We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel and staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kempinski Hotel Soma Bay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Kempinski Hotel Soma Bay to your Saves list
Kempinski Hotel Soma Bay
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   PO Box 15, Soma Bay 84711 , Egypt   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Christmas&NewYear Package
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Soma Bay
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel and staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

We stayed in the Kempinski hotel in Soma Bay from 31st August for two weeks. Unfortunately our bags did not arrive at Hurgada airport; after completing the necessary paper work, we were collected by the hotel Land Rover. The driver was most helpful, had good English and even at 11pm took us to a mall to buy clothes. When we arrived at the hotel we were welcomed by Khaled the doorman (photo), served drinks and given a cool towel. The next morning the front desk staff set off on a mission to help obtain our bags, liaising in Arabic with the airport. Nina and the guest relations staff were so incredibly helpful, they all worked tirelessly to find out what was happening to our bags. The Front Office Manager Mohamed made sure we could ring our insurance company directly from the hotel at no charge to ourselves. After 3 days our bags were found and the hotel insisted they were delivered from the airport. We cannot thank the staff enough for the help and support they gave during this vulnerable and difficult time. We were even provided with male and female goody bags from housekeeping, containing shaving equipment, deodorant, t shirt, tooth brush and paste.

The breakfast buffet is amazing, homemade breads and cakes, meats, eggs and Egyptian fare cooked to order. The spread is truly wonderful. I am a vegetarian, and food on the A La Carte menu was limited for me. The food and beverage coordinator Mohamed, was so helpful; I only had to ask for what I wanted and it was cooked for me that evening by Tareck, Chef de Cuisine. I believe if you are on half board as a vegetarian you are well catered for, but I am a very small eater, and do not want to pay for half board when I eat so little and have no starter or desert. The food is very high quality cuisine.

The level of service from all the staff is the best we have encountered at a 5-star. They try their utmost to provide for your wants and needs. We found the Asian restaurant the best, but this is only open twice a week. The marina is not yet finished; no independent restaurants are open there so dining is limited to the hotels nearby, which will charge to your room, no cash needed. The Cascades was very good cuisine, but I did not enjoy the food at the Sheraton, and became ill after eating there. The Kempinski staff heard I had become ill, and sent camomile tea to our room.

During the day, waiters will ask if you require anything, they also bring round fruit and frozen yogurt during the day, doesn’t matter where you are, they come to the pool and beach. It is quite breezy at times, so wind surfing is definitely worth a try. The beach and pool area are immaculate. You do not have to reserve a bed, which is such a blessing, we would sometimes arrive at the pool at 11, and there are plenty of beds to chose, with plenty of space between them. Water is provided by the beach or pool butler, you just ask when you need it. Water is also provided in your room, and all soft drinks in the mini bar are complimentary.

Temperatures are very hot in September but the sea temperature is lovely at around 29 C, perfect for snorkelling. They have two house reefs and they are quieter than the big one near the dive centre but also excellent. There is a little bus that starts running at 2pm that will take you along to the main reef, it’s about 3/4 a mile from the hotel. The marina will be nice when it’s finished, there is a small supermarket for crisps, cigarettes, soft drinks, and a few tourist shops. The personnel that work in these small shops, are pleasant and although you get hassled by a few, they are very nice and do not hassle you for long.

Rooms are all spacious although bathrooms, wardrobes and balconies vary in size. Ours had two sinks, good size wet room/bath room and separate toilet and bidet. Some rooms have very large shower rooms and walk in wardrobes. Most rooms face the lagoon, views are good, but you have to be in block 8 for a panoramic sea view; to the left you do get views over the sea but also the Robinson hotel next door.

All in all, a fantastic holiday, at a fantastic hotel, a true 5 star, with fantastic staff. We cannot thank everyone enough, A big thank you to the staff ranging from our room boy Hamada to managers, not forgetting waiters and Reception.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelSchibler, Resident Manager at Kempinski Hotel Soma Bay, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear Dir, Dear Madam,

Thank you very much for your great feedback.

