We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service Patchy, from below par to excellent” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Resort Mauritius

Save Saved
You added InterContinental Resort Mauritius to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
InterContinental Resort Mauritius
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Balaclava Fort, Coastal Rd, Balaclava, Mauritius   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
IHG Special up to 25% Off
Ranked #3 of 5 hotels in Balaclava
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Service Patchy, from below par to excellent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We've just left after spending 7 nights at this hotel. Overall a positive experience with a few sour notes.

We arrived in the early evening but our room wasn't ready. This in itself wasn't a big problem as we were given a brief tour of the hotel, visiting an example of the type of room we had booked, the class above featuring an identical room with an adjoining private jacuzzi terrace and the presidential suite. This was a shrewd move on the part of the hotel as we immediately paid to upgrade to the room with the private terrace.

The hotel has several restaurants, but being on half board we mainly stuck to the main restaurant, save for one night we ate at the Thai restaurant "noble house" which was ok but nothing special. Generally there was a decent variety of food in the main restaurant catering to most palates, with a different theme each night. The first night the bottle of wine we had ordered arrived as we were finishing our main course. For the rest of the week the service in the restaurant was patchy, sometimes very attentive and at others leaving us feeling forgotten. This was true of the service throughout the hotel. E.g. We had booked an excursion which meant us leaving the hotel at 6:30, half an hour before the restaurant opens for breakfast. We duly filled in the in-room breakfast card and left it hanging outside the door in the evening, only to find it there at 6:15 the next morning. When I complained to the reception the receptionist managed to have a packed breakfast rustled up within about 10 minutes.

We found the service in the pool bar area generally better, but this could be because they had a smaller amount of ground to cover. The bar staff were also generous with the drinks;)

A couple of gripes. There was decent free Internet reception in the communal areas for normal browsing, but the in the rooms Internet had to be paid for in advance. On the two occasions I did pay the speed was so slow as to be unworkable so don't bother. The minibar in the rooms is unstocked. Guests have the option of pre-paying rather than paying as they consume. I would strongly advise bringing your own duty free as the prices for whiskey such as johnny walker black label are exorbitant to vergeing on daylight robbery.

One thing to be aware of which is not really the hotel's fault is the amount of flies. These aren't Mosquitos but were buzzing around us in such great numbers to drive us crazy.

With regards to touring the island, we booked the holiday through trailfinders and their local representatives were White Sands tours. We met the rep on the first day at the hotel and she sold us the South Island tour. I'm glad we didn't book the isle de cerfs or the dolphin experience tour through them as we booked exactly the same tours later with the crystal tours rep wandering the public beach for at least 1000 rupees cheaper each. If you are going to do one tour and one tour only I highly recommend the dolphin experience, swimming with a large school of dolphins in the wild.

Room Tip: Private terrace with jacuzzi is a good choice for couples
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shane J, Director of Sales at InterContinental Resort Mauritius, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear SebV20,

Greetings from the IC Mauritius.

Thank you for your review of the hotel, and I'm glad that you enjoyed the hotel overall and we've taken on board your constructive points to make us better in the future.

Just on the mini-bar, we do this to avoid discrepancies at check out regarding what was or wasn't consumed.

We do provide the mini-bar service, it's a la carte and can be stocked and signed for once the goods are delivered.

We hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon.

kind regards

Shane J
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,127 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    515
    362
    139
    65
    46
See reviews for
281
637
17
55
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore, India
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

This is a pretty good hotel property....Long Beach side, good waterfront... pretty good upkeep.
Very Good Tennis Court
Two Swimming Pools - one is heated pool. this is very convenient
WiFi is free at the lobby and public areas near the restaurant
Fantastic view of --- pool, lagoon and ocean from the view ...

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shane J, Director of Sales at InterContinental Resort Mauritius, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear TonyTheTiger12345,

Thank you for your lovely review of our resort!

