We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Prefer The Lodge to Turning Stone Towers!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Lodge at Turning Stone

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Lodge at Turning Stone to your Saves list
The Lodge at Turning Stone
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5218 Patrick Rd, Verona, NY 13478   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Verona
Syracuse, New York
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Prefer The Lodge to Turning Stone Towers!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed in room # 120 which is located two doors away from the pool / fitness door. It was a sleek, modern room. We loved the glass doors separating the bedroom from the living room area. The bathroom was a good size too. The only problem is the hallways had a faint odor of chlorine and it can be noisy. We were not expecting there to be a lot of children around, but there was. It just so happened to be a child care conference that weekend. I'm sure it must be quieter other times, but next time we would rather be on the Skana Spa wing or upstairs in one of the VIP suites. In February, my girlfriends and I stayed in the Towers and had Ashi Spa treatments. While the room in the Towers was nicely decorated, it does not compare to the Lodge. The Ashi Spa treatments were just as good as the Skana Spa; however, the amenities at the Skana Spa felt more luxurious. The steam room, sauna, whirlpool, and mineral water pool was so much nicer than at the Ashi Spa. My only complaint with the spas are the misinformation I received from various staff on both my visits. They tell you about purchasing a "Day Pass" to the spas yet each time none are available. Each staff person, from reservations, to the front desk staff, to the concierge told us a different story. At Mirbeau in Skaneateles a guest staying overnight has use of their spa amenities. Too bad Turning Stone doesn't extend that same courtesy! If you can get a "Day Pass" ( which seems like a myth to me) it will cost each guest $35.00.
The beds were comfortable, but not as heavenly as the Mirbeau mattresses. The Dream Catcher for guests was a nice touch. Our room did have a walk-out patio which was nice too.

We had dinner at Pino Bianco and it was delicious! Our server was Kathryn, she was attentive. We would definitely go here again. For dessert we went to Opal's just across from the restaurant to bring goodies back to our room. Breakfast at Wildflowers was excellent. Kayla was our waitress and she too was very nice and efficient. The breakfast menu had so many excellent choices.

Room Tip: I would not stay in the Pool wing area again.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TS_Management, Manager at The Lodge at Turning Stone, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at the Lodge. Your feedback is very important to us and we have shared both your compliments and concerns with the appropriate management. We are happy that you enjoyed your experience at Turning Stone and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    251
    39
    12
    5
    3
See reviews for
53
145
2
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is one of the best spa experiences I ever have. I have been going at least once a month for treatments! We have lunch and fun drinks afterwards. Treat yourself to this special retreat. You will not be disappointed !

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villanova, Pennsylvania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The Lodge at Turning Stone is a great getaway. My room was a suite with two double beds and a separate sitting area. The rooms have an option of an outdoor hot tub or an in room fireplace but mine did not have these. The beds are plush and the lodge gives you about seven different pillow options. The staff is very nice and my room received excellent service everyday, even on Easter. A trip to the spa is a must, it is very relaxing and offers many options. Room service is good and the Lodge restaurant is great for breakfast. The golf course looks great but in March, the cold weather and high winds kept most quests inside. The Lodge has an expansive relaxing common area near the bar for reading and relaxing. If you are any where near Verona, New York, this resort is a great option.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Husband and I went to The Lodge at Turning Stone for a two day get away of relaxation and spa services. From the arrival to our departure everything was amazing and so personalized. They greeted us by name on arrival and gave us hot chocolate and treats while we signed in. Our room was amazing and the turn down services and house keeping were the best. The suite rooms were beautiful and extremely clean. Our first night we had dinner at wildflowers - very gourmet and very tasty - they paid very close attention to detail and our waiter Michael made the evening a real treat - he was very friendly and had great suggestions for our meal. We also had breakfast there - the food was fresh and enjoyed the pancakes and banana bread French toast - husband loved the spicy corn beef hash. We spent most of the day at the spa which was amazing and relaxing. The massage was wonderful and the whirlpool, steam baths, and saunas were very nice afterwards - and you could stay there however long you wanted following your services. Be sure to bring comfortable clothes to walk around in and also your swim suit when going to the spa. Second night we had dinner at the tower in the steakhouse on the 21st floor - amazing view, good food - large portions, staff was fantastic. Husband loved his aged new york strip. During the week on Wednesday they have a comedy club night which we really enjoyed. The only aspect we didn't like was the smoky air in some areas of the casino. We don't gamble so it was not really a problem - but even the non-smoking sides often smelled of tobacco since it is in all the same building. But that was not even a concern for us. We loved our stay and will definitely be back again to enjoy. To everyone who worked there during our stay at the lodge from Tuesday April 3rd to Thursday April 5th, 2013 you guys did amazing. Thank you for making our getaway a great stay

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oriskany Falls, NY
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

My husband and I have stayed at The Lodge a couple times in the past and each time it seems to get better and better. Between the top-notch service to all the amenities, it doesn't get much better than this. We live close to The Lodge, but staying there makes you feel like you are traveling far away. We had a to wait a little longer for our room to get cleaned and because of this they upgraded our room to a deluxe suite! It was very quiet, even for St. Patty's Day and my husband and I got to enjoy their amazing pool/hottub without anyone else in there at the time. The workout room was spotless and we both saw many people consistantly cleaning and upkeeping many things. Our room was so quite and we heard no one our entire stay. Our room was spotless and perfect! They have a bridge/walkway that you can walk from The Lodge to the casino so you don't have to brave the cold winter or the hot weather in the summer months. Between, the beautiful woodwork, to the crackling fireplace, and the exceptional service, I can't think of a better place to stay in CNY! We hope to return next year!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Webster, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We picked Turning Stone since it was only a 2 hour drive from home, but had great reviews for the spa. We were not disappointed. From the first person we met at the free valet, to the last person we dealt with at check-out, we were treated like special guests. Our services at the spa were exceptional, and we all had different ones. (One suggestion, call weeks in advance to get the same times and services you want). We were all so impressed with the attention to detail, from the fresh fruit, water and nuts, to the bathing suit dryer, that we left the spa area so relaxed and happy. Our room at the Lodge was beautiful and they happily accommodated us with extra robes and essentials. A short indoor walk to the casino, then back to the serenity of the Lodge. There was never a question of if we will go back, only when!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We booked a suite for the weekend. The Lodge was beautiful, the staff was awesome! We booked massages at Skana and it was by far one of the best experiences I ever had. Well worth the money! Make sure you get there early so you can enjoy the water rituals. Additionally, the pool/hot tub area was beautiful. Well maintained. They did not allow you to bring alcohol into the resort, which was the only dissappointment.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Lodge at Turning Stone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Turning Stone

Address: 5218 Patrick Rd, Verona, NY 13478
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Verona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Verona
#2 Family Hotel in Verona
#2 Business Hotel in Verona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lodge at Turning Stone 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A legendary experience awaits your indulgence at the AAA 4-diamond award-winning Lodge at Turning Stone. Selected by Conde Nast Johansens as the "Most Excellent Resort" in the USA and Canada for 2007. The Lodge at Turning Stone is an elegant all-suite hotel that's perfected the art of pampering. This beautiful hideaway offers treasured privacy that superbly complements the resort's recreational pleasures. Your sumptuous suite is just mere steps from fun and excitement, yet still a serene world away. Come. Enjoy our hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Despegar.com so you can book your The Lodge at Turning Stone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Turning Stone Hotel Verona
Hotel At Turning Stone
At Turning Stone Verona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lodge at Turning Stone, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.