We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Loose TEA????” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Charlotte's Tea Room

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Charlotte's Tea Room
15 Oakland Avenue, Warwick, NY 10990
(845) 988-9499
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 47 Restaurants in Warwick
Cuisines: British, Tea Room
Restaurant details
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“No Loose TEA????”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

The décor is perfect for a "tea room" with very nice, comfortable seating. I attended a shower there with about 20 other women some tea drinkers like myself. There were three china teapots on the table, each with a different unusual tea but delightful taste. My complaint is: why use teabags in a tea house, for the expense? The bags sat in the pot on the table the entire time "to strengthen the flavor". Well. I prefer the correct timing for specific teas to achieve the "CORRECT' flavor. The first item served was scones. They looked absolutely perfect; lightly browned and homemade. Every table noted the same compliant: VERY undercooked. I bake scones and know they are not difficult so how does this happen on every table???

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    3
    4
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Charming surroundings, good food, gracious service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Recently had tea at Charlotte's with a good friend. We both ordered a salad, I also had a cup of soup. First, let's talk Tea. Charlottes offers Harney & Son's Tea. It is the best. Served in the pot for you to pour. This place is a diet breaker. Devoured the corn bread. The salads are large and well-prepared. The soup was excellent. This is a charming tea room and could have been lifted right out of Warwickshire England. Will definitely return.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksville, Tennessee
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“a special place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Thank goodness for Charlottes tea room. It's wonderful for a relaxing and inexpensive quick bite after work. And it is wonderful for a real English tea and is my ace in the hole for getting my nieces to visit. All I have to say is " come , let's have tea" and they come from all over the tri state area. We have a gem in our community and I thank the owner Joanne for all of her hard work.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, New York, United States
1 review
“Repeat Offenders”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Another lovely trip to Charlotte's! I have been there no fewer than 15 times, usually with a group of 6 or 8 and we have yet to be disappointed. Mary and Joanne treat us like family and the food and beverages are just what they should be in a tea room. The soup is always wonderful; as for being bland, as one reviewer stated, I and one other of our party like additional salt and pepper, our choice, and the rest find it perfect in it's own. Scones are always perfect. The assorted tea sandwiches are difficult to stray from, but if you can, try the panini or one of the salads. Take time to notice how well appointed the rooms are, and leave time to relax. It is delightful.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynbrook
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Just what you want”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

3 different rooms to choose from...self seating which makes it nice. We chose the Garden Room with lemon yellow walls and white accents, wrought iron seats with cushions and assorted tea services throughout. The butternut squash soup was delicious and filling, the tea for one plentiful and the assorted sandwiches fresh and interesting.
I want to bring other friends here to experience the ambience and to enjoy and afternoon in a well appointed Old Victorian Tea House.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Charlotte's Tea Room also viewed

 

Been to Charlotte's Tea Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Charlotte's Tea Room, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.