We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel let down but inconsistent service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Resort Mauritius

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Resort Mauritius to your Saves list
InterContinental Resort Mauritius
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Balaclava Fort, Coastal Rd, Balaclava, Mauritius   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Members Exclusive:25% Off
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Balaclava
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel let down but inconsistent service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this lovely hotel for ten days and the majority of the time our stay was perfect. The location of the hotel is amazing right on the beach with fantastic views from the bedroom. The beach itself is a shell beach so not good to lie on, plus there are stray dogs and cats around so definately wouldn't recommend it for obvious reasons. However there was always a free sunbed available so this wasn't a problem.
Food was very good, we ate in the buffet restaurant most nights, which had a different theme every night which gave a good variety of lovely food. The other restaurants you had to book and were equally as nice.

Service: this was the only negative for us with our stay. The first thing you will notice when you enter the hotel is the huge amount of staff they have so my initial thought was the service was going to be excellent. Unfortunately, this is not the case the majority of the time. Service is painfully slow, in the buffet restuarant we waited twenty mins before anyone offered us a drink on two occasions. The staff are often very grumpy and seem to have a real attitude. On one occasion we saw the waitress have an outright argument with a guest because she was trying to seat them with a larger group that they weren't even with. The service was equally as slow at the bar, although the bar staff were on the whole very friendly. This attitude and complacency continued at the reception and on the restaurant reservations, where they had no problem at all leaving you waiting.
There were obviously some exceptions(hence the average rating rather than poor) with a number of waiters and bar staff being very attentive however this was the exception rather than the rule.

I think this is a lovely hotel all in all in terms of location, food, rooms, cleanliness and the potential is huge. I think unfortunately there is a huge amount of complacency with the service. Don't get me wrong I have waited tables and worked in hotels myself in the past so I know how difficult it is to keep it up but I think there can be no excuse for bad customer service.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shane J, Director of Sales at InterContinental Resort Mauritius, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Jt1983,

Thank you for your review of our resort, and I do apologise for the shortfalls you've received.

Your feedback makes us better in the future, so rest assured the message has been delivered to the departments concerned.

Kind regards and thank you again for taking the time to deliver your feedback.

Shane J
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    600
    411
    147
    67
    47
See reviews for
317
705
20
63
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

Last day at resort as I write review. Very sad to be leaving this amazing resort. Most recommended. Staff can not do enough for us, friendly,polite and go out of there of their way on every occasion.

The room were very comfortable & clean. Veda is the most amazing restaurant in resort, thanks to khusbhu for looking after us. Also Reena at senso.

Concierge service is excellent, thanks to Kevin and Noor for takin great care of us.

Sitting on the beautiful scenic beach, Swadesh was sweet just like his name to us and couldn't do enough.

Would like to thank Franck the general manager for all he did for us.

Really going to miss this place. Thanks for making our anniversary so special. Would love to come back one day

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shane J, Director of Sales at InterContinental Resort Mauritius, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Dear radikal d,

What a fabulous review, and I'm really glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

Thank you for all your positive comments, and I'll be sure to pass on your feedback to the people you've mentioned!

kind regards and we'll see you here again soon.

Shane J
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Although the lobby is beautiful and clean the rooms are not 1707 was smelling with dirty curtains and tap was not working had lizards every day informed the staff who where very slow to do anything.

the Senso and palm restaurant staff were very helpful and friendly Reena and Veenusha made our stay better, both of them always made us really welcome and received great service from them.

I did the survey on my return and requested someone to call me - at present no one has.
Very disappointing could not wait to get home.

Helen

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shane J, Director of Sales at InterContinental Resort Mauritius, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear 982helen05,

Greetings from the IC Mauritius.

We know that there were some complications during your stay and for this we are sorry.

I believe you were in touch with our Resort Manager Mr. Marc Boge during your stay, and we have received your survey, so will be in touch shortly.

I thank you for taking your time to provide your review of our resort.

kind regards

Shane J
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guwahati, India
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort is located on one of the most stunning parts of the island - a pristine stretch of beach overlooking the Bay of Balaclava, just north of the capital, Port Louis. The resort is thirty minutes drive from the main tourist region of Grand Baie, and abt an hour drive from Plaisance International Airport.
best thing is its very beautiful and has lots of facilities and most importantly the food is very good and we being Indians being even fussier about our food liked it a lot.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shane J, Director of Sales at InterContinental Resort Mauritius, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear anky2k2,

Firstly thank you for your amazing review and secondly congratulations on your honeymoon; thank you for choosing us!!

We look forward to welcoming you back to the resort soon!

kind regards

Shane J
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Currently half way through our stay at this hotel and overall the stay has been average. The room, scenery and food have all been wonderful, however, some of the staff, although not all (guest relations), have been unfriendly and provided a very slow service - the staff in the beach bar forgot our drinks order on a number of occasions, even after reminding them countless times; when reserving a table at the Veda and Noble House the staff were very unfriendly and reluctant to offer further information about the menu, this was particularly annoying as I had dietary requirements; our tv is not working properly and although we have asked the staff to look into this, on our fourth day we still haven't heard anything. Also, during our stay here there has been a 3day conference for a large group and unfortunately this has really affected our stay - the hotel/staff has prioritised their needs over ours! My husband and I were celebrating our anniversary at senso restaurant, however the conference welcome meeting took place right outside the restaurant which meant we couldn't hear each other and the band stop playing their music - a real shame especially as we weren't given any prior warning. Moreover, during breakfast and lunch we have been unable to sit in the usual restaurant because priority has been given to the conference group to use this restaurant - the hotel residents have been asked to sit on the beach, which hasn't always been pleasant/appropriate because of the rain and the ridiculous amount of flies. We have stayed in a number of five star hotels and unfortunately this hotel, although not all bad, hasn't lived up to the standards of a five star hotel. Perhaps with more efficient and friendly service this could change. We're hoping the rest of our stay here gets better...

