We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"What A Shame"” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Cozy Cottages

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wainscott
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cozy Cottages
Save
You added Cozy Cottages to your Saves list
395 Montauk Highway, Wainscott, NY   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wainscott
Smithtown, N.Y.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“"What A Shame"”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

After reading a review that was such a similar situation that we had in late June I had to review myself. I review often on trip advisor and this is my first negative review. Ours too was a high school weekend trip with deposit of $50 per person given to the establishment. The owner still has not contacted us as he "promised he would" after my conversation with him last month. Supposedly to produce a list of "proclaimed damages" so we could discuss and deal with. I believe this may be his M.O.with groups and it honestly makes me angry that he takes advantage of groups of people like this .As far as I am concerned this is thievery. Do not bother with this place. If he does read these reviews then he knows whom he should be calling as he promised he would!! Fifty dollars security deposit is alot to a teen whos had to work many hours to come up with that money and to not respond to us is shameful.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    5
    2
    3
    7
See reviews for
4
8
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Deer Park, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

Our group was a high school after prom weekend. The property is very poorly maintained The cottages are mostly run down. It is not at all as described by the owner That might be fine if not for the other issues that you may face when dealing with this establishment.
.
If you have to give a security deposit, be prepared to be ignored about getting your deposit returned. It is one thing to deny a refund for a legitimate reason. It is quite another to completely ignore telephone messages, emails and letters. Our group was totally ignored. The owner never returned one call or answered one email. He kept all of our money without giving us any reason or response at all.

Any meals that are included may not be what is expected or promised. This was the case for our group.

Although you might be assured that Cozy Cottages is used to accommodating large groups, such as after prom groups, and that a certain amount of noise and commotion will be tolerable, be prepared to field a number of complaints and threats about any variety of behavior all weekend long. Small situations were made to be huge issues and were exaggerated.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Wainscott hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

I went on after prom vacation that was 400$ per person plus 50$ security deposite, half of the cabins were discusting only about 3 of them were in good shape there were hazardous conditions such as in the rooms made for "3" there was a mattress just put on to the floor in front of the oven. We were told that the people who were going to be staying in the cabins that were not part of our group were aware of what would be going on. Which was NOT the case they complained about out noise and the leaders of our groups who put our trip together were called at least three times a day with complaints. The place looks like an un kept up backyard and the "chef" just through burgers on a grill. Not that hard to do. My oven did not even work and looked like it was from the 90s. Our fridge was a tiny mini fridge that barley fit anything. Floors were dirty. No towels provided. No cups soap or anything. Was told the beach was "walking distance" which was a lie. The outside screens were filthy and filled with dirt and pollen. There were only 3 nice cabins out of 20. Cabin 11 was one of them (which someone passed away in and we did not find that out until after) and cabin 7 was alright but people staying in it also complained it contained no working stove and very tiny fridge. It is WAY OVER PRICED For it not being up kept. Only stay if u can crack a cheap price with the unprofessional owners

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

went for 4th of july weekend and was happy to have such a cute place to stay. really loved having a place that was as close to camping without having all the bugs of the forest come to visit (i don't do tents). air con, close to everything, and quiet. loved it

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

This place was seriously gross. I do not have a problem with older places (they have charm) but I do have a problem with staying in places that are dirty, smelly and creepy. Sure you can post a nice photo of the main house that someone lives in (I assume), but notice they don't show any other photos of the cabins? We should have known something was up when we went to check in and they didn't even let us inside....yes, the door was cracked open only enough to exchange keys and money. Needless to say, we did not stay. Owner was not helpful to put it mildly. Would never recommend to my worst enemy.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westfield, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

We had driven past Cozy Cottages many times, and I always wanted to check it out. We finally stayed last weekend and were glad we did. Matthew from the rental agency was helpful, and the Cozy Cottages staff were accomodating and laid back -- refreshing for the Hamptons. The location is wonderful, and the beach pass a real bonus. There was a good shower, full refigerator, the place was clean, and we had a nice outdoor space surrounded by a fence. We had a really fun Memorial Day weekend.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

I don't think I would pay more than maybe $60 to stay here. It is so horrendously overpriced for an unkept, cheaply made, carelessly maintained location. It's disgusting that just because of its proximity to East Hampton they think that they can charge a high price. Definitely not worth the money.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Cozy Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cozy Cottages

Address: 395 Montauk Highway, Wainscott, NY
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > Wainscott
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wainscott
Number of rooms: 5

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cozy Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.