We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice holiday, luxury hotel and setting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Angsana Balaclava Mauritius

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Hotels.com
and 6 more sites!
Angsana Balaclava Mauritius
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Turtle Bay, Republic of Mauritius, Balaclava, Mauritius   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 hotels in Balaclava
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nice holiday, luxury hotel and setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

Overall our stay was excellent, for a new luxury hotel the Angsana does a lot of things right, but there are a few growing pains that can be observed across a few areas.

First the plusses:

Food: some of the best meals we have had. The nightly dinner in particular was always spectacular, featuring  a 3 course menu (with several choices), rivalling any upscale meal in London, Paris, etc.. Even snacks at the pool bar restaurant all prepared very fresh and delicious. Breakfast always good. 

Spa: the spa suite package includes 90 minute massage every day, a very good deal. Well trained massage therapists. Out of 8 total massages, 7 were outstanding. Excellent facilities, including a large massage pool, hammam, and sauna.

Grounds and Suite: beautiful surroundings, picturesque beach and pool areas, overall idyllic setting. Beach quite nice. Staff bend over backwards to bring towels, serve drinks, etc, making you feel very comfortable and looked after.

Other areas that were generally good, although could use some improvement if Angsana wants to truly be at the top of the 5 star rankings:

Bar and Food staff: many were quite good (Ramesh stands out as one of the kindest staff at the hotel). A few were poorly trained, forgot orders, and one or two were even unpleasant / clearly not enjoying their job. 

Maintenance issues: somewhat to be expected from a new hotel, there were a few occasional maintenance issues, although none were terrible. Power in suite and AC went out one night, shower in bathroom didn't drain very well, various bits of (minor) construction going on here and there.  

suite design: in suite pool quite cold, in shade all day, no privacy, especially if you have a spa suite on the ground level (maybe this not an issue at spa suites on upper levels?)

Boat House: the team manning the stand were very accommodating and friendly. The staff member who drove the boats was unfriendly and not so skilled. On the first day, he ran the ski boat up onto a coral reef near the shore, and on the second day, he took us snorkelling in the middle of fisherman's nets which created quite a scene with some local fisherman we unexpectedly got caught up in the middle of. 

sun Screen: with a resort like this, we expected to have sunscreen on site (either for purchase or generally available). After being told (and looking) several times, we finally found out the shop was out. The assistant manager sent someone to get some for us from town, but then came and found us in the beach and put us in the hotel car (for free) to get it ourselves from a mall 15 minutes away. 

In summary, a very nice resort, we would consider coming back for a return visit. To justify a premium price and reach the quality / service levels of other comparable resorts (eg Maldives), a few improvements need to be made as noted above.

Room Tip: Top floor spa suites, or beach front suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    213
    31
    16
    6
    1
See reviews for
48
169
3
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for just one night as we were staying at family house whilst in Mauritius for remainder of stay.
I have to say that from arrival to departure everything was faultless. Staff were extremely friendly and went out of their way to help. Resort is stunning and relatively small so never feels overly busy.
We stayed in a spa suite which was absolutely amasing, easily the best room we have ever had in a hotel. On previous visits we stayed in 2 different hotels in Mauritius and neither compare in the slightest.
Nothing was too much trouble and would recommend to anyone staying in mauritius, we will definitely be back....

Stayed April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruud H, General Manager at Angsana Balaclava Mauritius, responded to this review, May 4, 2012
Dear Mr Martin D,

Thank you for choosing our resort for your recent holiday and for taking the time to share such wonderful comments. I am delighted that you and your partner found your stay at Angsana Balaclava to be absolutely amasing and faultless. As an exclusive intimate boutique resort, Angsana Balaclava places an emphasis on the attention to details and it is fantastic to read that you felt that our team went out their way to help you during your stay.


We are very delighted to read your encouraging words about our resort that you found stunning, and the Spa Suites that you consider as the best you have ever had in a hotel, as well as the services provided by our extremely friendly staff. Your gracious comments have been passed to them, which will serve as an added inspiration to consistently maintain the high standards you have experienced, and which are one of the trademarks of our brand.


We would like to thank you once again for your comments as these will truly help us to monitor, and improve even further our Angsana services and facilities.


I trust you had a pleasant and safe journey home and look forward to welcoming you back again to Angsana Balaclava or to any of our other resorts worldwide.

