We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply beautiful, astounding service.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Resort Mauritius

Save Saved
You added InterContinental Resort Mauritius to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
InterContinental Resort Mauritius
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Balaclava Fort, Coastal Rd, Balaclava, Mauritius   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
IHG Special up to 25% Off
Ranked #3 of 5 hotels in Balaclava
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Simply beautiful, astounding service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

I am about to leave this beautiful piece of paradise and I assure you I leave with the most amazing memories. I have had a fabulous time with my family. The service was superb especially by the ffg ppl: superb welcome and assistance by Aneksha, was a pleasure to dine in the company of Pamela, Franceska, Reena. The most amazing Indian cuisine blended with super service from Patrick and Khushbu in Veda.

I can't wait to return here!!!
A few really minor issues that were recovered well.

Regards
Mr & Mrs Essa
Room 1508

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shane J, Director of Sales at InterContinental Resort Mauritius, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Yusandtaz,

What an amazing review, and particularly thank you for mentioning the service as excellent.

I will make sure all the people you've mentioned know you loved their service.

kind regards

Shane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,130 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    512
    365
    141
    66
    46
See reviews for
278
635
17
55
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is good for people who want to relax...nice location..the gym, the spa, the room at the restaurant are very well situated in front of the beach...I love the pool specially the heated one..the hammac ...and the way they have put armchair around to relax...I love the small island... alk these were very good...however the hotel.could improve in welcoming the guest when they arrived..and some staff are not well prepared to work in a 5 star hotel. As when we were sleeping in the morning some staff were arguing loudly in front of our room and have wake us up... moreover there lot of flies outside the hotel and in the restaurant ...we hardly managed to eat properly as we have to chase flies..one last thing that dissapoint me is that there were several cats near the restaurant and on the beach and we saw 2 cats doing their toilet on the sand....

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shane J, Director of Sales at InterContinental Resort Mauritius, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear Nawsheen,

Thank you for your response and I'm glad that overall you enjoyed your vacation.

We apologise for the shortfalls you experienced and your feedback can only help us improve for the future.

We hope to see you again.

kind regards

Shane J
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buxton, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

