We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hotel and nice vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Movenpick Resort Soma Bay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Movenpick Resort Soma Bay to your Saves list
Movenpick Resort Soma Bay
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Km 49, Hurghada - Safaga Highway, Soma Bay, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Soma Bay
Cairo, Egypt
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Amazing hotel and nice vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Everything perfect . Check in was smoothly and we get a nice room . Rooms were very nice and had some great beds and nice view . The restaurants were very tasty and very good different kind of food and they handled the crowds very well. All the staff was very friendly and the manager first.

Great place to stay if you visit Soma Bay, The pools are great and tons of stuff to do for both adults and kids, all of the animation team was friendly and helpful also the life entertainment show was great and collections.

Beach clean and there is a bar near we had a nice time. We have to come again soon . We like the hotel so much.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    38
    12
    10
    18
See reviews for
47
40
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cairo, EG
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

1) Rooms are very nice and new though a little bit small for twin beds. The twin beds are small (1.2 m each). The good thing about the queen bed rooms is that they have sofa beds if you have children.
2) Animation is very poor. They have a very nice program written at the kids club, but they do a different program. Yes, animation is extremely poor.
3) Staff is not professional with few exceptions. Concierge is unprofessional.
4) food was good. Service at the restaurants is generally good.
5) The pool was extremely cold but they still didn't heat it. Although it was an obvious issue. Most of guests couldn't use the pool but the management was probably sleeping.
6) The beach has nice sand but you need to walk for 500 m to get your hips wet. So it is not a nice beach to swim.
7) The hotel is in "no where" far from the Soma Bay resorts. It is very close to Safaga city.
8) Lebanese restaurant has really nice spirit and location.
9) Landscaping is nice.
10) Pillows are far from being comfortable. They are big and cheap quality.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Friendly and super friendly staff indeed. From sr. managers who helped me even in my bookings and even served us coffee in the morning breakfast as a nice gesture from experienced staff.
Hotel is bright new (opened 5 months ago). Everything is shining. super clean rooms, huge restaurant, and unimaginable swimming pool..with part of it full of water jets for messages.

Food was OK. My only take on the hotel, which management agreed to consider after I talked to them, was that dinner is the same every night. Last night, Friday night, was different with more varieties. I tried another restaurant in the hotel, the Jazeera Restaurant, BBQ was GREAT !!

Everywhere you go you stumble upon decent and friendly staff. I thank "Ksenia" the guest relations manager whom helped me a lot reserving a place in the Jazeera restaurant although it was fully booked. Also helped my 16 years teen who wanted to eat somewhere else.
I also would like to thank the animation team for their friendly attitude trying to make the place even more "friendly". My family got in touch with "Olga" from the animation team. Olga spent some time with us on the beach cafe. She made us feel that we are the most important guests in the hotel...although the hotel was fully booked !!

I do recommend this hotel for anyone who wants to send some good time...I just hope they fix this food "thing".

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms are much better, as they have a spectacular view on the huge pool...and of course...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Excellent holiday ,the hotel just opened few months ago. comfortable room ,very professional . staff. the food was tasty and nice variety although the high occupancy during the feast holiday . every thing passed over our expectations. Sure we will repeat this great experience and I will recommend this beautiful place to all my friends and share my experience with them .

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Great hotel, new pretty rooms with wonderful beds :-) big land scape. We had a nice welcome and drinks upon arrival, very friendly stuff and quick services. oriental restaurant had a greatest dinner ever !we loved italian pizza and every every every single moment there :-)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Egypt
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

I went to movenpick on the 17th october with family in eid vacation. I liked the hotel so much, the beach was amazing, rooms were Fabulous. The service was terrible cause it was packed with people and it looks like they dont have enough staff. The management were suppose to hire more staff cause they knew the hotel occupancy will be 100 % during this time.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

1-the food is not good (except 1 day) s spent 6 days
2-no snacks and everything at time like a hospital
3-the staff are not friendly
4-very far
5-no entertainment the animation team are very weak
6-i think it is not related to 5 stars hotels
7-room view was so bad

Room Tip: rooms near sea are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Movenpick Resort Soma Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Movenpick Resort Soma Bay

Address: Km 49, Hurghada - Safaga Highway, Soma Bay, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Soma Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Soma Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Movenpick Resort Soma Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 418
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between the crystal clear blues of the Red Sea, the soft amber gold of the desert and the mountains, Soma Bay enjoys an idyllic peninsula setting, overlooking a panoramic bay view. Mövenpick Resort Soma Bay, just 45km south of Hurghada International Airport, is positioned on a magnificent stretch of golden sandy beach featuring a coastline famed for diversified watersports. Mövenpick Resort Soma Bay features 418 rooms and suites designed in a contemporary style. The Resort blends the best of traditional and genuine beauty with stylish panache that is equally appealing to singles, couples, families and groups of friends.The Hotel is the perfect venue for conferences, banquets, meetings & events where the gourmets will enjoy the Mövenpick Dining Experience. Indulge in a refreshing interpretation of luxury and relish the authentic Egypt. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Movenpick Resort Soma Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Movenpick Resort Soma Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.