We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holiday stay at Intercontinental Balaclava” 5 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Resort Mauritius

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added InterContinental Resort Mauritius to your Saves list
InterContinental Resort Mauritius
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Balaclava Fort, Coastal Rd, Balaclava, Mauritius   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Balaclava
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Holiday stay at Intercontinental Balaclava”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Intercontinental for two weeks in September 2013. We had an excellent and enjoyable stay at the hotel and the service provided was outstanding from everyone. The hotel was able to accommodate our specific dietary requirements due to food intolerances and this was communicated across the hotel. From the moment we arrived to the time we left, everyone made us feel at home and after meeting members of management and staff felt like part of the family. The hotel is very nice and has up to date contemporary rooms which are very nice. I had a room close to the boat house and small heated pool which I used every morning. I would definitely recommend this hotel and will be looking to go back there for our next visit.
There are too many names to mention but our thanks go out to the following:
Kevin and the whole Segala team.
Kevin ensured that our dietary requirements were taken care of so that our holiday could be hassle free, providing excellent meals and surprises at meal times. The whole team were very friendly and professional. Ditto for Nick and Wesley at Noble House. All of our dining experiences were great including Senso (Reena) and Veda, everyone went out of their way to ensure we were okay. The hotel has a great team with many characters and it is refreshing to say hello and have good banter with everyone from the gardening staff, housekeeping to management. Sanjay had a big part to play by ensuring our dietary requirements were echoed across the hotel. We were also able to celebrate a birthday and anniversary at the hotel restaurant thanks to Sunjay and Kevin hosting our groups from outside of the hotel.
Kevin Rittoo & Noor,
They provided great advice, directions, suggestions and altogether very helpful, we also used the hotel Limo service to take us to and from a Wedding where the driver waited at the wedding, took us to the reception and waited until we were ready to be taken back to the hotel.
Patrice and Olivier from the Gym, they offered advice and tips on training at the gym to get the best out of workouts. This was really good compared to other gyms I have used where you are just left to get on with what you are doing.

Room Tip: All rooms are nice, however for me I wanted to be away from the nightly activities and noise and hen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shane J, Director of Sales at InterContinental Resort Mauritius, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Dave K,

One word - WOW - Thank you for such a stunning review, highlighting the service that we provide here.

We can't wait to welcome you back and I'll make sure that all the people you've mentioned know that you loved their stay.

kind regards

Shane J
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    563
    394
    143
    66
    46
See reviews for
306
677
17
59
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We've just left after spending 7 nights at this hotel. Overall a positive experience with a few sour notes.

We arrived in the early evening but our room wasn't ready. This in itself wasn't a big problem as we were given a brief tour of the hotel, visiting an example of the type of room we had booked, the class above featuring an identical room with an adjoining private jacuzzi terrace and the presidential suite. This was a shrewd move on the part of the hotel as we immediately paid to upgrade to the room with the private terrace.

The hotel has several restaurants, but being on half board we mainly stuck to the main restaurant, save for one night we ate at the Thai restaurant "noble house" which was ok but nothing special. Generally there was a decent variety of food in the main restaurant catering to most palates, with a different theme each night. The first night the bottle of wine we had ordered arrived as we were finishing our main course. For the rest of the week the service in the restaurant was patchy, sometimes very attentive and at others leaving us feeling forgotten. This was true of the service throughout the hotel. E.g. We had booked an excursion which meant us leaving the hotel at 6:30, half an hour before the restaurant opens for breakfast. We duly filled in the in-room breakfast card and left it hanging outside the door in the evening, only to find it there at 6:15 the next morning. When I complained to the reception the receptionist managed to have a packed breakfast rustled up within about 10 minutes.

We found the service in the pool bar area generally better, but this could be because they had a smaller amount of ground to cover. The bar staff were also generous with the drinks;)

A couple of gripes. There was decent free Internet reception in the communal areas for normal browsing, but the in the rooms Internet had to be paid for in advance. On the two occasions I did pay the speed was so slow as to be unworkable so don't bother. The minibar in the rooms is unstocked. Guests have the option of pre-paying rather than paying as they consume. I would strongly advise bringing your own duty free as the prices for whiskey such as johnny walker black label are exorbitant to vergeing on daylight robbery.

