We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal place to rediscover healthful living and a zest for life!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Angsana Balaclava Mauritius

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Angsana Balaclava Mauritius to your Saves list
Angsana Balaclava Mauritius
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Turtle Bay, Balaclava, Mauritius   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Balaclava
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Moscow, Russia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Ideal place to rediscover healthful living and a zest for life!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

We stayed at Angsana Balaclava a couple of weeks in April, have been passing unforgettable time, refreshing and rejuvenating the body, mind and soul!
It’s very new boutique hotel, the restaurants and spa (including hammam and hydrotherapy pool) are contemporary chic designed, the most of intimate, spacious, very cozy and stylish suits have got private pool, direct beach access and magnificent ocean view.
We have been deeply impressed by highly personalized services, attentive and delicate staff were at hand to meet your every need – anywhere, at reception, in the restaurants and bars, near the pools and ocean, etc. - please take into consideration that we are hard-to-please clients.
Special profound respect to Gourmet Chef Suardi Nyoman and his team for delicious food - premium ingredients, magnificent, so diverse and lovely decorated dishes please even most sophisticated palates. Live music completes the particular charming atmosphere during breakfasts, lunches and dinners.

Angsana Balaclava is the hotel and the place where you look forward to come back to enjoy your life again and again.
Don’t miss in Mauritius: the Buggy tour at Casela Nature & Leisure Park, Botanical Garden, Adventure Park, 7 colored Earth visiting.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruud H, General Manager at Angsana Balaclava Mauritius, responded to this review, May 12, 2012
Dear Miss Reva R,

Thank you for choosing our resort for your recent holiday and for taking the time to share such wonderful comments. I am delighted to learn you found Angsana Balaclava to be the hotel and place, where you look forward to come back to enjoy life again and again!

As an exclusive intimate boutique resort, Angsana Balaclava places an emphasis on the attention to details and it is fantastic to read that you had here some unforgettable time, refreshing and rejuvenating the body, mind and soul. We are very pleased to read your encouraging words about our contemporary chic design, the cosiness you felt at Angsana Balaclava, the highly personalised service that you experienced and the delicious food by our Chef, which you feel would please even the most sophisticated palates.

Your gracious comments have been passed to our personnel, which will serve as an added inspiration to consistently maintain the high standards you have experienced, and which are one of the trademarks of our brand.

We would like to thank you once again for your comments as these will truly help us to monitor, and improve even further our Angsana services and facilities. I trust you had a pleasant and safe journey home and look forward to welcoming you back again to Angsana Balaclava or to any of our other resorts worldwide.

Yours sincerely,


Ruud Hulscher
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    336
    54
    20
    8
    5
See reviews for
83
254
7
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

This place is truly exquisite!!!
The hotel is stunning with colourful manicured gardens,a seawater lagoon style pool edged in sand, a secluded beach and bar& restaurants with interior design that cleverly merges the inside with the natural beauty of the Island.
The rooms are fantastic with every detail and comfort thought of. The beachfront suites are particularly eye catching with their wrap around private pools and outdoor jacuzzi but all the rooms look spacious and luxurious so you can't go wrong whichever one you pick.
The food is sensational- at breakfast I've had some the tastiest freshly squeezed juices I've ever tried and in combinations I'd never think of-and dinner is a delicious 3 course meal with a changing menu every night.
Best of all and what really sets this place apart from anywhere I've been before is the seriously high standards of service. The staff are so very good. They couldn't be more helpful if they tried and yet it doesn't feel obtrusive or pushy like it can in some hotels. Nothing is too much trouble.
Our holiday isn't over yet but judging by the first half this place is a true paradise that will no doubt soon be regarded as the best in Mauritius

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruud H, General Manager at Angsana Balaclava Mauritius, responded to this review, May 16, 2012
Dear Mr Galloway,


Thank you for choosing our resort for your recent holiday and for taking the time to share such wonderful comments. I am delighted to learn you found Angsana Balaclava to be a truly exquisite place!

As an exclusive intimate boutique resort, Angsana Balaclava places an emphasis on the attention to details and it is fantastic to read that you find our rooms fantastic with every detail and comfort thought of, the food sensational and the service of a seriously high level; making Angsana Balaclava best of all places you have been to. We are very pleased to read your encouraging words about our Resort being a true paradise and that it could soon be regarded as the best in Mauritius.

