We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Utopia!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amwaj Blue Beach Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Amwaj Blue Beach Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Amwaj Blue Beach Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Km 50 , Hurghada | Safaga Road,, Soma Bay, Egypt   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Soma Bay
Certificate of Excellence 2014
london
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Utopia!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2011

What do you see asked lord canarvan to Howard Carter?..Wonderful things was the replay!!.
That was my first impression on this lovely hotel.It has everything you need for a relaxing holiday..spa/entertainment/food..local and international variety/great beach/very clean rooms/staff always ready to help you/24/7 security in the grounds..so if you want a great holiday its got to be AMWAJ BLUE BEACH AND SPA.

Room Tip: If you want to see the sunrise each morning choose the top floor facing the sea!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hossam A, Manager at Amwaj Blue Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 28, 2011
Thank you for your review and your kind words about the product, service and the team. The past few months have brought many changes to Egypt’s political scene. Throughout these events, the Red Sea in general – and Soma Bay in particular – has remained calm, serene, and sunny! The hotels at Soma Bay have continued to operate normally and to welcome new arrivals.
I would personally like to thank you for choosing to say at Amwaj Blue Beach Soma Bay despite the troubles we have been experiencing elsewhere in Egypt.
Thank you for recommending us and we strongly believe we do our best to ensure all guests carry back fond memories of their stay with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Warm regards,
Hossam Askar
Revenue Manager
Email: revenue.abusoma@amwajhotelsint.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

699 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    273
    178
    123
    79
    46
See reviews for
185
297
24
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bedfordshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2011

We have just returned from a 2 week stay at this hotel and every minute was amazing. Our rep Tarek was fantastic, such a hard worker and he did everything he could to ensure we enjoyed our holiday. All the staff were friendly, especially in the Italian restaurant. The manager was so lovely, fantastic chefs and they all made us feel so welcome. The animation team are all so friendly and try hard to get everyone involved. If you want a holiday with a fantastic friendly atmosphere then you can't go wrong at this hotel. Cant wait to come back.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hossam A, Manager at Amwaj Blue Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 28, 2011
Thank you for your review and your kind words about the product, service and the team. The past few months have brought many changes to Egypt’s political scene. Throughout these events, the Red Sea in general – and Soma Bay in particular – has remained calm, serene, and sunny! The hotels at Soma Bay have continued to operate normally and to welcome new arrivals.
I would personally like to thank you for choosing to say at Amwaj Blue Beach Soma Bay despite the troubles we have been experiencing elsewhere in Egypt.
Thank you for recommending us and we strongly believe we do our best to ensure all guests carry back fond memories of their stay with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Warm regards,
Hossam Askar
Revenue Manager
Email: revenue.abusoma@amwajhotelsint.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011

If there was a competition for most improved hotel on the Red Sea we are certain that the Amwaj Blue Beach would come 1st or second. We have stayed at this hotel several times now and we will be returning in March.We have to agree with all of the good reviews posted by other guests, yes this hotel had issues that needed sorting earlier in the year, but that was then,the place has undergone a management change and not many of the original staff are there now,those staff members that have survived have done so because they are good at what they do. I fail to understand some of the crticism leveled at some aspects of the hotel,if a problem arises during your holiday,get it sorted,for general complaints go to reception and ask for Sherif Mosa and if it is within his power he will sort it,if he is not there any other member of the reception staff will help,if you have a problem with any of the food, ask to see the chef,don't wait till you get home and moan about it.If you feel the need to speak to a memeber of the management team then ask to speak to a manager,any of the managers will be only too pleased to help,if you have a problem and they are not informed of it they cannot sort it,although I have to say that problems are few and far between as most of the previous faults have been dealt with.The rooms are brilliant as they always have been,the hotel is isolated, it lies 45 km from Hurghada,but taxis or minibuses are available to take guests in to town if you need to escape the traquility of the hotel,which we don't as a peacefull holiday is all we go for and the Amwaj provides us with all our needs.The jetty gives good access to the sea for those who wish to snorkel,there are boat trips which leave from the hotels jetty so you don't have to be bussed to another hotel if you fancy a bit of fishing or diving.There a few things that you have to pay for which are not included in the all inclusive i.e fresh fruit juice,ice cream etc. but this is now the norm in 99% of all inclusive hotels in Egypt.The new animation team are excellent ,congratulations to them for fitting in so quickly,I was actually bullied by them to get off my sunbed, but thats another story.Tarek , the Thomas Cook rep is the perfect rep,he is there if you want him,he doesn't sulk if you don't book a trip with , and he provides another avenue to use if you have a problem.All in all the Amwaj is a fabulous hotel,with excellent staff,the views out over the Red Sea are second to none. If the improvements continue at the present rate Thomas Cook will have to re-grade it to a Style holiday which what it was classed as previously.I nearly forgot to mention the new tennis court, which has been positioned at side of the hotel.There is also crazy golf and croquet ,but to be honest they could be improved.Congratulations to all concerned with the improvements that have been made to the hotel,and we look forward to seeing you in March . The dates of our holiday were 25 nov to 9 dec .We will answer any questions about the hotel. John and Marlene