One thing to be aware of which is not really the hotel's fault is the amount of flies. These aren't Mosquitos but were buzzing around us in such great numbers to drive us crazy.

With regards to touring the island, we booked the holiday through trailfinders and their local representatives were White Sands tours. We met the rep on the first day at the hotel and she sold us the South Island tour. I'm glad we didn't book the isle de cerfs or the dolphin experience tour through them as we booked exactly the same tours later with the crystal tours rep wandering the public beach for at least 1000 rupees cheaper each. If you are going to do one tour and one tour only I highly recommend the dolphin experience, swimming with a large school of dolphins in the wild.

Room Tip: Private terrace with jacuzzi is a good choice for couples
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shane J, Director of Sales at InterContinental Resort Mauritius, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear SebV20,

Greetings from the IC Mauritius.

Thank you for your review of the hotel, and I'm glad that you enjoyed the hotel overall and we've taken on board your constructive points to make us better in the future.

Just on the mini-bar, we do this to avoid discrepancies at check out regarding what was or wasn't consumed.

We do provide the mini-bar service, it's a la carte and can be stocked and signed for once the goods are delivered.

We hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon.

kind regards

Shane J
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

This is a pretty good hotel property....Long Beach side, good waterfront... pretty good upkeep.
Very Good Tennis Court
Two Swimming Pools - one is heated pool. this is very convenient
WiFi is free at the lobby and public areas near the restaurant
Fantastic view of --- pool, lagoon and ocean from the view ...

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shane J, Director of Sales at InterContinental Resort Mauritius, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear TonyTheTiger12345,

Thank you for your lovely review of our resort!

We hope to see you back in Mauritius soon.

kind regards

Shane J
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We stayed here for three nights recently. The property is nicely located but you can see only a small piece of sea from quite a few rooms due to trees, plants and the angle at which rooms are positioned vs. the sea. So, you should be extra careful in demanding / selecting a room. You get a better view from the rooms on the first / second floor.

Heated pool is a boon but it takes time before you can get hot water in the room and you need to keep the tap open for at least 10-15 minutes especially in the evening! Something can possibly be done by the management to reduce the wastage of water.

The restaurant offers a good breakfast spread and service is friendly if a tad on the slower side but who is in a hurry here!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shane J, Director of Sales at InterContinental Resort Mauritius, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Ulhas_Vairagkar,

Thank you for your review, and your comments have been taken on board. I apologise about the hot water issue, but through your feedback we will work on solutions using your suggestions.

kind regards

Shane J
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Its been our honeymoon and we arrived at the hotel around 9pm. We had to still wait for our room to be "prepared". When we entered the room it looked quite modern and welcoming, unfortunately the termites were busy munching the pedestals and near the place i had to sleep. The rooms have a damp wooden smell. I asked for the manager on duty, and The receptionists were very very helpful thank you, the Assistant front office manager came in as the manager was not in. He )was the most foolish mis appointed ignorant arrogant man i have ever come across. I demanded being upgraded to a decent room and he kept insisting that i wait for 2 hours. My new bride and i were exhausted and i could strangle this man, he was rude and kept harping about other things while completely ignoring the questions and requests we had. I asked for his name and with arrogance he came and dropped of a little note with his name and mobile number, NOREETH SEETHORAM, FRONT OFFICE MANAGER - mobile (430)4968199. I just want to thank him for total disregard to guest hospitality. We camped the night out in our little jungle room where none of our requests were taken care of, besides the king bed, no upper level room nothing. I guess it was a HUGE disappointed and change of standards having just returned from a stay at Intercontinental Kuala Lumpur which was the best stay so far!