Your gracious comments have been passed to our personnel, which will serve as an added inspiration to consistently maintain the high standards you have experienced, and which are one of the trademarks of our brand.

We would like to thank you once again for your comments as these will truly help us to monitor, and improve even further our Angsana services and facilities. I trust you had a pleasant and safe journey home and look forward to welcoming you back again to Angsana Balaclava or to any of our other resorts worldwide.

Yours sincerely,


Ruud Hulscher
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

Me and my girlfriend chosen Angsana Balaclava because of the private pool and the included 90-minute spa along with our spa suite. It is a really nice small size hotel which we feel like home with friendly staff and beautiful suite.

The Room:

Very nice and big. I really like the room design that looks really warm and comfortable. The view on the 2nd or 3rd floor is really nice. Though we can't really see the beach because it is blocked by the beachfront suites, you got more privacy in the 2nd or 3rd floor in return. Everything you need is in the room so you can just bring your swimsuits! The suite pool is not heated so can be quite cool if you want to swim, which is a bit of a disappointment but no biggie if you go there during summer times or swim under the sun. We loved the essence oil they used and really makes the room smell great at night and while we slept. Do watch out there are quite a lot of mosquitoes so do close the doors and use mosquito repeler (it is in the room).

On the down side, we face some hot water supply problem during our stay. The hot water is no longer available after the first night of stay. We end up switching room to another floor and got some warm water sometime at night but not during the daytime. We were notified there is some water heating problem but it is not fixed after 7 days when we left. I'm not sure what's the reason behind it and why it take so long to fix, but it is definitely a minus for guest to make do without hot water in the day. There's also some maintenance issue with the rooms too. I got into 3 different rooms and I found different issue that require maintenance. I'm quite surprise these issues happened to a new hotel, but these definitely fixable and hope the management can address these soon.

Facilities:

It is not a big hotel so you don't get a lot of facilities like in Maritim, but in return you can enjoy them fully. There is a nice salt water pool in the middle of the hotel with a bar with serve great food. There is a boathouse that has water ski, kayak, windsurfing, glass bottom boat with snorkeling and more for free in certain time of the day (or private trip with a fee). The spa is really good. Whether you got the free spa or not, you should have a try! There's a really nice massage pool with steam and sauna room (is closed because the window is broken, again some maintenance issue), a gym room for exercise and obviously, the massage. Really great massage and friendly therapists. If you like any of the therapist, remember her name and request for her next time!

The beach is great with staff serving towels and proactively asking if you need any drinks and food. However, it is a bit small in my opinion and got some stones around the seabed, maybe is near Port Louis and the stones got washed to the shore.

Food:

The food is just awesome! Depends on the day, you may have 3 options of breakfast or a buffet breakfast with lots of food options. The breakfast did not change much from day to day but the food quality is really good. The dinner is a masterpiece. It is a 3 course meal with 3-6 options for each course. The menu changes everyday so you definitely got something new every night. The chef is very skillful too. We really love the lamb rack and loin that it cooks perfectly!

The staff is also very friendly handling our requests. The first night we met Yash who serve us the dinner and he is very professional and always takes care of everything. Arvshin (i forgot how to spell his name) is really friendly and actively talk with us and introduce some of his friends and staff to us. I especially want to thank you Nicolas Lam who help me arrange a very good beach BBQ dinner for us. The whole dinning setup is really romantic and the seafood is carefully selected and perfectly cooked. Sorry I forgot the cook and the server's name but really thank you for serving us and the other staff who prepare such a special night for us with nice special decorations in our room as well!

The drinks are relatively so-so. It would be great to have more specialty and options.

Overall it is a great hotel that you can really enjoy and relax. It definitely in one of my top hotel list when it comes to best hotels in Mauritius! I really do miss the pool, the spa and the food there! There are a few glitches but I'm sure it will get address soon. Thanks for giving us such a great time, Angsana Balaclava!