We hope to see you back in Mauritius soon.

kind regards

Shane J
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We stayed here for three nights recently. The property is nicely located but you can see only a small piece of sea from quite a few rooms due to trees, plants and the angle at which rooms are positioned vs. the sea. So, you should be extra careful in demanding / selecting a room. You get a better view from the rooms on the first / second floor.

Heated pool is a boon but it takes time before you can get hot water in the room and you need to keep the tap open for at least 10-15 minutes especially in the evening! Something can possibly be done by the management to reduce the wastage of water.

The restaurant offers a good breakfast spread and service is friendly if a tad on the slower side but who is in a hurry here!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shane J, Director of Sales at InterContinental Resort Mauritius, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Ulhas_Vairagkar,

Thank you for your review, and your comments have been taken on board. I apologise about the hot water issue, but through your feedback we will work on solutions using your suggestions.

kind regards

Shane J
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Its been our honeymoon and we arrived at the hotel around 9pm. We had to still wait for our room to be "prepared". When we entered the room it looked quite modern and welcoming, unfortunately the termites were busy munching the pedestals and near the place i had to sleep. The rooms have a damp wooden smell. I asked for the manager on duty, and The receptionists were very very helpful thank you, the Assistant front office manager came in as the manager was not in. He )was the most foolish mis appointed ignorant arrogant man i have ever come across. I demanded being upgraded to a decent room and he kept insisting that i wait for 2 hours. My new bride and i were exhausted and i could strangle this man, he was rude and kept harping about other things while completely ignoring the questions and requests we had. I asked for his name and with arrogance he came and dropped of a little note with his name and mobile number, NOREETH SEETHORAM, FRONT OFFICE MANAGER - mobile (430)4968199. I just want to thank him for total disregard to guest hospitality. We camped the night out in our little jungle room where none of our requests were taken care of, besides the king bed, no upper level room nothing. I guess it was a HUGE disappointed and change of standards having just returned from a stay at Intercontinental Kuala Lumpur which was the best stay so far!

The next morning i made it a point to personally see the manager as my honeymoon was spoilt, we were on the verge of cancelling the remaining 5 days and heading back home. The French manager was awesome, understanding and heRd us out and asked how he could make our stay better. He upgraded us to the upper level grand Suites or whatever they called at a difference of about $500 for all the nights which was negotiable. Absolutely fantastic! Best room I have stayed in the entire honeymoon, huge bathroom, lounge, entertainment area, 3 sun decks, outdoor shower and jacuzzi. My wife wasn't considering leaving me after all:-P.

Hotel is an awesome island style hotel, beaches are nice but the sand isn't soft, lots of stones in the man made beach around the hotel, food is quite good, loved the indian restaurant upon entering the hotel. Hotel is overpriced, a bottle of coke costs about 10 times more than just outside the hotels boundaries. The Spa is welcoming, went for a couples massage on the beach, was an hour long back rub instead of a massage but it was an experience hearing the ocean none the less.

We hired a car for the entire week which worked out super cheap. Over all a very enjoyable stay which started off terrible.

Room Tip: The suite!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shane J, Director of Sales at InterContinental Resort Mauritius, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Mohamed Farhaad S,

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review of our hotel. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay by the end, and your constructive feedback has been given to the concerned departments.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

kind regards

Shane J
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

I am about to leave this beautiful piece of paradise and I assure you I leave with the most amazing memories. I have had a fabulous time with my family. The service was superb especially by the ffg ppl: superb welcome and assistance by Aneksha, was a pleasure to dine in the company of Pamela, Franceska, Reena. The most amazing Indian cuisine blended with super service from Patrick and Khushbu in Veda.

I can't wait to return here!!!
A few really minor issues that were recovered well.

Regards
Mr & Mrs Essa
Room 1508

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shane J, Director of Sales at InterContinental Resort Mauritius, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Yusandtaz,

What an amazing review, and particularly thank you for mentioning the service as excellent.

