We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jones Beach, worth the traffic to get there!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jones Beach State Park

Jones Beach State Park
Wantagh, NY 11793
516-785-1600
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 6 Attractions in Wantagh
Type: Beaches, State Parks, Outdoors
Activities: Swimming, Golfing, Fishing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This park offers visitors seven miles of beach, two swimming pools, a boardwalk and games.
Galway, New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Jones Beach, worth the traffic to get there!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

My family and I headed down to Jones Beach from the Albany area for a day trip. My two children were seeing a concert, "Imagine Dragon" at the NIkon Center at Jones Beach, so we incorporated a day at the beach along with the concert. The drive from Albany, New York to Jones Beach horrendous. Once we crossed the Tapanzee Bridge I watched my life pass before more a dozen times in the tight, fast moving traffic. Once we got to the State Park, I was spent!!! On top of that, the day was dreary, drizzley and windy. Excitement started when we saw the monument at the round about!!! We parked our car a way down the dunes away from the Boardwalk at a practically deserted section of beach. It was amazing!!!!! The surf and sand brought me back to my childhood vacations on the Cape! Now, I have seen many East Coast beaches, and most cannot do that!!! Even in the drizzle, we walked and walked and walked!!! I so want to go back on a nice day, albeit there will be a crowd, but that could add to the experience!!!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    52
    11
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Levittown
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“fun day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

beautiful sand beaches,boardwalk, organized activities both day and night. giant stadium for name performers. Easy to reach by parkway and plenty of parking

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deer Park, New York, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The most beautiful beach and full of history I'm so lucky to live nearby”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

No one should miss this part of Long Island New York so much beautiful sand and people enjoying life relaxing ,playing, eating

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Floral Park, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The Best State Beach on Long Island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

I have been going to Jones Beach State Park since I was old enough to walk. The beach front is clean and the water is refreshing in the Summer. There is a boardwalk to stroll in the evening as well. There are several things to do while strolling. There is miniture golf, and a small band shell area for live music. The life guards go off duty around 6pm. Eevn after Hurricane Sandy, this is still a gem to visit. There s also a separate area for the Summer Concert series. You actually pay for parking not admission to the beach. Check out the website: Jones Beach State Park nysparks.state.ny.us

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elmsford, New York
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“The NY beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

Thus is the newbyork beach that all others are measured by... field 6 is the best... clean safe old fashioned fun... nice hard walk for wheels from the boardwalk almost to the Hugh water line.... did not like to pool .. too crowded - gross... but the beach is spectacular

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jones Beach State Park also viewed

New York City, NY
Fire Island, Long Island
 

Been to Jones Beach State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jones Beach State Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.