We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service/food not so great” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Otto Tomotto's

Otto Tomotto's
300 Phoenix Mills Plz, 6385 State Route 96, Victor, NY 14564-1413
585-742-2070
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 77 Restaurants in Victor
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Just couldn't find this restaurant to review it! Thanks
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Great service/food not so great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

All the staff very friendly and accommodating. Took special requests without a problem. Red sauce is too sweet and meatballs not very tasty. Probably will not be returning

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    24
    11
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Long Wait, Shortchanged Food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We have been to this restaurant several times. Their reservation control is poor. Latest visit we had to wait 35 minutes despite having a reservation. Though the food is well prepared, our 2 dishes had very little seafood. The crab and roasted tomato risotto was flavorful but was almost entirely rice, hardly any crab and practically no tomato. The C-Food Medley was a load of pasta and a couple each of mussels, scallops , shrimp and clams. Hardly enough to offset the copious amount of pasta. Their dessert menu had 1 item, deep fried bread with a sauce, and it was not appealing to us or our table mates. Needless to say, this is our last trip to this restaurant.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York, United States
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Just right for a locavore!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

No one can eat that much food all at once! Large servings and interesting choices. This is a cute little place that is popular with many locals. Our party had the linguine in clam sauce (scarfed down by a fussy eater so I know that was good), a couple different variations of gnocci (pronounced "delish") and chicken and greens which was a bit short on greens and a bit heavy on a thin sauce that pooled in the bottom of the dish. Tasted great, though. The seasoned butter that comes with the bread was a big hit. Salads were fresh and tasty. I recommend the house dressing which is an apple poppyseed vinaigrette. Service was friendly and efficient. Prices are about par for this type of place.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Nicer little place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Good food and large portions for a reasonable price! Almost couldn't find though. GPS stopped up almost 5 miles too soon. It's located in a little mini mall/ business strip.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor, New York
Top Contributor
195 reviews 195 reviews
160 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“"Americanized" is right...or out of a can, which may be inappropriately knocking canned Italian.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

Otto's is close to home, and we hadn't been there in over a year because I don't like the red sauce. But, as it was Friday and seemed the only place we could get a reservation, we went again.
Tried the chicken Marsala (think Denny's), and the French onion soup (not as good as Denny's). The salad was ok (but the salad dressing tastes like its out of a huge, cheap vat), but after spending 80 bucks for 2 adults and 3 kids it is so not worth it.
Save your money, go somewhere else...but good Italian in Rochester is so hard to find.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Otto Tomotto's also viewed

 
Victor, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Otto Tomotto's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Otto Tomotto's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.