We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulously romantic holiday at this beautiful hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kempinski Hotel Soma Bay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Kempinski Hotel Soma Bay to your Saves list
Kempinski Hotel Soma Bay
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   PO Box 15, Soma Bay 84711 , Egypt   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Christmas&NewYear Package
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Soma Bay
New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fabulously romantic holiday at this beautiful hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

This hotel already has so many reviews that maybe my extra one is hardly necessary but I'd like to share my experience with potential travellers as we did thoroughly enjoy our holiday here and I find it hard to believe anyone would rate this hotel as "poor" although the last one I see was back in mid 2013 so maybe everything that needed to be improved on has already been done since we came in mid June this year.
We loved our room with a fantastic wet room and large bath, a giant bed which Im sure could have slept 10 and a balcony with the most stunning view of the water and sunset every night. Homdy who serviced our room may not have spoken the best english but was extremely helpful and considerate all the same and always did the best job. Even when we asked that we got more water and coke in our fridge as we didnt drink the other soft drinks (which we were surprised to find out they were topped up for free every day!), he soon picked up on what we liked and what we didnt.
The food in the main restaurant we thought was fantastic! There was so much to choose from and the steak we had served at one of the cooked to order stations was perfectly tender and cooked exactly to our liking. All of the staff were exceptionally polite, helpful and eager. We have to say that between Romeo and the two girls in the main restaurant that would seat us, they truly made our dining experience a special one, always making us laugh and teaching us small bits of Arabic to help us get by. They really stood out from the rest and we looked forward to our banter with them each morning or evening. The same equally for bamboo shoot restaurant where we dined one evening and the staff were exceptional again. The food really was divine and they looked after us thoroughly. Even when we lost track of time and drank prosecco almost into the small hours of the morning they didnt disturb us to let us know that actually the restaurant had closed at 10pm and they had waited for us. They simply laughed and joked with us, taking pictures for us and never once made us feel like we should have to leave. The poor guys im sure would have loved to go home to bed but let us enjoy our one evening of being spoilt. (We would definitely have eaten there again however we overdid it a little on our budget that evening!)
So yes Soma bay is quiet and theres not much around but the pool and private beach are great. There's some lovely snorkelling and I took a few diving trips with Orca dive club which was fabulous. We easily booked our transfers and outside excursions to Cairo and Hurghada through Mohammed at gotohurghada.net so there was still plenty to do and very cheap (sorry kempinski but the transfer was cheaper this way as with all hotels)
To be honest even if you want to just stay around the hotel your whole holiday then Kempinski is great and the service is fab..we certainly took a few days off to sit around the pool and on the beach drinking G&T's and were never disappointed but honestly if you want to be those people who sit at dinner looking at their mobile phones and not talking then ofcourse you could be anywhere and it annoys me to hear and see people like that at the hotel who can't be bothered to make effort with their partner or the staff. Talk to the staff and find out a bit about them and they'll only ever be happy to help. We loved it! Thank you Kempinski! We shall definitely return and also looking forward to experiencing other Kempinski's worldwide now that we know what to expect :)

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ganchev, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Soma Bay, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Waterbabyga,

What a fantastic review, we feel honored and delighted while reading your positive feedback about your recent stay with us.
It is a great pleasure for us to know that you had a fabulously romantic holiday in Kempinski Hotel Soma Bay.
We have shared your great feedback with our team as it is a real motivation for them to keep up the high level of service and hospitality.
We are looking forward to your next visit in Soma Bay for another perfect holiday!

Sunny greetings from Egypt,

George Ganchev
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

663 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    544
    79
    27
    9
    4
See reviews for
194
320
35
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

This hotel use to be HILTON and was designed by them and afterwards, Kempinski took over. However, neither of the two own the complex. The owners; 1 from Saudi and 1 from Egypt and the Egyptian is always popping in and out, but you wouldn't know it or who he is.

They own the complete Soma Bay area in Egypt, i.e., hotels, etc. You will find different brand names of hotels there.

This hotel has a true Egyptian flair and the Egyptian staff are very friendly and polite. The beach area is huge and the Red Sea is very nice.

Here you don't have a bunch of kids running around and screaming like in Hurghada. The hotel is for adults and the price is out of the range for most teenagers. :-)

Swimming pool area laps around to a large area, but clean... Many different restaurants on the compound based on your taste or you can eat at the hotel itself.

A must see hotel even if it's one time, but you will not be sorry!

Enjoy!

Room Tip: All rooms have an excellent view of the area... Higher level always the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ganchev, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Soma Bay, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear Viper_Intl,

“Best Hotel in Soma Bay, a must see”, sounds great!
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and give us your positive feedback.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the facilities and services provided during your vacation.
Egyptian hospitality with friendly and polite staff is one of our benchmarks, therefore we are glad to hear that we live up to the expectations of our guests in this field.