It is wonderful to read how you enjoyed your stay with us.

We have already shared your experience with the entire team during our monthly general staff meeting as this reflects what Kempinski aims for:

Remarkable European Flair!

Warm regards

Michael Schibler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

666 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    547
    79
    27
    9
    4
See reviews for
195
321
35
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

I wasn't going to write a review because I thought it would be boring for readers to see another good one but after reading the 'disappointing, disappointing' I felt I had to as I didn't recognise the place we stayed!

I have been to some lovely hotels around the world and consider myself quite critical with high standards but this is definitely 5 star. We stayed there for a week in June and thought it was extremely well run with very visible management and polite and welcoming staff who made an effort to know your name.

The most striking thing about the hotel is the architecture and the numerous pools, one of which is a 'lazy river', which is fantastic. The design of the hotel means there are plenty of places to go to be private and get away from other people.

The rooms are a good size with a seating area and balcony and the bathrooms are spacious with a separate loo. The beds are very comfortable. We had a sea view although we didn't ask for one as most face the sea anyway.

The turn down service in the evening is what you would expect from 5* but if you don't want it you politely refuse. The minibar is free for soft drinks and is replenished daily. There is water in the room and at the pool plus freebies are brought round the pool several times a day (fresh fruit on skewers etc).

The breakfast pastries and desserts are exceptional (and I don't have a sweet tooth) and the salads excellent. Where it fell down slightly was the main meals which were slightly dull (we had 1/2 board).

If you can drag yourself from the pools then the beach area is lovely and you can hire snorkels and flippers. A short walk takes you to Breakers where there is a jetty and superb snorkelling.

There is little to do, otherwise, but it is a great place to relax. There are a few other hotels in the same stretch of beach. We felt we made the right choice and will be back.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

We have just returned from a lovely week at the Kempinski Soma Bay.

Firstly I would like to thank Dan and his team at Holiday Designers who arranged our trip for us. This was our second holiday this year and on both occasions we found them to be extremely knowledgable and provided excellent customer service. We would highly recommend Holiday Designers as a tour operator.

Having spent some time researching hotels, we decided on the Kempinski because it ticked several boxes for us. These included good quality accommodation, family friendly, good food and service, within 6-8 hours flying time, decent gym, spa and scuba diving.

We had a sea view room and though not huge, ir was well appointed with extremely comfortable beds and a super wet room in the bathroom. Air conditioning worked well and was quiet. The only thing that we felt it lacked was tea and coffee making facilities for which we paid approximately £14 to have for the week.

The pool area was excellent, sun beds and shade were plentiful and the general layout of the hotel good.

The beach, though not particularly soft sand if you have little ones, is perfect for youngsters to splash around in the water as there are no waves crashing onto the beach and it is shallow for quite a way out (tide dependant of course) which is safe for the children to play in. There are also little pockets of reef shallow enough to be explored and enjoyed by the children.

Water sports are plentiful with perfect kite and wind surfing conditions in the morning. There is a wind surfing centre directly beside the hotel. There is a good house reef to shore dive on accessible from a long jetty near the Orca dive centre. A shuttle bus runs upon request to take you between properties or the dive centre which reception will call for you. The transfer from the Kempinski to Orca took 4-5 mins on the shuttle or 20 minutes to walk along the pedestrian pavement along the sea front.

We were booked on half board and therefore meals were taken in The View Restaurant:
Breakfasts were plentiful with a good selection of fruit, cereals, yoghurts etc. breads pastries along with usual hot selection for cooked breakfasts.

Evening meals offered a good choice with freshly prepared salads, pasta and grilling stations to choose from, along with the main buffet. Having spoken to other guests we definitely had the best food on offer from the 4 hotels in the bay.

The staff were fantastic, the chefs preparing the pasta etc were excellent and they genuinely seemed happy in their work and were happy to assist if you needed anything.

