We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing. ...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Resort Mauritius

Save Saved
You added InterContinental Resort Mauritius to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
InterContinental Resort Mauritius
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Balaclava Fort, Coastal Rd, Balaclava, Mauritius   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
IHG Special up to 25% Off
Ranked #3 of 5 hotels in Balaclava
Surat, India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Amazing. ...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Had visitd on 14th feb for honeymoon. ..its really amazing xperience...veg food was superb...lots of varieties...location, staff...over allll its amazing hotel...I had room wth jaccuzii....memorable honeymoon....

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shane J, Director of Sales at InterContinental Resort Mauritius, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear vjain1171,

What an amazing review and I'm glad your honeymoon was a memorable experience!

see you for your anniversaries!

sincere regards

Shane J
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,133 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    515
    365
    141
    66
    46
See reviews for
279
637
17
55
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Slough, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

The hotel was absolutely good for our entire stay. The second we arrived, the hotel gave us free welcome drinks. Our family room was very spacious, and the hotel acknowledged our request by giving us a sea view room. The food is excellent but is very expensive and the drinks are at extortionate prices.
We were on Bed and breakfast deal and therefore had lunch and dinner at hotel.
The staff in the Sensos were very helpful namely Reema and Rakesh.
Managers Kevin (seagala restaurant) and Lobben ( Sensos restaurant) were also very hospitable.
The staff in gym and spa were also very friendly and Oliver in the gym was very knowledgeable and went an extra mile to help my son use the equipment and gave him couple of personal fitness sessions.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shane J, Director of Sales at InterContinental Resort Mauritius, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Raj1959,

I just wanted to thank you for your amazing review of our property.

I will make sure that the people you mentioned get to know that you enjoyed their service.

Thank you again for choosing us, and I look forward to welcoming you back to Mauritius soon.

kind regards

Shane J
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandigarh, India
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We had booked Intercontinental Resort, Balaclava for our Honeymoon .. and i must say It definately was one of the best experiences we ever had. The rooms were comfortable with excellent views.. Great variety of cuisines at different restaurants ... the different themes evryday kept us busy ... Staff was very curteous.
On the whole.. an Amazing experience.. and we never wanted to come back.!!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shane J, Director of Sales at InterContinental Resort Mauritius, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear NehaNagpal,

Thank you for your lovely review and I'm so glad that you enjoyed your honeymoon with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the resort soon.

kind regards

Shane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this lovely hotel for ten days and the majority of the time our stay was perfect. The location of the hotel is amazing right on the beach with fantastic views from the bedroom. The beach itself is a shell beach so not good to lie on, plus there are stray dogs and cats around so definately wouldn't recommend it for obvious reasons. However there was always a free sunbed available so this wasn't a problem.
Food was very good, we ate in the buffet restaurant most nights, which had a different theme every night which gave a good variety of lovely food. The other restaurants you had to book and were equally as nice.

Service: this was the only negative for us with our stay. The first thing you will notice when you enter the hotel is the huge amount of staff they have so my initial thought was the service was going to be excellent. Unfortunately, this is not the case the majority of the time. Service is painfully slow, in the buffet restuarant we waited twenty mins before anyone offered us a drink on two occasions. The staff are often very grumpy and seem to have a real attitude. On one occasion we saw the waitress have an outright argument with a guest because she was trying to seat them with a larger group that they weren't even with. The service was equally as slow at the bar, although the bar staff were on the whole very friendly. This attitude and complacency continued at the reception and on the restaurant reservations, where they had no problem at all leaving you waiting.
There were obviously some exceptions(hence the average rating rather than poor) with a number of waiters and bar staff being very attentive however this was the exception rather than the rule.

I think this is a lovely hotel all in all in terms of location, food, rooms, cleanliness and the potential is huge. I think unfortunately there is a huge amount of complacency with the service. Don't get me wrong I have waited tables and worked in hotels myself in the past so I know how difficult it is to keep it up but I think there can be no excuse for bad customer service.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shane J, Director of Sales at InterContinental Resort Mauritius, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Jt1983,

Thank you for your review of our resort, and I do apologise for the shortfalls you've received.

Your feedback makes us better in the future, so rest assured the message has been delivered to the departments concerned.

Kind regards and thank you again for taking the time to deliver your feedback.

Shane J
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

Last day at resort as I write review. Very sad to be leaving this amazing resort. Most recommended. Staff can not do enough for us, friendly,polite and go out of there of their way on every occasion.

The room were very comfortable & clean. Veda is the most amazing restaurant in resort, thanks to khusbhu for looking after us. Also Reena at senso.

Concierge service is excellent, thanks to Kevin and Noor for takin great care of us.

Sitting on the beautiful scenic beach, Swadesh was sweet just like his name to us and couldn't do enough.

Would like to thank Franck the general manager for all he did for us.

Really going to miss this place. Thanks for making our anniversary so special. Would love to come back one day

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shane J, Director of Sales at InterContinental Resort Mauritius, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Dear radikal d,

What a fabulous review, and I'm really glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

Thank you for all your positive comments, and I'll be sure to pass on your feedback to the people you've mentioned!

kind regards and we'll see you here again soon.

Shane J
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Although the lobby is beautiful and clean the rooms are not 1707 was smelling with dirty curtains and tap was not working had lizards every day informed the staff who where very slow to do anything.

the Senso and palm restaurant staff were very helpful and friendly Reena and Veenusha made our stay better, both of them always made us really welcome and received great service from them.

I did the survey on my return and requested someone to call me - at present no one has.
Very disappointing could not wait to get home.

Helen

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shane J, Director of Sales at InterContinental Resort Mauritius, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear 982helen05,

Greetings from the IC Mauritius.

We know that there were some complications during your stay and for this we are sorry.

I believe you were in touch with our Resort Manager Mr. Marc Boge during your stay, and we have received your survey, so will be in touch shortly.

I thank you for taking your time to provide your review of our resort.

kind regards

Shane J
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guwahati, India
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort is located on one of the most stunning parts of the island - a pristine stretch of beach overlooking the Bay of Balaclava, just north of the capital, Port Louis. The resort is thirty minutes drive from the main tourist region of Grand Baie, and abt an hour drive from Plaisance International Airport.
best thing is its very beautiful and has lots of facilities and most importantly the food is very good and we being Indians being even fussier about our food liked it a lot.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shane J, Director of Sales at InterContinental Resort Mauritius, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear anky2k2,

Firstly thank you for your amazing review and secondly congratulations on your honeymoon; thank you for choosing us!!

We look forward to welcoming you back to the resort soon!

kind regards

Shane J
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to InterContinental Resort Mauritius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Resort Mauritius

Address: Balaclava Fort, Coastal Rd, Balaclava, Mauritius
Phone Number:
Location: Mauritius > Pamplemousses District > Balaclava
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Balaclava
#3 Luxury Hotel in Balaclava
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Balaclava
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Resort Mauritius 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort is located on one of the most pristine stretches of beach overlooking Balaclava, Mauritius. Offering 210 well-appointed rooms including 10 presidential suites, 40 family-type, 20 Jacuzzi rooms, 20 Executive rooms with free WiFi and 120 standard rooms. Facilities include: 3 bars, 5 restaurants, 2 swimming pools including one heated pool, 8 massage rooms, a unique private island, Planet Trekkers kids club, recreational activities, tennis court, 4 meeting rooms & 1 ballroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your InterContinental Resort Mauritius reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Mauritius Resort, Balaclava Fort Hotel Balaclava
Intercontinental Hotel Mauritius
Intercontinental Hotel Balaclava
InterContinental Resort Mauritius Balaclava

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Resort Mauritius, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.