Yours sincerely,


Ruud Hulscher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

We just returned from Mauritius post our dream holiday there. The Angsana Balaclava indeed added to the experience. The service is exceptional and the staff ever willing and ready to help. Their smile and eagerness to make your holiday one worth to be remembered is impeccable. The property is gorgeous with a great clean beach. The room we stayed in was one among the best that we have ever stayed anywhere in the world.(The Beach Front Suite).
"Vinay" the front line/reception staff was fantastic in his way of taking us through the property during check in. There were a couple of glitches that he immediately sorted out and ensured our stay was worth remembering. The staff at the restaurant are absolutely fabulous and stir up the most amazing meals> " Yash" there was of great help and recommended the right drinks and food making our gastronomic experience exceptional. The chef (a gentle man from Bali) really knows the art of satisfying a guests pallate. All in all an experience to be treasured and recommended.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Angsana.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruud H, General Manager at Angsana Balaclava Mauritius, responded to this review, May 4, 2012
Dear Valued guest,

Thank you for choosing our resort for your recent holiday and for taking the time to share such wonderful comments. I am delighted that your experience at Angsana Balaclava is one you can treasure and recommend.

As an exclusive intimate boutique resort, Angsana Balaclava places an emphasis on the attention to details and it is fantastic to read that you felt that the team members extended an exceptional level of service and were ever willing and ready to help.
We are very delighted to read your encouraging words about our resort to be gorgeous with a great clean beach, Beach Front Suite to be one among the best you ever stayed in the world, and our Indonesian Chef to have the art of having satisfied your palate with his fine cooking. Your gracious comments have been passed to them, which will serve as an added inspiration to consistently maintain the high standards you have experienced, and which are one of the trademarks of our brand.

We would like to thank you once again for your comments as these will truly help us to monitor, and improve even further our Angsana services and facilities.

I trust you had a pleasant and safe journey home and look forward to welcoming you back again to Angsana Balaclava or to any of our other resorts worldwide.

Yours sincerely,


Ruud Hulscher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

Excellent place to stay: quiet, good service, quality food, and the beautiful sunsets of the west coast..
To be recommended.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Angsana.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruud H, General Manager at Angsana Balaclava Mauritius, responded to this review, May 4, 2012
Dear Valued guest,

Thank you for choosing our resort for your recent holiday and for taking the time to share such wonderful comments. I am delighted that you found Angsana Balaclava to be an excellent place to stay and recommend.

As an exclusive intimate boutique resort, Angsana Balaclava places an emphasis on the attention to details and it is fantastic to read that you felt that you enjoyed the good level of service.

We are very delighted to read your encouraging words about our quality food. Your gracious comments have been passed to our personnel, which will serve as an added inspiration to consistently maintain the high standards you have experienced, and which are one of the trademarks of our brand.

We would like to thank you once again for your comments as these will truly help us to monitor, and improve even further our Angsana services and facilities.

I trust you had a pleasant and safe journey home and look forward to welcoming you back again to Angsana Balaclava or to any of our other resorts worldwide.

Yours sincerely,


Ruud Hulscher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait City, Kuwait
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

We just got back from this spectacular resort. We had our two boys with us ages 8 and 10 and everything was perfect for 5 glorious nights! From the incredible service (like none we have ever had and we have stayed at many 5 star resorts including other Angsana branches around the world) to the facilities (and they were yet to be fully operational as they just opened). The food was out of this world, especially at dinner with one of the best steaks we have ever eaten!! They were very, very accommodating for the children's food requests and were extremely friendly right from the front line reception to the restaurant staff. The only draw back was the beach which although was nice, not as nice as around other parts of the island but apparently this was due to the recent rain and it does get better at other times of the year. A few minor maintenance glitches that were IMMEDIATELY attended too and really were because the resort is yet to be fully opened. Spa nice too, very, very relaxing. Bottom line: you will not regret your time here short or long. Mauritius is a gorgeous island and this is the perfect resort to have as your home base while in heaven. WE look forward to coming back.

Room Tip: Beach front villas are gorgeous with the best in suite infinity pools. We spent 4 nights there. Ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruud H, General Manager at Angsana Balaclava Mauritius, responded to this review, April 16, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,


Thank you for choosing our resort for your recent holiday and for taking the time to share such wonderful comments. I am delighted to learn that you were able to experience 5 glorious nights while enjoying our service and facilities.

We are very pleased to read your positive comments about our team members, the food that you found to be “out of the world” as well as our spa which you found very relaxing.

Your precious comments about our team members and facilities will serve as an added inspiration to consistently maintain the high standards you have experienced, and which are one of the trademarks of our brand. However, we do regret the few and minor maintenance issues you experienced, though these were swiftly attended to, we would like to share with you that these were isolated issues which certainly would help us to monitor and improve even further our Angsana services and facilities.

As an exclusive intimate boutique resort, Angsana Balaclava places an emphasis on the attention to details and it is fantastic to read that you felt that our staffs were very friendly and our resort felt like “in heaven”.

I trust you had a pleasant and safe journey home and we shall look forward to welcoming you back to Angsana Balaclava or to any of our other resorts worldwide.


