We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice 5 star resort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Resort Mauritius

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Resort Mauritius to your Saves list
InterContinental Resort Mauritius
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Balaclava Fort, Coastal Rd, Balaclava, Mauritius   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Balaclava
New Delhi, India
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Nice 5 star resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

We were travelling with our 6 year old son. It's a very well spread out resort with 3 specialty restaurants and a coffee shop. A beautiful pool area facing the beach, a little lagoon after that a private island of the hotel. Beautiful views from there. Also a beach coffee shop area. The rooms were very good facing the sea, with a private balcony, spacious, and very spacious bathrooms with a bath tub, a shower cabinet separate and 2 wash basins, perfect for a family stay. The food is average, while the breakfast spread was great. The beach is rocky and going into the sea means wearing something in your feet. The water sports activities were complementary at the boat house. It's far away from any public area, so is great if one spends time at the resort itself. Well, you don't need to go out as well, as you have enough to do in the hotel. A nice spa as well. Overall a very good, luxurious and enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Choose a ground floor room, facing the lawns, near the boat house or nearby
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franck S, General Manager at InterContinental Resort Mauritius, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear Gawtam_Meetu,

We thank you for having chosen InterContinental Mauritius Resort for yur Vacation with your family! We are very much pleased to read your feedback and are very glad that you have enjoyed your stay!

We look forwrd to welcoming you again at our Resort!

Warm Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    623
    421
    149
    67
    47
See reviews for
320
729
22
64
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

I have never had such a poor experience from an Intercontinental hotel in my life. I read these reviews before we left and thought the people were just whining. However, the rooms are dirty, with mould in the showers. We were travelling with our children and had booked 2 rooms - we were not informed that they cannot cater for interconnecting rooms. Our room was at one end of the resort and our children's was at the other end. They were sorry about it but could do nothing about this situation - even though they had more than a month to organise the rooms and several communications from our agent regarding the rooms needing to be in close proximity. Our room was swapped over late on the 2nd night of our stay and we were downgraded after a hotel stuff up on the first night. Our sheets were not changed during our stay, just the bed remade. The buffet is like a food court with no one showing any care for each other - 5 staff to look after over 300 guests. The food was terrible and they did not cater for children in the menu so if your children do not like Indian food - stay somewhere else. There was no one to clear dishes from the table and guests resorted to having to take cutlery and glasses from other tables - whether they were occupied or not. The swimming pool was unclean with hair and other things floating in the pool - over a 7 day period. The management were unavailable most of the time and the one night they were available to comment, there was such a long line of disgruntled guests ahead of us that we didn't bother complaining. We have lodged a formal complaint with our travel agent and demanded a refund. I can say that the staff that were working tried really hard to help but most of them were working around the clock at all meals - I estimate at least 18 hours per day.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franck S, General Manager at InterContinental Resort Mauritius, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear Rachel M,
We first thank you for your comments and sincerely apologise for the inconvenience. Of course, we have taken notes of the very bad experience you had during your stay and can assure you that it doesn't reflect our standard. By the way, we wish to inform you that corrective measure have already been implemented especially for room allocation when we are running full occupancy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johannesburg
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

I am a frequent visitor to Intercontinental hotel group, in fact usually it's my first choice when travelling. The Mauritius site however does not live up to the normal superb standard.

Although the hotel has everything going for it, the staff do not provide the service I am accustomed to receiving at a Intercontinental hotel.

When arriving , I requested a foam pillow - housekeeping arrived 40 minutes later at my room and proceeded to stuff one feather pillow into another feather pillow's case?! I'm not sure how two feather pillows equate to one foam one - perhaps the group can explain this.

The prices charged by the hotel is outrageous - nothing short of highway robbery for what you actually get.

On new year's eve - I ordered a bottle of Dom , this was delivered straight off the shelve and was warm - can the group please teach the staff in Mauritius how to serve champayne of this caliber to guests.

As this was my annual vacation - I am deeply disappointed !

Room Tip: choose another hotel rather
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franck S, General Manager at InterContinental Resort Mauritius, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear JHB,
First of all the Management sincerely apologise for the inconveniences during your stay. Of course, the training is going on and we definitely hope that our service level will improve to reach your expectations for a coming stay. I am sure, we will be able to showcase our ability to deliver a fantastic Resort experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghaziabad, India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

Excellent is the only word for Inter Co Mauritius. I visited in Jan 2013 last year for my Honeymoon and was simply awestruck by the property. No other place / property in Mauritius is better than InterCo. I can say this since ours was group departure from India in which couples have opted for other 5/7 star properties (Le Meridien etc.) in Mauritius. However, they had a complaint with regard to food etc. However, in Inter-Co. food was never a problem. We felt as if we are in India only. Inter Co has a private beach of its own, live DJ in the evening, cultural performances and all. Property is so vast that you need a day or two to explore and enjoy the resort itself. Overall its excellent in all respects....

