We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for, but not as bad as others say” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Cinderella Beach Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in El Quseir
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cinderella Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   27 Km South El Quseir City, El Quseir, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 10 hotels in El Quseir
Sheffield
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for, but not as bad as others say”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2008

I booked the Cinderella Beach as a last minute break for me and my 11 year old daughter, wanting somewhere hot, all inclusive and on the beach. I've visited Egypt several times before but never this area.

I read the reviews, some good, some bad and decided to risk it anyway, and I'm glad I did. The hotel certainly needs some upgrading, especially needs aircon in the reception area, and the units in the rooms are noisy and not very cold, but after 2 or 3 days they are sufficient as you get used to it.

The hotel was full of Germans, no Russians as previous reviews said, and only about 10 British guests, but generally everyone rubbed along quite nicely. Moomoo the only member of the animation team speaks loads of languages and works really hard to ensure the people who want to join in have fun, but no hassle from him to get you involved.

Food is not 5* but you have not paid 5* prices, and only on 2 lunchtimes did we struggle to enjoy the food.

Drinks, wine was actually not bad compared to other Egyptian hotels, and sweet talk the waiters and they'll happily serve bigger measures.

I was never once pestered for tips, staff were extremely friendly and did a really good job. Although the pool boy could do with learning a bit more about keeping his pool a bit cleaner...

A few people had dodgy stomachs and moaned incessantly to anyone who'd listed, but we were fine. I've been ill each time I've visited Egypt and just accept that this is probably normal when going from 18 degree in the UK to 40+ in Egypt.

The excursions were overpriced - £50 each for a snorkelling trip with lunch - same thing about £25 in Sharm. Rep (Nasser) not the best in the world but did an adequate job.

Don't visit this hotel if you are picky about your food, expect cocktail hour, lots of entertainment and shopping, but if you just want to chill out in the sun and enjoy the snorkelling maybe you'll be ok. I would not visit the Cinderella Beach again unless it was upgraded with better access into the sea - there are better hotels on the coast (next door the Acacia Swiss Resort) but they do cost more, so you decide.

Hi to Jayne & Phillip, it was good meeting you, we enjoyed spending the week with you guys - I hope the taxi was waiting for you.

If anyone wants more info please feel free to contact me and I'll try to help.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — no aircon in public rooms
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    11
    39
    28
    16
    14
See reviews for
16
38
8
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ayr, Scotland
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2008

I have just returned from the worst holiday I have ever had. This place is a joke! The rep 'Nasser' told me that I was the first person in 13 years to ask for 'diet' soft drinks. I find that unbeleivable. Both myself and my wife are diabetic. We could not take advatage of the 'all inclusive' aspect. After the first three days I was fed up drinking water. The rep said that diet drinks were 'unavailable'. When I offered to pay for them, they suddenly became available. He got me 24 cans within 2 hours!. After 11 days the bar stocked 'Pepsi Max but they wanted 1 euro a can. That works out at more than twice the price of buying it from a local supermarket! Absolutely no entertainment. 'Games Room' had a table tennois table and a pool table. Air condition units had no refridgerant in them so were ineffective. Towels were dirty. Pool was very dirty.
Pleasde give it a wide berth.

  • Liked — Nothing!
  • Disliked — Everything!
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north wales
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2008

What can I say?? you pay for what you get and I didn't expect 4 or 5 star but this place is 2 at best........most of the folks had sickness and well free colonics! the food is awful inedible and suspect, the staff are trying to do their best with what management tell them and the substandard food available sort of trying to "making a silk purse out of a camels ear" they angle for tips at every turn and you are constantly bothered on the beach by local tour guides touting trips, camel/horse rides annoying when this occurs on a daily basis I honestly think the pool is part of the problem never did I see it being checked for contaminates and the area manager kept hiding from guest's complaining. The snorkling is the best part of the trip it is beautiful but this can be found in many other places than here......my advice pay a bit extra for a better hotel and give cinderella a miss it needs closing down and is nothing but a health hazard.

  • Liked — snorkling
  • Disliked — food
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2008

The hotel was advertised as a 4 star all inclusive hotel. In my view it was no more than a 2 star hotel. The rooms are a reasonable size but require upgrading. There were several power cuts each day and night, probably to conserve energy.

The staff are friendly and helpful but need training and the hotel needs inward investment. The food was limited and the standard suspect. A lot of the crockery was badly stained and some chipped, cracked and dirty. The cutlery was limited and not always availble.
The bar was poor and ran out of soft drinks, beer, spirits and glasses each day.

There was a lot of sickness and diorea among the guests during our seven day stay at this hotel. It was not a good experience and I would not recommend this hotel.

Look for a genuine 4 star hotel before booking your holiday. More details can be provided if required.

David. Bristol

  • Liked — the beach
  • Disliked — the food, the drinks, the way the hotel is operated.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newark
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2008

The first impression that you get is via the travel rep, in our case he was helpful and tried his utmost to ensure we were informed of the issues that might arise over our fortnight. He went in to great detail explaining how to avoid illness that might be picked up due to the change of culture. A very helpful gentleman.


The hotel itself is basic to say the least, but the majority of the staff go out of there way to ensure that you end up with a loving memory of your stay. The first couple of days they seemed a little withdrawn but once they get to know you they are a pleasure to associate with you and love to chat.

