We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NOT 5star quality!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Paradise Cove Boutique Hotel

Save Saved
You added Paradise Cove Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Paradise Cove Boutique Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Royal Road, Anse La Raie, Mauritius   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Anse La Raie
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“NOT 5star quality!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

I feel I have to inform visitors that this resort does not live up to the expectations - we were extremely disappointed with the room and the food in general. Not providing drinking water at a 5star establishment, is unacceptable, to say the least!! We were on a half board basis, and therefore had to pay for all drinks, even water, at exhorbitant prices! Also the food was not of the quality one would expect from an upmarket hotel and spa, and presented quite poorly and unattractively. I will not recommend this resort, especially not at the rate that they charge!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H0tels_Management, Raoul Maurel at Paradise Cove Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are very sorry that you were disappointed with your dining experience at the Paradise Cove Hotel & Spa.

We understand that each experience is very personal and that our boutique hotel may have been different from other hotels you stayed in the past.

However we take good note of your comments regarding the food and would like to take this opportunity to get more feedback on what could be improved in our food offering. As such, we would welcome your suggestions on this and any other items where we could improve our guest experience (gr@pcove.mu).

The Paradise Cove Hotel & Spa boasts an international clientele and guests feedback us to make their stay even more memorable.

Best regards,

Raoul Maurel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

757 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    519
    139
    50
    29
    20
See reviews for
33
619
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We stayed here for a week in January. It was a perfect place to relax. The setting is beautiful- with Palm trees and Individual huts overlooking the sea to sunbath. The staff were very friendly and organised all our tours. The only complaint we had was the restaurant. For such a lovely place- we thought the food was a bit average.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H0tels_Management, Raoul Maurel at Paradise Cove Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear Laura,

We thank you for your warm review on our hotel and personnel as well as your comment on our restaurants.

We always do our utmost to meet the expectations of our international clientele and would be happy to know your suggestions in this matter (could we kindly ask of you to send us your feedback at gr@pcove.mu).

We would be pleased to welcoming you again in our boutique Hotel,

Best regards

Raoul Maurel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

This is the ideal place for a romantic getaway. The small boutique hotel has its own private beach, lots of peaceful places to sunbath or sit in the shade. The food was lovely and a choice of three resturants so plenty to choose from. Great pool, plenty of water sports. Staff were very happy to help and friendly. Staff at the bar were friendly and happy to entertain us with jokes and games. We were here for our last week of our honeymoon and it was the perfect place to relax after two hectic weeks travelling. When we arrived there were not many guests but the middle of our week the hotel filled up but it still did not feel crowded. We booked all inclusive and I would recommend this. Our room was lovely we looked out onto the cove, beautiful. We did feel very special and were looked after very well. We always managed to get sunbeds or a cozy love nest everyday at anytime of the day. A truly wonderful end to our honeymoon. We would recommend Paradise cove.

Room Tip: Our room was looking up the cove, lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H0tels_Management, Raoul Maurel at Paradise Cove Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Teresa,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to review our boutique Hotel and sharing your kind words with other travelers on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to know we met your expectations and are flattered by your recommendation: an honeymoon is a journey of a lifetime.

We are glad you had a great time while staying at The Paradise Cove Hotel & Spa and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon,

Kind regards,

Raoul Maurel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

We needed at holiday destination for a recovery holiday for myself & husband as I had had cancer treatment over 9 months last year completing end Nov. I was to return to work beg Feb & we wanted somewhere to go to in Januray to completey rest & relax. The Paradise Cove Spa Hotel was just that place & was truly glorious. Despite the long journey to Mauritius it was well worth it & the hotel location was stunning. We found it very quiet & peaceful & the staff extremerly kind & gentle in their approach. Our room was beautiful with a glorious view. We felt revived after a wonderful week - could have stayed longer! We would love to go back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H0tels_Management, Raoul Maurel at Paradise Cove Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are deeply touched by your testimony and my team joins me to thank you for your nice comment.

To have been able to contribute to your recovery is just a reward for us.

We hope to see you soon at Paradise Cove Hotel & Spa,

Kind regards

Raoul Maurel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We did not stay at the hotel but had tow dinners at their Italian restaurant. Very good food and very good value for money. Wonderful setting and ver efficient and friendly staff. The first night we had a table on the beach and the second evening because of rain we sat inside.

Room Tip: Worth a visit
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bingley, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

WE had two fantastic weeks at Paradise Cove, this romantic boutique hotel provided the perfect relaxing getaway holiday that we were looking for. the staff are fantastic and will go out of their way to ensure you have all you need.
Our holiday was made special by Reshma, she ensured we had first class service from breakfast through to the evening when she went off duty.
We took the all inclusive option which from previous experience of Mauritius was the best value, we sampled all the restaurants and if the menu was not all to our taste the restaurant manager was always to hand to suggest off menu options from which we could select. I would recommend Paradise Cove if you are looking for a quiet romantic holiday with excellent service.

Room Tip: All rooms are with a sea view but go for a first floor Junior Suite as these have great views over t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H0tels_Management, Raoul Maurel at Paradise Cove Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Anthony and Anne,

All the personnel of the Paradise Cove Hotel & Spa join me in thanking you for your nice words on our boutique hotel and the quality of our service.

