We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality hotel infrastructure with very bad service” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Kempinski Hotel Soma Bay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Kempinski Hotel Soma Bay to your Saves list
Kempinski Hotel Soma Bay
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   PO Box 15, Soma Bay 84711 , Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Soma Bay
Lucerne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Quality hotel infrastructure with very bad service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

This is one of the most disappointing holidays we have ever experienced and I am now beginning to question the value of Tripadvisor reviews which, for this property, are very good. We travel extensively and look for high quality, understated holidays. We travelled here with our two children (6 and 4).

The hotel itself is well laid-out and the rooms and public areas are attractive and of high quality.

The same cannot be said about the service and standards of cleanliness. Whilst there are often one-off issues with service at properties, the problems here were consistent for the entire week.

The worst service was in the main restaurant where we had to get our own table settings at almost every visit, having been shown to a table and 'left' for 10-15 mins. The first day we went for breakfast, my Wife asked if we were able to please have another pot of tea, only to have a very rude server open the teapot and say that there was some left in it and so we shouldn't need another! We often eventually had to clear our own plates away from each course as it would be impossible to move on to the next course. I would like to point out that although the service in the main restaurant was shocking, the service we experienced in the off-site, linked, Asian restaurant was, consistently, exceptionally good.

The pool areas are very badly serviced in terms of staff with a daily hunt to find someone who would be able to provide towels. Almost every day that we used the toilets in the main reception area they were both dirty and out of toilet paper. On several occasions we needed to bring this to the attention of the staff - a 5* hotel?, I don't think so. The lunches at the pool restaurant were okay and the service a little better than the main restaurant, but only marginally. The range of food was not great and, we discovered, very overpriced for the quality when we went for lunch one day at the Sheraton next door.

Our holidays are very precious to us as I travel a great deal for work and don't have as much time with my family as I would like. If you want a high quality, understated holiday where you can relax, I would strongly recommend that you look elsewhere. We have holidayed in Egypt on eight separate occasions now and this was, by far the worst. I can recommend that a holiday at the Four Seasons in Sharm El Sheikh or the Moevenpick in El Gouna would be vastly better.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelSchibler, Resident Manager at Kempinski Hotel Soma Bay, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear WelshCH,

We are very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your vacation in Soma Bay with Kempinski Hotel.
We have taken disciplinary actions with the Recreation Team and the Service Team Manager.
We are very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your vacation in Soma Bay with Kempinski Hotel.
We have taken disciplinary actions with the Recreation Team and the Service Team Managers.
Again, please accept our sincerest apology.

Michael Schibler
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

804 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    643
    111
    29
    17
    4
See reviews for
240
378
40
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
cairo
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

One of the best hotels by the Red Sea. If you are looking for a nice spot, this is the perfect place for you. The beach is amazing. The hotel is beautiful, the staff are super friendly. By the Beach Umbrella and chaise longes there is this new buttons where you call either a waiter or a beach boy for help, that was really fascinating. The breakfast is just perfect, make sure to try the Egg Benedict with smoked salmon and Hollandaise sauce. The dinner is super. The quality of even salads and fruits are very good. We really liked the pool as there are 2 different types, the normal blue one and another that is similar to a big lagoon surrounded by the hotel, with waterfalls and a current that make you move effortlessly, make sure to get a nice mattress and relax and enjoy the view. We were greeted by such a warm welcome by the team and the GM which was very special as well as a warm farewell. SO overall the place is amazing, the people are super. A typical Kempinski gem. Cannot wait to back again.

Room Tip: Have a room close to the beach on the first floor, very nice. All the rooms are.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelSchibler, Resident Manager at Kempinski Hotel Soma Bay, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear ysharshar,

WOW! We are touched from your very warm guest comment. Thanks a lot!
It is great to hear that you were satisfied with the friendliness of our staff because our employees are the heart of the hotel and are really doing an outstanding job. Thank you that you appreciate that.
We hope to see you again.
Sunny regards.

Michael Schibler
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We stayed for 7 nights from Australia, it was the best holiday & hotel stay, so relaxing & such a beautiful location. We cannot fault the Kempinski Hotel, it was Awesome, loved every bit about our stay & will be staying again for sure.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelSchibler, Resident Manager at Kempinski Hotel Soma Bay, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Hallo Megajay,

Awesome is also your feedback. Thank you!
It is great to hear that you enjoyed your vacation with us.
Guests who are searching for relaxation and quite holidays are on the right track by booking luxurious vacation at Kempinski Soma Bay.
See you soon!
Warm regards.

