We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to vacation in Mauritius” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Resort Mauritius

Save Saved
You added InterContinental Resort Mauritius to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
InterContinental Resort Mauritius
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Balaclava Fort, Coastal Rd, Balaclava, Mauritius   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Members Get Up to 35% Off
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Balaclava
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great place to vacation in Mauritius”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

The Intercontinental Resort Balaclava was an amazing experience. We when there on our Honeymoon & were over whelmed with the location, the staff, the room & the food. The ocean view was amazing ... as soon as we stepped out off our room we were on the beach ... the house keeping staff were excellent & very prompt with room service, the food was amazing if you were a non - vegetarian & the property of the hotel was spectacular ... we spent 6 days & had a blast ... great place to vacation at ... Can't wait to go there again :)

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnaud E, Executive Assistant Manager at InterContinental Resort Mauritius, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Dear Ruzeveh,

Thank you so much for your lovely comments regarding your Hoenymoon trip to Mauritius.
I am thrilled to find out that you had such an amazing experience thanks to our facilities, but first and foremost thanks to our friendly and dedicated staff.

We look forward to welcoming you next year for your 1st wedding anniversary!

Kind regards,

Arnaud Esnault
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    557
    387
    143
    66
    46
See reviews for
305
669
17
57
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

I stayed at Intercontinental for 6 nights from 21oct 12 , overall very good stay,
Checkin: the checkin was quite efficient and was done in less than 10 minutes.

Room :the room we stayed was deluxe Ocean facing category on the ground floor , quite spacious and functional the sofa bed was quite convienient for our 7 yr old son, however there were some small misses which are not expected at 5 star luxury hotels and the carpet rug was not so clean , there was no bathroom mats so everytime you come out of the bathroom , the floor in the rooms gets wet by your wet feet. the glass door in the washroom was quite creaky and made lots of noise.
Food : was generally good and everyday there was new variety for Dinner , breakfast was also good but lacked variety specially in Fruit options , only pineapple and Papaya and melon and occasionally banana's , no match to standards of hotels in Asia in food variety.
Service & Staff : Room service and Housekeeping service was generally good .the managerial and supervisor staff are very good and warm but most of the waiters and other service staff were quite stressed and lacked in the ettiquette and were not very hospitable or serviceoriented, specially in the bar , on occasions would not listen even asking 3-4 times .. this i noticed was particular in their behaviour towards Asians..
although the 40% of the guests were from Asia and India.
i think Intercontinental really needs to make their staff understand that service standard shouldnot be altered by the nationality , sooner they understand this reality better it is for the hotel.
The staff at the boat house were also quite lazy were usually discouraging people from undertaking the free activities like Water ski , windsurfing with comments like 90% of the people get hurt , sea is quite choppy today, for windsurfing you need to stay for 30days????

overall good property, good facilities , the kids room was excellent , the caretaker was excellent , good for the kids , food overall is good , lots of activities to do , only marred by some poor level staff who are gruffy , not hospitable and unwelcoming, some thing which you dont want to encounter during your holidays..

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnaud E, Executive Assistant Manager at InterContinental Resort Mauritius, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Dear Rhsingh,

It was a real pleasure having you and your family staying with us.
I thank you for sharing your constructive feedback.
I have well noted your comments regarding the housekeeping (missing bath mat), food and beverage (staff attitude) and the boat house.
Kindly be assured that Mauritius being a multicultural country, we celebrate difference on a daily basis and provide the same level of service to all our esteemed guests. However I take on board your experience and will share it with our people to change this perception.

I hope to have the honor to welcome you and your family again so that we can offer you a Unique & Authentic experience.