It was a pleasure to welcoming you for your wedding anniversary and we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed this very special moment while staying with us.

Reshma was especially happy to have been able to make your stay memorable.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kind regards

Raoul Maurel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

If you're looking for a small boutique hotel for a romantic getaway,l in a unique location then the PARADISE COVE HOTEL AND SPA is for you.
It is tucked away in a cove with small private beach, you can step out of your room in the mornings onto the beach for an early morning swim.

There are three restaurants and a cosy bar/ lounge area to relax in.
The Bikini beach restaurant has awesome views towards Gunners Quoin island and they serve great light lunches from there. If you would like sea food with a unique dining experience overlooking the waters of the cove then La Cocoteraie is for you, but they have limited capacity so book when when you check in. We ate here for two our nights , it was fantastic.
The main restaurant is the La Belle Creole and they do a different themed dinner every night which is combo of an a'la carte and buffet. We stayed here for a week and there was more than enough variety , the food is generally a combo of Indian , Mauritian and French style. The drinks are slightly on the pricy side, there is a good selection of International wines as well as cocktails which are mainly made with rum and vodka.

Every evening they have a different form of entertainment , the Wednesday night Mauritian dancing on the beach, preceded by cocktails in the Bikini Bar/ restaurant was great fun.

Breakfast was outstanding , and we looked forward to the basket of freshly baked croissants and pastries as well as the pancakes. Watch how Anoo the lady who makes the omelettes cracks her eggs with one hand , it is truly amazing to watch.

The swimming pool area was never crowded even though we were told the hotel was full. We did not participate in the water sports but they have most activities on offer , including kite surfing.

The staff were extremely attentive and friendly , special mention to Kunal, Michael , John, Bravish , they are all superb, I cannot name them all, but they are well trained , professional , and are always there when you need them.

We stayed in a Pondicherry room which was spacious and comfortable, all rooms have external patio is with outdoor furniture for you relax with some coffee and read your book.

The only negative point is the WIFI, you have to continually enter the password once it has gone to sleep , which we found very frustrating, and to make it worse the user name and password are not very user friendly , they need to move with the times and make their WIFI more accessible to their discerning guests, as unfortunately one gets the impression that they don't want you to use their WIFI.

The hotel is also rather isolated , it is not easy to walk out of the hotel grounds on the roads as there is no shoulder on the side of the road, and you have to be aware of the busses and cars that come hurtling around the corners.We experienced this when we walked to the nearby CAP MALHEUREUX CHAPEL.

We stayed for a week and felt completely relaxed when we left , thanks to all the staff for making our stay so memorable , we will definitely return one day.

Room Tip: TIP - if you like sleeping with your doors open rather request a room on the 1st or 2nd floor with a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H0tels_Management, Raoul Maurel at Paradise Cove Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Steven,

On behalf of all Paradise Cove Hotel & Spa team, we would like to thank you for your very positive comment.

Regarding the WIFI, please note that the company in charge of this system is actually working on it and will find a solution very soon.

We look forward to welcoming you again in our hotel,

Kind regards,

Raoul Maurel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Paradise Cove Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Cove Boutique Hotel

Address: Royal Road, Anse La Raie, Mauritius
Location: Mauritius > Riviere du Rempart District > Anse La Raie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Anse La Raie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Paradise Cove Boutique Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
you&me moments in Mauritius... Situated on the north coast of Mauritius, at Anse la Raie, the Paradise Cove Boutique Hotel is the ideal address for a relaxed holiday in very private and intimate surroundings. It is an adult exclusive hotel (from 18 years old onwards) thus guaranteeing a peaceful and tranquil holiday.Paradise Cove, a 67 rooms boutique hotel, nestled in a beautiful tropical garden, combines harmoniously the Mauritian traditionalarchitecture and contemporary exotic decoration. The refined atmosphere is conveyed by the open spaces bathed in sunlight.The hotel allows each one to enjoy peacefully the beauty and character of the spot, to combine exotic activities and pleasures of thisday and age. Those fond of intimate havens will choose the cove and its numerous love nests to share moments together. At the tip,the peninsula with its new infinity pool overlooking the turquoise lagoon offers a spectacular view on the northern islands; its Peninsula restaurant and bar is a real invitation to those looking for a vibrant and trendy atmosphere by the sea.Numerous nautical and land activities are available. There are four restaurants, offering a variety of tastes in paradisiacal and very intimate set ups, for a unique ‘Dine Around’ experience. At sunset, live acoustic music and piano-bar are an absolute guarantee of a nice evening within a convivial atmosphere.All of this together with its attentive and smiling staff, its personalized service, its Club Lounge and Spa, Paradise Cove Boutique Hotel is the place where you&me can choose to discover the hotel and its surroundings, to hideaway, to meet others or to do as much or as little, as ‘we’ wish… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Paradise Cove Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Cove Hotel Anse La Raie
Paradise Cove Mauritius
Hotel Paradise Cove
Paradise Cove Boutique Hotel Mauritius/Anse La Raie

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paradise Cove Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.