We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs a serious cleaning” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Mac's Drive-In

Mac's Drive-In
1166 Waterloo-Geneva Rd, Waterloo, NY
315 539 3064
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 32 Restaurants in Waterloo
Restaurant details
CNY
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Needs a serious cleaning”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Took my kids for lunch while shopping at the Outlets. The food is nothing special- burgers, dogs-everything cooked on the griddle or fryer. Prices are cheap so you can't expect much. There is a bit of nostalgia about the place.
My big issue was how filthy the entire establishment is- it looked like it had not had a good cleaning since opening in 1961. The place is "vintage", true, but that does not mean it has to be dirty.
And to top it all off, an employee did actually start cleaning a disgusting ceiling fan that was over the counter- while we were sitting at the counter eating!!! Bits of crap where floating all over-
I had to ask him to please wait until we were done and gone. Weird.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    24
    5
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auburn, NY
1 review
“Food and Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

I have been going to Mac's for 5 years and I have never gotten bad food or bad service. Those young people work very hard to please the public and they do a dam good job, besides Mac's must be doing something right for them because most keep coming back to work there.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilton NH
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Reliving childhood memories”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

This place was just like when my parents took us to the drive in as kids. We actually ate here twice and got burgers & pizza, service was fast and friendly. Actually met one of the brothers who started it 53 years ago. This will be a regular stop every time we come back here

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A blast from the past”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Always good food and friendly service! Food is fresh and inexpensive. Two burgers, two orders of fries, one order of onion rings and two large drinks in FROSTED mugs...a little over $11... And that included tax! Ice cream is delicious, too. Counter service, a few tables, and drive-up service to your car. It is a really cool place. Kids love having the condiments brought out in a little tray. Try it!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Like stepping back in time!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

This is a drive in from yesteryear! Car side service with a smile and some of the best burger fare we have had in a while. These are good old fashioned burgers not fancy pants gourmet one. Fantastic root beer!!! The building looks as though it hasn't been changed since it opened and that is a good thing. Good food + good service = return customers.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mac's Drive-In also viewed

Waterloo, Finger Lakes
Waterloo, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Mac's Drive-In? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mac's Drive-In, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.