We are looking forward to welcome you back soon for another memorable stay with us.

Best regards,

George Ganchev
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh Province, Saudi Arabia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

A must see as hotel owner rep I must say this is one of best places I have visited
Excellent service and amazing for kids quality is outstanding thanks to management for maintaining this quality in Red Sea Egypt as a whole is a must visit Majid Alissa

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ganchev, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Soma Bay, responded to this review, June 21, 2014
Dear Majid Alissa,

Thank you for your great feedback about your recent stay with us.
We are happy to hear that you were satisfied with our services and the facilities for kids.
We are looking forward to your next visit.

Sunny greetings from Soma Bay,

George Ganchev
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bologna, Italy
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

The hotel is in a magnificently landscaped setting with an Arabian fotress atmosphere to it, complete with arches, bridges and incenses burning in the grand lobby that has a moroccan feeling and a bit slightly dark. The gym is superbly fitted with the latest equipments from Tecnogym and well kept, good music playing and a nice view on a back pool through the all-glass walls. Food served in the restaurant is of the international standards but could be a bit more fancy, with the exception of the dessert section that features everything fromall the Egyptian sweets to the more conservative choices. Unfortunately, service and the service personnel does not meet the 5 star rating of the hotel. Never smiling, never saying hello upon meeting, and always the same people doing the same job for 10 days in a row which is not the wisest management techniques to make serve clients by totally exhausted employees.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ganchev, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Soma Bay, responded to this review, June 21, 2014
Dear Mademoisellehongrois,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are happy to hear that you liked the magnificent landscape and enjoyed our gym facilities and the dessert section.

Your valuable feedback about the level of service will be discussed by the management in order to continuously improve our standards.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

George Ganchev
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is so big, it feels very much like an overcrowded tourist ghetto. During the day it's not too bad, because people spread out, but during dinner you feel like in a big canteen. And when we were there the hotel was by far not fully booked! The dinner was good sometimes, but the selection was not always very good. There weren't any restaurants to chose from most of the days, one very poor one for lunch (pizza, pasta, some appetizers), and one buffet style restaurant for dinner. You can go to restaurants along the bay however. Then one more thing: They perfume the lobby with very heavy scents, I felt nauseated every time I had to go in there! Besides that, everything was up to expectations.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ganchev, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Soma Bay, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Dear UrlaubimSueden,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, your valuable feedback is very important to us.
We are happy to hear that most of our facilities and services were up to your expectations.

We regret to know that you didn't like the variety of food in our hotel. Please kindly note that in Al Mar Restaurant by the pool we do have international a’la carte menu including different variety besides pizza, pasta and appetizers; also the menu has just been upgraded starting from the 4th of June. Every Saturday and Tuesday at lunchtime we also offer the fish market, where you can choose your fresh seafood items that are grilled a’la minute.

Regarding the main restaurant we have a live cooking station every night with different themes. We also offer a’la carte menu with international items and our signature dish.

Our Asian a’la carte restaurant is open 4 days a week with a wide selection starting from sushi and sashimi to Indian specialties prepared by our Indian chef.

In addition we also offer private romantic dinner at the beach as well as seafood lunch with a setup prepared inside the sea.

Rest assured that to enhance our food variety, our executive chef is working on upgrading the dinner buffet menu, which will be implemented by the end of this month.

We hope to have a chance to welcome you back to Kempinski Hotel Soma Bay.

My personal greetings from Soma Bay,

George Ganchev
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
229 helpful votes 229 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

We have stayed at the Kempinski Soma Bay for a week on half board term. We had a ground floor room near the beach. Whilst we did not care for the sea view, we would ask for a higher floor if we come back to this hotel. The room has a nice set up, a decent size, very well equipped bathrooms. Service was great throughout our stay and with everyone we had dealings. The beach is very close and we always had a space even if we arrived late, possibly also because of the low occupancy due to the situation in Egypt. Security however was high entering the Soma Bay area, there is no need to worry.
The pool area was one of the best we have ever come across with several pools on various levels and a long lazy river. The clever set up not only provides lots of privacy but also practically everybody with first line access to the water.
The food quality was very good, though we would have liked to see a little more variety.
All in all, a great stay and we would definitely go back if we return to the Red Sea.

Room Tip: Ask for higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ganchev, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Soma Bay, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Dear gemsstock,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience on your recent stay with us. We were delighted to read that you had a great stay. Our beach and pool area is truly one of the highlights in the hotel.

We are looking forward to many more opportunities to welcome you back to Kempinski Hotel Soma Bay.

With very best regards,

George Ganchev
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Just returned from another amazing 3 days holiday to Kempinski hotel in soma bay with my girlfriend,and it was just wonderful.