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hossam A, Manager at Amwaj Blue Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 13, 2012
Thank you for your review and your kind words about the product, service and the team. The past few months have brought many changes to Egypt’s political scene. Throughout these events, the Red Sea in general – and Soma Bay in particular – has remained calm, serene, and sunny! The hotels at Soma Bay have continued to operate normally and to welcome new arrivals.
I would personally like to thank you for choosing to say at Amwaj Blue Beach Soma Bay despite the troubles we have been experiencing elsewhere in Egypt.
Thank you for recommending us and we strongly believe we do our best to ensure all guests carry back fond memories of their stay with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Warm regards,
Hossam Askar
Revenue Manager
Email: revenue.abusoma@amwajhotelsint.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2011

Having read the reviews before we went i must admit it was with trepedation that i got of the plane.
We were greeted by Tarek who was our rep at the hotel what a lovely lad could not have done more for you nothing was to much trouble.
Arrived at the hotel and straight away was treated with the vip treatment.
Check in was quick and so easy makes a change for egypt.
Free upgrade to a sea view lovely. the room was large very clean and what we liked was you had a choice between a bath or shower fantastic, iron and ironing board in room and a kettle it would have been nice to have tea coffee in room when arrived but a quick word with reception and that was soon rectified.
Now what i cant understand is why people are moaning about the food belive me i am a fussy eater and i never went hungry all holiday we never had any sign of upset tummys and we never heard of any body being ill people need to remember that they are in a different country and they have a differnt culture from us and isnt that why we go abroad to try different things i dont want chips every day the food at this hotel was very very good.
We are not going to name individual staff because all of them was fantastic polite nothing was ever to much trouble for any of them, i am going to name one person and this is Ahmed our cleaner(room 2313) what a lovely man he kept our room so clean and every day he always made sure that Kevin and i was ok and he didnt do this for a tip he refused to take money he did it because he cared and we found this outstanding and the management at this hotel should be gratefull that they have workers like this on there staff.
Animation not up to much first week to be truthfull didnt know they had a team we noticed a guy with long hair walking around smoking all the time but he didnt speak to us so we has no idea who he was then the new team came in and told us he was the head of the animation team anyway the new animation team are brilliant every day and night they were walking around chatting to everybody and trying to get them involved the abba show was outstanding how those two girls sang for over a hour with out a break fantastic well done.
This hotel is stuck in the middle of the dessert but you can get transport to take you any wear and it is cheap enough. It was ideal for us because we like the peace and quiet to recharge our batterys,
We found that we didnt get a lot of hassle from the people walking round trying to sell you things kevin had a bad back but four massages later its back to normal,just be honest with them and say no yes they will speak to you every day its called being polite and friendly.
Well i could go on and on but all i can say is this is now my secound fav hotel and yes we will be going back.
once again thank you for a fantastic hoilday and see you in march

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hossam A, Manager at Amwaj Blue Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 11, 2011
Thank you for having taken the time to review our hotel in details. We are delights to know, that you had a wonderful time in our hotel. The positive feedback coming from a travel professional is even of greater value and we truly appreciate your recommendation. Rest assured that your compliments to the employees mentioned have been forwarded.
We are looking forward welcoming you again at Amwaj Blue Beach Resort & Spa

Best Regards,
Hossam Askar
Revenue.abusoma@amwajhotelsint.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northants
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2011

