We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent !!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Resort Mauritius

Save Saved
You added InterContinental Resort Mauritius to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
InterContinental Resort Mauritius
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Balaclava Fort, Coastal Rd, Balaclava, Mauritius   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
IHG Special up to 25% Off
Ranked #3 of 5 hotels in Balaclava
Ghaziabad, India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent !!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

Excellent is the only word for Inter Co Mauritius. I visited in Jan 2013 last year for my Honeymoon and was simply awestruck by the property. No other place / property in Mauritius is better than InterCo. I can say this since ours was group departure from India in which couples have opted for other 5/7 star properties (Le Meridien etc.) in Mauritius. However, they had a complaint with regard to food etc. However, in Inter-Co. food was never a problem. We felt as if we are in India only. Inter Co has a private beach of its own, live DJ in the evening, cultural performances and all. Property is so vast that you need a day or two to explore and enjoy the resort itself. Overall its excellent in all respects....

Room Tip: Opt for a room on the first floor for a perfect view of the beach / garden. Rooms on the ground floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franck S, General Manager at InterContinental Resort Mauritius, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Shashank03,

We thank you for your feedback on our Resort! We are really very glad to know that you felt at home in our Hotel

We look forward to welcoming you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,122 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    508
    363
    139
    66
    46
See reviews for
273
633
17
54
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

Mauritius is an excellent destination for honeymoon. However, staying at the Intercontinental remains my biggest regret.

- Service - 1 star
Occasionally we encounter a few friendly and helpful staff, like the staff escort and offer us early check in, a staff lighting candle but left it behind and escort us down to the pool to show our way to the restaurant by person.
Other than that, no one seems to care to assist you. Not greeting or smiling at you even you approaches Reception counter, concierge never offer you information nearby but told you to join the tour at the counter beside or take a taxi.
Operator is horrible. Never been able to help me with restaurant booking but transfer me to internal restaurant reservations, bath towels were not to be found after room made up, and need 3 calls and wait for 30 minutes. Duty Manager promised to follow on room change request but never get back.
- Rooms - 2 star
We booked the second best (most expensive) room type, ocean view with Jacuzzi, but the view is pathetic. It's just blocked by coconut tree. That's why we request for room change but manager said all rooms are with ocean view and never get back. Come on.
No Wi-Fi at all so you always need to go to lobby to plan your trip. Remote control is not working properly, and there's even water leakage from the ceiling of bathroom.
- Location - 1 star
Location is not ideal either. Far from everything like Port Louis or Grand Baie etc. Along the coastal line like most of the beach but the beach is a rocky one where you can see cargo ship sailing far away.

To conclude, with the vast amount of choice available here in Mauritius , it will be a mistake staying here even with slight discount t as booked under friends and family rate. No spectacular view and beach, no helpful staff, no well-maintainded facility. No coincidence of why the hotel isn't even mentioned on Lonely Planet guide book and is given consecutively low mark here.

Good thing about IHG though, propoerty managenet didnt reaponse, i can send to customer care and their Heartbeat.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franck S, General Manager at InterContinental Resort Mauritius, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear Dave Kwok,
I am glad that we had the opportunity to discuss together recently about your stay in our resort and I am sure the constructive discussion we had will change your vision about the hotel and more important about Intercontinental brand. There is no doubt now that we will be welcoming you soon for a next trip in Mauritius !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

Forgive the length>

This Hotel's management team seemed non-existent throughout our stay. They did not connect with us at all; unlike several hotels we have stayed in (E.g. Melia Zanzibar, Four Seasons Serengeti, Pangkor Laut Malaysia and indeed Intercontinental Dubai (To be honest you wonder if it’s the same brand that runs Dubai and Mauritius).

The hotel seemed too crowded for the facilities available. The pools were too small and often packed. It seemed as if the hotel was at a point of bursting.

There were not enough beach beds and most of the time guests felt they owned the beach beds. We observed guests hoarding beach beds (i.e. would place their towels and walk off for hours). We decided a few days to our departure to remove one of such towels. 2hrs later (my wife timed it), a couple walked up to us to boldly say, "There are rules, when you see a beach towel, you don't remove it". We responded by saying, "Really, so we are supposed to wait for you for two hours"! Anyway, we reckon the hotel should advise guests that if beds are left unused for 30mins the towels left there would have to be cleared (except of course personal stuff like books or mobile phones remained).

There was an erratic gentleman at the poolside bar on one afternoon that yelled out racist abuse to my wife and I (randomly, no jokes at all). He called me "snickers" and my wife "bounty" and continued to give me the "up yours" sign and the bar staff could only offer that, "He has been here all morning doing this"? I wonder why a manager was not called to escort the man off the bar with warnings made that further harassments by him on other guests will not be tolerated. He was there all through our stay, so we avoided the pool/poolside bar completely. In all honesty other guests seemed to accommodate his intolerable and prejudicial behaviour. Maybe they could not just avoid the pool as we did entirely or were unable to do anything really.