I will make sure all the people you've mentioned know you loved their service.

kind regards

Shane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is good for people who want to relax...nice location..the gym, the spa, the room at the restaurant are very well situated in front of the beach...I love the pool specially the heated one..the hammac ...and the way they have put armchair around to relax...I love the small island... alk these were very good...however the hotel.could improve in welcoming the guest when they arrived..and some staff are not well prepared to work in a 5 star hotel. As when we were sleeping in the morning some staff were arguing loudly in front of our room and have wake us up... moreover there lot of flies outside the hotel and in the restaurant ...we hardly managed to eat properly as we have to chase flies..one last thing that dissapoint me is that there were several cats near the restaurant and on the beach and we saw 2 cats doing their toilet on the sand....

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shane J, Director of Sales at InterContinental Resort Mauritius, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear Nawsheen,

Thank you for your response and I'm glad that overall you enjoyed your vacation.

We apologise for the shortfalls you experienced and your feedback can only help us improve for the future.

We hope to see you again.

kind regards

Shane J
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buxton, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

spent 2 weeks at this hotel in early September 2013 & our opinion is that it falls very far short of a 5* resort, especially when compared with other long haul options.
On arrival- our room was ready for our early check in, and was nice, with a partial sea view. Bathroom a bit tatty round the edges but overall good. Having asked for extra clothes hangers, over the next 3 days (even going to the trouble of showing them a coat hanger) we eventually gave up and left clothing piled over chairs. Had an issue with petty pilfering from our room and the hotel seemed to take it seriously at the time, but no one got back to us to explain what had/had not been done. Servicing of the room was very poor, no real cleaning done, often no towels or only bath towels left. Turndown often didn't happen at all, or they turned up at 6:30pm when we were getting ready to go out (they never returned later)
Beach, very coarse and appears to be man made of fine gravel + washed up coral and not nice to walk on. The sea is very rocky and not suitable for walking/swimming - there is a small lagoon created for swimming which is a bit better. Please note the Hotel is close to Port Louis and there are a steady stream of container ships, and gas tankers moored out at sea (not so far out) and this does spoil the view somewhat ! Loungers are knackered and tatty as are the beach towels (when available..)
Dining, Veda Indian restaurant was fantastic and all the staff there were lovely (also the only eating place they appeared able to control the fly problem) Segala was also nice, especially for breakfast and lunch (both have set menu's in the evening, which may prove restrictive for some - al a carte is available but expensive) the Senso buffet was not to our taste, cold food in a mass catering environment with a cafeteria feel to it. The beach bar for lunch was reasonable (pizza, BLT, fish, burgers etc) although hampered by poor service and organisation.
Drinks, if you are a wine drinker beware..the house wine is all that is available on AI, and it was pretty dreadful (we couldn't drink the red at all) the white was harsh and the rose had an interesting characteristic, where if you left the glass for a few minutes it seemed to go clear with a large sediment forming at the base of the glass. A bottle of wine was in excess of £40 we did not bother since it seemed to be from the same producer of the house wine (south African, where good value exists so we cannot imagine what sort of a deal the hotel has brokered for itself in order to increase it's profits) Lots of exclusions to the AI on drinks - only local spirits, rum is ok but other items were a tad rough. Cocktails were varied and depended on who made them (Barracuda Bar was really excellent and run on professional lines, whereas the beach bar was a joke, with many of the staff rude and unhelpful and clearly expecting tips before doing any work , watered down drinks also seemed commonplace) On a better note the lager beer is ok.
Everything winds down early and you will be tucked up in bed well before midnight. The entertainment is a bit naff (dance shows in the main) although they do try hard. If you want to leave the hotel be warned the hotel booked taxis are about 2-3 x as expensive as outside and you can walk out of the drive and pick one up there (prices can be negotiated) Port Louis is not worth a visit, but the north of the island is very scenic and more upmarket.
Our biggest concern with this hotel is animal welfare. You will see that 'Shane.J' the marketing manager has responded to past reviews and told us about the feeding station at the boathouse for stray dogs etc. Well let us reveal the truth. There is no feeding station and never has been, the hotel has a policy of not feeding the stray dogs that roam the beach (we saw around 7) or the poor cats that live outside the buffet restaurant. There are no neutered animals and consequently there is fighting among tomcats with sores and wounds all over them. After a few days a litter of 5 kittens 'vanished' overnight, then one day we spotted a large white dish in the cat area, with the remnants of meat in it (the dish was one of those used for serving food in the Senso buffet) an hour or so later we were horrified to sea cats staggering around and collapsing; they had clearly been poisoned and were really suffering. On complaining we saw the resort manger 'Marc', who claimed that the hotel has a policy of not poisoning cats and dogs, and in fact works with a Mauritian animal welfare charity ! he stated that things had got out of hand and he thought 'someone' had taken it upon themselves to poison the animals. He claims to have investigated but not been able to establish who 'gave the order'. We did not really believe Marc, and suspect that tacit approval was given for this inhumane practice. When we pressed Marc as to why the animals are not neutered and fed and why 'Shane.J' is telling lies on trip advisor, Marc only said he would ensure the animal welfare agency was brought in to neuter the animals. When we pointed out that some people like to see well cared for animals, and some do not like animals - but any normal human being does not want to see suffering, cruelty and neglect, Marc agreed, but could not get his head around the idea that if they were neutered and fed, there would be no more litters, fighting and desperate begging for food scraps from diners - he simply did not seem to get it.. One of the main reasons we chose this hotel was because of Shane.J' s assurances of animal welfare measures being implemented. We were so upset and feel that we were mis-sold this holiday, and feel that as a USA based company there should be an external investigation into the animal welfare. Please can future visitors report on the welfare of the cats and dogs and complain and push for better treatment and most importantly put a review here on trip advisor of what they see.