Room Tip: Opt for a room on the first floor for a perfect view of the beach / garden. Rooms on the ground floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franck S, General Manager at InterContinental Resort Mauritius, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Shashank03,

We thank you for your feedback on our Resort! We are really very glad to know that you felt at home in our Hotel

We look forward to welcoming you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

Mauritius is an excellent destination for honeymoon. However, staying at the Intercontinental remains my biggest regret.

- Service - 1 star
Occasionally we encounter a few friendly and helpful staff, like the staff escort and offer us early check in, a staff lighting candle but left it behind and escort us down to the pool to show our way to the restaurant by person.
Other than that, no one seems to care to assist you. Not greeting or smiling at you even you approaches Reception counter, concierge never offer you information nearby but told you to join the tour at the counter beside or take a taxi.
Operator is horrible. Never been able to help me with restaurant booking but transfer me to internal restaurant reservations, bath towels were not to be found after room made up, and need 3 calls and wait for 30 minutes. Duty Manager promised to follow on room change request but never get back.
- Rooms - 2 star
We booked the second best (most expensive) room type, ocean view with Jacuzzi, but the view is pathetic. It's just blocked by coconut tree. That's why we request for room change but manager said all rooms are with ocean view and never get back. Come on.
No Wi-Fi at all so you always need to go to lobby to plan your trip. Remote control is not working properly, and there's even water leakage from the ceiling of bathroom.
- Location - 1 star
Location is not ideal either. Far from everything like Port Louis or Grand Baie etc. Along the coastal line like most of the beach but the beach is a rocky one where you can see cargo ship sailing far away.

To conclude, with the vast amount of choice available here in Mauritius , it will be a mistake staying here even with slight discount t as booked under friends and family rate. No spectacular view and beach, no helpful staff, no well-maintainded facility. No coincidence of why the hotel isn't even mentioned on Lonely Planet guide book and is given consecutively low mark here.

Good thing about IHG though, propoerty managenet didnt reaponse, i can send to customer care and their Heartbeat.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franck S, General Manager at InterContinental Resort Mauritius, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear Dave Kwok,
I am glad that we had the opportunity to discuss together recently about your stay in our resort and I am sure the constructive discussion we had will change your vision about the hotel and more important about Intercontinental brand. There is no doubt now that we will be welcoming you soon for a next trip in Mauritius !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

Forgive the length>

This Hotel's management team seemed non-existent throughout our stay. They did not connect with us at all; unlike several hotels we have stayed in (E.g. Melia Zanzibar, Four Seasons Serengeti, Pangkor Laut Malaysia and indeed Intercontinental Dubai (To be honest you wonder if it’s the same brand that runs Dubai and Mauritius).

The hotel seemed too crowded for the facilities available. The pools were too small and often packed. It seemed as if the hotel was at a point of bursting.

There were not enough beach beds and most of the time guests felt they owned the beach beds. We observed guests hoarding beach beds (i.e. would place their towels and walk off for hours). We decided a few days to our departure to remove one of such towels. 2hrs later (my wife timed it), a couple walked up to us to boldly say, "There are rules, when you see a beach towel, you don't remove it". We responded by saying, "Really, so we are supposed to wait for you for two hours"! Anyway, we reckon the hotel should advise guests that if beds are left unused for 30mins the towels left there would have to be cleared (except of course personal stuff like books or mobile phones remained).

There was an erratic gentleman at the poolside bar on one afternoon that yelled out racist abuse to my wife and I (randomly, no jokes at all). He called me "snickers" and my wife "bounty" and continued to give me the "up yours" sign and the bar staff could only offer that, "He has been here all morning doing this"? I wonder why a manager was not called to escort the man off the bar with warnings made that further harassments by him on other guests will not be tolerated. He was there all through our stay, so we avoided the pool/poolside bar completely. In all honesty other guests seemed to accommodate his intolerable and prejudicial behaviour. Maybe they could not just avoid the pool as we did entirely or were unable to do anything really.

The hotel room was not well tidied at all. I used a white cloth to wipe the floor and was amazed by how dusty it was by the time we checked out. Seriously, we stayed at Intercontinental Dubai from the 3rd of Jan - 6th (2014) and you can eat off the floor. The sheets in Dubai were not only WHITE but lightly starched (perfect!). Regardless, we still left a tip for housekeeping (Mauritius)because we did not think it was entirely the fault of the person carrying out the cleaning but the person charged with making sure rooms were well cleaned. Besides, what were we going to do with our spare change?