Michael Schibler
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Al Khobar, Saudi Arabia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

I was amazed by the level of perfection in the smallest details from staff in reception, guest relation, room service, room maintenance, restaurants, lounge club, health club, kids club, and beach services. The location and view are breath taking, the resort all-in-all is intelligently designed to give you the best feeling of relaxation. After 1 year of hard work, I needed a great vacation, this hotel made this wish come true. My wife and kids also had a pleasant time and enjoyed it to the max.

Room Tip: Suits on third floor on right have the view of the sea and the mountain which is wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelSchibler, Resident Manager at Kempinski Hotel Soma Bay, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Amgad,
What an amazing feedback. Thank you!
It is our utmost pleasure and desire to give our guests an unforgettable stay at Kempinski Soma Bay.
We are happy to hear your wish came true with every part of the hotel.
We hope to see you soon when you need another great vacation to escape from the daily routine.
Best regards from sunny Soma Bay.

Michael Schibler
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
78 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We have spent 5 days in Kempinski soma bay. Although I did the reservation taking into consideration trip advisor hotel rank as number one in soma bay, I was really impressed with the hotel overall experience. I had excellent see view room, the room was considerably large with good space. The free mini bar service was very nice touch, and the bathroom setup was convenient.
In addition to the amazing land scape with lakes and bridges, the hotel provides unique lazy river, where you can relax and do some lazy swimming, I have enjoyed walking and talking inside the river with my family. There are two kids pools, and one family pool with attached Jacuzzi in addition to the main heated pool. The health club area also has another large pool with Jacuzzi as well. All the pools are very well maintained and are kept in excellent conditions. The hotel provides free access to the SPA area with very welcoming atmosphere.
I had half board stay; both breakfast and dinner were very good. Food variety was satisfactory. And some dishes were really unique. Service was good, and staff was very friendly, however they seem to be little bit understaffed having to do more than one task at the same time but this is compensated with their smile and willingness to help
The mini bar is refilled daily with soda and sparkling water, in addition to two bottles of water delivered to your room daily and another bottles of water handed to you on the pool and the beach.
The hotel has nice sandy beach which is very clean and well maintained in addition to be safe for kids.
To conclude, you will really enjoy being at this hotel, they will make sure you have great stay that is not easy to forget.

Room Tip: I stayed in building number 7, and it was excellent and near to everything. The buildings have eleva...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelSchibler, Resident Manager at Kempinski Hotel Soma Bay, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Ayman,
Firstly I would like to thank you for your straight forward feedback.
We are very happy that you had a great stay with us.
We discussed the mentioned shortcomings about the services with our respective manager and we are training our staff to be more service oriented and to strictly adhere to the sequence of service.
We make sure we will exceed your expectations during your next stay at Kempinski Soma Bay.

Michael Schibler
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Table Top, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

My wife and I travelled to Hurghada and the Kempinski Hotel from Australia early June after visiting Cairo, Abu Simbel, Aswan and Luxor. What a contrast! We were treated to 40-44 degrees Celsius each of our five days. This place is rated as five star and deserves every one of them. I asked for a nice view by email a month before arriving and got it (room 8012). We had a view of the sea, the swimming pools and beautiful sunsets each evening. Scuba diving was easy to arrange from an adjoining hotel/dive club. The service was five star, the views, the attractions, the shopping, the spa and the food. We especially loved the "lazy river" and the call buttons for the waiter and towel attendants on the umbrellas at the beach. The bed was so comfortable and large, I couldn't wait to sleep each night. The place was also the cleanest I ever seen in a hotel with constant maintenance and cleaning going on. I have no negatives to say about the resort. It was certainly the pick of all the resorts at Soma Bay (even over the Sheraton) and also better than any resort we saw at Hurghada. I can't wait until my next visit, sometime in the future. I would fly from Australia JUST to stay here for two weeks. Well done Kempinski!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the third floor close to the sea and pools. We had room 8312 which was on a corner...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelSchibler, Resident Manager at Kempinski Hotel Soma Bay, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear David Ballard,
Wow, thank you very much for that amazing comment.
It is a great honour for our team that you have rated us as the number one hotel during your trip through Egypt!
Thank you very much for this award.