Most of the hotel is very good,our room was quite large and the staff are excellent. The main bar area is comfortable with a nice atmosphere. There were times we had to walk round looking for somewhere to sit, but this was due to the weather. There was a force 5 wind every day for our first week so everyone was sitting inside. There were plenty of sunbeds round the pools and on the beach,good solid sunbeds that did not tip up when you sat on the edge.
The big problem is the food. I am not a fussy eater,I was brought up during the war with the food rationing during and after.I then did over ten years in the forces,so I am acquainted with
liking it or lumping it. In this restaurant I did an awful lot of lumping and very little liking. All I can say in its favour is there was a good selection of fresh bread and the soup was hot,which was just as well because thats what we made do with most of the time. The main problem with food is that it was always cold and always greasey. We would walk round the food counters twice,the first time round we would start to loose our appetite, the second time round we started to lose the will to live. We normally had soup, missed out the main course. and then fruit for dessert.There are hot or cold snacks available in various places during the day and night so we did not starve. It is a shame about the food,everything else about the hotel we liked
If they improved the food we would go back again.The food seemed to be aimed at pleaseing the Russians, which is quite understandable as they make up 80 percent of the guests.On that point we spent quite a few enjoyable evenings with some nice Russian couples and a very nice German couple.
The gardens are quite nice,there are little themed areas as you walk down through them to the beach.
If you are planning on going to the soma area during the winter months you need to take long sleaves for the evening.A lot of people were going into Hughada to buy coats. The wind is a normal feature of the area,there is a board showing the wind force.It only got below 3 a couple of days during our two weeks .

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hossam A, Manager at Amwaj Blue Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 11, 2011
Dear Guest, thanks for your comments and review as it helps us to improve our service, i would like to draw your good attention that all comments you mentioned will be forward to all Department Heads to take an action, we are looking forward to welcome you again at Amwaj Blue Beach, for any further questions please feel free to contact us any time

Best Regards,
Hossam Askar
revenue.abusoma@amwajhotelsint.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2011

really it was so nice to stay in a place such as amwaj beach resort and its a great to enjoy pool area and the beach was like paradise, and more fun with the animation team,and they have so great marin for relaxing.and the food it was so testy and all staff was really frindly.
And my room it was sea view so nice to wake up and just to look from window wowwwwwwww.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hossam A, Manager at Amwaj Blue Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 8, 2011
Thank you very much for your comments. We are happy you spent a wonderfull holiday. We hope to see you soon in the near futur. Looking forward to meeting you in Amwaj Blue Beach

Best Regards,
Hossam Askar
revenue.abusoma@amwajhotelsint.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cumbria
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2011

Cannot fault this hotel! Excellent room on third floor with the sun on the balcony all day. Lovely views. All staff very friendly and helpful. Enough choice in the buffet restaurant and NO sign of any bad stomachs. The beach restaurant was very good for a lunchtime meal. Good variety of drinks and even bottled Egytion Stella beer in the outdoor bars. Bean bags as well as sunbeds on the beach and comfy cushioned areas around the bar. Jetty also had cushioned sitting areas jutting out over the sea. It is, as advertised, in the middle of nowhere and there aren't many British guests. As for the Ukranians that were there, we found them polite and quiet. Most weren't very sociable, but as they speak very little English and my Russian is non-exisitant that was hardly surprising. Yes they did take fruit out of the restaurant, but how many other people can say that they have never done this? Would definitely stay in this hotel again, but we really like snorkelling and the reef, though good, is a bit limited and after two weeks we now know it really well. This was my 5th trip to the Red Sea, so I am comparing this hotel to others and it comes out well.

Room Tip: left hand block, as you face the sea, gets sun all day. All Brits seem to get allocated deluxe room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hossam A, Manager at Amwaj Blue Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 8, 2011
Thank you very much for your comments. We are happy you spent a wonderfull holiday. We hope to see you soon in the near futur. Looking forward to meeting you in Amwaj Blue Beach

Best Regards,
Hossam Askar
revenue.abusoma@amwajhotelsint.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Amwaj Blue Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amwaj Blue Beach Resort & Spa

Address: Km 50 , Hurghada | Safaga Road,, Soma Bay, Egypt
Phone Number:
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Soma Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Soma Bay
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Soma Bay
#6 Luxury Hotel in Soma Bay
#6 Spa Hotel in Soma Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Amwaj Blue Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 371
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amwaj Blue Beach Resort & Spa is located directly on the beautiful sandy beach of Abu Soma, 45 KM from Hurghada international air port, Abu Soma enjoys its reputation for being one of the best location for underwater diving, home to a vast array of magical and mesmerising under water species, Amwaj Blue Beach Resort & Spa offers luxury accommodation with Red Sea views and private beach, enjoy the water colures merging with sun and moon light ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Amwaj Blue Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amwaj Blue Beach Hotel Soma Bay
Amwaj Blue Beach Resort And Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amwaj Blue Beach Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.