We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Wonderful Weekend Getaway!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sleepy Valley Inn

Sleepy Valley Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Warwick
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sleepy Valley Inn
Save
You added Sleepy Valley Inn to your Saves list
117 Sleepy Valley Rd, Warwick, NY 10990   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 9 Warwick B&B and Inns
New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“What a Wonderful Weekend Getaway!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2010

What a wonderful weekend getaway! We spent last Saturday night at The Sleepy Valley Inn in Warwick NY. Although it was a holiday weekend, John the owner graciously allowed us to have a one night stay, instead of the 2 night minimum for the holiday, and I’m so happy he did!
Before checking in my boyfriend and I stopped at the Renaissance Faire in Tuxedo NY (only a short drive away). It was both our first time there, and I highly recommend it. We bought our tickets at Walgreens for a discounted price and spent the first half of the day there. We threw axes, and challenged each other with our accuracy of archery [I won :) ], we saw a knife show, I got my hair braided and we drank delicious mead.
After the fair, we called John and Peggy (the owners of the Inn) to see if it was ok to check in. They run the local restaurant/ bar in town (Yesterday’s) and met us at the Inn a few minutes later. John showed us to our room, The Murphy Room, and took our breakfast and coffee order for the next morning. We mentioned to John that we would be going to the Drive-In that night and he told us to stop by the restaurant to pick up free tickets. What a great bonus!
The room was awesome! Huge hot tub for two, gas fireplace (didn’t get a chance to use it), nice flat screen HD TV with almost every cable channel you would want to watch. Even though this is a bed and breakfast, we had a lot of privacy. We didn’t see any other guests, and our delicious, made to order breakfast was at a table for two.
There is also a computer and phone available for complimentary guests use in the common area of the Inn.
After getting settled, we stopped by Yesterday’s and had a couple of drinks, the staff was very nice and the crowd was mixed with families having dinner and locals having a drink at the bar. Although we would have loved to have had dinner here, we had already made reservations at Coquito, another restaurant in town (see my review). So after thanking John and Peggy for the Drive Inn passes we took a short walk through town to Coquito. After dinner we went to the movies and then home for a soak in the huge hot tub.
As promised by John, our coffee was waiting for us in the morning in the dining area. We woke up early and went for a walk before breakfast. When we came back John and Peggy were there with our home made gourmet breakfast.
We have stayed in many Bed and Breakfasts over the years; however I can honestly say that this was the best overall experience we have had. I highly recommend staying here.
After checking out we went to the Warwick Winery. While there went apple picking, listened to live music and relaxed on the grass with a bottle of Harvest Moon Wine and enjoyed our day.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    5
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
13
34
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Downingtown, Pennsylvania
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2010

This is a wonderful, quiet B&B off the beaten path. A barn has been converted into a wonderful hotel with pretty, cozy rooms. Our room had a gas fireplace, which we did not get a chance to use and a hot tub in the bathroom (also had no time to use it). The bed was very comfortable and the breakfast in the morning was wonderful. Very quiet and peaceful. A great place to get away from it all for a while, while still being close to the Renaissance Faire, skiing and an easy commute to New York City.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeLeon Springs, FL
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2010

Spent the weekend and although skeptical from the outside appearance of the hugh converted barn (couldn't imagine the room layout)found the rooms extremely clean with all needed ammentities and a hugh bath. Innkeepers Peggy and John have thought of everything you would need and are extremely accomodating and friendly. Great location for downtown shopping and to visit their restaurant there with hefty and delicious portions. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2010

My finance and I just returned from our third trip to the Sleepy Valley Inn. We love it there--it's the perfect place to get away from NYC where we live-- and Peggy and John, the innkeepers, are wonderful. The rooms and beds are comfy, and the fireplace and jacuzzi just make the visit extra special. And the fact that you get a homemade breakfast (whatever you want!) in the morning that's delicious and comes with the price of the room just makes the stay such a great value. Before we found the Sleepy Valley Inn, we stayed at another B & B in town and it was more expensive and we got a lot less for our money. We already plan on bringing up friends to experience the Inn. Can't wait!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, NY
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2010

My girlfriends and I decided we needed a weekend getaway from Long Island. We decided to do some shopping at the Woodbury Commons and when we contemplated an overnighter, another friend told me about Sleepy Valley Inn, only minutes away from Harriman. We couldn't have asked for more. A quaint B&B, newly renovated rooms, each equipped with fireplaces to make the cold evenings nice & toasty, and the finest hosts imaginable. Peg & John happen to run Yesterday's in Warwick, and it was no surprise to me after tasting Peg's delicious baking that she is an award-winning chef. Her dessert recipes have won her accolades, and well deserved. Anything we needed was just a phone call away, and we couldn't have asked for more gracious hosts. We had a blast. Choose Sleepy Valley Inn - hands down, 5 STARS!!!!

Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2010

The area is beautiful and make sure to check out the owner's restaurant as well. Good beer selection and the best peanut butter pie ever!
The spa tub in the bathroom was enormous and perfect for relaxing with some wine. The bed was super comfortable and the fireplace is real and comfortable.
The room is a little small but very cozy and comfortable.
We had an amazing relaxing trip and can't wait to go back as soon as we can! This place is a great value and we could not have had a better time.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island new york
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2010

My husband & recently stayed at the Sleep Valley B&B, it was the most relaxing setting, its nestled in a quiet country setting. The owners were excellent, they helped us with all of our needs and we will make sure we stay at this B&B everychance we get. ..The beds are so comfortable and the rooms have fireplaces in them for a romantic setting...we were very relaxed...we wish we could have stayed longer.. thanks to the owners for a great time..we will be seeing you real soon .The shopping in nice quaint towns were close as well as outlet shopping as well as skiing and tubbing.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sleepy Valley Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleepy Valley Inn

Address: 117 Sleepy Valley Rd, Warwick, NY 10990
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Warwick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Warwick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sleepy Valley Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.