Room Tip: Trees block most of the sea view, so climb 2 flights of stairs to 2nd floor room for the best view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shane J, Director of Sales at InterContinental Resort Mauritius, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Mick C,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to provide a detailed account of your vacation here at the IC Mauritius.

I see that we didn't always 'hit the mark' in regards to your expectations however I am glad that you enjoyed Veda, and Segala - so will pass this feedback on. Where expectations weren't met, we are speaking with the concerned departments in order to be better in the future.

Regarding the problem with the 'cats' at the hotel.

I would only like to point out that I do refer to in my responses, 'PAWS' as the foundation which we work with as the MSPCA is no longer able to assist. I also refer to the 'ongoing' process in rectifying the problem and we acknowledge, and have never denied that there is an issue with the cats and that we are trying and continuing to try to rectify the situation, and it's not through the use of poison - I believe you discussed all of this with Marc whilst you were in house.

Working with PAWS, we do hope to neuter and rehabilitate the cats through the animal shelters here in Mauritius.

with kind regards

ShaneJ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to InterContinental Resort Mauritius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Resort Mauritius

Address: Balaclava Fort, Coastal Rd, Balaclava, Mauritius
Phone Number:
Location: Mauritius > Pamplemousses District > Balaclava
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Balaclava
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Balaclava
#3 Luxury Hotel in Balaclava
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Resort Mauritius 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort is located on one of the most pristine stretches of beach overlooking Balaclava, Mauritius. Offering 210 well-appointed rooms including 10 presidential suites, 40 family-type, 20 Jacuzzi rooms, 20 Executive rooms with free WiFi and 120 standard rooms. Facilities include: 3 bars, 5 restaurants, 2 swimming pools including one heated pool, 8 massage rooms, a unique private island, Planet Trekkers kids club, recreational activities, tennis court, 4 meeting rooms & 1 ballroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your InterContinental Resort Mauritius reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Mauritius Resort, Balaclava Fort Hotel Balaclava
Intercontinental Hotel Mauritius
Intercontinental Hotel Balaclava
InterContinental Resort Mauritius Balaclava

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Resort Mauritius, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.