The next morning i made it a point to personally see the manager as my honeymoon was spoilt, we were on the verge of cancelling the remaining 5 days and heading back home. The French manager was awesome, understanding and heRd us out and asked how he could make our stay better. He upgraded us to the upper level grand Suites or whatever they called at a difference of about $500 for all the nights which was negotiable. Absolutely fantastic! Best room I have stayed in the entire honeymoon, huge bathroom, lounge, entertainment area, 3 sun decks, outdoor shower and jacuzzi. My wife wasn't considering leaving me after all:-P.

Hotel is an awesome island style hotel, beaches are nice but the sand isn't soft, lots of stones in the man made beach around the hotel, food is quite good, loved the indian restaurant upon entering the hotel. Hotel is overpriced, a bottle of coke costs about 10 times more than just outside the hotels boundaries. The Spa is welcoming, went for a couples massage on the beach, was an hour long back rub instead of a massage but it was an experience hearing the ocean none the less.

We hired a car for the entire week which worked out super cheap. Over all a very enjoyable stay which started off terrible.

Room Tip: The suite!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shane J, Director of Sales at InterContinental Resort Mauritius, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Mohamed Farhaad S,

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review of our hotel. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay by the end, and your constructive feedback has been given to the concerned departments.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

kind regards

Shane J
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

I am about to leave this beautiful piece of paradise and I assure you I leave with the most amazing memories. I have had a fabulous time with my family. The service was superb especially by the ffg ppl: superb welcome and assistance by Aneksha, was a pleasure to dine in the company of Pamela, Franceska, Reena. The most amazing Indian cuisine blended with super service from Patrick and Khushbu in Veda.

I can't wait to return here!!!
A few really minor issues that were recovered well.

Regards
Mr & Mrs Essa
Room 1508

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shane J, Director of Sales at InterContinental Resort Mauritius, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Yusandtaz,

What an amazing review, and particularly thank you for mentioning the service as excellent.

I will make sure all the people you've mentioned know you loved their service.

kind regards

Shane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is good for people who want to relax...nice location..the gym, the spa, the room at the restaurant are very well situated in front of the beach...I love the pool specially the heated one..the hammac ...and the way they have put armchair around to relax...I love the small island... alk these were very good...however the hotel.could improve in welcoming the guest when they arrived..and some staff are not well prepared to work in a 5 star hotel. As when we were sleeping in the morning some staff were arguing loudly in front of our room and have wake us up... moreover there lot of flies outside the hotel and in the restaurant ...we hardly managed to eat properly as we have to chase flies..one last thing that dissapoint me is that there were several cats near the restaurant and on the beach and we saw 2 cats doing their toilet on the sand....

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shane J, Director of Sales at InterContinental Resort Mauritius, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear Nawsheen,

Thank you for your response and I'm glad that overall you enjoyed your vacation.

We apologise for the shortfalls you experienced and your feedback can only help us improve for the future.

We hope to see you again.

kind regards

Shane J
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Resort Mauritius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Resort Mauritius

Address: Balaclava Fort, Coastal Rd, Balaclava, Mauritius
Phone Number:
Location: Mauritius > Pamplemousses District > Balaclava
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Balaclava
#3 Spa Hotel in Balaclava
#4 Luxury Hotel in Balaclava
#4 Romantic Hotel in Balaclava
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Balaclava
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Resort Mauritius 5*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort is located on one of the most pristine stretches of beach overlooking Balaclava, Mauritius. Offering 210 well-appointed rooms including 10 presidential suites, 40 family-type, 20 Jacuzzi rooms, 20 Executive rooms with free WiFi and 120 standard rooms. Facilities include: 3 bars, 5 restaurants, 2 swimming pools including one heated pool, 8 massage rooms, a unique private island, Planet Trekkers kids club, recreational activities, tennis court, 4 meeting rooms & 1 ballroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, IHG, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your InterContinental Resort Mauritius reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Mauritius Resort, Balaclava Fort Hotel Balaclava
Intercontinental Hotel Mauritius
Intercontinental Hotel Balaclava
InterContinental Resort Mauritius Balaclava

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Resort Mauritius, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.