We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for the money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pensee Azur Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Pensee Azur Resort to your Saves list
Pensee Azur Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Marsa Alam Road, 20 Km south of EL Qusseir, Egypt., El Quseir, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in El Quseir
Hradec Kralove, Czech Republic
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good value for the money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

I spent two weeks (16.2.-2.3.2013) in this hotel together with my wife. We were first time in Marsa Alam region.
Good value for the money in this 4 * hotel 40km from the airport. Warm weather was quite during the whole stay, but blowing from the sea every day, sometimes really strong unpleasant wind. Usually 42 degrees C in the sun, 32 in the shade. 23 degrees of water were constantly. Surroundings: beach - Pensee and Utopia hotels - road and then just desert.
Good holiday for people who are looking for relax and like snorkeling, too. No animations programmes – very quiet space by the pools and on the beach, too. The hotel was full of about 40-50% (30% German, 30% Czech, 20% Italian and French, 20% other languages).
We had a spacious room on the 1st floor with balcony - overlooking the garden and the sea. The advantage of the hotel is accomodation and breakfast in the early morning immediately after arrival. Regular cleaning. El. equipment: air-condition, TV, safe, kettle, hairdryer. There was not possible to set air condition for air heating in our room. Furniture after eight years of operation of the hotel needs maintenance. The hotel is not separated from the wilderness in any fence, but the feeling of safety give two army check points about 500m from the hotel.
Food was perhaps the weakest part of the services provided in terms of the selection of dishes. E.g. one kind of sausage and cheese is served permanently for breakfast . Lunch is served in the restaurant next to the beach surpasses all the negatives. There was constantly the shortage of table red wine during our stay. But it is necessary to understand that everything must be transported from a long distance.
The worst service, but it has nothing to do directly with the hotel, was the internet. Slow, often dysfunctional - 1hr / 5 EUR. Otherwise, willing and friendly staff not requiring pickings. Animation program desperate enough-no more. There in the lobby in the evening daily sings Ukrainian (?) girl, that is not understood, physically tragic. Hotel depends on its waterworks and diesel generators producing electricity. Beach is clean with a wide entry into the water on the sand. First corals and fish are already about 50m from the beach. Corals farther from the beach and diversity of fish species around the area are the main advantage of this hotel.

Room Tip: Higher rooms are more quiet and far from eyes of walking tourists with better view toward the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    120
    83
    61
    42
See reviews for
102
135
18
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Any
English first
london
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

have just returned from a week away here,30 mins from the airport which is good,hotel was average,food was not very good but edible,great beach with an amazing house reef within 20 ft from the beach,hotel gardens were very nice and the staff here made this place as they are very friendly and accomodating,we were the only english here as the rest were russians,germans and a few italians...dont expect much on the nightly entertainment as the same lady sings every night..rooms are well presented however the bedding and towles need updating,,,fantastic pool areas here to,,,in all an ok holiday for the price we paid

Room Tip: a room with a see view is awesome
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Me and my wife have just returned from a week at the Pensee Azur. It's a 30min drive from the airport. The hotel itself was clean and well presented. The room was immaculate and well looked after by the cleaners. Take some £1/euro coins for tipping as not much change in the hotel. Cash machine to change currency and withdraw. Mohammed Ali the bar manager looked after us all week and would bring us our drinks wherever we were seated! The food was varied and always a good selection and good quality. The breakfasts were the same each morning but plenty to choose from. Omelettes and eggs cooked to order by a great chef who made sure we were served as soon as we came in. Thankyou
Some of the sun loungers could do with fixing but pool area (3 to choose from) was great and bit more sheltered than the beach. Wind breaks provided and beach towels available for no extra charge. The beach was clean and looked after and seemed better than most of the other beaches either side of us.
Went on a quad safari with our rep which was our best day, spent with 2 other English people. (Who love there red wine). Would highly recommend the Pensee Azur to anyone who likes a quiet life. Would love to stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suffolk
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

We have just returned from a week at the Pensee Azur & it was absolutely great.
The staff were friendly & efficient. The hotel was clean, the pools sparkling, very nice beach, coral was lovely & plenty of fish to watch. Food very good & lots of choice.

We did do a quad bike ride organized through the rep & had a blast. Brilliant value for money.

The hotel provided free bottled water daily in the room & at the bar & towels for use either at the pool or on the beach.

Only one problem....... the bar kept running out of red wine!!!!!!!!!!!!