Best regards,

Arnaud Esnault
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malalane
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Walking into the breathtaking lobby of Intercontinental Balaclava Fort at sunset and welcomed by a refreshingly cool breeze, we looked forward to an amazing 10 day holiday on an all inclusive package. With rumbling stomachs, Raj offered to make a dinner reservation on our behalf at one of the resorts' four restaurants, Noble House. Here a shy yet friendly Gilles, welcomed us to where, yet unbeknown to us, an unforgettable culinary experience awaited us. We were offered the set menu and were impressed so much, that we made our booking for the same time and place for our second night. After a good night’s rest in our luxurious room, decorated tastefully while still exuding a feeling of calm and tranquillity, we woke up to a sunny Mauritius.
Travelling alongside our newlywed family and honeymoon couple, we were eager to show them the Paradise Island, as this is our umpteenth holiday to this destination! You can never get enough of a good thing hey!
Our first stop in Grand Baie was as always, Ebrahim Tours, where we rented a car, might I ad, hassle free. Shopping in Mauritius is always a wonderful experience as exclusive brands are available in almost every shop at a much more affordable price than normally available in stores. For those who are looking for a more exquisite and exclusive range of clothing in superb fabrics, make sure to visit L'IN in the high street of Grand Baie. While you will feel like a million dollars in their designs, it won't break the bank and you could even walk out with extreme end of range bargains!!
Back at our hotel we were treated to yet another mouth watering meal at Noble House. As we had booked to go deep sea fishing the next day, we enquired about the possibility of bringing back our fresh catch and enjoying sashimi in the restaurant. As with all requests to the staff at Noble House, nothing was too much trouble and it was up to us to deliver something for our plates!
We set out On Lady Diana at the crack of dawn and were impressed by the level of skill and endurance displayed by skipper Michael and his crew. We were lucky enough to catch three Tuna and two Dorado and also hooking what the skipper estimated as a 450-500kg marlin. The sad faces on board, telling of the once in a lifetime experience which had eluded us as the grander disappeared back into the deep blue ocean.
At least we still had our tuna.
Arriving back at Noble House, waiter Vincent surname, showed us to our table situated in the alfresco dining area on the wooden deck outside the restaurant.
Bathed in fairy lights, you do feel like you are part of a romantic novel and at the same a celebrity seated in the best spot in the house! This was also the moment we met the chef who were to create the unforgettable gastronomic surprises awaiting us the next week. Vedish Purdassee suggested some menu options with our tuna but we left it to his expertise. Excited by the challenge, he left for the kitchen to create our first dish, a selection of Nigiri followed by Maki and sashimi. The highlight, however, came on a plate of seared tuna accompanied by a side of curried noodles. The bar was set and Vedish had his work cut out for him with us, a mesmerized crowd! This was the first of many superb creations to follow with restaurant owner Pravin, giving chef Vedish the creative freedom to create a special menu for us every night.
If you have ever dined in an all inclusive buffet restaurant, I think you'd agree, this was heaven sent. No queues! No crowding! No competing for a table every meal, just the perfect meal in the perfect setting, night after night.
We were treated like royalty every night, but the highlight was definitely our last evening when we were escorted to our table on the beach, laid by waiter Eshan, decorated with tropical flowers and linen swans. Candles reflecting the waves just meters away. To top it all, Sega dancers dressed in traditional floral dress and their accompanying band set the mood. A celebration of love, flavour, sound and the sand beneath your feet. Equilibrium.....
While planning our holiday, some Internet sites had described Intercontinental as a less relaxing hotel, but be assured, you can still let your hair down and enjoy a sultry Arabian Nights party at the disco, have too many cocktails at the pool bar and even have a laugh with the staff members who are always ready with a smile and a helping hand.
A special thanks to Chef Vedish who went out of his way to create magic on our palates every night and owner Pravin for allowing us to enjoy such an experience. Also to Raj, Vincent, Gilles and Eshan Thank you for your great service and friendliness throughout our stay!

Ps. Try the Ambassador breakfast at Segala - excellent when the chef gives it his best shot!
The gym is well equipped with a breathtaking view and spa treatments are fabulous.
A last suggestion! Book your catamaran cruises with Ebrahim Tours and ask for Calypso to Gabrielle. Experience this for yourself!
What's not to love - an unforgettable holiday!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnaud E, Executive Assistant Manager at InterContinental Resort Mauritius, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Dear Mara J,

Thank you so much for your wonderful comments regarding your recent Honeymoon trip to Mauritius.
It was a real pleasure to have you with us and I am extremely proud of our team members from Noble House who made your stay Unique, Authentic and Enriching.

We all look forward to welcoming you again in your home away from home and hopefully this time you can catch your Marlin!

Warm regards,

Arnaud Esnault
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
india
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We stayed at the Intercontinental for 3 nights. My observations are as below:
Rooms-The rooms are superb. We took an ocean view double room, and the sofa bed was ideal for our 10 year old son. The room is spacious and very well made and modern.However, the tv remote seems to function only when you stand near the tv. Can't change channels otherwise! Another thing is that they didn't provide multi-pin adapters for gadgets that don't fit into their electric sockets, despite requests.
Swimming- There is a heated swimming pool apart from the regular one, which is nice, since it was quite cool there. Moreover, the pools are not very deep, and so you can leave your kids in them without worrying.
Dining- The food is pretty good in the buffet with some eggless and veg varieties for us veggies. I had read reviews earlier of sparrows hopping around during breakfast, which was true, but not irritating at all. However, the Veda restaurant was a disappointment. Also all the chairs in both the Veda restaurant and the Senso buffet had stains on their fabric. They desperately need changing. The Segala restaurant was quite good and clean.
Service- Prompt and courteous, though we didn't get that multi pin adapter!
Beach- Very nice and scenic. The boat house is good and Jean there is very friendly, strumming up tunes on his guitar.
Overall a very nice stay. Would recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnaud E, Executive Assistant Manager at InterContinental Resort Mauritius, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Dear rsinath,

First of all I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us.
I am delighted to read that you and your family had a great time and enjoyed our facilities and the friendliness of Jean Pierre from the Boat House. He is a great guitar player!!!
I do apologize for the lack of follow up regarding the plug adapter as it should have been made available upon your request.
I am sorry to read that your experience of Veda was not satisfactory, but glad that Segala was great!

I hope to have the pleasure to welcome you and your family again.

