We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay at Upstate Country House” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn At The Ridge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wallkill
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Inn At The Ridge
Save
You added Inn At The Ridge to your Saves list
2098 Bruynswick Road, Wallkill, NY 12589   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Wallkill B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Brooklyn, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great Stay at Upstate Country House”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We had an excellent time on a pop up to Minnewaska with our dog. We stayed at the Inn and enjoyed delicious feast breakfasts with everyone else staying at the hotel. Be prepared, this is much more quaint Country House than an Inn or other bed and breakfasts we've been to with large rooms and more typical hospitality-like amenities. But it was quiet and we got to enjoy all the late summer treats of the Hudson Valley farming... so we loved it all!

Room Tip: Make sure to book one of the rooms with a bathroom, but know that the sink is in the room and not in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yourhosts, Owner at Inn At The Ridge, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you so very much sharing your review with the TripAdvisor community.
Bev and I feel that this is a major way to let future guests know how we are doing.
We are so pleased that you enjoyed the area of our Hudson river Valley.
If you ever have a feeling to get away in the future, please do not hesitate to reach out or just book on our interactive booking agent.
Thank you again for your review,
Wishing you well,
Bev & Sal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    4
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
25
37
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jamestown, Ohio, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Recently my wife and I had to travel to New York on family business. We chose to stay at a Bread and Breakfast that was pet friendly. What we found was great Inn and perfect Innkeepers.
From the first phone conversation with Sal & Bev till the time we pull out of the driveway we were treated with kindness; compassion and caring.
The facility is a unique 1800’s house with antique furniture; comfortable beds and an inviting eating /living area. We had total access to the kitchen and pantry. Each morning the coffee was made, fresh bread ready to slice, local fruit and jams as well as traditional breakfast fair.
The outdoor area was inviting and peaceful; great view of “The Ridge”; a wonderful pond with Lotus plants; English style gardens; plenty of outdoor seating and a beautiful front porch.
The Inn is within easy driving distance of many activities in the Hudson Valley.
If pleasure or business takes you to the Hudson Valley – stay at the Inn at the Ridge.
Sophocles said, “One who knows how to show and to accept kindness will be a friend better than any possession”. This is who and what Bev & Sal are.
Thank you for caring and thank you for a great stay

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yourhosts, Owner at Inn At The Ridge, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you Doc and Carol,
The circumstances that brought you here to “Inn At The Ridge” were unfortunate.
We tried to make life for you while your away from your home less difficult.
You both were gracious guests and have such a lovely family member “SPICE”.
I have heard of the breed, but never were so pleased with such a large breed before. I would seriously love to have a Bouvier as part of our Family.
Our doors are open for you as is to all of our past guests.
Thank you for sharing such a nice review with the world.
Wishing you well and maybe we will cross paths again
Bev & Sal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

My boyfriend and I really needed a nice, quiet and relaxing get away to de-stress and the Inn at The Ridge was the perfect place for us. We are cyclists and found this B&B very serendipitously. We were on a ride about a month or so ago and decided to stop and take a few photos of some cows with their calves. A woman came over from across the street to take some photos as well and asked if we were staying at the Inn -- we said we were just riding by. She said she was staying at the Inn across the street and couldn't say enough about the hospitality, the food, the grounds -- her overall experience. We made a mental note (and took a photo of the sign!) and decided we'd like to try it. The wonderful thing about the Inn is its location. We love New Paltz and its very close -- we enjoy the restaurants and shops -- The Bistro is great! We also recently discovered The Main Course -- delicious meals, salads and baked treats. I had never been wine tasting before and we went to a winery right down the road from the Inn. It was a lot of fun and we brought a nice bottle of wine back to the Inn, grabbed a couple of wine glasses from inside and sat by the huge pond in the back yard to relax and later made our way to the huge front porch. Did I mention we had a Number Bed! We had a great night's sleep and it was nice and quiet even though there were guests pets upstairs. My boyfriend has neck issues and usually likes to bring his own pillow if sleeping away from home. Unfortunately, he forgot his but was happy to report the next morning that even the pillow was comfortable! There are so many options in the area, you'll never run out of things to do. The owners, Bev and Sal, have a wealth of information on things to do -- hiking, apple picking, pumpkin picking...etc. They went above and beyond to make us feel welcome and really take great pride in their Inn, which is very evident. We had such an enjoyable time that we already made reservations to go back in October! Thanks again Bev and Sal! See you next month!!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yourhosts, Owner at Inn At The Ridge, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Hello Judy,
I am so pleased you and your Boyfriend had a great time with us. We try to do better each and every time we have new guests. It was such a great story you told in the review about speaking to a guest while you were checking out the cattle across the road of our “Inn”.
We are happy that you had an enjoyable stay while bike riding and checking out the Gardiner, New Paltz area.
Truthfully if it was’t for guests like you guys. being adventurous, enjoying your time at our Inn and just relaxing, it makes it easier to continue to do what we do.
Thank You both so very much for your visit here at “Inn At The Ridge”. Maybe we will see each other again in the future.
Wishing you well,
Bev & Sal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

My Husband and I took a trip out to the Inn At The Ridge. We were only there for 2 nights but it was wonderful. The Inn was beautiful and the surrounding yard was full of surprises: A garden full of growing vegetables, a fish pond, a swing to lay back and relax in and ducky the friendly and loving gangster cat (she has a tilted head that makes her look like that). Breakfast was delicious and the coffee was good too. We had a great time and were able to switch gears really quickly. Thank you Bev and Sal for the really nice stay!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yourhosts, Owner at Inn At The Ridge, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Hi Ana,
We thank you so much for the nice review.
I just taught Ducky our “Gangster” Cat to say “WUZZUP” LOL.

