We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great kitesurfing venue” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Breakers Diving & Surfing Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Breakers Diving & Surfing Lodge to your Saves list
The Breakers Diving & Surfing Lodge
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   48 km Hurghada-Safaga Road, Soma Bay, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Soma Bay
Guildford
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great kitesurfing venue”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2011

I went to Breakers with my son, brother and friends to kitesurf Soma Bay. The hotel is relatively small compared to the others nearby but had a much nicer feel about it. My brother was staying next door at the Sheraton but we all though Breakers was much nicer. There were a lot of Germans staying there and a few other Brits. It was a good sociable place to stay and the food was as good as anything I'd found in Egypt before. The shuttle bus takes you down to the Kite House 5 minutes away and here is an exceelent kitesurfing venue. A cool place to chilax with great wind blowing pretty much offshore. It was Easter so it was pretty crowded on the water but excellent flat water blasting. Superb rescue facilities and good storage, only let down by the lack of enough compressed air which caused queues in the morning. This place is on a par with El Gouna, probably a bit better for kiting as the sandy bottom means no shoes, whereas El Gouna requires footwear unless you are really experienced. However El Gouna has so much more to offer in terms of restaurants etc so for partners and kids chose El Gouna, but for pure kitesurfing Breakers is hard to beat.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    46
    11
    2
    3
See reviews for
22
77
26
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2011

In short: the place was fantastic. In March 2011, there were not that many people, I would think about 40-50% occupancy. In such an environment, everything was perfect - all the facilities are excellent (I was really impressed at the very professional gym and sauna). You never had to wait for a table, or to get your order.
If you're a diver: heaven ;-) the house reef is impressive, and if you're an advanced diver, don't miss the dusk or night dives. you'll see so much!
A lot has already been posted on this thread, so here are some hints from my side:

Remember that you are in the middle of nowhere, there are just some huge hotels next door. The nearest city is 20-30km away. So effecitvely they are the monopoly that sells everything that you may need to you. you will definitely need water, and potentially something stronger. you'll also need lunch. this you will have to buy, because the breakers only operates at a half-board. only tea and coffee (and juices) are included at breakfast.

My big recommendation is this: if you like to drink some beer (or anything stronger), go to the duty free shop just before the airport exit. It's right in the place where you pick up your luggage. Buy a crate (or more) of beer or any other alcoholic beverages there if you want - it's way cheaper than at the hotel.

then when you get picked up right outside (arrange the pick-up with the hotel), you ask the driver to stop by at a super market before going to the breakers. stock up on water bottles! take a few small ones, and some big ones to refill. otherwise you'll have to dish out 3$ or so for every water bottle at the hotel! stock up on everything else there as well that you may need. tell your fellow shuttle tourists the same thing, and tip the driver (in fact, tipping in egypt is a good custom).

if you're a diver, then you'll love this. and if you're a kite surfer... well, i can't tell from my experience, but some of the kitesurfers at the hotel were very enthusiastic as well, as far as i could tell. anyway, if you're a diver, you have the options to do house reef dives, or go with the boat. The boat will either do two half-day tours within the area of inner reefs, or go on full-day excursions to some of the outer reef areas. There is also one wreck, the Salam Express. If you go on the boat, check closely to which reef they are going. Sometimes they go to some extended area of the actual house reef, where you probably won't see much else than on the house reef itself. So check the dive spots on the map before you go ;-) Also, if you plan to dive, prereserve one or more packages on their web site (you don't have to pay at reservation, just at the end). That'll give you a discount on the dives. And make sure you don't miss the boat destinations "Tobia Arbaa" and "Gamul Suraya" - they are beautiful, like an aquarium!

Ah, one last thing. Definitely do your own excursion to the city (Safaga) during one of the evenings. Don't hire a taxi from the hotel - instead, chat up the people at the kite house, or at the dive center or boat to get you a taxi. For about 20 Euros, you can take a driver that will take you there, shuttle you around, give you some time to explore and then take you back (tip the driver if he did a good job of course) ;-)

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2011

Stayed here with 2 young children in March 2011. Hotel extremely quiet for the first few days due to the recent civil unrest in parts of Egypt.

The Hotel itself was very clean. Every day the pool was cleaned and the gardeners tended to the gardens daily. The rooms were spotless.

The food at the hotel is a good standard. For the first few days, only the A la carte menu was available due to the lack of guests. However later during our week, the buffet breakfasts and dinners resumed. There was a huge amount of choice with themed dinners most night. We even had an Arabian night in which we wore the local costume dress. All good fun.

What makes this hotel stand out are the staff. Nothing was too much trouble. Even when we arrived back at the hotel late one evening after a trip to Luxor, we had called ahead to the hotel to arrange something to eat as the restaurant was closed on our return. The hotel ensured that a snack was delivered to our rooms. Everybody here was so friendly. The Manager even put on films for our children in the bar after dinner (and in English too!). Many thanks to the Reef Bar staff for entertaining Ben, my 7 year old, all week, ensuring that he got lots of practise on the Table Football in the bar.