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shane J, Director of Sales at InterContinental Resort Mauritius, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear KDX2013,

I want to thank you for posting your response on trip advisor.

We apologise for the shortfalls you had during your stay, and hope that by the end it was rectified.

If you would like to provide any more feedback, it doesn't help us do things better. Please feel free to contact myself on shane.jameson@ihg.com

kind regards

Shane J
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from the most amazing holiday at the intercontinental hotel in Balaclava and will definitely be returning.
From the moment we arrived nothing was too much trouble the staff from housekeepers,bars,restaurants and reception were courteous,helpful and fun.
The food was fabulous with an amazing choice and differed from day to day with Renne and Noor even offering recipe tips for us to take home.
One of the lovely waiters in the restaurant had even worked for the Savoy-and was returning -that was the standard that we encountered.
Beautifully kept tropical gardens,wonderful pools, lovely beach, being able to see tropical fish on our walks over the bridge to coconut island was only topped by brilliant cocktails at the cocktail bar. (we maybe remembered for our "pink Bollywood"cocktails)
On the complimentary glass bottom boat which leaves from the jetty at the end of the beach we saw a large turtle and sea snakes and colourful reef fish so is worth a trip on(only an hour).
Just be wary of people trying to sell trips to you when you are on sun loungers on the beach-not that you necessarily need to use your tour operators guides (they are more expensive) BUT some are dubious but we would recommend the operators of the speedboat "flying kiss" who took us to swim with the dolphins from the jetty of the hotel and also took us on a catamaran trip called "crystal cruiser" to a beautiful island off the east coast.These guys work out of the Mirimar hotel water sport department.
Both throughly enjoyable trips which we would highly recommend and even better if you can round up a group that you have met on holiday.
The only gripe we experienced was on Arabian night we were not told that the Shisha pipes were charged and this appeared as a tobacco charge on our bill at the end of the week as some what of a surprise.
Just a couple of suggestions to the intercontinental -such as the facility of an ATM or the ability to change money from a card rather than only by cash would be brilliant and that the evening entertainment should take place downstairs by the cocktail bar like arabian evening did as it provides more atmosphere than the room upstairs.
We would throughly recommend this hotel and look forward to visiting again- all of your staff are an asset to your hotel and their service to us was brilliant.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shane J, Director of Sales at InterContinental Resort Mauritius, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Janetuprop,

You have made our day with your review of our resort! So glad that you enjoyed yourself and provided your fellow trip adviser users with some incredible tips.

We've taken on board your notes regarding ATM and the entertainment and well see what we can do in the future!

kind regards

Shane J
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We spent a two week holiday in this hotel in August/ September 2013. Overall we were very pleased, especially with the staff that was always very helpful without having to ask and with the food choices available. The only downsides were that the sand on the beach is dug out of the sea and is not very fine with loads of stones, corrals and shells in between and that there appeared to be some form of noise most of the time (be it a digger taking sand out of the sea to spread on the beach or people cutting the grass, cleaning the walk ways etc.).
However on the upside we were happy with the following:
- Very friendly staff (we were able to borrow a children's car seat from the concierge/ hotel for three days for tours, Olivier in the gym was always on hand and happy to explain the machines, our little daugther got special service especially from the friendly staff at Segala restaurant)
- Long beach that was never overcrowded, pools that were never too busy
- The heated pool, good for the days where the wind was still blowing rather hard
- Food choice in the different restaurants
- Cleanliness, size and layout of the room

Yes, prices at the hotel for drinks etc. are not cheap, but also not expensive compared to European standards.

We did three day tours to see the Island and in retrospect it would have been a better idea to rent a car (book it online in advance and you can get a really good deal, 8 days for EUR200 for example) and do the tours ourselves.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shane J, Director of Sales at InterContinental Resort Mauritius, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear FranzB,

Thank you for your review of the our wonderful resort.

We apologise if the noise interrupted your stay at all. I'll make sure that Olivier in the gym knows that you enjoyed his service.

We hope to welcome you back to the resort soon.

kind regards

Shane J
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Resort Mauritius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Resort Mauritius

Address: Balaclava Fort, Coastal Rd, Balaclava, Mauritius
Phone Number:
Location: Mauritius > Pamplemousses District > Balaclava
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Balaclava
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Balaclava
#3 Romantic Hotel in Balaclava
#3 Luxury Hotel in Balaclava
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Resort Mauritius 5*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort is located on one of the most pristine stretches of beach overlooking Balaclava, Mauritius. Offering 210 well-appointed rooms including 10 presidential suites, 40 family-type, 20 Jacuzzi rooms, 20 Executive rooms with free WiFi and 120 standard rooms. Facilities include: 3 bars, 5 restaurants, 2 swimming pools including one heated pool, 8 massage rooms, a unique private island, Planet Trekkers kids club, recreational activities, tennis court, 4 meeting rooms & 1 ballroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your InterContinental Resort Mauritius reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Mauritius Resort, Balaclava Fort Hotel Balaclava
Intercontinental Hotel Mauritius
Intercontinental Hotel Balaclava
InterContinental Resort Mauritius Balaclava

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Resort Mauritius, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.