We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reliable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mickey Finn's

Mickey Finn's
14 Railroad St, Victor, NY 14564-1322
585-924-4660
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #34 of 79 Restaurants in Victor
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Rochester, New York
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Reliable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014 via mobile

Over the many years we have eaten there it has proven to be, despite several owners and menu changes, a good reliable restaurant. Overall food is very good, service is very good and prices are average for the area and menu choices.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    20
    16
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Upstate NY
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Not fancy, but welcoming”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

Mickey Finn's was exactly what we wanted... not fancy but comfortable, good food at reasonable prices (the Irish Nachos are fun! and the Artichokes French is delicious!), friendly/prompt/helpful service, ability to hear the conversation in our group, and everyone paid close attention to a food allergy at our table. Will definitely visit again when we're in the area.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse NY
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“St. Patrick's Day Meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

The corned beef and cabbage was excellent ... melt in your mouth! Was also there on Valentine's Day. Although busy, the service was great, the staff very friendly, and the food was excellent. Cannot recommend the Chicken-Artichoke-Crab French strongly enough.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Top Contributor
1,713 reviews 1,713 reviews
1,149 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 196 cities Reviews in 196 cities
566 helpful votes 566 helpful votes
“Fine Irish Bar & Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

I had never stopped in to this out-of-the-way Irish pub, located up on a hillside in Victor, NY. Mickey Finn's is one of the few Irish "pubs" that is set up more as a restaurant than a bar, but it does have a large square bar area in front with seating for at least 30 people. It is not dressed up as most Irish bars try to be, and has a much cleaner design, with lots of wood inside. It almost looked more Scandinavian than Irish to me.

I don't know why, but I decided on one of their Mickey Finn "garbage plates" for lunch, which featured a hot dog, macaroni salad, tater tots, and something else all thrown on top of each other, on a plate. (For those of you who have never visited Rochester, please don't try to figure this out. It's part of our culture. See the photo I've attached.) It was pretty good, and huge...I couldn't come close to finishing it. The amber ale recommended by the friendly bartender went perfectly with it. She seemed to know all her patrons, as happens in places like this.

Overall, this place was pretty good, and I would return. I think it would make a better drinking place than dinner place, but I'd try either one.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, NY
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Relaxing atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014 via mobile

Mickey Finn's is an excellent choice for a full meal or a drink and appetizers by the fireplace in the pub area. The menu is varied, food is good and servers are always ready with recommendations. Always our choice when in the Victor area.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mickey Finn's also viewed

 
Victor, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Mickey Finn's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mickey Finn's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.