Room Tip: If you are going for the spa suite and love the private pool, request for 2nd or 3rd floor for priva...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

Me and my husband were having a pleasant time when we were stayed in Angsana Balaclava! We have ordered the beach front room with a L shape pool, the room was so comfotable and the view is outstanding! We just had to cross the pool then we can reach the beautiful beach. Our package was including breakfast and dinner. Breakfast is simple buffet breakfast in a cozy garden reataurant, and we also getting a delicacy dinner in the same place! The food were excellent and suprising every time! The hotel also provide lots of free land and water activities such as scubber diving,water ski,table tennies,kayaking and etc. Eventhough the activities are free to charge, but the equipments are very well maintained.The spa is very good, although it was a little expensive but it worth a try! One last thing the needed to mention is the hotel service is excellent, all the staffs were kindly, friendly and very effciency! I will give Five out of Five to Angsana Balaclava and I would definitely recommend it to my friends and I would take this as my priority for next time to Mauritius!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Angsana.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruud H, General Manager at Angsana Balaclava Mauritius, responded to this review, May 12, 2012
Dear Valued guest,

Thank you for choosing our resort for your recent holiday and for taking the time to share such wonderful comments. I am delighted that you found Angsana Balaclava to be an excellent hotel having excellent service.

As an exclusive intimate boutique resort, Angsana Balaclava places an emphasis on the attention to details and it is fantastic to read that you found the room so comfortable, the view outstanding, the food excellent and surprising every time. It is also a joy to learn that you enjoyed the free land and water activities and the spa.

We are very delighted to read your encouraging words about the features you enjoyed at Angsana Balaclava and the kindliness, friendliness and efficiency you experienced from our employees. Your gracious comments have been passed to our them, which will serve as an added inspiration to consistently maintain the high standards you have experienced, and which are one of the trademarks of our brand.

We would like to thank you once again for your comments as these will truly help us to monitor, and improve even further our Angsana services and facilities. I trust you had a pleasant and safe journey home and look forward to welcoming you back again to Angsana Balaclava or to any of our other resorts worldwide.

Yours sincerely,


Ruud Hulscher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

Overall our stay was excellent, for a new luxury hotel the Angsana does a lot of things right, but there are a few growing pains that can be observed across a few areas.

First the plusses:

Food: some of the best meals we have had. The nightly dinner in particular was always spectacular, featuring  a 3 course menu (with several choices), rivalling any upscale meal in London, Paris, etc.. Even snacks at the pool bar restaurant all prepared very fresh and delicious. Breakfast always good. 

Spa: the spa suite package includes 90 minute massage every day, a very good deal. Well trained massage therapists. Out of 8 total massages, 7 were outstanding. Excellent facilities, including a large massage pool, hammam, and sauna.

Grounds and Suite: beautiful surroundings, picturesque beach and pool areas, overall idyllic setting. Beach quite nice. Staff bend over backwards to bring towels, serve drinks, etc, making you feel very comfortable and looked after.

Other areas that were generally good, although could use some improvement if Angsana wants to truly be at the top of the 5 star rankings:

Bar and Food staff: many were quite good (Ramesh stands out as one of the kindest staff at the hotel). A few were poorly trained, forgot orders, and one or two were even unpleasant / clearly not enjoying their job. 

Maintenance issues: somewhat to be expected from a new hotel, there were a few occasional maintenance issues, although none were terrible. Power in suite and AC went out one night, shower in bathroom didn't drain very well, various bits of (minor) construction going on here and there.  

suite design: in suite pool quite cold, in shade all day, no privacy, especially if you have a spa suite on the ground level (maybe this not an issue at spa suites on upper levels?)

Boat House: the team manning the stand were very accommodating and friendly. The staff member who drove the boats was unfriendly and not so skilled. On the first day, he ran the ski boat up onto a coral reef near the shore, and on the second day, he took us snorkelling in the middle of fisherman's nets which created quite a scene with some local fisherman we unexpectedly got caught up in the middle of. 

sun Screen: with a resort like this, we expected to have sunscreen on site (either for purchase or generally available). After being told (and looking) several times, we finally found out the shop was out. The assistant manager sent someone to get some for us from town, but then came and found us in the beach and put us in the hotel car (for free) to get it ourselves from a mall 15 minutes away. 

In summary, a very nice resort, we would consider coming back for a return visit. To justify a premium price and reach the quality / service levels of other comparable resorts (eg Maldives), a few improvements need to be made as noted above.