Would highly recommend this hotel as long as you don't want to walk far at night or day time for that matter. There are 2 hotels together but there is nothing else near by for several km apart from a hand full of small shops just outside the front of the Pensee.

Room Tip: Bare in mind they prefer & price in Euros to Egyptian £s quite a surprise. We took both which wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

Situated in an idyllic setting on the Red Sea coast, Pensee Azur Resort is smaller than a lot of its neighbouring hotels, but when we visited (in February) it was very empty, the few guests there were mainly Europeans, hardly any British. The hotel, gardens, pool area and beach are kept very clean and tidy, but facilities are often tired and in need of maintenance, particularly games equipment - keen tennis players should take their own racquets and balls!
Bedrooms are large and well-serviced, the beds are comfortable and the view from the balcony was lovely, but our rooms were in need of renovation - the walls were damp and crumbling, bathroom fixtures were damaged etc.
Both the main hotel and the beach restaurants provide a good variety of food choices, usually tasty but sometimes rather bizarre! A wide range of local drinks are also available including cocktails, but small measures.
Where Pensee Azur really excels though is the superb service by the friendly staff who are very keen to ensure that your stay is a happy one. When we arrived we were not very impressed as there had been a mix up with the rooms and there were only 5 beds for 6 of us, so one of my children had to sleep on the sofa! However they rectified the situation the next day, giving us a better room to accommodate us.
Entertainment is sparce, presumably due to it being out of season. The animations team did their best to amuse the tiny audiences, but the shows were repetitive - no traditional music or dancing unfortunately. The Super Safari excursion is recommended - a great day out and value for money; the El Quseir tour was disappointing though.
All in all, an average hotel in a stunning location, made special by the excellent hospitality of the staff.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We went as a family of 5 children and two adults , children ages from 17 to 4 years old , very clean and beautifull place all the staff were friendly and helpfull, food was lovely everyday something diffrent on menu, both the indoor resturant and beach front resturant were clean and well maintained , bbq mostdays, fresh pizza made to order etc and everything is halal so no problems for us muslims. beach was amazing lots of coral fish to see and quite relaxing sea front. Animation team very good diffrent shows on from comedy nights to danceing show every night . xtream quad safari was brilliant Jamaica and Hassan and Ramadaan took us on a long quadbike ride in the dessart with a beduine tea and camel ride was amazing and fun.
mr Tariq the Sea scope guy is very friendly and would go out of his way to help whenever or whatever was needed . overall a relaxing break with a fun for all would love to go back again .

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Nice and quiet hotel, the animation program is poor, the only enjoyable night was a Tequilla pool party. The rooms are spacy, the food is various and quite good quality. The lunch is at a Beach restaurant, so you don't have to change your clothes, you can go straight from the beach. The snorchelling is fantastic, the corals start few meters from the beach, you can see the Bluespotted ribbontail ray, Nemo and many other beautiful fish. We went on a boat trip with Beach side dive center, or how they are called, and we had bad luck that we didn't see dolphins nor the dugong. We did see the turtles and many fish at the colar (e.g. lion fish).

We went to go to the gym, it has many machines but most of them aren't working, so we just had a run on the running machine. There are dance lessons (very poor though) and organised water polo, football and maybe even volleyball games everyday.

Overall we were very satisfied with our vacation, the staff was helpfull and kind, we didn't give any tips to the cleaner and our room was perfectly clean everyday (although without swans from towls). Most of the waiters and bartenders didn't accept tips as they said there is no reason for us to give him a tip when he didn't do anything unusual (for him).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pensee Azur Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pensee Azur Resort

Address: Marsa Alam Road, 20 Km south of EL Qusseir, Egypt., El Quseir, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > El Quseir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in El Quseir
#6 Luxury Hotel in El Quseir
#8 On the Beach Hotel in El Quseir
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Pensee Azur Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pensee Azur Resort, is a perect setting for a fun filled family vacation, romantic getway or memorable even located in Qusier, a hotspot known for its stunning coastal venues, coral reefs and warm hospitality. Located only 40 km from Marsa Alam airport and 20 km from qusier's city center. Boasting an expensive private beach and house reef rich with exotic tropical fish and spectacular corals, the hotel is an underwater playground for all the whole family to enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Pensee Azur Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pensee Azur Hotel El Quseir
Pensee Royal Garden Hotel
Hotel Pensee Royal Garden

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pensee Azur Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.