Warm regards,

Arnaud Esnault
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

I am still in the ic mauritius. Had a beautyful week. Was an all inclusive formula. Food was perfect and also the drinks;) although i am not drninking alcohol but i love the non alcoholic cocktails baby colada and dolphin. Staff in the hotel is very kind. They speak perfect english and french. The spa is also nice. I really can recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnaud E, Executive Assistant Manager at InterContinental Resort Mauritius, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Dear raphstar,

Thank you so much for taking the time during your vacation to post your comments.
I am delighted to read that you enjoy your stay with us and most specifically the delicious mocktails prepared by our bar team!

Enjoy the rest of your holidays with us in Mauritius!!!
Best regards,

Arnaud Esnault
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

The Intercontinental Resort Balaklava offers a good standard five star accomodation for tourists in the west coast of Mauritius just north of Port Louis. The property was built about 3 years ago and has an horizontal layout that results in some rooms being quite far from the lobby. In general the service is of good quality. I found that the rooms in the lower floors were a bit dark and damp (humidity in the walls due to construction faults) but management quickly changed me to a much better upstairs room. The food in the asian restaurant is excellent, average in the indian restaurant, ok in the main dining room (buffet) where several enterntainment activities are organized throughout the week. The rooms are spacious and well appointed, with small balconies that are inviting to watch the sunset. Another reviewer comments on the mosquitoes, which exist but the hotel management has been careful to spray constantly so I never had a problem with that. The beach is quite nice, and the pools are fine (a small heated pool and a large non-heated pool). Due to the location this is not a good business hotel but for tourists this is an excellent location in the west coast.

Room Tip: First or second floor better than lower floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnaud E, Executive Assistant Manager at InterContinental Resort Mauritius, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Dear Juan_in_Pretoria,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us. I am glad to read that we were able to relocate you during your stay in an upper floor room. I also take this opportunity to let you know that we are currently testing a new technology to remove the humidity from our bedroom walls on the ground floor level. The results so far are very promising!
I am glad you enjoyed the food prepared by our Chef Vedish from Noble House restaurant (Asian Fusion).

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again in Mauritius.
Warm regards,

Arnaud Esnault
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Best resturant is noble house followed by the Indian restaurant. The staff were excellent. In the buffet, commendations go to Pamela and veeshna.

For a five star hotel we were very shocked to see, one of the vanity basin had a crack right through it. And sharp edges that could easly cut someone.
The shower leaked into the toilet.
The cups in the bathroom were plastic and cracked
The fridge wasn't cold. ( which was replaced after three days)

We were promised by four different people that we would be given an anniversary cake, which we never got.
We were also promised an upgrade, which we never got.

Our rooms were not made up till 3.30-4 pm, each day.

There are no shuttles to take you to grand brae or port lois and they should be provided as there is no access to transport utter than taxis which worked out very costly.
1800 rupee -$60.00 each time.

While we were waiting for our bags to be picked up from our room, we were phoned by a woman from front reception, who in a very abrupt and rude manner,- told us that we should have been down in reception half an hour ago. We were under the understanding that we were to wait till our bags got picked up. She was very rude.

In saying that there are staff here that are just lovely. And go above and beyond. We hope they are appreciated.

The hotel is a long way from anywhere. If you are wanting solitude, then maybe this is the one for you.

Would I stay here again. No.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnaud E, at InterContinental Resort Mauritius, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
Dear Jen386,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us and for your constructive feedback.
I am delighted to read that you enjoyed the food of both our Asian Fusion and Indian restaurants. I am also extremely pleased to find out that some of our staff members made the difference thanks to their smile and friendliness.
All our rooms are inspected prior to check in by our Housekeeping management and it is unacceptable to see that some technical issues were not fixed prior to your arrival. Kindly be assured that we a Preventive Maintenance Management plan in place that will be reinforced following your comments.
I would like to present my sincere apologies for the lack of follow up from our side especially regarding the anniversary cake.
It is true that our resort is quite secluded as most of the Resorts in the area. Taxis are available at a cost that also includes up to 4 hours of stand by wherever you go, service that you would not get with public transport.

I thank you one more time for taking the time to share your comments and experience with us and hope to have the pleasure to see you again in Mauritius!

Warm regards,

Arnaud Esnault
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Resort Mauritius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Resort Mauritius

Address: Balaclava Fort, Coastal Rd, Balaclava, Mauritius
Phone Number:
Location: Mauritius > Pamplemousses District > Balaclava
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Balaclava
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Balaclava
#3 Luxury Hotel in Balaclava
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Resort Mauritius 5*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort is located on one of the most pristine stretches of beach overlooking Balaclava, Mauritius. Offering 210 well-appointed rooms including 10 presidential suites, 40 family-type, 20 Jacuzzi rooms, 20 Executive rooms with free WiFi and 120 standard rooms. Facilities include: 3 bars, 5 restaurants, 2 swimming pools including one heated pool, 8 massage rooms, a unique private island, Planet Trekkers kids club, recreational activities, tennis court, 4 meeting rooms & 1 ballroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, IHG, Tingo, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your InterContinental Resort Mauritius reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Mauritius Resort, Balaclava Fort Hotel Balaclava
Intercontinental Hotel Mauritius
Intercontinental Hotel Balaclava
InterContinental Resort Mauritius Balaclava

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Resort Mauritius, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;