Room Tip: Top floor spa suites, or beach front suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for just one night as we were staying at family house whilst in Mauritius for remainder of stay.
I have to say that from arrival to departure everything was faultless. Staff were extremely friendly and went out of their way to help. Resort is stunning and relatively small so never feels overly busy.
We stayed in a spa suite which was absolutely amasing, easily the best room we have ever had in a hotel. On previous visits we stayed in 2 different hotels in Mauritius and neither compare in the slightest.
Nothing was too much trouble and would recommend to anyone staying in mauritius, we will definitely be back....

Stayed April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruud H, General Manager at Angsana Balaclava Mauritius, responded to this review, May 4, 2012
Dear Mr Martin D,

Thank you for choosing our resort for your recent holiday and for taking the time to share such wonderful comments. I am delighted that you and your partner found your stay at Angsana Balaclava to be absolutely amasing and faultless. As an exclusive intimate boutique resort, Angsana Balaclava places an emphasis on the attention to details and it is fantastic to read that you felt that our team went out their way to help you during your stay.


We are very delighted to read your encouraging words about our resort that you found stunning, and the Spa Suites that you consider as the best you have ever had in a hotel, as well as the services provided by our extremely friendly staff. Your gracious comments have been passed to them, which will serve as an added inspiration to consistently maintain the high standards you have experienced, and which are one of the trademarks of our brand.


We would like to thank you once again for your comments as these will truly help us to monitor, and improve even further our Angsana services and facilities.


I trust you had a pleasant and safe journey home and look forward to welcoming you back again to Angsana Balaclava or to any of our other resorts worldwide.

Yours sincerely,


Ruud Hulscher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

We just returned from Mauritius post our dream holiday there. The Angsana Balaclava indeed added to the experience. The service is exceptional and the staff ever willing and ready to help. Their smile and eagerness to make your holiday one worth to be remembered is impeccable. The property is gorgeous with a great clean beach. The room we stayed in was one among the best that we have ever stayed anywhere in the world.(The Beach Front Suite).
"Vinay" the front line/reception staff was fantastic in his way of taking us through the property during check in. There were a couple of glitches that he immediately sorted out and ensured our stay was worth remembering. The staff at the restaurant are absolutely fabulous and stir up the most amazing meals> " Yash" there was of great help and recommended the right drinks and food making our gastronomic experience exceptional. The chef (a gentle man from Bali) really knows the art of satisfying a guests pallate. All in all an experience to be treasured and recommended.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Angsana.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruud H, General Manager at Angsana Balaclava Mauritius, responded to this review, May 4, 2012
Dear Valued guest,

Thank you for choosing our resort for your recent holiday and for taking the time to share such wonderful comments. I am delighted that your experience at Angsana Balaclava is one you can treasure and recommend.

As an exclusive intimate boutique resort, Angsana Balaclava places an emphasis on the attention to details and it is fantastic to read that you felt that the team members extended an exceptional level of service and were ever willing and ready to help.
We are very delighted to read your encouraging words about our resort to be gorgeous with a great clean beach, Beach Front Suite to be one among the best you ever stayed in the world, and our Indonesian Chef to have the art of having satisfied your palate with his fine cooking. Your gracious comments have been passed to them, which will serve as an added inspiration to consistently maintain the high standards you have experienced, and which are one of the trademarks of our brand.

We would like to thank you once again for your comments as these will truly help us to monitor, and improve even further our Angsana services and facilities.

I trust you had a pleasant and safe journey home and look forward to welcoming you back again to Angsana Balaclava or to any of our other resorts worldwide.

Yours sincerely,


Ruud Hulscher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Angsana Balaclava Mauritius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angsana Balaclava Mauritius

Address: Turtle Bay, Balaclava, Mauritius
Phone Number:
Location: Mauritius > Pamplemousses District > Balaclava
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Balaclava
#1 Luxury Hotel in Balaclava
#1 Romantic Hotel in Balaclava
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Balaclava
#2 Family Hotel in Balaclava
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Angsana Balaclava Mauritius 5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the northwest coast of Mauritius, in the secluded area of Turtle Bay, Angsana Balaclava offers a hideaway ideal for travellers looking for privacy and relaxation. Angsana Balaclava is the island’s premier boutique resort – the latest 5-star resort on the Mauritian landscape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Angsana Balaclava Mauritius reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angsana Balaclava Hotel Balaclava
Angsana Balaclava Mauritius

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Angsana Balaclava Mauritius, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.