Michael Schibler
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Very helpful staff & high standard hospitality excellent lovely room and swimming pools I will return back again . Enjoyed my stay . Food are great with qualified staff ,the hotel is very relaxing and the spa is superb

Room Tip: Sea view room is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelSchibler, Resident Manager at Kempinski Hotel Soma Bay, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Marwan M,

Thank you very much for such an incredible positive feedback.
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Hopefully we can welcome you in the future again to set up the stage for you.
Best wishes,

Michael Schibler
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Soma Bay
3.5 mi away
Caribbean World Resorts Soma Bay
0.4 mi away
Robinson Club Soma Bay
Robinson Club Soma Bay
#2 of 9 in Soma Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 131 reviews
23.2 mi away
Mercure Hurghada
Mercure Hurghada
#8 of 177 in Hurghada
4.5 of 5 stars 2,344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Breakers Diving & Surfing Lodge
0.0 mi away
Sheraton Soma Bay Resort
3.7 mi away
Movenpick Resort Soma Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kempinski Hotel Soma Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kempinski Hotel Soma Bay

Address: PO Box 15, Soma Bay 84711, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Soma Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Soma Bay
#1 Luxury Hotel in Soma Bay
#1 Romantic Hotel in Soma Bay
#1 Spa Hotel in Soma Bay
#1 Family Hotel in Soma Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Kempinski Hotel Soma Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 325
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be enchanted by this striking resort destination on the Egyptian shores of the Red Sea, an idyllic leisure retreat blessed with more 7000sqm of picturesque landscape of pools, lazy river, waterfalls and lagoons, flowing down to an immaculate 400m sandy beach. Inspired by the mystique and nobility of the ancient Moorish fortresses, the ultimately luxurious hotel features 325 elegantly-appointed rooms and suites, ranging mostly from 39sqm/42sqm to 185sqm, mixing contemporary decor and European flair, with warm Egyptian hospitality and attention to detail. A host of deluxe leisure arrays and inspiring culinary choices harmonize your refined stay. The accommodation at Kempinski Hotel Soma Bay captures the nostalgic elegance of an age where quality and care were a way of life. Indulge in an upgrade with any of our unique and generously spacious suites dotted by unmatched views of the Resort and the Red Sea. Explore an abundance of unparalleled choice enhanced by seamless amenities, direct access to the Laguna Club Lounge while enjoying flawless services and inspirational settings. 22 Junior Suites, 10 Deluxe Suites and 2 Presidential Suites are all confirming the luxe-appeal of Kempinski Hotel Soma Bay. A host of deluxe leisure arrays and inspiring culinary choices harmonize your refined stay. Kempinski Hotel Soma Bay is the ideal location for family holiday, honeymooners, incentive program for companies and definitely a heaven for golf players. A charming KIMO kid's club is operating daily from 9am to 6pm with lots of exciting activities under the supervision of a professional attendant. A voyage of epicurean and entertainment pleasures beckons at Kempinski Hotel Soma Bay restaurants and lounge. Assuage your palate with luscious and idyllic ethos from around Asia at Bamboo Shoot or authentic international treats at The View, the hotel's main restaurant with inspiring views. Dine at "The View" restaurant or on its inspiring terrace with stunning sceneries of the Red Sea while enjoying a tantalizing gastronomical treat as you savor the unique signature dish, artistically created by our creative chefs. It is juicy, tender and sensually intrigues your taste buds, guaranteeing a wonderful culinary experience. Indulge in a timeless tasty culinary at Al Mar from noon till sunset in a serene setting. Savor premium light meals at the enjoyable Beachcomber. Revel in the epitome of luxury at Sultan Bar with high-end cocktails and heart thumping entertainment. Kempinski Hotel Soma Bay is definitely a heaven for golf players. Being part of Soma Bay luxury destination, the Hotel guests have access to the spectacular "The Cascades Championship Golf Course". If you're feeling inspired to get fit and try a new sport this summer, head to the luxurious Kempinski Hotel Soma Bay on Egypt's Red Sea and try out a complimentary introductory session of various leisure and sports activities including diving, snorkeling with a guide, windsurfing, kite surfing, catamaran, golf, beach tennis and volley ball... These are some of the leisure excitements waiting for you to explore in your next holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, HostelBookers and Jetsetter so you can book your Kempinski Hotel Soma Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kempinski Soma Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kempinski Hotel Soma Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.