We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Intercontinental Mauritius” 5 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Resort Mauritius

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Resort Mauritius to your Saves list
InterContinental Resort Mauritius
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Balaclava Fort, Coastal Rd, Balaclava, Mauritius   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Balaclava
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Hotel Intercontinental Mauritius”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

The hotel and the staff were fantastic and could not do enough for you. They were very welcoming, friendly and on hand to offer fantastic service.

The many staff that we met were very personable and knew your name fairly quickly. The staff were always interested in how you were doing and managers asked for feedback on a regular basis of how they could improve the services.

Overall fantastic.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the ocean excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franck S, General Manager at InterContinental Resort Mauritius, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Michael L,

We wish to thank you for your charming comments, which we will share with our team.
Your feedback definitely helps us in challenging ourselves and finding a better way to do things, to ensure that our guests can enjoy an effortless stay.
We look forward to welcoming you back at InterContinental Mauritius Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    627
    422
    150
    67
    48
See reviews for
321
732
23
64
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We arrived on the 17th October for 13 nights. It was my 50th birthday and wanted a special, idiotic holiday. We weren't disappointed. I have to say first and foremost the staff are the best thing about this hotel. They are friendly and warm and we struck up a real friendship with them. The family room (2 bedrooms) was fab with a central egg shaped bath and separate walk in shower. The food was excellent and although a buffet style in Senso restaurant you had the option of booking three other restaurants (Veda-indian, Noble house- thai and Segala- seafood, when ever you wanted. We would recommend going all inclusive as it was great value for money. My daughter and I used the gym most days and there was always an instructor there to give advise and give us exercises if needed. There is also a lovely spa there and whilst waiting for a massage we were able to use the steam room, sauna and jacuzzi. Most nights there is entertainment put on from African dance to belly dancing. Two evenings a full banquet is laid out on the beach nothing quite like eating with your toes in the sand. We would definitely revisit this lovely hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franck S, General Manager at InterContinental Resort Mauritius, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Kim108,
Let me thank you for your wonderful review about your stay in our hotel. We are just delighted that you really enjoyed your holidays with us. Of course, pampering our guest is our priority especially when it comes time to celebrate special events like your birthday. obviously I don't have to say that we will more than happy to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

My names Vicraj Singh, my wife and I have just returned from one weeks holiday at the Intercontinental. From the moment of arrival to the moment of departure we were treated like celebrities, the staff to management were magnificent, the service provided was exceptional, all our requests and needs were seen to , with a smile and politeness. The staff knew our preferences , where we liked to be seated, what drinks we liked , our room number and names, it was what made one feel so important. The name Intercontinental speaks for itself, we were spoilt for choice with the restaurants and the various dishes that were available, whether it be breakfast, lunch or dinner, all guests needs as far as food and beverages were concerned was available, immaterial of the country of origination. The facilities provided are on par with or even better than other five star hotels, very relaxing and comforting. Entertainment was diversified and catered for all different cultures and races. Overall an unforgettable holiday, would definitely return and recommend to others.Keep up the excellent service etc - BEST WISHES - Vicraj

Room Tip: Our room opened up with a view like no other, ground floor , next to the heated pool, absolutely br...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franck S, General Manager at InterContinental Resort Mauritius, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Vicraj,
We just would like to say a big thank you for your comments. As you mentioned, all our guests are celebrities for us and there is no doubt that we will be sharing your review with our team. Intercontinental is definitely aiming higher and we would like to thank you for loyalty to our brand. Hope to welcome you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
84 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Whenever we talk about a 5star hotel or resort we really have to think a lot of times about our pockets but this is not the case with InterContinental Resort Mauritius. This is a budget hotel with all the amenities and facilities giving you a true hospitality and will not disappoint you. Even the chefs and other staff are very friendly and they ask you about your requirements and likes before they do anything for you which i really liked about the resort. A must go in Mauritius.

