We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Something for Everyone” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ridin-Hy Ranch Resort

Ridin-Hy Ranch Resort
Sherman Lake, Warrensburg, NY 12885
518-494-2742
Improve this listing
Type: Ranchs, Ranch & Farm
Attraction details
Unionville, Connecticut
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Something for Everyone”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Just returned from my 1st time here Fri-Sun. This place truly has something for everyone, reasonably priced for what is included. I found the staff to be very nice and very accomodating. It is a laid back environment where no one rushes you. I stayed in a large house with 12 other people. We had a lovely view of the lake and found the quarters to be quite satisfactory.
The horses appeared to be well trained, behaved and cared for-very important. They catered to all levels of riders including people with special needs. If you are looking for a place to have a family reunion this would be great. Indoor activities available if weather is bad and different kind of lodging options as well. It is also a fun place to go with a group of friends.
I wore sneakers for riding and that was adequate, a pair of gloves for early morning riding was good as it was still chilly. Bring a bathing suit for the indoor pool and hot tub. I brought a beach towel for use there. Our group also brought our own wine and snacks for in-between meals. I never felt a need for the snacks-lots of good food. Make sure you bring a camera although I understand there is a professional at some point taking pictures you can buy. It may be during high season as this option did not exist this past w/e.
There is kayaking, paddle boats, basketball, tennis, wagon rides, hikes to name a few options. A new building that houses an indoor basketball court will also soon offer manicures/pedicures and massages.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    3
    2
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rockville, Maryland
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Worst trip of my life”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Service was horrible, room was awful... plus the bar was terrible and the owner of the place was a total jerk. Don't waste your money on this dump.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Fun!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Fun place to stop by without having to stay there overnight and it's kid friendly. There is always some fun activity or event going on or just stop by for a drink at the bar.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millville, Massachusetts, United States
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
54 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Lots to do or just relax”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

My first visit in oct. The staff was friendly and helpful. We got there just as lunch was ending and they whisked us into the dining hall and made sure we were fed! Food was great, service fast and efficient. All food included in the nightly rate. Food choices were great also, something for everyone. Good ol' home cooking type menu.
Our room was clean and comfy. We had bad weather on day #2 when we planned to do trail ride, but kept ourselves busy with the inside activities and playing some card games in our room. The indoor pool and hot tub were big hits!!
Finally got to trail ride on the day we were leaving. They let us stay so we could get the ride in before we had to head out! Went out of their way to make sure we got to do what we came up for..even though the weather isn't their fault!
I'd return a month earlier since we like to kayak and paddle, so the October chill was a bit too much. Our cowgirl guide was awesome. She made sure we felt comfortable as we were new riders. I'd definitely come back with my family/friends as would like to ride again as well as do the hike to the castle (?) ruins nearby. If you are into winter sports, looks like an awesome spot too. Snowmobile trails (not sure if they have the snowmobiles there or not) and skiing and tubing hill.

Plenty to do in surrounding Lake George area also.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Connect with your inner cowboy (cowgirl)!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

Beautiful location, plenty of horses and trails to choose from, simple food prepared well, and well organized activities make for a great stay.
Rooms are simple and clean - but you are going to spend most of your time outdoors.
Especially enjoyed the music, outdoor movies, scavanger hunt, fishing and of course horseback riding.
Waiters & waitresses are great, horse staff (cowboys) were very helpful and knowledgeable.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ridin-Hy Ranch Resort also viewed

 

Been to Ridin-Hy Ranch Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ridin-Hy Ranch Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.