The hotel was quite during our stay, however this suited us .We felt that perhaps it didn't have the Fourseasons or Shangri La polish, however still a very nice hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelSchibler, Resident Manager at Kempinski Hotel Soma Bay, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Dear Sir, Dear Madame,

Thank you very much for taking time for your very detailed feedback.

It is great to hear that you spend a valuable time at Kempinski Hotel Soma Bay.
Our Chef’s are working with full passion to prepare excellent food with a twist.

We hope to welcome you back again.

Sunny greetings from Soma Bay

Michael Schibler
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012 via mobile

We just got Back to Italy after 1 week at kempinsky at Soma Bay. We had complete relax, the hotel was only partially occupied so the silence and calm around us was unbelievable for those who are used to noisy beaches and parties. The staff is vero nice and educated, from the waiters to Daria ( guest relations) who is always ready to listen and to help.
Also The food was great. Cooks are generally very attentive and a Clear supervision is al always in place. 1 word for Mr. Tolba, a young cook who does great Asian dishes ( try The restaurant bamboo shoot, pricey but worthy!), who was willing to give us recepies and suggestions. It would be great if The pool could stay open after sunset and if The internet wifi or cable could be improved (very slow downloading!)

Anyhow we really enjoied Soa bay, which has a spectacular sea, sunset, beaches and also a nearby reef for snorkeling (unfortunately there are not boat trips for snorkeling except 1-2 hours trips), and we plan to go Back soon. Some People say that kempinsky is pricey for Egypt, But if you opcompare to EU standard hotel you will realize that it is not the case!
Matteo and Barbara

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cairo
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

me , my wife and my daughter stayed there for 3 days my impression on this hotel is the hotel is very very nice , very clean and perfect service .
the food is fantastic on breakfast , and dinner . the rooms are cleaning all the time with nice sea view . the problem is the hotel is so far and it doesn't has soul and very boring only if you are a new wife and husband you can enjoy there but really it is boring . but thanks very much for Mr.islam who tried to break this boring mode in the hotel by trying to do some activities on the beach and sultan bar . if you are lazy man or lazy woman and like reading and sleeping early you love it so much :)

Room Tip: choose room 8206 nice sea view and good location
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelSchibler, Resident Manager at Kempinski Hotel Soma Bay, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for taking time for your feedback.
We are pleased to hear, that you enjoyed the culinary and the delights facilities of our resort.
We regret that you were not satisfied with the entertainment we provided during your stay. You may rest assured that we are working on a more lively entertainment program, which you can hopefully participate on your next stay with us in Kempinski Hotel Soma Bay.

Best Wishes

Michael Schibler
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Egypt
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

We are currently on holiday so this review is quite fresh.
Its not our first time in soma bay but our first stay at the kempinski.
Let me sum it up so I can get back to holidaying:
- rooms are comfortable but poorly furnished & poorly finished. Hardly luxorious.
- cleanliness standards are mediocre, at best. Inside the rooms as well as around the pool.
- breakfast buffet is lovely, as is Bamboo Shoot.
- every other meal is a big mess. Wrong orders, late orders, missing orders & very overpriced.
- pools are nice but kids activities are minimal & dull.
- evening activities + entertainment extremely dull/ tacky.
- generally this hotel seems stuck in the 80s. I know its new which makes it sadder.
- staff are very friendly & polite but seem to be missing managers. We have to chase after them to get things done.

In conclusion:
If you are looking for luxury head to the four seasons sharm.
If you are looking for fun head to gouna.
If you are looking for a nice stay in hurghada for diving etc head to steigenberger Al dau.
If you must come to soma bay then save money & stay at the Sheraton.

Room Tip: Don't let them bully into taking an extra room if you are a family that needs an Extra bed. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelSchibler, Michael Schibler at Kempinski Hotel Soma Bay, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Dear Sir, Dear Madam,

Thank you for taking the time to evaluate our hotel.

It is great to hear that you were satisfied with the friendliness of our employees.

We are very sorry to hear that the service could not exceed your expectation from a Kempinski Hotel, this is clearly not acceptable. We will revise our existing training module and on the job training.