Also on cleaning, why did this hotel not feel the need to clean up tables after guests? I kid you not! You see birds eating off left over plates and drinking off left over saucers and cups. We experimented once and noticed several tables that were left un-cleared after guests for over 1hr. shocking indeed!!!

Finally, Intercontinental is an international Hotel for international guests I reckon the staffing should/must reflect this. The entire hotel seemed to be run by locals alone; who regardless of their efforts did not always have robust understanding of the service delivery expectations of international clientele as well as their expectations on the Intercontinental brand. On our Emirates return flight, the Captain boasted that we were being served by 22 nationals that spoke 22 languages. That's the 21 century world which Intercontinental Mauritius did not reflect at all. When we got to Dubai we felt it much better (One of the concierge officers was not only from my country but knew exactly the region we were from before we even mentioned it to him). I was so impressed that I tipped him USD100.00.

Furthermore, the staff in Mauritius looked untidy; their uniforms were mostly oversized, torn and un-ironed (or not properly ironed at best). They came across us as poorly paid and cared for. Like factory workers (In most cases, especially with the serving staff). The receptionists and concierge were better off but not to Dubai standard at all. They looked like temporary staff, people with other jobs that were merely drafted hurriedly to fill in gaps for Christmas and New years. Very poor indeed! Only a few felt confident enough to speak to us in order to have a feel for who we were and what we needed.

This hotel needs to aptly define its market i.e. "to serve a low-mid income market", in that case it should be rebranded as a Holiday Inn (or something) or really focus on providing a service "to a mid-high level income clientele" in that case "fix up" properly! If daily rates need to be increased then so be it! However, if it seeks to maintain rates at current levels or even reduce them then it should...But in this latter case, it can’t be called Intercontinental!

Room Tip: Find another hotel if you are looking to be pampered!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franck S, General Manager at InterContinental Resort Mauritius, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Dear Will E,

Thank you for having chosen our Resort for your Holidays. I have taken good notes of the issues pointed out. I am very much concerned about these issues. Kindly note that, together with the management team, I will surely look into the matter and assure you that immediate action will be taken.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

overall nice and relaxing holiday for one week prior as our babymoon. We went all inclusive which when looking at prices for extra drinks etc was well worth it. We were upgraded on arrival including a private jacuzzi which was lovely and we used everyday and the room and bathroom were very nice. things to note: main buffet area is stressful at breakfast, opt for the mauritian restaurant instead (also healthier) beds go very fast by the main pool, which for the size of the resort i thought was a touch small and if they run out of towels expect a 30 minute wait or just go back to your room like we did and get your own. Staff were very friendly overall and we often had lunch by the pool, service here can be hit and miss and misunderstanding your order. The beach was nice to look at but quite sharp due to the sand being quite coral-y. We were also advised to wear jelly shoes in the sea due to sea urchins. We liked the resort and mauritius but have experienced better in the carribean for luxury, service and the softer sand of the beaches.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franck S, General Manager at InterContinental Resort Mauritius, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Dear Louise J,

We thank you for your feedback which is of great help to us in improving our service and facilities at the Resort!

Thank you again for having chosen our Resprt for your holidays in Mauritius!

We look forward to welcoming you again should you wish to visit Mauritius again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Resort Mauritius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Resort Mauritius

Address: Balaclava Fort, Coastal Rd, Balaclava, Mauritius
Phone Number:
Location: Mauritius > Pamplemousses District > Balaclava
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Balaclava
#4 Romantic Hotel in Balaclava
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Balaclava
#4 Luxury Hotel in Balaclava
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Resort Mauritius 5*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort is located on one of the most pristine stretches of beach overlooking Balaclava, Mauritius. Offering 210 well-appointed rooms including 10 presidential suites, 40 family-type, 20 Jacuzzi rooms, 20 Executive rooms with free WiFi and 120 standard rooms. Facilities include: 3 bars, 5 restaurants, 2 swimming pools including one heated pool, 8 massage rooms, a unique private island, Planet Trekkers kids club, recreational activities, tennis court, 4 meeting rooms & 1 ballroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your InterContinental Resort Mauritius reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Mauritius Resort, Balaclava Fort Hotel Balaclava
Intercontinental Hotel Mauritius
Intercontinental Hotel Balaclava
InterContinental Resort Mauritius Balaclava

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Resort Mauritius, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.