spent 2 weeks at this hotel in early September 2013 & our opinion is that it falls very far short of a 5* resort, especially when compared with other long haul options.
On arrival- our room was ready for our early check in, and was nice, with a partial sea view. Bathroom a bit tatty round the edges but overall good. Having asked for extra clothes hangers, over the next 3 days (even going to the trouble of showing them a coat hanger) we eventually gave up and left clothing piled over chairs. Had an issue with petty pilfering from our room and the hotel seemed to take it seriously at the time, but no one got back to us to explain what had/had not been done. Servicing of the room was very poor, no real cleaning done, often no towels or only bath towels left. Turndown often didn't happen at all, or they turned up at 6:30pm when we were getting ready to go out (they never returned later)
Beach, very coarse and appears to be man made of fine gravel + washed up coral and not nice to walk on. The sea is very rocky and not suitable for walking/swimming - there is a small lagoon created for swimming which is a bit better. Please note the Hotel is close to Port Louis and there are a steady stream of container ships, and gas tankers moored out at sea (not so far out) and this does spoil the view somewhat ! Loungers are knackered and tatty as are the beach towels (when available..)
Dining, Veda Indian restaurant was fantastic and all the staff there were lovely (also the only eating place they appeared able to control the fly problem) Segala was also nice, especially for breakfast and lunch (both have set menu's in the evening, which may prove restrictive for some - al a carte is available but expensive) the Senso buffet was not to our taste, cold food in a mass catering environment with a cafeteria feel to it. The beach bar for lunch was reasonable (pizza, BLT, fish, burgers etc) although hampered by poor service and organisation.
Drinks, if you are a wine drinker beware..the house wine is all that is available on AI, and it was pretty dreadful (we couldn't drink the red at all) the white was harsh and the rose had an interesting characteristic, where if you left the glass for a few minutes it seemed to go clear with a large sediment forming at the base of the glass. A bottle of wine was in excess of £40 we did not bother since it seemed to be from the same producer of the house wine (south African, where good value exists so we cannot imagine what sort of a deal the hotel has brokered for itself in order to increase it's profits) Lots of exclusions to the AI on drinks - only local spirits, rum is ok but other items were a tad rough. Cocktails were varied and depended on who made them (Barracuda Bar was really excellent and run on professional lines, whereas the beach bar was a joke, with many of the staff rude and unhelpful and clearly expecting tips before doing any work , watered down drinks also seemed commonplace) On a better note the lager beer is ok.
Everything winds down early and you will be tucked up in bed well before midnight. The entertainment is a bit naff (dance shows in the main) although they do try hard. If you want to leave the hotel be warned the hotel booked taxis are about 2-3 x as expensive as outside and you can walk out of the drive and pick one up there (prices can be negotiated) Port Louis is not worth a visit, but the north of the island is very scenic and more upmarket.
Our biggest concern with this hotel is animal welfare. You will see that 'Shane.J' the marketing manager has responded to past reviews and told us about the feeding station at the boathouse for stray dogs etc. Well let us reveal the truth. There is no feeding station and never has been, the hotel has a policy of not feeding the stray dogs that roam the beach (we saw around 7) or the poor cats that live outside the buffet restaurant. There are no neutered animals and consequently there is fighting among tomcats with sores and wounds all over them. After a few days a litter of 5 kittens 'vanished' overnight, then one day we spotted a large white dish in the cat area, with the remnants of meat in it (the dish was one of those used for serving food in the Senso buffet) an hour or so later we were horrified to sea cats staggering around and collapsing; they had clearly been poisoned and were really suffering. On complaining we saw the resort manger 'Marc', who claimed that the hotel has a policy of not poisoning cats and dogs, and in fact works with a Mauritian animal welfare charity ! he stated that things had got out of hand and he thought 'someone' had taken it upon themselves to poison the animals. He claims to have investigated but not been able to establish who 'gave the order'. We did not really believe Marc, and suspect that tacit approval was given for this inhumane practice. When we pressed Marc as to why the animals are not neutered and fed and why 'Shane.J' is telling lies on trip advisor, Marc only said he would ensure the animal welfare agency was brought in to neuter the animals. When we pointed out that some people like to see well cared for animals, and some do not like animals - but any normal human being does not want to see suffering, cruelty and neglect, Marc agreed, but could not get his head around the idea that if they were neutered and fed, there would be no more litters, fighting and desperate begging for food scraps from diners - he simply did not seem to get it.. One of the main reasons we chose this hotel was because of Shane.J' s assurances of animal welfare measures being implemented. We were so upset and feel that we were mis-sold this holiday, and feel that as a USA based company there should be an external investigation into the animal welfare. Please can future visitors report on the welfare of the cats and dogs and complain and push for better treatment and most importantly put a review here on trip advisor of what they see.

Room Tip: Trees block most of the sea view, so climb 2 flights of stairs to 2nd floor room for the best view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shane J, Director of Sales at InterContinental Resort Mauritius, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Mick C,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to provide a detailed account of your vacation here at the IC Mauritius.

I see that we didn't always 'hit the mark' in regards to your expectations however I am glad that you enjoyed Veda, and Segala - so will pass this feedback on. Where expectations weren't met, we are speaking with the concerned departments in order to be better in the future.

Regarding the problem with the 'cats' at the hotel.

I would only like to point out that I do refer to in my responses, 'PAWS' as the foundation which we work with as the MSPCA is no longer able to assist. I also refer to the 'ongoing' process in rectifying the problem and we acknowledge, and have never denied that there is an issue with the cats and that we are trying and continuing to try to rectify the situation, and it's not through the use of poison - I believe you discussed all of this with Marc whilst you were in house.

Working with PAWS, we do hope to neuter and rehabilitate the cats through the animal shelters here in Mauritius.

with kind regards

ShaneJ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surat, India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Had visitd on 14th feb for honeymoon. ..its really amazing xperience...veg food was superb...lots of varieties...location, staff...over allll its amazing hotel...I had room wth jaccuzii....memorable honeymoon....

