We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mount Peter

Mount Peter
Route 17 & Old Mount Peter Road, P.O. Box 425, Warwick, NY 10990
845-986-4992
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 14 Attractions in Warwick
Type: Ski/ Snowboard Areas, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Scenic recreation area, nicknamed “The Friendly One,” is one of the oldest ski areas in New York State.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Great place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Bought my 15 year old skier to learn to snowboard here. The terrain was great- no ice. And best of all- easy parking, no lines and free beginner lessons. We booked a private for the morning and joined the free group in the afternoon. What a pleasant surprise over the chaos experienced at most ski places close to NYC. Also lots of "over 50" skiers (like me) and since the slopes were not mobbed- not as much worry of avoiding other skiers and snowboarders. A plus for the old and young! A great day!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    11
    3
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Fun, Fun, Fun!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Mt. Peter is a perfect spot for beginner/intermediate skiiers. Advanced skiier should also have fun, since there are some black diamond options.
On the day of my visit...(which was the first one)...conditions were ideal. Fresh snow and small crowds. I especially liked the fact that it took only a little over an hour to get there from n.y.c.
Just a note: you may get this confused with Tuxedo Ridge, which is a ski area that you may pass on your way to Mt. Peter.
I also liked the fact that all chair lifs access all of the slopes (so you can decide your level of difficulty upon reaching the top).
In any case.....if you are looking for a small ski area, with decent skiing and close to nyc............this is the place!
Also....the food is ok too!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranbury, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Gentle Slopes, Lodge, Snowboarding”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

About 15 minutes down the road from Tuxedo Ridge, this ski area had some nice gentle terrain for the little ones. I liked skiing with my kid from the top of Old Pete's chair following the beginner terrain to the bottom. They had a nice lodge at the bottom for the non skiers to hang out and watch the skiers. They had a slope with many learn to ski boarders next to the Old Pete lift. I saw some pretty young boarders learning-awesome. For the competent boarder, the had some rails, and jumps. The trail was supervised and maintained at all times. For the competent skier, the mountain had a couple of steep trails but are not as long as those further upstate in the Catskills. Easy in and out parking. Enjoy.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maplewood, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A great learning Mt for the little ones”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We took our guys to this mountain for a holiday afternoon. They have been to it before with a ski group they a members of, but we (the parents) had never been there.
Let's just say that for anyone who is an average skier or above, this will feel like a bunny slope. Very few challenges and you will spend more time on the lift lines than on the hill.
However....The place was chock full of tiny ones learning to ski. From 2 years and up i would guess were learning. It seemed that they have a great, attentive staff to teach, and I believe that beginner skiers can get free lessons (check their website).

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarsdale, New York
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Very nice beginner mountain”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Close to Westchester. Nice facilities not huge crowds for MLK weekend. Great time. Only negative one private lesson for 5 year old was weak

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mount Peter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mount Peter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.