The location of this hotel is fantastic. It has it's own small beach & swimming pool. However the plus point is the jetty in which you can either scuba-dive or snorkel straight from, saves getting on a boat! The kite-surfing was a 5 minute bus journey away. The staff down at the Boathouse are fantastic too.

I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staines
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2010

Clean good standard rooms but only just enough space.
Good food and good selection but I was sick 4/7 days.
Waiters quick to serve drinks but exceptionally slow to deliver bill.
Great rooftop star gazing bar, stars obscured by huge orange spotlight.
Hotel new and clean.
Mainly German clients, only Euronews and BBC world TV channels in english.
Bi-weekly film nights in the roof bar. English films dubbed into German with English subtitles. (Bad luck if your room overlooks the bar.)

Worst points:
Very expensive drinks 18le for a bottle of water, 16le for soft drink and 25le for a beer. No free drinking water available. There are no shops within accessible distance. If you are diving then the dive boats sell cans and bottled water for 1 euro.
Hotel has a bad fly problem, this makes chilling out on the beach impossible. (Probably caused by the close location of the cess tank.)
Different music is always playing in the restaurant and bar - which is audiable in both because they are are adjacent.
Hurghada is 30 minutes (150le taxi) away.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2010

I decided to go to Soma Bay at short notice to go kitesurfing where it was warm, the sea shallow and with a reputation for regular winds. More on the kitesurfing later.
The Breakers.
There is very little I can add to the accurate review by Dave-Gillian: http://www.tripadvisor.co.uk/ShowUserReviews-g488095-d1012205-r78449421-The_Breakers_Diving_Surfing_Lodge-Soma_Bay_Red_Sea_and_Sinai.html
A small problem I reported about smell from the shower drain in my room was attended to straight away.
Breakfasts and dinners are very good with a wide choice of foods. The hotel went out of its way to provide an outdoor Arab dinner one night and an outdoor barbecue another night. The food available at lunchtime is limited and a little expensive especially if you want a light snack. So are the drinks and bottled water. I noticed that the drinks in my room mini-bar were nearly twice as expensive as in the restaurant or adjacent bar. But that seems to be common practice in hotels worldwide.
The kitesurfing.
This takes place a 10 minute shuttle-bus trip from the hotel. The first trip was at 08:15 and runs every half an hour until about 6pm with a break between 11:45 and 2:15 pm. There was a big demand for the first few bus trips of the day with long queues for the bus size and overloading in the bus.
The winds during my week were rather variable during most days needing a change of kite size. I was disappointed that the wind was side-offshore and not side shore as stated by my package holiday agent, Planet, nor is it a practical 20-30 minutes walk away. However the kite centre had rescue boats that efficiently recovered kitesurfers, their board and kite when they were drifting offshore or when the wind had dropped.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2010

Calling this hotel a 'Lodge' suggests a basic level of accommodation but this is far from the truth. The Breakers is a well run smallish 4 star hotel where every member of staff is concerned that your stay is the best that it can be. It is a recently opened hotel on a large private estate of several large stylish hotels, a golf course and spa. It is quite isolated and ideal for 'get away from it all' holidays but not suited to those seeking retail therapy, markets or late night life.
The hotel attracts a predominantly German clientele but English is widely spoken and in fact, most of the films shown on the open-air roof terrace in the evenings are in english with german sub-titles.
Practically everyone staying at the hotel is either a diver or a kiter. This means that most people want a reasonable bed time so as to maximise their sporting opportunities during the day. Consequently, there is no late night bar action or loud, late parties. A point to note is that this is not an ideal hotel for people with young families - a great selling point if you don't want to be listening to other people's children whist you're relaxing by the pool or on the beach. The much larger Sheraton next door is better suited to families.
The chefs and kitchen staff worked particularly hard to produce varied, high quality, delicious meals which followed a different theme each evening. The hotel & kite house general manager was keen to speak with the guests at dinner so as to ensure that they were satisfied with what the hotel, dive school and kite house were offering.
Altogether, a superb 2 week stay that we are keen to repeat.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Breakers Diving & Surfing Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Breakers Diving & Surfing Lodge

Address: 48 km Hurghada-Safaga Road, Soma Bay, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Soma Bay
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Soma Bay
#5 Family Hotel in Soma Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Breakers Diving & Surfing Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Breakers is a novelty a water sports hotel, a home for demanding individuals who want to relax completely. With lots of high quality interior design, excellent cuisine, friendly service, and direct ocean location it is a delight to stay at the Breakers for all senses. You will have a lifestyle experience, supported by a casual lounge atmosphere, friendliness and high quality. Here you can enjoy an easygoing lifestyle at the house reef by diving, kiting at the new "Kitehouse", or just reading and hanging out in the beautifully decorated lounge areas that are overlooking the red sea. Spend an unforgettable time in an El Dorado of the simple pleasures of life - surrounded by a lot of style and service, but still very relaxed and in your personal daily rhythm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Breakers Diving & Surfing Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Breakers Diving And Surfing Lodge
The Breakers Diving & Surfing Hotel Soma Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Breakers Diving & Surfing Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.