We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super Holiday - Beyond Expectations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Roots Luxury Camp

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Roots Luxury Camp to your Saves list
Roots Luxury Camp
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   14km North of El Quseir | El Quseir - Safaga Road, El Quseir R1, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in El Quseir
u.k.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Super Holiday - Beyond Expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We took a group of 21 divers and non-divers to Roots Camp. Some were training others experienced and most have been to Egypt many times before.Our thanks to Steve and Clare for making this trip a memorable one. Our accommodation was the chalet type, all were comfortable, clean and well presented. The food was of a good standard, varied and plentiful, with the chef ever present and very willing and able to meet any specific needs.With such a large group you would expect some complaints but no, everyone loved the food. The staff are very pleasant and attentive and this goes for the Hotel and Diving Staff. Nothing is ever too much bother for them and all done with a lovely smile.We were aware before we went that work was still ongoing at Roots with a new pool and reception area being installed, both of which will be finished shortly.

We dived the house reef many times and each time found something new. Eagle Rays, Barras, giant morays and turtles frequent the reef. After setting up your equipment in the dive centre area on the beach, there are willing hands to help you down to the sea for entry and exit. Something which I was very grateful for and found particularly helpful. Steve provided us with a day out on a hard boat where everyone had a great days diving. To vary the diving, Steve arranged for us to go to other dive sites providing a type of 'safari' experience. Tito (for his sins) was our main guide and he is a fantastic and knowledgeable character. Again, nothing was too much trouble.
Transfers to and from Hurgarda airport was by a large bus with our copious amount of luggage being transported by truck in close attendance. All very was very efficient and well run.

For the non-divers there is a nice beach by the dive centre where there are sunbeds, shades, toilets and a beach bar where lunch is usually served.We had a beach BBQ after a night dive and the food was just great which all just added to the experience.

The evenings were spent in the comfortable areas of the camp by reception. Although alcohol is provided we purchased our own at the airport. Steve and Clare have no problem with this.

A poker night is arranged for fun, its a shame that Steve met his match in me. So all I can say is the prize was very 'tasty'. Thanks Steve lol.

We have already reserved Roots for April next year for a repeat experience it was that good.

Some tips. Take deat for mosies and some fly spray. You can get this after going through check in at the airport. Use high factor sun cream. It's windy there so you just don't realise how hot it is and you can burn easily.

On behalf of Essex School of Diving, I would like to thank all Roots staff, Steve and Clare for a great time and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Room Tip: Limited supply of chalet rooms and suites all have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    10
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
20
13
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hartlepool
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Just returned from a week at Roots Dive Camp, El Quesir where I travelled alone. Was made very welcome by all the staff both in the camp and dive centre, the diving was amazing, food good, room very comfortable and well serviced each day. I enjoyed my first ever night dive on the house reef. Meal times were varied as necessary according to dive schedules and I enjoyed relaxing on the private beach each afternoon after diving. Nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff.

Room Tip: Chose the luxury ensuite room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxon
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Just back from a week at Roots and can wholeheartedly recommend it to other divers. The whole team here made us really welcome, the food was great (we had our own veggie meal served to us at lunch and dinner every day ), and the diving was spot on. The dive sites were all really quiet and unspoilt, and most days we didn't even see anyone else once we were in the water. There are lots of sites to choose from - from the house reef just a short walk across the road, local shore dives a short drive away, local boat dives on the speedy or hard boat trips can be arranged further afield if you like. All the staff were lovely and helpful, nothing was ever a problem and the small intimate set up is a real benefit meaning you get to know everyone there and get personal service with a smile all the time. Everything about the trip was easy going and totally chilled out so gets a Highly Recommended from us :)

