We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Resort Mauritius

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Resort Mauritius to your Saves list
InterContinental Resort Mauritius
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Balaclava Fort, Coastal Rd, Balaclava, Mauritius   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Balaclava
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Doncaster
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We stayed at the Intercontinental for 2 weeks and loved every minute we spent there. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel welcome and were given the 5 star treatment throughout our holiday. The staff and hotel management were all very friendly, helpful and could not do enough for us, they really made our time spent here very special. The food was excellent and always plenty of choice. The rooms were spacious and cleaned to a very high standard. Our 9 year old spent time at the kids club and loved it and our 13 year old was happy as she could get wifi in the lobby and around the pool area. The beach was stunning with plenty of comfy sunbeds and hammocks to relax on. An amazing holiday in a beautiful resort, cannot wait to return to this amazing hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnaud E, Executive Assistant Manager at InterContinental Resort Mauritius, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Dear GlendaMDoncaster,

First of all I would like to thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule (especially with 2 kids!) to share your experience with us.
I am thrilled to read that the whole family had a wonderful time thanks to our beautiful facilities but most importantly the friendliness and genuine caring attitude of our people!

We look forward to welcoming you again in your home away from home!
Warm regards,

Arnaud Esnault
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,475 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    706
    469
    172
    71
    57
See reviews for
361
819
25
66
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Forget the superb restaurants, forget the fantastic food, forget the incredibly good facilities, forget the amazingly well appointed rooms and extremely comfortable bed.

What then?

I had the misfortune of having to have an emergency operation just part way into the holiday.

All the staff from the General Manager to the, for example, gardeners were kindness itself. My wife was given all assistance possible, fruit was sent to me in hospital, and when I returned, a large bunch of exotic flowers were given to me. Staff continually asked about my welfare and I was treated with joy upon my return.

We must return to start our holiday afresh and experience again the pleasure of staying at a hotel in which hospitality should be spelled with a capital 'H'.

All that with the FIFA organisation looming.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnaud E, Executive Assistant Manager at InterContinental Resort Mauritius, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Dear MortonJ296,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with us.
Unfortunately it was not the relaxing holidays you were both so much looking forward to.
I am glad you still managed to go to Reunion Island for the 2nd part of the trip.
You will have to come back to your home away from home.

We wish you Good Health and Happiness.
Warm regards,

Arnaud Esnault
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Great hotel. Excellent Buffett, specially for non vegetarians. Don't know about the lunch as that used be outside while sight seeing but breakfast and dinner spreads are awesome. Was little disappointed with the À la carte as the portions were small. But one thing I loved about place was the ramp off the beach.. Its quite peaceful (the ramp), specially in the night when the sea is silent. You just want to stand there and hear the sea. Its an amazing feeling. I wish I could stay in Mauritius forevaaaa!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnaud E, Executive Assistant Manager at InterContinental Resort Mauritius, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Dear Therese C,

First of all I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your amazing experience with us.
I am thrilled to read that we created a Unique, Authentic, Enriching and Memorable experience for both of you.
We had been in touch prior to your arrival to organize a few little "specials" and I am delighted to find out that it did go above and beyond your expectations.

I am very proud of our team and I will make sure both Cedric and Jay get personally recognized for their fantastic coming from the Heart attitude.

Congratulations for getting engaged whilst staying in Mauritius.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back for your wedding or Honeymoon!!!

Warm regards,

Arnaud Esnault
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Dear Mr Arnaud,
From the bottom of our hearts myself and my partner would like to Thank you for everything you did for us during our stay,
All the Staff & Team at Intercontinental Mauritius made our holiday the most amazing experience for us and created memories that we will keep with us forever.

From the moment we arrived at your beautiful hotel we were absolutely amazed with the beauty of not only the hotel, the scenery but also the genuineness from all the staff we encountered.
Mr Cedric was the first to greet us and I can honestly say I have never met such an amazing staff member at any hotel we have ever stayed at, we were almost in tears of happiness when he was showing us around the ‘Presidential Suite’..
From the moment we walked into the suite we were overwhelmed with how perfect every little detail of the room was. My partner was particularly chuffed with the welcome note on our tv’s.
After showing us the entry/lounge downstairs we proceeded upstairs to the Bedroom where we were greeted with two beautiful swans on the bed with flower petals. Breathtaking.
Mr Cedric then proceeded to show us the balcony which overlooked the bay and hotel grounds, then the bathroom with the awesome bath, we couldn’t believe how beautiful this room was, we felt like royalty!,
When we said we couldn’t believe the room was ours to stay in he replied “you haven’t seen anything yet”, and he was absolutely right we hadn’t seen anything yet!
He then proceeded to show us the balcony number 3! Which included our own private terrace complete with our own outdoor Jacuzzi!. We couldn’t wait to relax in it.
Mr Cedric was an outstanding staff member and He was always there for us whenever we needed information or had a question to ask, he helped us with absolute professionalism and courtesy, and definitely one of the reasons we will be coming back.

How can I forget Mr Jay, Mr Jay was absolutely amazing and gave us that 5* experience we were hoping for.
From the moment we saw the swans on our bed we knew we were going to have an outstanding holiday staying at your hotel.
Every afternoon from leaving the hotel we were greeted back to where we felt at home not only with an immaculately clean room but also with a beautiful creative romantic bed layout, Night 1#- Swans, Night 2# Elephants, Night 3# Rabbits, and on the last night we were greeted with the most romantic bed layout yet, a beautiful love heart shaped flower arrangement and a lovely little note Mr. Jay wrote us. Hopefully upon our return Mr Jay will be looking after us again.

