We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pickles gives two paws up” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bernetta's Place Bed & Breakfast Inn by the Lake

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wallkill
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bernetta's Place Bed & Breakfast Inn by the Lake
Save
You added Bernetta's Place Bed & Breakfast Inn by the Lake to your Saves list
12 Calderone Dr, Wallkill, NY 12589   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Wallkill B&B and Inns
Weehawken, New Jersey
1 review
“Pickles gives two paws up”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

My partner booked this B&B last minute for the Labor Day weekend which turned out to be a wonderful surprise. Like the other couples staying there, we brought our dog. Pickles, a miniature poodle who never gets to run off-leash in the concrete jungles of the city, at first seemed at a loss to all that beautifully manicured and fenced-in lawn to run around. As most other reviewers commented, Bernetta is very warm and friendly and prepares delicious breakfasts with freshly baked goods and seasonal fruits.

Our room was clean, spacious and comfortable with all the touches that make it homey and welcoming. We also appreciated having privacy and separation from the other bedrooms. The location was ideal to go exploring for a relaxed but romantic getaway. One night we visited the nearby Mountain Brauhaus for a hearty German meal and the next we drove to New Paltz for a delicious Italian dinner. We hiked the well-maintained and large Minnewaska State Park with Pickles who loved the whole adventure. We ran out of time to visit the nearby lake and paddle around in Bernetta's boats and also to try a dip in the salt water pool. We'll have to do so when we return another weekend.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    3
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
42
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auburndale ny
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We love going to bernettas' she is a wonderful kind and lovely innkeeper , she is also an awesome breakfast
chef , her inn is immaculate and very relaxing and comfotable, her inn is pet friendly which we love so that we can bring our fur child Ebbe, Ebbe loves the inn because he can be off leash and safe to explore , which is very exciting for sweet timid10 pd poodle, we vacation at Bernettas 's at least
Eight times. A year.

Room Tip: beutiful rooms any one you stay in you will love
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Bernetta's Place is a warm, welcoming and beautiful bed and breakfast placed in an impeccable setting. The work and passion she has put into her property is clear. From the detail in decor to her outstanding breakfast, Bernetta aims to please. She makes all her guests feel right at home from the start. This dog friendly B&B is the perfect weekend getaway and I highly recommend this for anyone! I can't wait to go back this Fall.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queens, New York, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

The Best place to spend wonderful time with your family and dog. The property is completely fenced, so dogs can enjoy their staying, and so do you. There is a large and clean pool; very quiet place, Lake nearby and very attentive owner Bernetta. I would definetly visit this Place again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hempstead, New York, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

I have stayed at Bernetta's many times over many seasons and it just keeps getting better. The location is very convenient to so many things to do, Bernetta's cooking is outrageous and the house itself is flawless...she could not do anything more to make me happier...it's an awesome place to stay...and did I say it is an excellent place to stay also if you have a dog with you!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philly
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We have been to a couple of pet friendly bed and breakfasts in the Wallkill area and Bernetta's Place is by far our favorite. Bernetta is a wonderful host who gave us great suggestions for hikes and other things to do in the area. Her breakfasts are absolutely delicious and enough food to last you until dinner. The bed and breakfast itself had everything we were looking for. It was clean, the rooms were very spacious and the grounds were beautifully landscaped. The entire property is fenced in so our dog was able to wander freely. We also enjoyed sitting by the fire pit in the evening. We enjoyed ourselves so much that we are already planning a return visit!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonia, New Jersey
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Bernetta is the owner and chef - her breakfasts are top notch - As you enter the breakfast area, you immediately feel welcome, HUNGRY and the warmth of an inviting table set with country plates, fresh cut flowers, hot coffee, fresh muffins - and that is to start. A typical breakfast might include fresh poached eggs with homemade cornbread (best ever) with bacon, sausage, mini rolls, creme fraiche and fresh blueberries. Every day there is a new breakfast and Bernetta makes her own cakes which are in the kitchen for sharing during your stay. Bernetta has had an interesting life and has great tales to share. I very much enjoyed her company - and HER B&B IS DOG FRIENDLY!!!!

Room Tip: Bernetta's is close to Newburgh - lots of shopping - hippy/groovy stuff. She also rents kayaks a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bernetta's Place Bed & Breakfast Inn by the Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bernetta's Place Bed & Breakfast Inn by the Lake

Address: 12 Calderone Dr, Wallkill, NY 12589
Location: United States > New York > Wallkill
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Wallkill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bernetta's Place B&B is a pet friendly inn located close to all the major areas near Mohonk, Minnewaska and in New Paltz. It offers all the country that you would want. There's a 22 acre lake that you can walk to, enjoy the view of the Shawangunk mountains. Rent kayaks or have a picnic basket made up for your relaxing time at the lake. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bernetta's Place Bed & Breakfast Inn by the Lake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.