable but at times felt like we were.

Other than that, superb holiday, amazing hotel, even more amazing staff and a wedding we will remember and cherish forever! I even shed a tear on leaving!

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor - you then get the sunset view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BTGroup, General Manager at Angsana Balaclava Mauritius, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing our resort for your wedding and for taking the time to share such wonderful comments. I am delighted to learn that your wedding felt like in paradise at Angsana Balaclava.

As an exclusive intimate boutique resort, Angsana Balaclava places an emphasis on the attention to details and it is fantastic to read that you found the food and the food and beverages manager and staff fantastic, your suite absolutely perfect and your wedding like a dream come true.

Your gracious comments have been passed to our personnel, which will serve as an added inspiration as well as you constructive comments to consistently maintain the high standards you have experienced, and which are one of the trademarks of our brand.

We would like to thank you once again for your comments as these will truly help us to monitor, and improve even further our Angsana services and facilities and please rest assured that the Management has taken note of your suggestions. I trust you had a pleasant and safe journey home and look forward to welcoming you back to Angsana Balaclava or to any of our other resorts worldwide.

Yours sincerely,
Pascal Prigent
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Do
The Hotel was perfect for our honeymoon!!!
Excellent food at the pool bar and in the restaurant - very friendly and helpful staff - very nice pool area - perfect suite - large terrace - pleasant rest - wonderful sunset - great water activities - delicious cocktails -
Don´t
The Beach was a little bit too small

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Angsana.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BTGroup, General Manager at Angsana Balaclava Mauritius, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing our resort for your recent holiday and for taking the time to share such wonderful comments. I am delighted to learn that Angsana Balaclava was perfect for your Honeymoon.

As an exclusive intimate boutique resort, Angsana Balaclava places an emphasis on the attention to details and it is fantastic to read that you found the food excellent at the pool bar and the restaurant, the staff very friendly and helpful, the pool area very nice and the suites perfect.

Your gracious comments have been passed to our personnel, which will serve as an added inspiration to consistently maintain the high standards you have experienced, and which are one of the trademarks of our brand.

We would like to thank you once again for your comments as these will truly help us to monitor, and improve even further our Angsana services and facilities. I trust you had a pleasant and safe journey home and look forward to welcoming you back to a pleasant rest and wonderful sunset at Angsana Balaclava or to any of our other resorts worldwide.

Yours sincerely,
Pascal Prigent
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012 via mobile

We were on a short 7 days holiday, and selected Angsana as we had stayed at a Banyan Tree property in Thailand earlier and had enjoyed our stay.  We are glad that we chose a BT property again this time.
The things we liked about the hotel were:
1- Very good and friendly staff in general. Vinay and Nas were exceptionally GR8!
2- The hotel has an excellent  Chef, offering creative dishes, and indulging our taste buds.
3- This is a new hotel, and everything feels new and well maintained. 
4- Proximity to Port Louis
5- Nice private beach, albeit it's a short stretch of shoreline.


The hotel is quite far from most attractions, and it takes on average 1.5hrs to get to most attractions (predominantly in the south and east) which makes it inconvenient. On the other hand it offers an opportunity to admire the sights during the drive. We used a very good and safe taxi driver through the hotel called Durgaish.

All in all, we loved the place and strongly recomend it.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BTGroup, General Manager at Angsana Balaclava Mauritius, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing our resort for your recent holiday and for taking the time to share such wonderful comments. I am delighted to learn that you were glad with your stay at Angsana Balaclava.

As an exclusive intimate boutique resort, Angsana Balaclava places an emphasis on the attention to details and it is fantastic to read that you found the staff very good and friendly, the Chef excellent with his creative dishes, the beach nice and private….

Your gracious comments have been passed to our personnel, which will serve as an added inspiration to consistently maintain the high standards you have experienced, and which are one of the trademarks of our brand.

We would like to thank you once again for your comments as these will truly help us to monitor, and improve even further our Angsana services and facilities. I trust you had a pleasant and safe journey home and look forward to welcoming you back to Angsana Balaclava or to any of our other resorts worldwide.

Yours sincerely,
Pascal Prigent
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Angsana Balaclava Mauritius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angsana Balaclava Mauritius

Address: Turtle Bay, Republic of Mauritius, Balaclava, Mauritius
Location: Mauritius > Pamplemousses District > Balaclava
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Balaclava
#2 Romantic Hotel in Balaclava
#2 Luxury Hotel in Balaclava
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Angsana Balaclava Mauritius 5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the northwest coast of Mauritius, in the secluded area of Turtle Bay, Angsana Balaclava offers a hideaway ideal for travellers looking for privacy and relaxation. Angsana Balaclava is the island’s premier boutique resort – the latest 5-star resort on the Mauritian landscape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Angsana Balaclava Mauritius reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angsana Balaclava Hotel Balaclava
Angsana Balaclava Mauritius

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Angsana Balaclava Mauritius, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.