The hotel room was not well tidied at all. I used a white cloth to wipe the floor and was amazed by how dusty it was by the time we checked out. Seriously, we stayed at Intercontinental Dubai from the 3rd of Jan - 6th (2014) and you can eat off the floor. The sheets in Dubai were not only WHITE but lightly starched (perfect!). Regardless, we still left a tip for housekeeping (Mauritius)because we did not think it was entirely the fault of the person carrying out the cleaning but the person charged with making sure rooms were well cleaned. Besides, what were we going to do with our spare change?

Also on cleaning, why did this hotel not feel the need to clean up tables after guests? I kid you not! You see birds eating off left over plates and drinking off left over saucers and cups. We experimented once and noticed several tables that were left un-cleared after guests for over 1hr. shocking indeed!!!

Finally, Intercontinental is an international Hotel for international guests I reckon the staffing should/must reflect this. The entire hotel seemed to be run by locals alone; who regardless of their efforts did not always have robust understanding of the service delivery expectations of international clientele as well as their expectations on the Intercontinental brand. On our Emirates return flight, the Captain boasted that we were being served by 22 nationals that spoke 22 languages. That's the 21 century world which Intercontinental Mauritius did not reflect at all. When we got to Dubai we felt it much better (One of the concierge officers was not only from my country but knew exactly the region we were from before we even mentioned it to him). I was so impressed that I tipped him USD100.00.

Furthermore, the staff in Mauritius looked untidy; their uniforms were mostly oversized, torn and un-ironed (or not properly ironed at best). They came across us as poorly paid and cared for. Like factory workers (In most cases, especially with the serving staff). The receptionists and concierge were better off but not to Dubai standard at all. They looked like temporary staff, people with other jobs that were merely drafted hurriedly to fill in gaps for Christmas and New years. Very poor indeed! Only a few felt confident enough to speak to us in order to have a feel for who we were and what we needed.

This hotel needs to aptly define its market i.e. "to serve a low-mid income market", in that case it should be rebranded as a Holiday Inn (or something) or really focus on providing a service "to a mid-high level income clientele" in that case "fix up" properly! If daily rates need to be increased then so be it! However, if it seeks to maintain rates at current levels or even reduce them then it should...But in this latter case, it can’t be called Intercontinental!

Room Tip: Find another hotel if you are looking to be pampered!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franck S, General Manager at InterContinental Resort Mauritius, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Dear Will E,

Thank you for having chosen our Resort for your Holidays. I have taken good notes of the issues pointed out. I am very much concerned about these issues. Kindly note that, together with the management team, I will surely look into the matter and assure you that immediate action will be taken.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

overall nice and relaxing holiday for one week prior as our babymoon. We went all inclusive which when looking at prices for extra drinks etc was well worth it. We were upgraded on arrival including a private jacuzzi which was lovely and we used everyday and the room and bathroom were very nice. things to note: main buffet area is stressful at breakfast, opt for the mauritian restaurant instead (also healthier) beds go very fast by the main pool, which for the size of the resort i thought was a touch small and if they run out of towels expect a 30 minute wait or just go back to your room like we did and get your own. Staff were very friendly overall and we often had lunch by the pool, service here can be hit and miss and misunderstanding your order. The beach was nice to look at but quite sharp due to the sand being quite coral-y. We were also advised to wear jelly shoes in the sea due to sea urchins. We liked the resort and mauritius but have experienced better in the carribean for luxury, service and the softer sand of the beaches.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franck S, General Manager at InterContinental Resort Mauritius, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Dear Louise J,

We thank you for your feedback which is of great help to us in improving our service and facilities at the Resort!

Thank you again for having chosen our Resprt for your holidays in Mauritius!

We look forward to welcoming you again should you wish to visit Mauritius again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Travelling here in the next few months and after reading all these bad reviews starting to feel slightly worried!!

Would you guys recommend changing my stay?? I have booked for 10 nights with a jacuzzi room and spent alot of money! But now thinking maybe I should attempt to change the hotels???