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shane J, Director of Sales at InterContinental Resort Mauritius, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear vjain1171,

What an amazing review and I'm glad your honeymoon was a memorable experience!

see you for your anniversaries!

sincere regards

Shane J
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slough, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

The hotel was absolutely good for our entire stay. The second we arrived, the hotel gave us free welcome drinks. Our family room was very spacious, and the hotel acknowledged our request by giving us a sea view room. The food is excellent but is very expensive and the drinks are at extortionate prices.
We were on Bed and breakfast deal and therefore had lunch and dinner at hotel.
The staff in the Sensos were very helpful namely Reema and Rakesh.
Managers Kevin (seagala restaurant) and Lobben ( Sensos restaurant) were also very hospitable.
The staff in gym and spa were also very friendly and Oliver in the gym was very knowledgeable and went an extra mile to help my son use the equipment and gave him couple of personal fitness sessions.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shane J, Director of Sales at InterContinental Resort Mauritius, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Raj1959,

I just wanted to thank you for your amazing review of our property.

I will make sure that the people you mentioned get to know that you enjoyed their service.

Thank you again for choosing us, and I look forward to welcoming you back to Mauritius soon.

kind regards

Shane J
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandigarh, India
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We had booked Intercontinental Resort, Balaclava for our Honeymoon .. and i must say It definately was one of the best experiences we ever had. The rooms were comfortable with excellent views.. Great variety of cuisines at different restaurants ... the different themes evryday kept us busy ... Staff was very curteous.
On the whole.. an Amazing experience.. and we never wanted to come back.!!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shane J, Director of Sales at InterContinental Resort Mauritius, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear NehaNagpal,

Thank you for your lovely review and I'm so glad that you enjoyed your honeymoon with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the resort soon.

kind regards

Shane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this lovely hotel for ten days and the majority of the time our stay was perfect. The location of the hotel is amazing right on the beach with fantastic views from the bedroom. The beach itself is a shell beach so not good to lie on, plus there are stray dogs and cats around so definately wouldn't recommend it for obvious reasons. However there was always a free sunbed available so this wasn't a problem.
Food was very good, we ate in the buffet restaurant most nights, which had a different theme every night which gave a good variety of lovely food. The other restaurants you had to book and were equally as nice.

Service: this was the only negative for us with our stay. The first thing you will notice when you enter the hotel is the huge amount of staff they have so my initial thought was the service was going to be excellent. Unfortunately, this is not the case the majority of the time. Service is painfully slow, in the buffet restuarant we waited twenty mins before anyone offered us a drink on two occasions. The staff are often very grumpy and seem to have a real attitude. On one occasion we saw the waitress have an outright argument with a guest because she was trying to seat them with a larger group that they weren't even with. The service was equally as slow at the bar, although the bar staff were on the whole very friendly. This attitude and complacency continued at the reception and on the restaurant reservations, where they had no problem at all leaving you waiting.
There were obviously some exceptions(hence the average rating rather than poor) with a number of waiters and bar staff being very attentive however this was the exception rather than the rule.

I think this is a lovely hotel all in all in terms of location, food, rooms, cleanliness and the potential is huge. I think unfortunately there is a huge amount of complacency with the service. Don't get me wrong I have waited tables and worked in hotels myself in the past so I know how difficult it is to keep it up but I think there can be no excuse for bad customer service.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shane J, Director of Sales at InterContinental Resort Mauritius, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Jt1983,

Thank you for your review of our resort, and I do apologise for the shortfalls you've received.

Your feedback makes us better in the future, so rest assured the message has been delivered to the departments concerned.

Kind regards and thank you again for taking the time to deliver your feedback.

Shane J
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to InterContinental Resort Mauritius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Resort Mauritius

Address: Balaclava Fort, Coastal Rd, Balaclava, Mauritius
Phone Number:
Location: Mauritius > Pamplemousses District > Balaclava
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Balaclava
#3 Luxury Hotel in Balaclava
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Balaclava
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Resort Mauritius 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort is located on one of the most pristine stretches of beach overlooking Balaclava, Mauritius. Offering 210 well-appointed rooms including 10 presidential suites, 40 family-type, 20 Jacuzzi rooms, 20 Executive rooms with free WiFi and 120 standard rooms. Facilities include: 3 bars, 5 restaurants, 2 swimming pools including one heated pool, 8 massage rooms, a unique private island, Planet Trekkers kids club, recreational activities, tennis court, 4 meeting rooms & 1 ballroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your InterContinental Resort Mauritius reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Mauritius Resort, Balaclava Fort Hotel Balaclava
Intercontinental Hotel Mauritius
Intercontinental Hotel Balaclava
InterContinental Resort Mauritius Balaclava

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Resort Mauritius, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.