Room Tip: Chose a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franck S, General Manager at InterContinental Resort Mauritius, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Tanwani,

Thank you for such a lovely review.
Indeed, we make it a must to get to know our guests’ expectations and preferences to be able to deliver a personalized service that would make a difference for our guests.
It would be our greatest pleasure to welcome you back to InterContinental Mauritius Resort.
Please do not hesitate to contact us directly; we would be delighted to assist you in planning your next vacation with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We have just spent 6 days at this hotel and we had an absolutely fantastic time there. From the very special reception on arrival to the attention to detail throughout our stay we could not find fault with anything during our stay. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful and could not have done more to make our stay outstanding. We would like to make special mention of Herve who looked after us at the Coco Beach Bar. Nothing was too much trouble for him when it came to making us feel special and we would like to pay tribute to his professionalism and friendship. We would also like to mention Marc, who like Herve went out of his way to make us feel welcome. Our room was extremely comfortable, the food was outstanding with a wide variety of choice. Being able to use the other restaurants was a dining experience, even the set menus. We cannot recommend this hotel highly enough and we look forward to returning in the future,.

Geoff & Diana

Room Tip: We had an executive deluxe room, which was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franck S, General Manager at InterContinental Resort Mauritius, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Geoff & Diana,
Thank you for such a wonderful review. We are pleased to note that all aspects of your stay with us have been to your full satisfaction. Your complimentary comments about our friendly staff in general, and about Herve and Marc in particular, will be passed on.
It would be our greatest pleasure to welcome you back to InterContinental Mauritius Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

We here on honeymoon and its just awesome. The staff are very welcoming especially the guests relation manager who has been so friendly and welcoming. The food has lot variety and of good quality. Our room is very comfortable and clean. Entertainment is superb. Overall we would recommend it to all. Faraaz and nabeela

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franck S, General Manager at InterContinental Resort Mauritius, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Nabeela and Faraaz,
I would like to personally thank you for your wonderful review. It is all the time a real pleasure to read that you had a fantastic stay with us and we definitely can't wait to welcome you again in Mauritius.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We spent 12 nights at the InterCotinental Resort in Mauritius earlier this month. I have to say it was a truly wonderful experience from start to finish. All the staff were welcoming and helpful. Our room was beautifully presented, spacious and clean. Noble House, Veda and Segala are the three speciality restaurants. Each of these restaurants was of a very high standard and very very enjoyable. The buffet restaurant offered a huge variety of food to cater to all tastes. The Mauritian and BBQ nights (set up on the beach) were particularly great. The swimming pool and pool bar area had a good atmosphere and served very nice cocktails. Would definately recommend this.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franck S, General Manager at InterContinental Resort Mauritius, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Janice S,
It is a great pleasure for me to share with my entire team your kind feedback about your stay in our hotel. We are just delighted to note that you enjoyed your experience with us and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in our paradise island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Resort Mauritius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Resort Mauritius

Address: Balaclava Fort, Coastal Rd, Balaclava, Mauritius
Phone Number:
Location: Mauritius > Pamplemousses District > Balaclava
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Balaclava
#3 Spa Hotel in Balaclava
#4 Romantic Hotel in Balaclava
#4 Luxury Hotel in Balaclava
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Balaclava
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Resort Mauritius 5*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort is located on one of the most pristine stretches of beach overlooking Balaclava, Mauritius. Offering 210 well-appointed rooms including 10 presidential suites, 40 family-type, 20 Jacuzzi rooms, 20 Executive rooms with free WiFi and 120 standard rooms. Facilities include: 3 bars, 5 restaurants, 2 swimming pools including one heated pool, 8 massage rooms, a unique private island, Planet Trekkers kids club, recreational activities, tennis court, 4 meeting rooms & 1 ballroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your InterContinental Resort Mauritius reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Mauritius Resort, Balaclava Fort Hotel Balaclava
Intercontinental Hotel Mauritius
Intercontinental Hotel Balaclava
InterContinental Resort Mauritius Balaclava

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Resort Mauritius, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.