Room Tip: The chalets with ensuite are very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Just spent 14 nights in a deluxe chalet at this rather special divers camp. We chose this accommodation because we wanted some winter sunshine by the sea, in a peaceful location with snorkelling. It exceeded our expectations in many respects, most important of which was the pride and commitment of everyone to provide a quality service, for example the housekeeping staff made the bed differently each day. The blend of flavoursome, international/Egyptian food was delicious. We were on the soft, all inclusive option and so had a good variety of dishes for breakfast, lunch and dinner - thanks to the creativity of Sharif and Beebo. Snorkelling on the house reef was wonderful - so many beautiful fish and colourful coral; watching the blue spotted ray was a highlight. Tito, one of the dive masters, helped my non-swimming husband to snorkel with green turtles and spinner dolphins. The camp was spotless - so clean, although there were pesky mosquitoes. All the administrative arrangements, including the transfers, were well organised. A bonus was the bird watching around the camp and in El Quseir. An osprey was a regular visitor at the camp, and other good spots were a black winged stilt, a malachite kingfisher and a night heron.

So, thanks to tripadvisor for helping us to find this special accommodation in Egypt - a country where we felt safe and secure at all times.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We enjoyed every minute of our stay. Roots Dive Camp is beautifully organised and everyone there went out of their way to make us welcome. The food is home cooking in the best sense and meals were arraged to fit in with our wishes. The diving could not be more relaxed. We could choose what we wished to do and it was arranged without any bother and there was always shore cover during the dive and help with entry and exit if we needed it. Visiting in December meant that it could be cold in the wind between dives and at night - windproof jacket and a warm fleece needed - but it did make walking in the desert pleasant.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

This was my first visit to Roots Camp but my partners second. We had the most amazing Christmas and New Year. Steve, Claire and all of the staff there make you feel extremely welcome and you wish for nothing. It is a diving/snorkelling holiday and would not appeal to all but for those that do enjoy diving or snorkelling then this is definitely the holiday for you. They cater for all from the beginner to the advanced diver and being a less experienced diver myself I felt I was definitely looked after and felt very safe in their hands. You can also update your skills or undertake specialities while you are there. You don’t have to do anything – the diving team look after and clean your kit after you have used it. The food was homely but wonderful and I enjoyed every single meal that was served and the way that mealtimes are organised means that we met the most amazing friends from the Netherlands, Italy and Sweden. The accommodation was extremely comfortable and is serviced daily. The thing that impressed me the most is that all of the staff were really happy there and that says a lot to me about how well the club is managed. This is probably one of my best holidays in recent years and I very much look forward to going back. Thank you!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

If you want great diving with a profesional and friendly dive centre then don't go any where else than Pharoah Dive Centre in El Quseir. Great dive sites which are totally uncrowded together with a team that look after you superbly. Nothing is too much bother - you just decide where you would like to dive, a car takes you there where you are met by your kit all clean from the last dive and then just dive. Back to the private beach after 2 dives for lunch and then the afternoon is yours to relax or even dive on the excellent house reef.
And then the icing on the cake - don't bother with pricey hotels with their bland food and weak entertainment - just book in at the Roots Camp, A place for divers, run by divers, geared for divers. Good food, comfortable accomodation and with the dive cente on site.
Tip: Book the soft all inclusive option - it makes eating and drinking so much easier
I stayed in a deluxe chalet and it was excellent.
Great place, great diving and thanks to Steve and his staff for making me feel so welcome and at home there especially as I travelled alone.
As Arnie said - I will be back

Paul (up the Spurs!!)

Room Tip: Deluxe Chalet and soft all inclusive option
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Roots Luxury Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roots Luxury Camp

Address: 14km North of El Quseir | El Quseir - Safaga Road, El Quseir R1, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > El Quseir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in El Quseir
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Roots Luxury Camp 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Roots Luxury Camp is situated on the southern part of the Red Sea coast,just north of El Quseir town. Ideally situated between Hurghada and Marsa Alam Airports. We are surrounded by magnificent colourful mountains and unspoilt Red Sea beaches makeing it both a beautiful and relaxing destination.There are 2 Main styles of accommodation,Deluxe chalets which all have Sea-view,en-suite facilities,AC,flat screen TV and fridge or the standard Eco-chalets with shared facilities and fan giving a more rustic feel. We also have 1 stunning stone chalet suite with separate lounge area, large Kingsize bed and separate toilet and shower room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Roots Luxury Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Roots Luxury Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.