Starting with checking in,everything went smooth and simple as planned,a very warm welcoming, staff were extremely friendly,no hassles or anything,we got our double room with sea view within minutes,we were surprised with the amazing view,as we could see the entire Kempinski,and also the room was spacious,clean and furniture was very classy and modern.

Food was scrumptious ,omelet in the morning buffet was tasty,and same at dinners,we really enjoyed the food and sweets,and of course the fresh fruits.

We were a bit disappointed because the pools weren't heated but we still managed to swim in the Red Sea,although water was bit cold,we still enjoyed every bit of it,beach was very clean and good to relax and to sunbathe.

Views at night were really charming,we had nice walks around the pools at night after dinners,very relaxing and quiet.

Room service was perfect,we got our orders in less than 10 minutes,and that bread and butter meals with tea were so nice.

Special thanks for sending the red flowers to our room,was a cute gesture,we really liked them.

After all I'd like to say we really enjoyed our stay in Kempinski,our memories there shall never be forgotten,it was our second visit and hopefully we will come back very soon!

Highly recommended hotel.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ganchev, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Soma Bay, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Dear Diaa90,

Thank you for this great feedback and your recommendation.
We are delighted to hear that you had a fabulous stay again with us.
The whole team is happy that you were satisfied with our facilities and the level of service; this is a great motivation for them to keep up the high standards.
The views at night around the hotel are really one our highlights, creating an amazing and cozy atmosphere for an evening walk.

We are looking forward to your third visit in Kempinski Hotel Soma Bay!

Sunny greetings,

George Ganchev
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kempinski Hotel Soma Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kempinski Hotel Soma Bay

Address: PO Box 15, Soma Bay 84711 , Egypt
Phone Number:
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Soma Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Soma Bay
#1 Romantic Hotel in Soma Bay
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Soma Bay
#1 Spa Hotel in Soma Bay
#1 Family Hotel in Soma Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Kempinski Hotel Soma Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 325
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be enchanted by this striking resort destination on the Egyptian shores of the Red Sea, an idyllic leisure retreat blessed with more 7000sqm of picturesque landscape of pools, lazy river, waterfalls and lagoons, flowing down to an immaculate 400m sandy beach. Inspired by the mystique and nobility of the ancient Moorish fortresses, the ultimately luxurious hotel features 325 elegantly-appointed rooms and suites, ranging mostly from 39sqm/42sqm to 185sqm, mixing contemporary decor and European flair, with warm Egyptian hospitality and attention to detail. A host of deluxe leisure arrays and inspiring culinary choices harmonize your refined stay. The accommodation at Kempinski Hotel Soma Bay captures the nostalgic elegance of an age where quality and care were a way of life. Indulge in an upgrade with any of our unique and generously spacious suites dotted by unmatched views of the Resort and the Red Sea. Explore an abundance of unparalleled choice enhanced by seamless amenities, direct access to the Laguna Club Lounge while enjoying flawless services and inspirational settings. 22 Junior Suites, 10 Deluxe Suites and 2 Presidential Suites are all confirming the luxe-appeal of Kempinski Hotel Soma Bay. A host of deluxe leisure arrays and inspiring culinary choices harmonize your refined stay. Kempinski Hotel Soma Bay is the ideal location for family holiday, honeymooners, incentive program for companies and definitely a heaven for golf players. A charming KIMO kid's club is operating daily from 9am to 6pm with lots of exciting activities under the supervision of a professional attendant. A voyage of epicurean and entertainment pleasures beckons at Kempinski Hotel Soma Bay restaurants and lounge. Assuage your palate with luscious and idyllic ethos from around Asia at Bamboo Shoot or authentic international treats at The View, the hotel's main restaurant with inspiring views. Dine at "The View" restaurant or on its inspiring terrace with stunning sceneries of the Red Sea while enjoying a tantalizing gastronomical treat as you savor the unique signature dish, artistically created by our creative chefs. It is juicy, tender and sensually intrigues your taste buds, guaranteeing a wonderful culinary experience. Indulge in a timeless tasty culinary at Al Mar from noon till sunset in a serene setting. Savor premium light meals at the enjoyable Beachcomber. Revel in the epitome of luxury at Sultan Bar with high-end cocktails and heart thumping entertainment. Kempinski Hotel Soma Bay is definitely a heaven for golf players. Being part of Soma Bay luxury destination, the Hotel guests have access to the spectacular "The Cascades Championship Golf Course". If you're feeling inspired to get fit and try a new sport this summer, head to the luxurious Kempinski Hotel Soma Bay on Egypt's Red Sea and try out a complimentary introductory session of various leisure and sports activities including diving, snorkeling with a guide, windsurfing, kite surfing, catamaran, golf, beach tennis and volley ball... These are some of the leisure excitements waiting for you to explore in your next holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Prestigia, Venere, Despegar.com, Travelocity, HostelBookers and Tingo so you can book your Kempinski Hotel Soma Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kempinski Soma Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kempinski Hotel Soma Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.