It was a pleasure having you Ana and Anthony for the weekend visit. You both were so gracious and pleasant to talk too.
We always try and do our best and your review tells us that we are doing fine. We will continue to be the best we can be since we keep having guests as nice as you both.
Wishing you success in NYC and hoping to see you both again.
Bev and Sal
Inn At The Ridge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brockport, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

This is our first experience bringing our sweet dog with us, and we, all three, felt so welcomed by both Bev and Sal. We've also never stayed in a B&B built in the 18th century, and the fact that the age of the house showed in all but the bathroom, was part of the charm. We so admired all the work that they had done both in and out. The yard & fish pond, and gardens are a delight, and the breakfasts each day were exceptional--such good coffee! such fruit! such a frittata! such home-made scones! waffles and French toast! We could have stayed for days! And the conversations were also a big part of the whole experience. We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yourhosts, Owner at Inn At The Ridge, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Hi Mary, Bev and I would like to thank you very much for such a great review. It is our goal to make everyone as relaxed as possible from their arrival to their departure. We are not looking for perfection. We are striving for you and all guests to be pleased that they came here. It is almost impossible to please everyone, but we try.
We are very pleased that you liked our Breakfast. Again only the highest quality vegetables and eggs that are from a local Range Free Flock.
We look forward in seeing all of you again.
Beverly Cooper-Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johnstown, Ohio, USA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

The B&B is lovely, the owners very nice.
This is a pet freindly B&B, I thought that would be nice. What I did not know was this meant guests lock their dogs in the guest room to bark all hours of the day and night. If you don't want to hear barking don't stay here.
Not a quiet restfull B&B.

Room Tip: Don't get a room facing the road, lots of traffic and noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yourhosts, Owner at Inn At The Ridge, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Hello and thank you so very much for giving us your review.
We have been pet friendly for 7 years from 2007 to the present 2013. It would be foolish of me to say that our Dog guests do not bark. What Dogs do is communicate thru their only process they know and that is to bark. We have a policy that during breakfast, which is served at 9AM, the Masters of the Dogs have a choice. They can keep their pets in the room or outside on a leash.
Fortunately this weekend as other weekends there were no dogs barking at all hours of the night. It just does not happen. I do recall that you, your sister and cousin went to swim many times at Tilson Lake and to my understanding had a wonderful time as well as the 9AM Saturday mornings breakfast. The only barking was on Sunday at 9AM when breakfast was starting to be served. We did not know you were NOT a morning person, until at 9AM when you came down and said you are trying to get some sleep. I apologized about the barking and explained that the owners were on our front porch swing chatting and having coffee.
You went out to speak to them and they took care of this issue immediately being very apologetic.
The dog did not bark again until after breakfast was over. I did apologize for your discomfort and again we are sorry for what had happened.
Here at “Inn At The Ridge” everyone that knows dogs, know that dogs may bark. This is why it is important to let everyone know that we are pet friendly.
Wishing you a very happy 2013 season with much success and happiness.
Beverly Cooper - Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rehoboth Beach, Delaware
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Great hospitality, Executive Chef Owner that takes very good care of your breakfast fare. Located on rolling hill country with a view of the mountains in a homey farm house. We felt right at home. Thanks.

Room Tip: Only 4 rooms to choose from. This is a small farm house which provides a unique experience. The food...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yourhosts, Owner at Inn At The Ridge, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Thank you so very much for your review.
We take care and pride in what we do and thank you so very much for noticing this. We are a small 4 bedroom Bed and Breakfast and many times we say “Gosh if we had 10 more rooms we would sell out”, but reality hits us and we realize we clean the B & B ourselves. With that said imagine 6 more rooms?
We try to do our best and hearing from guests like you makes us realize how we are doing. One thing for sure we will continue to do what we do to keep “Inn At The Ridge” a cozy quant spot.
Thank you again for the kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn At The Ridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn At The Ridge

Address: 2098 Bruynswick Road, Wallkill, NY 12589
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Wallkill
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Wallkill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn at the Ridge is pet friendly and provides a casual, homey atmosphere for your time away from work and outside pressures. Our B&B is located in the beautiful Historic Hudson Valley. This 218 year Farm House is nestled on rolling fields in the Mohonk Mountain Valley, just below the foothills of the Shawangunk Mountain range. This B&B is situated 11 miles from the eclectic town of New Paltz and neighbors Gardiner,NY with great Antique stores.We have a full kitchen for your cooking pleasure with a complete dinning room, a Living room with Satellite TV. Our 4 rooms have been well appointed for your comfort with heat and A/C, over 300 DVD's, board games and many other activities in our area. We have a Lotus pond with Sunnies and many frogs.Festivals and Car shows from June thru October in neighboring Towns and Villages in a 50 Mile radius. Pick your own apples, pears, Strawberries at local farms. Black Raspberries (White Caps) grow plentifully on our property. Great for a snack or your breakfast cereal. Give us a call. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn At The Ridge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.