We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Far too expensive for what it was!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Maremonti

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Villa Maremonti to your Saves list
Hotel Villa Maremonti
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Lungomare di Levante 51 | Massa, 54039 Marina dei Ronchi, Massa, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Far too expensive for what it was!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

This is my first review i have ever writen ~ It looks nothing like the photos! This hotel had an extremley tiny room (supposed to be a superior) and the 'sea view' i was promised was actually a very busy road and buildings blocking the sea. The shower head was mouldy and ancient, the space in the shower box was tiny and i'm not big! Hairs in the sink on arrival , cobwebs in the bedroom , no room to swing a cat, and dirty drawers. For 200 Euros a night for 2! The plus side is the roof terrace was huge with table, chairs and sunbeds (shame about the traffic and lack of sea views) , the staff were nice, the pool looks nice (although you cant swim in it after 7pm!!!) I personally love an evening swim! :( , the bathroom was nice apart from the shower and sink hairs! I'd say if this hotel was cheaper i would not have minded so much about any of the above. I was just expecting this place to have a litlle bit of a luxurious feel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    9
    4
    4
    4
See reviews for
17
21
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

We stayed here with our children last week. The hotel is very nice~an old villa with only 19 rooms. The pool is great for the kids, and there is a stone ping pong table on site which they loved! We were across the street from the sea, and there was a beach club that the hotel is affiliated with that was very accommodating (40 euros for a "tent" and 5 beach chairs). Lunch at the beach club was delicious. The hotel itself had marble bathrooms and a/c. Both rooms had balconies with views of the sea. The airline lost my son's luggage, and the staff at the hotel made numerous calls to locate it. They were helpful in every way. There are little grocery stores and restaurants within walking distance, but the area is not filled with tourists. The hydrangea plants at the hotel were amazing. The grounds were wooded and really nice. Over all, a perfect spot! We also drove to Cinque Terre, which was less than an hour, and Lucca, which was only 45 minutes. We would definitely come back!

Room Tip: The sea view with the large balconey is worth the extra money
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2011

We stayed 6 nights here after driving down through France and Switzerland. It was perfect for rest and relaxation, with high quality rooms, just as if staying in someone's private villa. The staff here are amazing, so friendly and very helpful. They spent a great deal of time on the telephone finding us somewhere to stay next in Tuscany, and all for no charge. Nothing here was too much trouble and everything is clean and tidy. The pool is brillinat with a dining terrace yards away for a leisurely lunch. If you want a change from the brillinat, but not cheap, hotel food, then pop 100 yards down the road to Pancino 2 restaurant on the other side of the road. Very good value and excellent food, serive and wine! We spent ages beforehand deciding where to stay in this area and this place exceeded all our expectations! We would highly recommend staying here..

Room Tip: Go for a rear facing room over the lovely garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cleveland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2009

Gratefully, my wife and I stayed only one night. Our small room had not been updated in 30 years, hadpeeling paint, hotel had deferred maintenance and we could barely turn around in the bathroom. Staff was indifferent and at breakfast there was no one to serve coffee. The pool had no been cleaned in some tim and tile was old and broken. This is a 2 star hotel at best and a bad value.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2008

Just returned from a 6 night stay at Hotel Maremonti--what a wonderful place! We had a double room on the top floor with a balcony and view of the sea -- Superb! The hotel is beautifully renovated, and there are lots of options for your meals--you can eat in the dining room, in the new garden room, under the gazebo, in the garden or by the pool! Also, lots of cozy places inside the house or in the gardens to just sit and relax. Beautiful pool and tennis courts too. Francesca and Ciro are excellent hosts, and Ciro's knowledge of local wines made our evening meals even more pleasant. We had every meal there and the food was excellent. And the staff -- FIVE STAR service!! If there was anything you wanted, just ask and it was done! All in all, we can highly recommend the Hotel Maremonti as a relaxing place to stay, just far enough away from the madness of Forte di Marmi.

  • Liked — the food and the service
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Villa Maremonti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Maremonti

Address: Viale Lungomare di Levante 51 | Massa, 54039 Marina dei Ronchi, Massa, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Massa Carrara > Massa > Marina dei Ronchi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Marina dei Ronchi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Maremonti 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Villa Maremonti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villa Maremonti, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.