We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An update of my 2012 review” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grist Mill On The Schroon Limited

Grist Mill On The Schroon Limited
100 River St, Warrensburg, NY 12885-1529
(518) 623-8005
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 22 Restaurants in Warrensburg
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Romantic, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Lake George, New York
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“An update of my 2012 review”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Owning a restaurant is not easy, I truly understand this fact. Last year I wrote a scathing review of the Grist Mill because all aspects of our meal that night were unsatisfactory. A year later it is my judgment that this pillar of culinary excellence has regained its rightful place. The service from reservation to coffee was of the highest caliber. The specials offered were inviting and exciting. I had a Fillet with a blue cheese and Jalapeno sauce, amazing. The Caesar was served in an unorthodox manner, however this salad was the best Caesar I have had on this side of the Atlantic. I am glad to say that they have worked whatever was wrong in the kitchen and the front of the house is leading the way. Thank you for a wonderful dining experience.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    13
    6
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melville, New York
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“definetly a special night out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

The food here is wonderful!!! I would recommend it to anyone who is looking for a great dinner date with your spouse or loved ones. The staff is wonderful and the food is fabulous

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake George, New York
Top Contributor
206 reviews 206 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
277 helpful votes 277 helpful votes
“Very Pleasant Dining Experience at this Gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

This is quite a gem of a restaurant. The location on the river in the old Grist Mill makes for a wonderful location, the food is quite good, the service is attentive. I think this is truly one of the better restaurants in the Lake George area and is worth a stop if you want some truly good food. It is a short drive from the lake's west side

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Depends”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Own a vacation home on LG. The Grist Mill can be very good or average at best. No consistency, so giving up on it. Last time we went to dinner it was closer to poor. Ordered drinks. Noticed many tables around us got bread,we did not. Finished drinks before our apps, still no bread, had apps without ever being asked for another drink. After finishing app, waited very long time for entree. Only upon entree coming with a unsolicited "so sorry for long wait, we have new people in kitchen" got entree and asked for drink order. Venison cooked Very Well done when ordered rare. We are not complainers, but always put on happy face so would never send back. Kicker why we'll never go back is couple next to us waited less, ordered less, and were loudly told that their drinks were on the house for their wait....huh????

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensbury, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good place for a special dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

The food and service are usually very good to excellent. The atmosphere and riverside setting are very romantic, but it is also a good restaurant for groups.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grist Mill On The Schroon Limited also viewed

 

Been to Grist Mill On The Schroon Limited? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grist Mill On The Schroon Limited, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.