Any advice would be appreciated! (I know its not a review but didnt know where else to ask)

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franck S, General Manager at InterContinental Resort Mauritius, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Dear Kaiyakl K,

Many Thanks for your comments on Trip Advisor, To out your concerns at ease we can assure you that we did have a few service issues during the festive season, this was due to high occupancy that stretched our operations team, since we have received the complaints we have taken the necessary steps to insure that the issues that have been experienced in the past will not happen again.
We are looking forward to welcoming you to the Intercontinental Mauritius Resort for your holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

We stayed in this hotel for 3 painful nights and wanted to check out prior to checking in. Upon arrival after a full day of travel / transit we were told to promptly go now to their restaurant before it closed. As it was now 10pm we just wanted to get in a room and have a shower. We were told "no! sit down" as they needed 10 mins to refresh it. Finally we were lead hastily (lost sight of staff at one stage) to a room and reunited with our luggage 40 mins later. Funnily enough when we asked for a late check out we were told check out was 12 o,clock and as our transfer to the airport is 6pm today I now have plenty of time to write this review while we kill 6 hours. Don't expect staff to ask how was your stay or food. They don't seem to care or don't want to hear

We can confirm the review from Mr Anubhav Rajput is spot on. Their restaurants are all fully booked and we had room service every night for the duration. The morning buffet is in a mess. No napkins or coffee cups which you would order prior to getting up for food and upon returning find someone else sitting at your table. At 6pm the maid knocked on the door telling us that she wants to make up the room.

If you like animals you can find stray dogs and cats roaming the grounds and hear them at night. Dont let your children touch them. This makes the little birds of the island tolerable at eating tables.

What other hotels allows smoking in the lobby and some of its restaurants??

We will never stay at an Intercontinental hotel again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Resort Mauritius, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear Jason S,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at our hotel. We are so sorry to hear about your experience with us. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. We hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring you back in the area.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agra, India
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

we stayed in the hotel for about 7 days. Checked in on 27th december and checked out on 2nd jan. We had fiver rooms, 1221,1225,1321,1425 and 1623.
To start with we had 5 rooms booked before hand and yet we were given rooms far from each other making it difficult to contact each other.
Secondly air conditioner in room no. 1321 was not working and in spite of complaining so many times our room was not changed and we were told there is no room available so we have to manage. Instead one of your manager on duty put up a pedestal fan in our room. It was shocking to see that you installed a pedestal fan in place of air conditioner. Is this the standard of an intercontinental hotel? This is what we had paid for?
Thirdly, your staff members entered my room using a master key while i was bathing and when i placed a complain with your manager he replied to me saying this is the policy of your hotel that your staff knocks two times and then enters using a master key. I fail to understand while bathing how am i supposed to answer the door and how dare your staff enter my room using a master key. I had not placed any such sign saying please clean my room. You seriously need to change your policy. This happened not just in one of our rooms but all. Also in spite of complaining again and again no action was taken regarding this and this was repeated daily. All i got was a sorry letter which seemed to be of no meaning as it was repeated yet again.
Fourthly, we chose this hotel just because of your indian restaurant veda and we got to dine there just one day and that also we were served as if dogs are served food. Not a single night was there in your hotel when i had food properly or with pleasure. Everyday your staff created trouble for us. There was no sense of hospitality in the staff. Even if we asked them something they never replied instead just went away and never came back.
On the 31st night, which obviously was a big day for us, we had made the prior bookings and so we arrived around 9 searching for our tables and got a reply from one of your staff members saying that at the last moment they had changed their policy of booking and then it was first come first serve basis. Without informing us they had no right to do this. Also we had to literally beg for a table and finally managed to get one by 10.30. We were 12 people, eleven adult and one kid. Even you would understand how difficult it is to manage a kid without a table. We had received letters saying that the party would continue till dawn and yet the food was over by 10.30 and we got nothing to eat. We all slept hungry. On complaining the concierge person told me they had circulated a letter informing about the buffet timings. We had received no such letter and we were in the room throughout. We had the worst new year and all thanks to you.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Resort Mauritius, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Dear Tarun2014,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. Please accept our sincerest apology for the over-all issues you had during your stay. We have sent you a private message to obtain some additional details. Thank you for staying and we look forward to hearing from you soon.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to InterContinental Resort Mauritius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Resort Mauritius

Address: Balaclava Fort, Coastal Rd, Balaclava, Mauritius
Phone Number:
Location: Mauritius > Pamplemousses District > Balaclava
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Balaclava
#3 Luxury Hotel in Balaclava
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Balaclava
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Resort Mauritius 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort is located on one of the most pristine stretches of beach overlooking Balaclava, Mauritius. Offering 210 well-appointed rooms including 10 presidential suites, 40 family-type, 20 Jacuzzi rooms, 20 Executive rooms with free WiFi and 120 standard rooms. Facilities include: 3 bars, 5 restaurants, 2 swimming pools including one heated pool, 8 massage rooms, a unique private island, Planet Trekkers kids club, recreational activities, tennis court, 4 meeting rooms & 1 ballroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your InterContinental Resort Mauritius reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Mauritius Resort, Balaclava Fort Hotel Balaclava
Intercontinental Hotel Mauritius
Intercontinental Hotel Balaclava
InterContinental Resort Mauritius Balaclava

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Resort Mauritius, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.