Best regards from Soma Bay

Michael Schibler
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012 via mobile

A recreation team member that is really ready to be at the highest of the guest services there is also a few people who are really involve in their job and live it with passion like Georges, Hamed, Muller and a special thank to Mena who wants to understand the customer need before they have to think about it..

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelSchibler, Resident Manager at Kempinski Hotel Soma Bay, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Dear Sir, Dear Madame,

Thanks a lot for you guest feedback. It is really great to hear about the passion of our employees.

We will personally thank the mentioned team members and hope to see you again at Kempinski Hotel Soma Bay.

Best regards

Michael Schibler
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kempinski Hotel Soma Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kempinski Hotel Soma Bay

Address: PO Box 15, Soma Bay 84711 , Egypt
Phone Number:
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Soma Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Soma Bay
#1 Family Hotel in Soma Bay
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Soma Bay
#1 Luxury Hotel in Soma Bay
#1 Spa Hotel in Soma Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Kempinski Hotel Soma Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 325
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be enchanted by this striking resort destination on the Egyptian shores of the Red Sea, an idyllic leisure retreat blessed with more 7000sqm of picturesque landscape of pools, lazy river, waterfalls and lagoons, flowing down to an immaculate 400m sandy beach. Inspired by the mystique and nobility of the ancient Moorish fortresses, the ultimately luxurious hotel features 325 elegantly-appointed rooms and suites, ranging mostly from 39sqm/42sqm to 185sqm, mixing contemporary decor and European flair, with warm Egyptian hospitality and attention to detail. A host of deluxe leisure arrays and inspiring culinary choices harmonize your refined stay. The accommodation at Kempinski Hotel Soma Bay captures the nostalgic elegance of an age where quality and care were a way of life. Indulge in an upgrade with any of our unique and generously spacious suites dotted by unmatched views of the Resort and the Red Sea. Explore an abundance of unparalleled choice enhanced by seamless amenities, direct access to the Laguna Club Lounge while enjoying flawless services and inspirational settings. 22 Junior Suites, 10 Deluxe Suites and 2 Presidential Suites are all confirming the luxe-appeal of Kempinski Hotel Soma Bay. A host of deluxe leisure arrays and inspiring culinary choices harmonize your refined stay. Kempinski Hotel Soma Bay is the ideal location for family holiday, honeymooners, incentive program for companies and definitely a heaven for golf players. A charming KIMO kid's club is operating daily from 9am to 6pm with lots of exciting activities under the supervision of a professional attendant. A voyage of epicurean and entertainment pleasures beckons at Kempinski Hotel Soma Bay restaurants and lounge. Assuage your palate with luscious and idyllic ethos from around Asia at Bamboo Shoot or authentic international treats at The View, the hotel's main restaurant with inspiring views. Dine at "The View" restaurant or on its inspiring terrace with stunning sceneries of the Red Sea while enjoying a tantalizing gastronomical treat as you savor the unique signature dish, artistically created by our creative chefs. It is juicy, tender and sensually intrigues your taste buds, guaranteeing a wonderful culinary experience. Indulge in a timeless tasty culinary at Al Mar from noon till sunset in a serene setting. Savor premium light meals at the enjoyable Beachcomber. Revel in the epitome of luxury at Sultan Bar with high-end cocktails and heart thumping entertainment. Kempinski Hotel Soma Bay is definitely a heaven for golf players. Being part of Soma Bay luxury destination, the Hotel guests have access to the spectacular "The Cascades Championship Golf Course". If you're feeling inspired to get fit and try a new sport this summer, head to the luxurious Kempinski Hotel Soma Bay on Egypt's Red Sea and try out a complimentary introductory session of various leisure and sports activities including diving, snorkeling with a guide, windsurfing, kite surfing, catamaran, golf, beach tennis and volley ball... These are some of the leisure excitements waiting for you to explore in your next holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Venere, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, HostelBookers and Tingo so you can book your Kempinski Hotel Soma Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kempinski Soma Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kempinski Hotel Soma Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.