We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous property!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Lodge at Turning Stone

Save Saved
You added The Lodge at Turning Stone to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Lodge at Turning Stone
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5218 Patrick Rd, Verona, NY 13478   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Summer Special: $279
Ranked #1 of 6 hotels in Verona
New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Fabulous property!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2008

My husband and I had a wonderful stay at Turning Stone Lodge a couple of weeks ago. The staff is superfriendly and helpful, and the spa is awesome. We each had three treatments and used all the spa facilities, including the sauna, whirlpool, mineral pool, and steam room. If you're getting a massage, request for Jim, who is better than any masseuse I've had in New York City, where I get most of my massages. We ate at the Skana Cafe a few times, and it was always delicious and healthy. I liked the shrimp and scallop pita the most. We also ate at the upscale Wildflowers restaurant one night, which turned out to be the best dining experience we've ever had! The food was beyond wonderful, and the waitstaff was friendly and unpretentious. I honestly can't think of a better way to spend a weekend. We didn't leave the lodge the entire time, unless you count taking the long passageway to get to the casino. I highly recommend this establishment!

  • Liked — It is extremely well maintained
  • Disliked — The location is out of the way
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    221
    38
    10
    3
    3
See reviews for
46
132
2
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wayne, New Jersey USA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2008

We stayed at the Turning Stone during our College visits to the Upstate New York schools. I expected it to be a stressful trip, being that we were investigating future colleges for our son. Staying at the Turning Stone made our trip so much fun. The Lodge was beautiful. The service was terrific. The food at The Lodge was wonderful. My son and husband enjoyed the Casino in the next building. It is very relaxing resort. I could have stayed a few more days. I would highly recommend The Lodge for a place to stay. There was no liquor license at the time of our stay. There is a small liquor store across the street, so this is not a problem for those who enjoy a cocktail or a glass of wine.

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, VA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2008

The lodge at Turning Stone rooms are amazing. I got a package that included meals and spa over 4 days.
Rooms were beautiful - Dark wood walls, huge spa bathrooms with Kohler hardware. A huge bed with so many pillows and fluffy comforters I'd get buried every night. Beautiful balcony overlooking a garden (filled with snow while I was there). I took two yoga classes (alone!) from a super teacher in a beautiful wood floored workout room with a huge window looking out at the pond.
Skana spa - outstanding - My first treatment was called Leaves and Flowers... ---This unique treatment begins with an invigorating mineral salt and essential oil exfoliation, after which the body is immersed in a floral and herbal mineral bath to soothe the body and mind. A luxurious aromatherapy massage application of your chosen essential oils follows the bath. --- the huge suite for this was gorgeous, candles, nice music, heated massage bed. The adjoining bathroom that I was led to for the bath was beautifully strewn with tons of rose petals (in the water too) and cool water to drink and in wash cloths to put on your forehead.

The next day I could barely move after the Dandelion and Mint foot cure (reflexology extrodinare). The day after that the facial was good and the last day, the Harmony Massage was amazing. Interspersed through all treatments I could go into the coed mineral pool and the ladies jacuzzi, both had the rotating light cycles under water. And I'd sit (for several hours) and read at either the mineral pool or in the lounge with the fireplace on a great lounge chair with bunches of strawberries and other fruit and nuts, and either tea or Fuji water.

There were really fantastic fireplaces throughout the lodge - in the great room, entrance to the spa, outside at the entrance to the hotel. They were mostly huge fire pit type fireplaces so very dramatic.

Wildflowers Restaurant was great. Great restaurant staff.
Some of the Food - scallops with melted white chocolate, brioche (great!), donut soup (awesome idea), tableside Caesar salad, black cherry compote, french fries (also awesome).
The very best though, was the appetizer of scallops with white chocolate sauce and microgreens. Fantastic.

  • Liked — cleanliness and style and comfort
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2008

This hotel is absolutely topnotch in every way. You are called by name from the minute you drive up and the valet takes your car. You are checked in to the hotel in a very personal manner in which you feel you are the only guest staying there that night. The accommodations are superb - comfortable, modern, chic. Shortly after you get settled into your room , they call and make sure everything is to your satisfaction. The turn down service with dimmed lights, chocolates, plush robes and slippers ready - make you feel like a king and queen. They think of everything and make your stay spectacular . We will definitely return and stay more than one night!!

  • Liked — the comfort and style of the room
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adirondacks
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2008

Upon booking a reservation at The Lodge at Turning Stone I had to cancel due to a family emergency. I was concerned after reading other reviews about difficulties with cancelling a reservation, but upon calling the lodge I spoke with a very friendly member of the concierge team and was assisted in cancelling my reservation. I was looking forward to my stay, but was needed elsewhere. I definately plan on rebooking my reservation with Turning Stone and if their property lives up to the quality of service that I encountered with the Concierge/Reservation Staff then I am sure I will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2007

Girlfriend and I came up to Turning Stone to visit my little sister at nearby Hamilton College. Parents stayed at the Lodge and we stayed in the Tower.

I have been coming to Turning Stone for years and well before the Tower, Lodge, golf courses, spa, etc.. were built and despite its decidedly dowdy and mid-market appearance back then, i've always loved the place.

The "new" turning stone is in good shape. The new lobby area is modern and elegant and situated away enough from the casino that the hotel could be comfortable for those not seeking the casino but simply a decent hotel in the area. We were given a great corner room (love the decor) which was great size and very clean and comfortable. Good views of the golf courses and resort grounds. Had breakfest one morning at Wildflowers, the restaurant in the Lodge which was good, small but upscale buffett. On past visits have eaten at Rodizio which was fair, not great. Despite the upper-classing of the resort, because of the liqouor prohibition, i doubt t-stone will ever get serious about food/drink.

Anyway, had a great time, place still looks pretty damn good, but damn the rooms are not cheap, for a random weekend in Nov paid an average $250/night for one of the tower rooms. Ouch!

Stayed November 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
long island ny
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2007

We were there for 2 nights, attending a conference.
The staff at The LODGE was over the top
They ade you feel special, welcomed and always accomodated. They thought ahead at every instance, taking into account the value of their guests. Truly the best service I have EVER encountered in any fine hotel I've stayed in. The rooms are clean, serene and well kept. From the moment of check in, to the 24 hour room service, to the maid service you pass in the halls, impeccable and refined.
the rest of the property I cannot say the same, though pleasant. Casino staff is typical, however slightly freindlier than most.
Staying at th lodge completely made yo feel removed from the hustle and bustle. If you can get over the "no alchohol" (Just bring your own) Id say this is one of the finest hotels Ive ever stayed in.

  • Liked — The service
  • Disliked — Not much to do in verboa, who needs to, the room is all you need
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Lodge at Turning Stone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Turning Stone

Address: 5218 Patrick Rd, Verona, NY 13478
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Verona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Verona
#2 Business Hotel in Verona
#2 Family Hotel in Verona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lodge at Turning Stone 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A legendary experience awaits your indulgence at the AAA 4-diamond award-winning Lodge at Turning Stone. Selected by Conde Nast Johansens as the "Most Excellent Resort" in the USA and Canada for 2007. The Lodge at Turning Stone is an elegant all-suite hotel that's perfected the art of pampering. This beautiful hideaway offers treasured privacy that superbly complements the resort's recreational pleasures. Your sumptuous suite is just mere steps from fun and excitement, yet still a serene world away. Come. Enjoy our hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelClick, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your The Lodge at Turning Stone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Turning Stone Hotel Verona
Hotel At Turning Stone
At Turning Stone Verona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lodge at Turning Stone, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.