We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas Party and overnight at The Lodge” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Lodge at Turning Stone

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Lodge at Turning Stone to your Saves list
The Lodge at Turning Stone
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5218 Patrick Rd, Verona, NY 13478   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Verona
Brewerton, New York
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Christmas Party and overnight at The Lodge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Arranged our office Christmas party at a Tower banquet room and overnight stay at the Lodge. The Lodge rooms are all exquisite suites, 2 TVs, minibar, fabulous bedroom and bath. The staff is fantastic from valet parking, check in and help to and from the room. Wife and I were able to enjoy a couple of hours at the spa-highly recommend. First night we had dinner at the Wildflower-5 star for service and food! Next night office staff took walkway from 2nd floor to casino, stairs or elevator down, walk around casino, escalator to Tower banquet room. We had cocktail hour with apps. Only complaint was lamb chops tough, that part of the bill was credited. Servers were fabulous ladies. Then preselected dinner of filet mignon with scallop casino, green beans, potatoes-very good. Apple tart for dessert. Then on to casino to the early hours of the next day-great selection for our party. Have stayed at the Tower hotel repeatedly, they are notoriious for a late check-in. Everything at the Lodge was far better and worth the extra fee! Call ahead to see if you can check in early!

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    251
    39
    12
    5
    3
See reviews for
53
145
2
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Rockford, Illinois
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We didn't know anything about the Turning Stone Resort, or the Lodge before we checked in. (We were booked here for a work holiday party.) What a pleasant surprise. Top-notch service and amenities. Great pool and jacuzzi. The Lodge is a wonderful quiet retreat from the rest of the hustle and bustle of the casino. We particularly appreciated the turndown service.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We booked this as part of a birthday getaway. We were not prepared for the level of service at The Lodge at Turning Stone. From the valet parking to the tour of the property from the bellhop, we were made to feel welcome. If you need ice, they bring you ice. The concierge booked our reservation for the Steakhouse (also amazing), and when we returned from turned the bed had been turned down. All in all a relaxing stay. Would like to have stayed longer for the spa and pool.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We really wanted to LOVE this property overall (hotel, golf, casino, restaurant - all the things that we really enjoy together in one place) but left feeling that it was a little lacking. The rooms are wonderful - clean, spacious and nicely appointed with a lovely sitting porch area for morning breakfast (which we enjoyed). Room service was prompt as well. Front desk service was below average with inexperienced check-in/out personnel that were not interested in understanding if there had been any problems or positives with your stay. The valet service was prompt and friendly and the porters were also very friendly and polite so no complaints there.

Our main issue (being it a full service resort) was our experience at what is deemed a first class golf course (Atunyote) and then the lack of response when this was addressed with front desk staff. The treatment of my husband at the course was appalling (and he has played around the world at all the top courses-Pebble, St. Andrews, Pine Valley, etc.) and when I dropped him off to play, we spent over $500 in the clubhouse and my service was horrendous - two guys standing behind the counter (they were not even doing anything) not paying attention even when I asked questions about sizing. I know that they were getting ready for a tournament the next day but that is completely and utterly unacceptable service.

Additionally, we had an expensive dinner at TS steakhouse where we had to send back the same food not once but THREE times due to improperly cooked meat (did you know that the kitchen is not even on the same FLOOR as the restaurant?), however, the manager did offer a complimentary dessert and came by the table.

The casino was a nice respite after dinner and would recommend it as a decent place to spend (and win or lose) some cash…

Overall, we cannot recommend Turning Stone yet believe that with the proper training at the front desk and the golf course (completely appalling) issues can be dealt with immediately and this might 'turn' (no pun intended) this pretty property around.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2014

Stayed one night with my 2 kids. They loved it! Room was spacious and nice. They brought the kids milk and cookies at bed time. Pool was great. The only downfall was the restaurant. We tried to go for dinner but the wait was long so had to do room service. Also, had the breakfast package but again the wait was long so we had to do room service again which was also long.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, Vermont
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2014

My husband & I were just passing through on our way home and decided to stay at the casino.
Most of the reviews recommended staying at the lodge, even for the extra cost. So, we booked online as we were driving (about 3 hrs away). When we arrived, the valets were waiting to help us with our luggage and park our car. (No extra cost.) The staff was very friendly & helpful. Our room was beautiful. (# 308) It was on the front of the building, with a balcony. There are others on the back of the building overlooking the "lake/gardens", too! Large living area with a separate bedroom & beautiful bath with a shower & tub. 2 TVs. 2 balcony chairs. Really hated to leave the room to go to the casino! Many options to eat: several restaurants in the casino area. You can even order room service, if you wish. After dinner & a bit of gambling, we went to the pool around 915 pm (closes at 10) and had it to ourselves! We swam & enjoyed the elegant hot tub. Then back to our room for a wonderful nights sleep. Very quiet! Very enjoyable... Hated to leave!

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ottawa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2014

My husband & I are frequent guests of the Turning Stone Casino, usually staying in the Tower. This is the 2nd time we booked at The Lodge, there to attend a concert in the event centre. It is first class, all the way. Sumptuous & luxurious! From the attentive professional staff, the stunning beauty of the building itself & the decor (lots of wood), to the extra touches - chocolates at the check-in desk, complimentary spring water in our suite, robes & slippers, option to request your choice of pillow type, quality amenities in the bathroom (leftovers are "recycled" for needy children), free wifi. Spacious suites. My only complaint would be that the windows don't open for some fresh air, but this is not unusual. Beautiful pool. Expensive, but so worth it for a special occasion or just to treat yourself once in awhile.

Room Tip: I would've asked for one of the suites with a balcony, had I known. The weather was beautiful &a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Lodge at Turning Stone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Turning Stone

Address: 5218 Patrick Rd, Verona, NY 13478
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Verona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Verona
#2 Business Hotel in Verona
#2 Family Hotel in Verona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lodge at Turning Stone 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A legendary experience awaits your indulgence at the AAA 4-diamond award-winning Lodge at Turning Stone. Selected by Conde Nast Johansens as the "Most Excellent Resort" in the USA and Canada for 2007. The Lodge at Turning Stone is an elegant all-suite hotel that's perfected the art of pampering. This beautiful hideaway offers treasured privacy that superbly complements the resort's recreational pleasures. Your sumptuous suite is just mere steps from fun and excitement, yet still a serene world away. Come. Enjoy our hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Despegar.com so you can book your The Lodge at Turning Stone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Turning Stone Hotel Verona
Hotel At Turning Stone
At Turning Stone Verona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lodge at Turning Stone, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.