Mr Esnault you have a very dedicated team who all helped us out during our stay,
From Mr Cedric to Mr Jay, the staff at the concierge desk, all the staff who greeted us in the hallways, all the staff at the restaurants, the boatshed staff who took us on a awesome glass bottom boat ride, the waiters who kept our drinks flowing while we were relaxing on the beach or in the pools, we will definitely be coming back.
You all made us feel at home and made our 8Year anniversary holiday one we will remember always.
A thousand Thankyou’s!(Also we got engaged during out stay, my partner proposed on the beach next to segala :) most romantic beach proposal :) ) so we will remember your hotel forever.

We look forward to saving for our next holiday and staying at your hotel.

Thank you

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnaud E, Executive Assistant Manager at InterContinental Resort Mauritius, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Dear Therese C,

First of all I would like to apologize for the delay in replying to your feedback.
Indeed I replied a week back but for some reasons it did not get uploaded on Trip Advisor. Strange things happen sometimes with Internet!!!

Anyway I would like on behalf of the whole team in Mauritius to thank you for your wonderful comments. We are delighted to find out that you had a wonderful time with us thanks to the friendliness of our people and most specifically Cedric and Jay.

We all look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Warm regards,

Arnaud Esnault
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amersham, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Just spent a week in pure paradise, . The hotel has the wow factor, and the staff are out of this world!! really felt special, food was amazing something for everyone. Rooms are luxury and fully cleaned everyday.As I'm disabled they gave us a two roomed suite on the ground floor, so I had easy access to the decking and pool area in a wheelchair. The staff were particularly helpful to me and frequently made sure everything was OK, and if I wanted anything. Mr Arnaud Esnault, the manager went out of his way to make sure I was comfortable, and I can honestly say, I couldn't have been treated better if I had been the Governor of Mauritius.
The one negative point, I was surprised the Hotel has no elevators to access the rooms or foyer, OK if you're young and fit, good exercise. So of benefit to help lose the weight you put on overindulging.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnaud E, Executive Assistant Manager at InterContinental Resort Mauritius, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Dear John A,

First of all I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us.
It was a true pleasure meeting you and Gilles.
I am delighted to read that you had such a memorable moment in Mauritius thanks to the friendliness and attentiveness of all our colleagues.

We all look forward to welcoming you again next year!

Warm regards,

Arnaud Esnault
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

Just spent a week in pure paridise, all inclusive loved it. The hotel has the wow factor, and the staff are out of this world!! really felt special, food was amazing something for everyone. Rooms are luxury and fully cleaned everyday. Bar service is first class Steeven yes with two e's was totally amazing looked after us everyday. The staff really make you feel special, they are really genuine caring people. We go away very regularly and usually I have something bad to add to my review. But this is the first time I can't think of anything bad! Big thanks to Shane for looking after us to!! #seeyouallnextyear

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnaud E, Executive Assistant Manager at InterContinental Resort Mauritius, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Dear steve1south,

A Big thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful experience with us.
I am delighted to read that our people made the difference and especially Steeven from our Bar team and Shane, our Director of Sales and Marketing!

We all look forward to welcoming you again next year!

Warm regards,

Arnaud Esnault
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

I stayed in this place from 14-May-2013 till 20-May-2013 during my honeymoon in Mauritius. Overall, the hotel experience was very good. The staff are friendly, and the hotel itself has a vast beach with activities for all ages. The room was comfortable and the food options are decent. While they have 4 restaurants inside. the restaurant named Senso offers buffet spread for breakfast and dinner. They usually have some events planned out with dinner, which makes it livelier.

I really expected the hotel to offer a free internet service in the room, for the price paid by us, but unfortunately this was not the case. Also, if you are booking rooms with terrace jacuzzi, please note that these kind of rooms typically dont have a great view of the sea. So, you might want to decide first on what is more important for you- An ocean view or the Jacuzzi.

Room Tip: Not all ocean facing rooms with terrace jacuzzi, actually have the ocean view. There are lot of tree...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnaud E, Executive Assistant Manager at InterContinental Resort Mauritius, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Dear Chandrashekar S,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with us.
I am glad to read that overall you had a great Honeymoon with us thanks to the quality of our facilities and the friendliness of our staff.
Kindly be informed that we just installed the WiFi throughout the Resort and that WiFi is free of charge in all public areas.
Moreover as of July all Gold and Platinum IHG Rewards Club Members (IHG Loyalty Program) will receive free Internet during their stay as part of their benefits. This will be extended to all members as of 2014 so please join the Club!!!

All our rooms are sea facing. We have started a trimming program to enhance the views from our guest rooms. Our Gardeners are currently trimming all coconut trees and it will take some time before the whole Resort is covered.

Warm regards,

Arnaud Esnault
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Resort Mauritius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Resort Mauritius

Address: Balaclava Fort, Coastal Rd, Balaclava, Mauritius
Phone Number:
Location: Mauritius > Pamplemousses District > Balaclava
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Balaclava
#4 Spa Hotel in Balaclava
#4 Luxury Hotel in Balaclava
#4 Romantic Hotel in Balaclava
#4 Family Hotel in Balaclava
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Resort Mauritius 5*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort is located on one of the most pristine stretches of beach overlooking Balaclava, Mauritius. Offering 210 well-appointed rooms including 10 presidential suites, 40 family-type, 20 Jacuzzi rooms, 20 Executive rooms with free WiFi and 120 standard rooms. Facilities include: 3 bars, 5 restaurants, 2 swimming pools including one heated pool, 8 massage rooms, a unique private island, Planet Trekkers kids club, recreational activities, tennis court, 4 meeting rooms & 1 ballroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Despegar.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your InterContinental Resort Mauritius reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Mauritius Resort, Balaclava Fort Hotel Balaclava
Intercontinental Hotel Mauritius
Intercontinental Hotel Balaclava
InterContinental Resort Mauritius Balaclava

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Resort Mauritius, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.