With my best regards,


Ruud Hulscher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

This was our first visit to Mauritius and the Angsana Balaclava was the perfect choice of accommodation. The Angsana is beautifully designed and maintained, but I have to say that its uniqueness comes from the superb and welcoming staff who from the moment we arrived were just absolutely amazing. We like to be active and there was no shortage of things to do from various water sports to quad biking and island tours, all of which were organised for us while we relaxed having a drink at the pool bar - heaven.

We stayed in two adjoining Garden Suites which are nicely laid out and very spacious, with a great view of the beach. The Spa is a must as is the BBQ on the beach which is actually an absolute banquet with private chef and table service.

Overall a little corner of paradise away from home and we will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruud H, General Manager at Angsana Balaclava Mauritius, responded to this review, April 16, 2012
Dear Mr. Richard P,


Thank you for choosing our resort for your recent holiday and for taking the time to share such wonderful comments. I am delighted to learn that you found Angsana Balaclava to be a perfect choice and a little corner of paradise.

We are very pleased to read that you found our team members to be welcoming which gives our property a sense of uniqueness. We also appreciate your comment that our property is beautifully designed and maintained and that you enjoyed all the activities we organised for you.

Your precious comments will serve as an added inspiration to consistently maintain the high standards you have experienced, and which are one of the trademarks of our brand.

As an exclusive intimate boutique resort, Angsana Balaclava places an emphasis on the attention to details. We would like to thank you once again for your comments as these will truly help us to monitor, and improve even further our Angsana services and facilities.

I trust you had a pleasant and safe journey home and we shall look forward to welcoming you back to Angsana Balaclava or to any of our other resorts worldwide.


With my best regards,


Ruud Hulscher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

We (myself, husband and 11 month old son) spent a wonderful 2 weeks at The Angsana Balaclava and loved every minute of it. From the moment we arrived at the hotel, the staff made us feel welcome and relaxed.
Our son had his own special menu including delicious Mauritian curries and sorbets which he loved and our food was just as tasty!
The facilities are excellent with a fabulous spa (the best massage we've ever had), gym and daily activities including aqua aerobics, yoga, Pilates, water skiing, snorkelling etc. You can do as much or as little as you want. They had an issue with the lagoon pool whilst we were there but the freshwater pool was lovely and the private beach was also good. Many rooms (but not ours) have their own private pool too.
The staff were attentive but not overwhelming and made sure our son was well looked after and that we had some time to ourselves too.
We would highly recommend Angsana Balaclava and want to thank all the staff for a wonderful, memorable stay and hope to see you soon!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruud H, General Manager at Angsana Balaclava Mauritius, responded to this review, March 28, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,


Thank you for choosing our resort for your recent holiday and for taking the time to share such wonderful comments. I am delighted to learn that you were able to have spent a wonderful 2 weeks at The Angsana Balaclava and loved every minute of it.

We are very pleased to read your positive comments about our tasty food, specially the delicious Mauritian curries, your son’s own special menu as well as your experience of our fabulous spa, gym and water sport activities.

Your precious comments about our resort have been communicated to all our team members, which will serve as an added inspiration to consistently maintain the high standards you have experienced, and which are one of the trademarks of our brand. They are very happy to know that their services provided together with the resort features made you feel welcomed and relaxed.

As an exclusive intimate boutique resort, Angsana Balaclava places an emphasis on the attention to details and it is fantastic to read that you felt that our staffs were attentive. We would like to thank you once again for your comments as these will truly help us to monitor, and improve even further our Angsana services and facilities.

I trust you had a pleasant and safe journey home and we shall look forward to welcoming you back to Angsana Balaclava (in our private pool suites or to any of our other resorts worldwide.


With my best regards,


Ruud Hulscher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Angsana Balaclava Mauritius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angsana Balaclava Mauritius

Also Known As:
Angsana Balaclava Hotel
Angsana Balaclava Hotel Balaclava
Angsana Balaclava Mauritius
Address: Turtle Bay, Republic of Mauritius, Balaclava, Mauritius
Phone Number:
Location: Mauritius > Pamplemousses District > Balaclava
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Balaclava
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Balaclava
#2 Luxury Hotel in Balaclava
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Angsana Balaclava Mauritius 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the northwest coast of Mauritius, in the secluded area of Turtle Bay, Angsana Balaclava offers a hideaway ideal for travellers looking for privacy and relaxation. Angsana Balaclava is the island’s premier boutique resort – the latest 5-star resort on the Mauritian landscape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Tingo, Venere and HotelsClick so you can book your Angsana Balaclava Mauritius reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Angsana Balaclava Mauritius, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Angsana Balaclava Mauritius to your Saves list