The all inclusive bar opens at 10am and closes at midnight and at first you have to sign for drinks but we asked if the vodka and cokes that we were drinking were free and was told that they were. These were free flowing over the entire stay at the hotel apart from 1 night when they ran out of vodka. The staff were always pleasant with 2 exceptions. The chefs did there best to put out quality food but with such a seemingly small budget the style was similar night on night, however we asked if we could have a plate of chips and the chefs cooked these to order at no extra cost, superb.

The hotel as a business needs to spend a few quid on some aspects to make the guests stay more enjoyable, such as gas pesticides to reduce insect bites in the evening, a small pier to enable access to the deep water beyond the coral to reduce risk of injury, update the restaurant with air conditioning, insecticides around the bar restaurant near the beach front, and update the air con in the rooms as ours was quite noisy. They also need to ensure that the hotels power supply is updated as the electric goes off up to 7 times daily but only for a minute or so whilst a second gererator is started. The management also should consider opening a second bar that is already in situ in the evening so that you can sit on the beachfront without having to walk 40 yards to get further refreshments.

The entertainment was poor to say the least. Not once over the course of 2 weeks did the entertainment team speak to us, maybe due to the lack of English, however this was not the case for visitors from the rest of Europe. The best entertainment of the whole week was when the waiters and chefs did a surprise birthday cake for a guest and sung, danced and involved everyone in the restaurant with the celebration, awesome and unforgettable.

Cheap and cheerful without doubt. A wonderful experience of the true culture of the most modest and friendly hardworking people, definitely.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northampton
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2008

we visited cinderella beach as a cheap last minnute deal for two weeks. Initially we were quite nervous, as the hotel was very quiet, and two weeks is a long time to spend in such a remote location, which it is! BUt this holiday was great, The be3ach had the most amazing house reef! Pool was ok clean, with enough sun loungers. MY boyfriend diod the padi open water course at the neighbouring hotel which is 5 star, and when you do this you can use that hotels facillities. If you are into diving a trip to abu dabeeb is a must, as we got to see a dugong(sea cow 3m long)

The diving wasn't cheap. I am qualified and I paid £40 per dive. The padi open water course worked out to be £320.

Food was average for egypt. avoided the meat as it was poor quality. Was good the first week, but a bit repetitive. Fed up with it by the 2nd week.

There were no problems with any of the all nclusive drinks. They give you free bottled water. spirits were good wine poor.

Advice get your currency out there from the hotel next doors cash point as you get a better exchange rate, plus all the prices in Marsa alam were in euros so we were often finding ourselves working out euros into egyptian pounds back into english pounds.

  • Liked — cleanliness
  • Disliked — air conditioning only going to 16degrees
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helensvale, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2008

My partner and i booked our holiday as a lastminute deal and when we booked were offered a choice of 2 hotels. Cinderella Beach or Utopia. We opted for Cinderella beach as it seemed a better deal, would get a 4 star all inclusive hotel with a 'sea view' room.
Overall the hotel resort is pleasant but there are some areas for improvement.

The hotel is more a standard 3 star with the perk of having drinks included in the package. Our sea view room was that if you looked to the right and in front and to the left was wasteland!!
But we did get a better sea view room than others who had rooms looking over the pool that were still classed as sea view!!

Some waiting staff were nice and friendly, others were just plain rude! Ignored requests at the bar, refused to serve more than one drink at a time. Stated bar was shut 10 mins before it was actually due to close for the evening.

The restaurant 'ran out' of red wine at meal time - was offered a rose alternative that tasted clearly off / past its use by date.
The wine glasses were smaller than the average glass but the serving was half a glass - just about a mouthful!! So kept the waiters busy with requesting refills!!

Food was a bit boring at times, alot of food in a tomato sauce.

Had to talk to the hotel manager twice during our 7 day stay to inform him of the minor problems that kept arising duing out holiday.
Manager was apologetic but could not see much improvement in the following days.

Suffered with upset stomachs - drank bottled water and used fresh lemon juice on on salads etc (as advised by our rep to get rid of any risk of parasites! )

Coffee / tea cups werent washed properly - staff were seen rinsing the cups in a bowl of water .

There was evening entertainment but just on one evening , the rest of the time was either sat at the bar, playing pool or sitting in room watching tv.
The hotel was in the middle of the desert so you couldnt leave the resort to visit anywhere else that was in walking distance. The hotel did have a few gift shops.

We went out for a day trip snorkelling and met a girl who was staying at the Utopia and priased the staff and hotel - she obviously got the better deal!!

There was an english couplestaying at our hotel (there were only 4 brits, including us staying, the rest were german, italian and russian)

They suffered with the same problems (and more!) as ourselves.

On a plus side the hotel rooms were clean, the cleaners cetainly deserved their tip at the end of the week.

The hotel beach and sealife, swimming with a wild dolphin made up for all the negatives BUT we would not return back to that hotel and if we returned to Egypt we would look at staying in a different area.

  • Liked — Clean bedrooms, the sealife and beach
  • Disliked — The attitude of the staff, didn't get value for money.
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cinderella Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cinderella Beach Resort

Address: 27 Km South El Quseir City, El Quseir, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > El Quseir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in El Quseir
#6 Spa Hotel in El Quseir
#9 On the Beach Hotel in El Quseir
Hotel Class:3 star — Cinderella Beach Resort 3*
Also Known As:
Cinderella Beach Hotel El Quseir
Cinderella Beach Resort All Inclusive

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cinderella Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Cinderella Beach Resort to your Saves list